Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need advice: Investing your bankroll

• 18-07-2007 8:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭

Hi lads, in a pickle here(albeit a nice one) and need some advice.

Ive built up an online bankroll of roughly $17k which is in neteller. I have had this amount for nearly a year due to the fact that (a) I thought I would get back into poker and (b) when I decided to give up on online poker I thought there was no way the dollar could get much weaker than the $1.32:€1 rate a few months ago – yes,im an idiot.

Is there anyway I can avoid the poor currency exchange rate now roughly $1.38:€1? Or do I just have to take the plunge now and withdraw…anybody recommend waiting a few more weeks to withdraw?

Once ive withdrawn, can anybody give me advice as to how I should invest this money? Im able to live off my wages so am prepared to invest the full amount, although I would like to be able to withdraw the amount in about 2 years time as I plan to travel. I really just don’t have a breeze about savings a/c’s, stocks etc…anybody got some tips? Maybe someone can recommend a good financial advice agency I could contact…I reckon if I speak to my bank they will probably just point me towards 1 of their savings a/c’s etc.

Sorry mods if this is not appropriate to the poker forum. However the reason I posted here is because Im sure a lot of people here have had the same problems with the exchange rate, and also after a big win Im sure some of you lads have had excess bankrolls to invest and so I could use your experience…and poker players are generally pretty smart when it comes to money!

Thanks,
    Will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

50/100 Plo :d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

There must be some soft of financial advice forum floating around somewhere? I would just buy Eddie Hobbs book, guy seems to know what he is talking about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

Davy funds are performing really well at the moment, if I had the money I'd give it too them.

Otherwise, buy The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham and give yourself a few years to realist the value of possible investment.

Bonds are an option.

Or else give it to me and I'll make it into 50k within 12 months (risky!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

move up levels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

isn't the investing forum on 2+2 meant to be really good? maybe read/post there for advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=859

Would probably help more. There is already a thread from someone looking to invest €10k might be worth readin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭gerry87

I know you're not looking for links to other forums, but http://www.askaboutmoney.com is a great one for these sort of questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Firstly ask yourself how long you can realistically lock the money up without ever needing to touch it. Then select your favoured investment, then invest.

In the world of investments $17k is not alot of money. High yield long term fixed deposit if your risk averse. Try a property fund if you like something mid range. Go for an equity fund if your a litte racier. Do understand within this range are products for people who span the risk spectrum - go for a blue chip Div yield fund if averse or alternatively an aggressive leveraged fund if you have a stronger risk appetite. If you want a more hands on role with your money open up an online trading account and pitch it into 3-5 shares at any one time - you will have control of this but when investing 17k u should shop around for the cheapest online investment house (I think it might be Dolmen). Alternatively if you want a white knuckle ride and are willing to sit tight for a minimum of 2 years then chuck the whole fecking lot into C&C at its current price. The stock is currently depressed due to bad weather and a challenge for the UK market from a rival brewery so investors have effectively written off one years growth from what *was* essentially a stock priced on an agressive growth multiple. The fundamental product is good, their marketing is excellent, the stock is long term value. Similar to the guy who said "wear sunscreen"! My advice is drink Bulmers. edit: stock closed today @ 8.21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

a poker forum is prob not the best place to discuss this!

with 17k i'd buy a whole range of shares, avoiding financial companies in the irish market tho!

I'm considering shares in airtricity or some other green energy company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

If you plan to use this bankroll for poker and invest part of it, then stocks are a poor idea, any sort of negative variance in the market coupled with a downswing at poker could force you to move down stakes or take money out of the market at it's lowest point.

Assuming this money is seperate:

With a 2 year time frame stocks are not a good option if you *need* this money. If it's not critical and you're willing to take a EV+ gamble then put the money in index funds/ETFs, you wouldn't even have to change currency if you set up an account with an American broker. Mutual funds are a poor idea as the majority underperform index funds/ETFs.

