Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FM104 PHONE SHOW- Jeremy Dixon

• 17-07-2007 7:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

Does anyone have an opinion, one way or t'other, on Adrian's co-host, Mr Jeremy Dixon? Although I don't listen to the show very often, I have often found my opinion on this guy changing from one extreme to another, so I would just like to know what others think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Does anyone have an opinion, one way or t'other, on Adrian's co-host, Mr Jeremy Dixon? Although I don't listen to the show very often, I have often found my opinion on this guy changing from one extreme to another, so I would just like to know what others think.

Sit on the fence why dont you :D

Are you Jeremy Dixon :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Hudson4ever

I am not Mr Dixon, and I am sitting on the fence because I don't want to influence other people. I want to know what people think about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭FledNanders

complete dik. now get off the fence and get into the 'Jeremy Dixon is a complete dik' field. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

I am not Mr Dixon

LOL. Sounds like a bluff to me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Lynibeth

#Elites wrote:
    Hes a bit of fun! the get it of your chest bits (with adrian..by himself its boring!) are great:D

though when he fills in for Adrian for the main talk show, its not the same, hes more of a "funny" guy then a serious one!

Agreed. Was watching (why do I watch it..) the phone show last week when he was presenting and he had a dry throat and kept coughing and choking and was handed endless glasses of water.. Tears streaming down his face.. I like to see him suffer.. mwahaha :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 callemmet

The phone show would be much better if that anti gay sex obsessed moron Dixon wasn't on it. He constantly takes the piss out of the gay community and anything he talks about relates to sex. He's a muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭gavindowd

The show is hilarious as Jeremy is clearly trying to be provocative through most of it. It's the most made-up slagging I've ever heard and that's why the show is so great. For every person that hates Dixon, there are two that love him. If he left, listeners would leave....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭jimmy2flutes

gavindowd wrote: »
    The show is hilarious as Jeremy is clearly trying to be provocative through most of it. It's the most made-up slagging I've ever heard and that's why the show is so great. For every person that hates Dixon, there are two that love him. If he left, listeners would leave....

Are contracts up for renewal? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 callemmet

gavindowd wrote: »
    The only person who thinks Dixon is funny is Dixon himself........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Kate08

He wreaks my head. Can't listen to it till it's just Adrian on his own.

• Site Banned Posts: 194 ✭✭andym1

Knackers Knackers Knackers, Both Knackers who phone in and Knackers who listen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

I radio surf at night and to be honest it depends what topic is on whether or not I continue listening. Jeremy or Adrian wouldn't be my cup of tea but they obviously have the teenage Market sewn up. I think both of the guys should stop talking and start listening more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Haven't listened regularly in years but when I did I quite liked him. Any time I hear it now he doesn't be on, granted I don't hear the whole show. Unless he has changed big time, I doubt I'd have any problems with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭smurfs5

Can anyone confirm that Jeremy was off on Friday? I tuned in at 10.15 and it was The Best Of The Phoneshow with Adrian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

This is a new low for these type of shows in my opinion.

http://www.herald.ie/news/td-calls-for-probe-after-fm104-airs-live-call-from-suicidal-man-on-bridge-3349259.html

Friday January 11 2013

A DUBLIN radio station has been branded "grossly irresponsible" today after it broadcast a suicidal man threatening to take his own life.

The man, named 'Jay', sparked a major garda operation after he told a radio show that he planned to throw himself off a bridge in the capital.

The call, which lasted for almost an hour, was aired on the FM104 Phoneshow last night.

The individual phoned the station in a highly distressed state, claiming that he was on the verge of jumping off Loughlinstown Bridge in south Dublin.

Gardai managed to persuade Jay to climb down in the early hours of this morning.

Independent TD Finian McGrath today called on the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI) to investigate the decision by the station to air the phone call.

His family was alerted to the call, which prompted his father to phone in himself.

Gardai

The station went off air for 10 minutes, during which the man's father is believed to have urged him not to follow through with his threat.

Listeners were horrified when they heard the man angrily shout at gardai: "Get off the bridge".

Presenter Jeremy Dixon admitted during the controversial show that he was "not qualified to deal with this".

When the programme returned to the air, presenter Jeremy Dixon told listeners: "The line has gone dead."

He announced that the show would be extended in case Jay wanted to call back and added that he was "cut up about this".

"It is obvious he has issues with a number of people, including gardai and the hse," Dixon told listeners.

FM104 and Mr Dixon were unavailable for comment this morning.

Dublin TD Finian McGrath called the station's actions as "grossly irresponsible".

"I am highly concerned that this radio station would broadcast a call from a man who was in such a vulnerable state.

"Suicide is such an emotional topic for people at the moment and the station went too far by broadcasting that call. I am further demanding that the BAI launches an investigation into the decision."

Didnt he say he was listening and would jump if he was taken off air?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Lagoona Blue

Jeremy is very funny and witty in all fairness . But I don't think he's great when he handles the phone show on his own . He hasn't a clue how to respond to listeners , It's like he never trained properly as a broadcaster , He's good at the everyday jokey stuff , but he 's not great at serious conversations with listeners ..

