Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

KNOCKANSTOCK MUSIC FESTIVAL - Ballyknockan, Co. Wicklow

• 18-07-2007 1:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭

July 27th - July 29th 2007
    Ballyknockan Inn
    Tickets are priced EUR20 only, via WAV ticket office.
    Camping is free

The Knockan-Stockan-Fest-Session will be a weekend of great music, sunshine and good vibes. It will take place around the Ballyknockan Inn, which overlooks the Blessington lakes. The madness will begin on Friday 27th of JULY until Sunday 29th July. Camping is available in a field surrounding the pub.

More info please check their myspace page
    www.myspace.com/knockanstock

Line-up

FRIDAY 27th JULY INDOOR STAGE

8pm: Colm Lynch
    9.30-9.50: Robbie Cash
    10-10.20: Sarah Red
    10.30-11: OMB
    11.15-11.45: The Fear Brothers
    12-12.40: The Grand Pocket Orchestra

SATURDAY 28TH JULY MAIN OUTDOOR STAGE

2PM-2.25: Enda Da Road & Christov
    2.40-3.05: James Guilmartin & Band
    3.20-3.45: The Monday Club
    4pm-4.25: The Sensors
    4.40-5.05: The Squaggs
    5.20-5.45: The Hot Sprockets
    6-6.25: RedKid
    6.40-7.05: The Pratzkys
    7.20-7.45: The KillCity Defectors
    8pm-8.25: The Murder of Crows
    8.40-9.05: The Hassel Merchants
    9.20-9.45: Spiderbaby
    10-10.30:Mike Got Spiked
    10.45-11.15 Lord of the Black Mountain

SATURDAY 28TH JULY INDOOR STAGE

5.05-5.20 The Gicker Flickers
    5.35-5.55 Jesus and his Dog
    6.10-6.35 the Scream
    6.50-7.15 Liz is Evil
    7.30-7.55 Lebowski
    8.10-8.35 Soma
    8.50-9.15 The Yokes
    9.30-9.55 Lauren Guillery and the Claws
    10.10-10.35 Kudos
    10.50 - 11.15 Estel
    11.30 - 11.55 Raggedy Soul
    12.10 - 12.35 Coopers Bridge
    12.50 - 1.15 Shoctopus

knockan.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

I was really tempted by this. Its cool that theres a festival for 20 quid for an entire weekend with camping that is a Dublin Bus ride away. Sure the names are pretty low key but that doesnt mean there wont be some excellent stuff as well as a lot of fun to be had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

Yep defo! Gonna be a cracker!
    Ya can get yer ticket at the Whelans / WAV office

byebye

Lauren

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

Great weekend, if you didn't go, you missed out!

Found a random phone when packing up our tents though, doesn't seem to belong to anyone I know, if any of you went and lost a phone, PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

It's the "I can't believe it's not a music festival." festival

Wow, Ireland must now be the capital of music festivals.

20 Euro is amazing!

I wanted to go but the weather scared my friends off it. :-( Id love to hear a detailed review of the whole thing... especially on the stage setups and camping.

The BEST festival I been to!!
    Great buzz so it was!

And only quality bands!!
    Campite was great craic, and amazing view of the countryside.
    Ye all sooo missed out haha!

byebye
    Lauren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

Toast wrote:
    I wanted to go but the weather scared my friends off it. :-( Id love to hear a detailed review of the whole thing... especially on the stage setups and camping.

It was amazing!!

where do ya start... well there was the friendliest atmosphere I've felt yet at a festival, and lovely little extras like a campfire and fireworks at the campsite - all the girls and some of the gay blokes were waxing lyrical at the cleanest festival toilets in history and then finally on Sunday all the straight blokes agreed.

You were asking about the setup and that - well, a marquee out the back of the pub was busy the whole time with bands playing non stop and some real gems, like the Hot Sprockets and the Hassle Merchants, big ol decking area facing the lakes and the sunset - busy pub with people meeting up everywhere - pool table, cosy bar, car park .. fields .. ya get the picture.