I wouldn't advise talking to brick & mortar banks, they're likely to screw you over. If you need the money in 2 years then savings a/cs are probably the best way to go. I would shop around for good interest rates, online banks usually have the highest rates but Irish banks are offering good rates at the moment, most likely because of SSIAs maturing.

If you want more advise from poker players than try 2+2s finance and investing forum or for an Irish perspective try askaboutmoney.com
    Otherwise, buy The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham and give yourself a few years to realist the value of possible investment.

I'm assuming OP isn't planning on learning about investing, or willing to put the required time into trying to beat the market, so reading this wouldn't be worth the time. It certainly wouldn't be a book I'd recommend for a beginner anyway.

Individual shares are an absolutely terrible terrible idea. 1) 17K isn't enough to adequately diversify without being slaughtered by commissions. 2) You have no idea what shares to buy. 3) It's a lot of work when sticking it in an index fund/ETF is easier and a far better option. 4) A 2 year time frame is extremely short if you will need this money.

isn't the investing forum on 2+2 meant to be really good? maybe read/post there for advice?

It had an extremely bad reputation mostly because Sniper was modding it. It seems to be much better now, with a far higher level of discussion because of the new mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

RedJoker wrote:
    Individual shares are an absolutely terrible terrible idea. 1) 17K isn't enough to adequately diversify without being slaughtered by commissions. 2) You have no idea what shares to buy. 3) It's a lot of work when sticking it in an index fund/ETF is easier and a far better option. 4) A 2 year time frame is extremely short if you will need this money.
    www.sharespread.com is good for spreading risk without commission becoming a problem. no tax either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

betfair.com

sharp minds etc etc..

ocallagh wrote:
    www.sharespread.com is good for spreading risk without commission becoming a problem. no tax either

The commissions are included in the spreads.

EDIT: And you lose out on dividends but not paying tax on it would obv make up for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

have a look at rabodirect. probably not the BEST investments around but you can stick ur cash into a given fund and can access it within a few days if u need, no need to commit to 2-3 years etc. think you pay .75 entry and exit fee. worth having a look at anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Willis take some time and learn about this area from scratch, it will be interesting and probably rewarding. As mentioned the askaboutmoney forum is top notch, and their basic guide for noobs should be read:
    http://www.askaboutmoney.com/guide/index.htm

You are right in your instinct not to trust any bank people, but the same goes for fund managers and the like. Also coming from a poker perspective you will laugh at investment professionals when it comes to shares because they are so full of crap, it's random and they haven't a clue without inside knowledge 99% of the time.

But shares might be interesting for a poker guy, although 2 years is a very short period and 17k is very small, although I don't agree with redjoker that you would be killed by commission unless you are buying and selling like an idiot.

If learning this isn't interesting to you, and leaving 17k in Neteller for a year indicates that may be ture :) then you could just go do something like Quinnlife's freeways funds which are cheap to do.

hotspur wrote:
    You are right in your instinct not to trust any bank people, but the same goes for fund managers and the like. Also coming from a poker perspective you will laugh at investment professionals when it comes to shares because they are so full of crap, it's random and they haven't a clue without inside knowledge 99% of the time.

But shares might be interesting for a poker guy, although 2 years is a very short period and 17k is very small

So investment professionals and fund managers who may have been investing for decades have no clue 99% of the time but OP should be stock picking?

Post this same OP on askaboutmoney.com or 2+2's finance forum and see how many people think stock picking is a good idea. They'll probably tell you that even index funds are too volatile for a 2 year time frame and to stay out of the market altogether if you can't afford to lose a significant percentage of your investment.
    hotspur wrote:
    although I don't agree with redjoker that you would be killed by commission unless you are buying and selling like an idiot.