He can seem a bit out of his depth when it comes to some serious topics but I think that he is a very competent presenter for the serious parts. Adrian has to take time off and I think Jeremy is quite good flying solo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

I haven't heard the call myself the other night but I would like to hear it from a radio broadcasting perspective. It's a horrible situation for any broadcaster to be in. We don't need to waste money on a review of one broadcast. Finian mc Grath would be better calling for more money to be spent on mental health awareness.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

No sign of Jeremy tonight. Seems to be Adrian on his own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Can't stand the little weasel.

Pompous, self righteous twat. Voice like a choir boy and he sounds pathetic whenever he's tried to make someone apologize to him on air or patronize callers.

Look at when he hosts the show. Everyone rings in assuming they'll be speaking to Adrian. He'd be no loss to the phone show.

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Can't stand the little weasel.

Pompous, self righteous twat. Voice like a choir boy and he sounds pathetic whenever he's tried to make someone apologize to him on air or patronize callers.

Look at when he hosts the show. Everyone rings in assuming they'll be speaking to Adrian. He'd be no loss to the phone show.

He provides banter and the show wouldn't be as entertaining if he wasn't mocking and patronising some of the idiots like Samantha who ring in.

Also, whenever I listened to the Phoneshow last week, nearly every caller knew that Jeremy was on because they're actually listening to the show instead of being a passive listener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭thomasj

marno21 wrote: »
    No sign of Jeremy tonight. Seems to be Adrian on his own.

And no reference to Jeremy either. :confused:

thomasj wrote: »

And no reference to Jeremy either. :confused:

Im not surprised really. I'd imagine he'll be off for the rest of the week to let the backlash surrounding the call die down and to let Jeremy recover and get in the right state of mind to be back on air.

All Adrian said was "thanks to our Jeremy for doing the show last week".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭thomasj

He's back on tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭softy2012

The guy is a tool, he doesn't even seem to be from a journalistic background, doesn't understand the simplest of words.

Childish aswell, stormed out of the show last night cos Adrian revealed his "age"
    which he said was 32 - he wishes, he's 38 at least, probably 39.

Anyway not the point, the fact that he so childishly stormed off was the issue, he must have some relation in a powerful position there, otherwise I can't understand how the fool was hired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Human rights

they both booked into the gibson hotel a while ago both had every escort from ireland in the hotel room.. staff say they had a 3some with the barman dirty animals lol kennedy and dixson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭gavindowd

softy2012 wrote: »
    The guy is a tool, he doesn't even seem to be from a journalistic background, doesn't understand the simplest of words.

Childish aswell, stormed out of the show last night cos Adrian revealed his "age"
    which he said was 32 - he wishes, he's 38 at least, probably 39.

Anyway not the point, the fact that he so childishly stormed off was the issue, he must have some relation in a powerful position there, otherwise I can't understand how the fool was hired.

Yes, He may not have come from a journalistic background but his show sure pulls in the audience..... He produces the show and is in charge of the topics broadcast.... The show is THE MOST LISTENED TO IN IRELAND at that time of night (Despite 104 being a Dublin only station!).

The 'age' thing.... Are people gullible enough to believe those things, he clearly did not leave the room... Its all in the 'shock-jock' culture that he brings to the show and makes it so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭todolist

Recently i heard a late night phone in show on 4fm that featured a guy who proclaimed he had sex with animals.This is how low and desperate radio in Ireland has got.Pure garbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

callemmet wrote: »
    Dixon is a dick. The phone show would be much better if that anti gay sex obsessed moron Dixon wasn't on it. He constantly takes the piss out of the gay community and anything he talks about relates to sex. He's a muppet

But would that not make him more popular in the gay community ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Adrian seems embarrassed by Dixson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Pigglesx

It's simple really if you don't like it, don't listen to it. The very fact you have an opinion on it worth posting says to me that its a guilty pleasure for all of you and I'm including myself here as well. I think they are great together, I love them giving out about eachother, it's part of the show! It's controversial, it's crude, it's vulgar and apparently what 50,000 plus listeners per night want to hear! So whatever you think of Jeremy Dixon (that's how it is spelled by the way!) & Adrian for that matter is irrelevant because it's hugely popular on 104 and it's people like you guys that keep them No.1! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Pigglesx wrote: »
    It's simple really if you don't like it, don't listen to it. The very fact you have an opinion on it worth posting says to me that its a guilty pleasure for all of you and I'm including myself here as well. I think they are great together, I love them giving out about eachother, it's part of the show! It's controversial, it's crude, it's vulgar and apparently what 50,000 plus listeners per night want to hear! So whatever you think of Jeremy Dixon (that's how it is spelled by the way!) & Adrian for that matter is irrelevant because it's hugely popular on 104 and it's people like you guys that keep them No.1! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Pigglesx wrote: »

Riiiight....

Amazing contributions. :rolleyes:

You'd have been better off saying nothing and just ignoring it instead.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Amazing contributions. :rolleyes:

You'd have been better off saying nothing and just ignoring it instead.

you should heed your own advice. Ignore what others have said, if you have any issues, please use the report post function

back on topic please folks

Splinter