Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats wrong with me?

• 19-07-2007 3:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭half_life_man

i was at a club about a week ago and I started getting really angry at myself because I couldn't get any girls and my friends could. I was drunk at the time but anyway my friends were out danicin and I went in to the bathroom into a cubical and started hitting myself in the face and banging my head off the toilet. then i went outside to my friends and thy were askin wat happened but i didnt tell them. every girl i went up2 wouldnt touch me and i am told to be the nice lookin one out of the group aswell, but i suppose looks arnt everything. well anyway i was just real angry cauz know one would meet me. anyone know i reacted like this has anyone tried hitting themselves before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Maybe they wouldn't touch you because you were langered?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

How drunk were you? Maybe take it easy on the drink the next time so you can see things a bit clearer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

If you met a girl who did this - would you find her attractive? People are people. If you want to score, lighten up, have some craic. If you are a fun person to be around, the ladies will spend more time in your company. The rest will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

If you start hitting yourself when you are drunk its a sign to cut down.

Maybe try and talk to someone in a different enviornment. Niteclubs are shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

while im not accusing anyone of anything maybe the mods could check if the other two threads accused of trolling in the last few mins are coming from the same ip as this one???

no accusations flying from me at all just think it would be prudent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Gumbyman

Night (or nite) clubs are indeed complete sh1te. They work for some people but not for others. If you have any bit of personality at all go to a late bar, take it handy on the grog (but have some for courage and looseness), eye up some tarts and then sidle up and start up a random conversation. You might get knocked back a few times but other times you will get that which you seek (the ride).

Self harm is pointless. No use beating yourself up over things. Think positive and work out a solution. Get pally with your mates' birds - they'll be good fodder when their romances fade (ie tomorrow).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Oh wow. You do realise that the vast majority of people in a nightclub are just there to enjoy the music/drink? Nightclubs are such a shitty place to hit on people, its all so sleazy.

Plus, the fact that you were hitting yourself in the face would strongly imply you have more serious emotional issues, issues that are probably making you seem forceful or creepy when you're hitting on people. Looks help, but its not the be and end all.

Best advice I can give is to stop trying to hook up in nightclubs, its a horrible atmosphere to try anything. If something happens, cool. But don't try and force it. I'm a guy, and even in my experience there are few things more unpleasant than having a complete stranger you're not interested in trying it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Would it have something to do with too much drink ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'Flirting with girls is a bit like baseball. Even the best players have a 0.3 average. Which means everytime you talk to a girl doesn't mean you will score them. Looks aren't everything and being funny/fun to be around/interesting are appealing quantities after initially meeting someone. If you don't have them then the conversation won't progress anywhere.

Also relax, take it easy on the drink and smile. You never know when a girl could be checking you out and if you have a big sulk on you it won't be very attractive.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Moss

unroggggie wrote:
    Would it have something to do with too much drink ???

It could have something to do with being depressed and having expectations that are too high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

takeiteasy wrote:
    'Flirting with girls is a bit like baseball. Even the best players have a 0.3 average.

that is a great analogy *takes note*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭want2play

i was at a club about a week ago and I started getting really angry at myself because I couldn't get any girls

Dude - This is obviously the least of you problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

has anyone tried hitting themselves before?
    yes http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a168/piperpup/emo.jpg

Zillah wrote:
    Plus, the fact that you were hitting yourself in the face would strongly imply you have more serious emotional issues, issues that are probably making you seem forceful or creepy when you're hitting on people.

Yep - note that, OP.
    I'll also say that having a drunken person hit on you really isn't attractive, however goodlooking you may be.
    But if you're so wired up that you start hitting yourself, you probably are coming across wayyyyy too strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 kallstrom86

Maybe you should just lock yourself in a room, draw the curtains and don't go outside. ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cunnins4

Go to doyles
    Get pissed
    Wait til about 2:00am
    Walk onto the dance floor
    Pick a drunk minger
    Score

Repeat every week until you've boosted your confidence and then try it with better lookin birds.

Ah no in all seriousness man, just lighten up, don't drink too much and have a good time. I've always found that girls prefer guys who don't try too hard and look like they're actully enjoying themselves. Ya don't have to dance like justin timberlake, or be the next billy connolly. A bit of a conversation and a few dorky moves on the dancefloor's usually a winner. Failing that, resort to plan A above. Works every time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

anyone know i reacted like this has anyone tried hitting themselves before?

No. Consider cutting down or cutting out the drink and/or seeking professional help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

...is that post for real or what? lol....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

would you (if you were a girl) get with a guy who hits himself in toilet cubicles? You sound like you need help?

I mean this sincerely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

You were probably hitting yourself out of anger and frustration. A lot of people hit things when they are angry, unfortunatley there was no punch bag in the cubicle and the walls were probably made of cardboard. You may not have been completly scuttered, as you could remember it well, and you calculated the best way to place your fists (without anyone else getting hurt, or finding out) However, you took it out on yourself and it probably gave you a negative energy for the night. That type of thing can be picked up on easily in a place like a club, where everyone is there to get their bit easily. No one is there for riveting conversation. Just a bit of fun and flirting. Who's going to want to flirt with a scowl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭kelly1979

from what i've read, you just need to relax, hello!! famous saying quality over quantity?! so what your friends scored and u didn't, it dosen't mean your ugly or anything, some people won't approach a good looking bloke as they feel intimidated, ever think of it that way, i kinda feel that u may also come across desperate when/ if u approach girls, which is a huge turn off for both sexes, as it suggests neediness, clinginess and lack of self assuranc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭kev22185

girls out in clubs in dublin fall into three categories.

1) out with friends and have boyfriend
    2) only interested in rich south sider twats
    3) all the rest = easily pulled

just go up whisper AWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOGA in their ear then tell them you are a former olympic athlete and tv presenter. your reputation with the ladies should proceed you and they'll be putty in your hands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 TGC

maybe grow a set of balls and sort out your face before hitting on girls again

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

TGC
    Banned.
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭TEH REAL CDP

Dude...now is not the time to go looking for girls, you've got to sort out whatever's going on with you by talking to someone, there's plenty of people out there, sounds like you have some self esteem issues...which could all be sorted out over a few chats.

As for the ladies, when you get back on track...just relax and chill. If you go on a night out to pull and you don't...you'll end up feeling twenty times worse, especially if you have been drinking.

Have a night out - but just relax, lay off the ladies and whatever happens, happens.