I suppose it depends on how much the commissions were and how many stocks he bought. Besides, that's only 1 (and the smallest) of the 4 reasons I listed for why OP shouldn't be buying individual shares. I do agree that he should take the time to learn about the investing world and educate himself before investing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

firstly, you've now only got ~€12k after you convert back into euros (you've lost 1500 euro by leaving your money sitting in $, not earning interest, for a year)

this isn't a lot of money so don't expect to turn it into a considerable chunk o' change without taking a considerable risk. BCB's post is good, suggest you read it again and work out what your priorities are - are you willing to risk losing some/most of this 12k on a speculative investment (but hopefully make a substantial gain) or is your priority to safeguard the capital and earn a modest rate of return with low/no risk?

answer this question first as it'll push a long way down the particular investment path that suits you

oh, and get you money out of neteller and into your € bank account NOW - I'd give this advice to anyone who's currently got 5 figures knocking around in $....holding $ or $ assets rights now is not clever and hasn't been for quite some time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

oh, and get you money out of neteller and into your € bank account NOW - I'd give this advice to anyone who's currently got 5 figures knocking around in $....holding $ or $ assets rights now is not clever and hasn't been for quite some time

getting out NOW meaning u expect the $ to fall further.Why? and for how long.
    i know its only your opinion im asking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭CaptainNemo

If you made all that playing poker then I suggest that re-investing it in MORE POKER is a better idea than any other gambles you may be considering, e.g. investing it in the stock market.

ZZR1100 wrote:
    getting out NOW meaning u expect the $ to fall further.Why? and for how long.
    i know its only your opinion im asking for.

America no longer makes anything, they just spend other countries money (i.e. the savings of Asians). Other countries lend them this money in the form of US Treasury Bonds. This has created a massive trade deficit with the rest of the world.

When you're in a situation like this, the only way your currency can go is down.
    I expect 1.50 within 12 months

The reinvesting it in poker is a good point. If you're good enough, which you seem to be, you're likely to get far better returns from that as opposed to shares.

IIRC, the average annual growth of share holdings is 10-12%. Although tilt isn't as much of a factor in shares.

As for hotspur's comment that investment professionals are full of crap, that's clearly untrue.

teehee

lots of them are! especially the kind of ones that would have you believe investing in B&M is a good idea.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

When you're in a situation like this, the only way your currency can go is down.
    :(

i guess someone should tell ipoker to change over to yoyos, esp. since they've no american players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

Will the Rabbo Mining fund is rising exponentially. if i had any money it would sit in that. just keep an eye on the chinese stock market because if that goes tits up then commodities are fooked.

RedJoker wrote:
    So investment professionals and fund managers who may have been investing for decades have no clue 99% of the time but OP should be stock picking?

Post this same OP on askaboutmoney.com or 2+2's finance forum and see how many people think stock picking is a good idea.

My point, and I will defend this, is that the stock market is random and this guy as as much of a chance as a professional who is employed full time doing it to choose shares that will perform well within the next 2 years based on very very little knowledge of the market. You sound like you may be in the industry, so you be less likely to agree, but you cannot fade the research. I have more respect for a good poker player than a person managing a fund from a knowldege and skill perspective - I know which one of them is using smoke and mirrors (read: a nice suit and office) to pretend they have a greater edge than they have over randomness!

And ironically I just paused from watching a Warren Buffet lecture and Q&A to answer that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

You read fooled by randomness hotspur? How about getting in that well?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

shares are the way to go... just go onto www.ise.ie or the www.londonstockexchange.com and check out the companies,

if u dont' need the money and like the gamble - pick a company like get mobile or glencar mining,

thats just my opinion, good luck with what ever you do - and remember you could lose the lot on the stock market if the economy collapsed or there is a disaster...

hotspur wrote:
    My point, and I will defend this, is that the stock market is random and this guy as as much of a chance as a professional who is employed full time doing it to choose shares that will perform well within the next 2 years based on very very little knowledge of the market.