Back at the site, everyone was talking with everyone and there were singsongs and jams breaking out all over the place. Lovely community buzz there, only spoiled by some wankers stealing a generator (there was a gig up in the sugar club last night to try and fundraise for the out of pocket organisers) - but because so many people had an amazing weekend, they'll definitely make up what they lost next year.

There were only a few hundred people there and many that I met were there to see friends play, much like we were. So, my own personal favourites were my friends Lord of the Black Mountain - ending the line up on Saturday night to a baying thirsty crowd!

There are some photos and a festival face video on the Knockanstockan myspace - roll on next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 trevorhalpin

Toast wrote: »

here you are mate its very detailed review http://wordpress.hotpress.com/offherrocker/2008/07/

No offence Trevor but this is in no way a 'very detailed review' whatsoever.

It was an amazing weekend and I'm quite disappointed to hear that you're doing everything possible to tarnish the success and fun it actually was.

Shame on you.

Lauren

Well that sure was interesting.. the comments especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Doozie

It is a great little festival with a really good atmosphere and the organisers did a great job. However.....
    edanto wrote: »
    It was amazing!!

where do ya start... well there was the friendliest atmosphere I've felt yet at a festival, and lovely little extras like a campfire and fireworks at the campsite - all the girls and some of the gay blokes were waxing lyrical at the cleanest festival toilets in history and then finally on Sunday all the straight blokes agreed.

No offence edanto but If that means that the toilets were clean then I think we both know that is a complete and utter fabrication.

ahem
    this is a thread from Knockanstockan 1 which happened back in 2007

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

The BEST festival I been to!!
    Great buzz so it was!

And only quality bands!!
    Campite was great craic, and amazing view of the countryside.
    Ye all sooo missed out haha!

byebye
    Lauren

yup, missed out on seeing poor ands that wont make it in the music industry let alone out of ireland....

20 quid is an insult, to see bands of this calibur i should be paid :rolleyes:

Ahaha.. I was wondering where my comment came from.. just assumed I was drunk posting or something.

Doozie wrote: »
    No offence edanto but If that means that the toilets were clean then I think we both know that is a complete and utter fabrication.

None taken - the toilets were clean last year (when I made the post you quoted!). This year, they weren't and that was bad form. We were let down by the company that had been paid to come and clean them - they just didn't turn up and ignored all our calls.

We had to make do - the farmer came by to empty them, we cleaned 'em best as we could (you know you've made it when you're shoving **** into a portaloo with a stick) and dug another eco toilet.

Stupid shonky cash deals!

As for Trev's link above, anyone that reads it will see that the conversation was going around in circles so frankly why bother engaging.

Here's a link to a slideshow - you'll see how much space we had to play with!

http://knockanstockan.ie/coppermine/albums/ChelleSunshineTotal/phpslideshow.php

edanto wrote: »
    the toilets ....this year, ...We had to make do - the farmer came by to empty them, we cleaned 'em best as we could (you know you've made it when you're shoving **** into a portaloo with a stick) and dug another eco toilet.

Yeah I remember one of the guys telling me they had been badly let down and I felt really bad for them because everything else was going so well! On a plus side, I was able to laugh heartly at those who gave out about the toilets at Castlepalozza and at E.P. They have made me stronger!:P

Some of the bands that have gotten a big bounce out of Knockanstockan 2007....

New Secret Weapon

The Hassle Merchants

Enda Reilly

The Hot Sprockets

Bands already big that played this one just past...

Marner Brown

The Amazing Few

Prize of a free ticket for next year if you can figure out who's playing in this photo!
    IMG_8401.JPG

Now - I didn't hear a lot of the bands what with things to do @ hq - so I'd love to know what bands people liked this year? Doozie? Trev? Lauren? What did yis think?

er... saw some good bands on Saturday night but there was no line up sheet available so I didn't know who they were! There was a good gig on at the last furthest away stage at about 8 on saturday night....I know I'm being vague!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

Saccade on the Saturday afternoon were fookin great. Really enjoyed them,talked to them after and they are a sound bunch of lads. Roll on next year