Depending on what you mean by professional, I completely agree with you. So because of this he should aim to match the market and the best way to do that is to diversify as much as possible and reduce fees. Therefore index funds/ETFs >>>>>>> stock picking, agree?
    hotspur wrote:
    You sound like you may be in the industry, so you be less likely to agree, but you cannot fade the research.

No, I'm still a student. Which research would that be?
    hotspur wrote:
    I have more respect for a good poker player than a person managing a fund from a knowldege and skill perspective - I know which one of them is using smoke and mirrors (read: a nice suit and office) to pretend they have a greater edge than they have over randomness!

If we're talking mutual fund managers I agree. Hedge fund managers and I disagree.
    hotspur wrote:
    And ironically I just paused from watching a Warren Buffet lecture and Q&A to answer that.

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

willis wrote:
    …and poker players are generally pretty smart when it comes to money!

In my opinion you should get your cash out of neteller immediately and stick it into a short term demand deposit account (northern rock or rabo) until you decide what you want to do with it long term. You could wait until the dollar strengthens but I think its wise to take the hit now and "bag" your profit from poker.

Do you have any other short term debts ? (e.g. high interest credit card or other loans). If so, pay them off and free up your personal cash flow and save a fortune in interest in the long run.

If this cash means a lot to you then look towards low-risk investments. If you are willing to take on some risk then you could look towards a leveraged property investment fund or possibly some dollar trading which I do quite successfully. My best advise to you however is to seek advise from a professional advisor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

or buy a car...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

not sure if its the same one,but here is a good warren buffett video link

http://video.google.com.au/videoplay?docid=-6231308980849895261&q=warren+buffett

at one point he basically says that 99.9% of people would be best off putting
    their money into index funds.

since i am lazy i just put some money into a generic bank of ireland investment fund (evergreen fund) because i knew it would take me ages to find out about other options,however i planned on getting it into index funds as soon as possible.

i'm reading that black swan book at the minute,by the author of fooled by randomness,in which he recommends putting most of your money into ubersafe low risk stuff and then a small amount of it into really high risk stuff,he makes a compelling arguement but its not an area i know much about so i'll have to look into it more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Vamos

:(

i guess someone should tell ipoker to change over to yoyos, esp. since they've no american players.

On most skins if not all you can choose euro as your base currency so if the $ goes to 1.50 your BR is still worth the same in euro but more in $.

Actually Sikes I haven't read Fooled by Randomness, but I am interested in the area of predictability generally, and especially as it applies to any form of gambling (which I include investing generally). You know that even coinflipping isn't 50-50. There is a bias of 1% in the way people flip coins for it to land on the same side it was flipped. So given enough bets at that you could become rich through coin flipping. Coin spinning is far more predictable, depending on the coin. American coins with more weight on the head side have an 80% bias to fall onto heads.

Now the stock market is obviously a more complex phenomenon, and I don't pretend to be an expert in this area, but I take the same empirical view of it that I would with any area studied in science and pay attention to the studies done.

For those professionals who track long term market "trends" in order to inform future outcomes, apart from it being atheroetical and ignorent of the problem of induction, it is also demonstrably an unsucessful method of predicting future prices. This is what the research shows. It reminds me of the time I saw a women in the Sporting Emporiumm at the roulette wheel studiously writing down every number that came up, obviously a victim of the gambler's fallacy. Her trend spotting is pretty analagous to that of such investment professionals.

I'm not gonna get into the various market behaviour theories, just to say that the best evidence from a research point of view suggests that the random walk hypothesis is the best current theory that fits the data. Very simply it says that in an efficient market (meaning prices reflect all known information) prices changes are independent of one another (just cause it went up this week says nothing about what it will do next week). It asserts that people value a share similarly based on all the known information about the share and the market, and that its price fluctuates randomly around that value.

The only good information in this day and age to have in order to better assess the value of a share than other people is inside information, nothing your investment professional knows will better enable him to predict a share price than a random monkey, and the monkey will not charge you for the privalege of his wonderful insight and understanding.

You have to realise the world of professional investment is not based on academic understanding, it is not an endeavour based on scientific research, it almost proceeds in spite of it. Most investment professionals are just glorified sales people for the company they are employed by. They earn commissions doing nothing for you that would outperform a farmer doing the same thing for you. We in the world of poker know what our edge is and we realise that edge usually in our long term. Fund managers and the like perform randomly when controlled for market shifts as a whole. They have no edge, but they pretend to, and it annoys me because they are respected erroneously.

When the best advice an investment professional can give you is to create a diverse portfolio, it's another way of saying it's all random governer, I haven't a notion what shares will outperfom the market. Any other advice is just speculation by risk loving gamblers that we prey on at the poker table, "this mining company *may* strike gold you know!"

Redjoker praised hedge fund managers. For those who don't know what it is, the best example is analgous to sports arbitrage. And like sports arbitrage the profitability of hedge funds has decresed in the past couple of years, and for the exact same reasons. Although the precise real long term profitabilty of hedge funds is very debatable and information scarce, we can at least agree that hedge fund managers in general *might* be doing something more useful for their clients, though in the best cases it's probably due to being dodgy :)

I'm not going to go digging for research references I'm afraid, but it's not difficult to find. Here's the link to the Warren Buffet slecture and Q&A I was watching:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-6231308980849895261&q=warren+buffet&total=326&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=0

As for the well thing Sikes, I respect people who do it, but it's not my kind of thing, I quite dislike talking about myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭sitout

hotspur wrote:
    Actually Sikes I haven't read Fooled by Randomness, but I am interested in the area of predictability generally, and especially as it applies to any form of gambling (which I include investing generally). You know that even coinflipping isn't 50-50. There is a bias of 1% in the way people flip coins for it to land on the same side it was flipped. So given enough bets at that you could become rich through coin flipping. Coin spinning is far more predictable, depending on the coin. American coins with more weight on the head side have an 80% bias to fall onto heads.

Now the stock market is obviously a more complex phenomenon, and I don't pretend to be an expert in this area, but I take the same empirical view of it that I would with any area studied in science and pay attention to the studies done.

For those professionals who track long term market "trends" in order to inform future outcomes, apart from it being atheroetical and ignorent of the problem of induction, it is also demonstrably an unsucessful method of predicting future prices. This is what the research shows. It reminds me of the time I saw a women in the Sporting Emporiumm at the roulette wheel studiously writing down every number that came up, obviously a victim of the gambler's fallacy. Her trend spotting is pretty analagous to that of such investment professionals.

I'm not gonna get into the various market behaviour theories, just to say that the best evidence from a research point of view suggests that the random walk hypothesis is the best current theory that fits the data. Very simply it says that in an efficient market (meaning prices reflect all known information) prices changes are independent of one another (just cause it went up this week says nothing about what it will do next week). It asserts that people value a share similarly based on all the known information about the share and the market, and that its price fluctuates randomly around that value.

The only good information in this day and age to have in order to better assess the value of a share than other people is inside information, nothing your investment professional knows will better enable him to predict a share price than a random monkey, and the monkey will not charge you for the privalege of his wonderful insight and understanding.

You have to realise the world of professional investment is not based on academic understanding, it is not an endeavour based on scientific research, it almost proceeds in spite of it. Most investment professionals are just glorified sales people for the company they are employed by. They earn commissions doing nothing for you that would outperform a farmer doing the same thing for you. We in the world of poker know what our edge is and we realise that edge usually in our long term. Fund managers and the like perform randomly when controlled for market shifts as a whole. They have no edge, but they pretend to, and it annoys me because they are respected erroneously.

When the best advice an investment professional can give you is to create a diverse portfolio, it's another way of saying it's all random governer, I haven't a notion what shares will outperfom the market. Any other advice is just speculation by risk loving gamblers that we prey on at the poker table, "this mining company *may* strike gold you know!"

Redjoker praised hedge fund managers. For those who don't know what it is, the best example is analgous to sports arbitrage. And like sports arbitrage the profitability of hedge funds has decresed in the past couple of years, and for the exact same reasons. Although the precise real long term profitabilty of hedge funds is very debatable and information scarce, we can at least agree that hedge fund managers in general *might* be doing something more useful for their clients, though in the best cases it's probably due to being dodgy :)

I'm not going to go digging for research references I'm afraid, but it's not difficult to find. Here's the link to the Warren Buffet slecture and Q&A I was watching:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-6231308980849895261&q=warren+buffet&total=326&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=0

As for the well thing Sikes, I respect people who do it, but it's not my kind of thing, I quite dislike talking about myself.
    good feckin post man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

great post hotspur.

you *really* should read some stuff by nassim nicholas taleb,it'd be right up your street.

i haven't read fooled by randomness but i'm just finishing the black swan,his newest book,and its fascinating stuff,and deals with a lot of what you are talking about.

yeah great post hotspur. I definately recommend fooled by randomness and i had no idea he had another book, so cheers robin, off to amazon i go.

I was looking at taking the path of a trader but looking into it, most "great" traders are lucky idiots who get to where they are through the survivorship bias.

EDIT: Its not called the surviorship bias, that where we just hear about the successes and not the failures. Its the concept where after one year 10% of the idiots get lucky, second year, 10% of the 10% and thrid year, 10% of the 10% of the 10%. So they have three years of great results and are hailed to be legends, anyway, taleb talks about it in depth in fooled by randomness.

hotspur, very nice post but I must disagree with one of your main points.

It's simply not correct to say it's not possible to predict the market (that's what I understood from your post).

In some ways, the stock market is like poker. There are those who play poker regularly and lose, those who have a lot of money and lose, those that understand the game, and lose, and those that understand and win (et al).

A lot of people say poker is pure gambling, as we've seen in the court case in London. Poker players will disagree (well, most of them).

Too many people have made their money through the stock market. You've watched the WB vid, so you'll be somewhat familiar with value investing (the book I mentioned earlier deals with this).

His investment strategy makes a lot of sense: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_Buffett#Investment_approach

To be perfectly honest, I am new to investing, but intend on making a lot of money from it (as does everyone).

It's simply not possible that it can be called completely random and unpredictable. Some areas are, but much of it isn't. And people do make money from it. As WB clearly demonstrates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

wow lads,some great replies in there,way over my head!ive took the plunge and withdrawn from neteller,i think im gonna stick it in that rabo direct thing now whilst i read a bit more on the subject and get around to reading all the replies/links in more detail...thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭MacStacked

hotspur, very nice post but I must disagree with one of your main points.

It's simply not correct to say it's not possible to predict the market (that's what I understood from your post).

In some ways, the stock market is like poker. There are those who play poker regularly and lose, those who have a lot of money and lose, those that understand the game, and lose, and those that understand and win (et al).

A lot of people say poker is pure gambling, as we've seen in the court case in London. Poker players will disagree (well, most of them).

Too many people have made their money through the stock market. You've watched the WB vid, so you'll be somewhat familiar with value investing (the book I mentioned earlier deals with this).

His investment strategy makes a lot of sense: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_Buffett#Investment_approach

To be perfectly honest, I am new to investing, but intend on making a lot of money from it (as does everyone).

It's simply not possible that it can be called completely random and unpredictable. Some areas are, but much of it isn't. And people do make money from it. As WB clearly demonstrates.

N.P.

There is a lot of misinformation on this tread. ALOT. :eek:

Jack Schwager's Market Wizards books would be a good place to start for anyone convinced of a completely random market where only the lucky succeed.

Will I think withdrawing to Rabo is a smart move, while you do a little bit of research on what to do next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Eugene Fama would weap if he were to read this thread.

MacStacked wrote:
    N.P.

There is a lot of misinformation on this tread. ALOT. :eek:

Why dont you counter the arguments then?

hotspur wrote:
    My point, and I will defend this, is that the stock market is random and this guy as as much of a chance as a professional who is employed full time doing it to choose shares that will perform well within the next 2 years based on very very little knowledge of the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

I signed up to Ipoker (Noble) as $ instead of € simply because of the handiness as the games are played in $, is there any way of changing it. Ive about $1500 dollars on my account as well as $200 im transferring so $1700 total. Its (touch wood it will continue) growing at about $250-$500 a week so am i throwing money down the drain and is there any way around it to get it changed to Euros:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭MacStacked

I dont think this is the forum to have a great big debate on the randomness or non-randomness of the markets suffice to say that for every believer in the random walk theory there are others who believe that the market is predictable to a degree. Many people have consistently profited from trading the markets over extended periods of time in both bull and bear markets (20+ years) they cannot simply be dismissed as the luckiest of the lucky.

Hotspur wrote:
    For those professionals who track long term market "trends" in order to inform future outcomes, apart from it being atheroetical and ignorent of the problem of induction, it is also demonstrably an unsucessful method of predicting future prices.

James Simmons and his Renaissance Technology fund would disagree with you. (Although not technically trend following they do use historical prices to make trades)
    Hotspur wrote:

CAPM, EMH, etc. were the new ways of thinking about the market about 40 years ago. A lot of the EMH has been pretty much debunked at this stage, google 'The Super Investors of Graham and Doddsville'.
    Hotspur wrote:
    They earn commissions doing nothing for you that would outperform a farmer doing the same thing for you. We in the world of poker know what our edge is and we realise that edge usually in our long term. Fund managers and the like perform randomly when controlled for market shifts as a whole. They have no edge, but they pretend to, and it annoys me because they are respected erroneously.

Absolutely, which is why I stressed index funds/ETFs so heavily.
    Hotspur wrote:
    When the best advice an investment professional can give you is to create a diverse portfolio

That's pretty good advice imo.
    Hotspur wrote:
    Redjoker praised hedge fund managers. For those who don't know what it is, the best example is analgous to sports arbitrage. And like sports arbitrage the profitability of hedge funds has decresed in the past couple of years, and for the exact same reasons. Although the precise real long term profitabilty of hedge funds is very debatable and information scarce, we can at least agree that hedge fund managers in general *might* be doing something more useful for their clients, though in the best cases it's probably due to being dodgy

I'm not going to get into a debate on hedge funds/managers but if you're interested there's a thread on askaboutmoney.com about it where I linked a lot of papers and studies.
    Hotspur wrote:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...arch&plindex=0

Thank you, and nice post.
    MacStacked wrote:
    Jack Schwager's Market Wizards books would be a good place to start for anyone convinced of a completely random market where only the lucky succeed.

Agreed, this is a must read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

America no longer makes anything, they just spend other countries money (i.e. the savings of Asians). Other countries lend them this money in the form of US Treasury Bonds. This has created a massive trade deficit with the rest of the world.

I'm not sure about 1.50, but I expect it to go down too, but more due to interest rates rises from the ECB/UK Central Bank and none from the US. Basically I don't see any upside to leaving a lot of cash in $$ if your liabilities are all in Euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

hotspur wrote:
    Actually Sikes I.....

though the precise real long term profitabilty of hedge funds is very debatable and information scarce, we can at least agree that hedge fund managers in general *might* be doing something more useful for their clients, though in the best cases it's probably due to being dodgy :)

Some interesting stuff in this post.

Hedge funds are often quoted as having brilliant returns, as are indices of hedge funds. The rreason for this is that these indices do not include hedge funds which have failed, as their weighting has gone to zero! For anyone interested in this area try reading "The rise and fall of long term capital management" by Roger Lowenstein