Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

muay thai fight night ...with a difference

• 15-07-2007 5:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭

... the difference being its on a sunday afternoon

the chupasart gym is having an "amateur thai boxing fight afternoon"

29th July 2007

Ringside stadium. SCR dublin

starting 1pm

theres about 12-14 fights on it

I was gonna call it "Harm-ageddon" but i reckon paul kelly would have something to say bout that...;)

some childrens fights about 14-17 years old and then some adult fights... all are novices (under 2 fights each)

your support is more than welcome and all are invited

tkts e12.50 available on the door or PM me if you want some before the date

many thanks

paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I'll be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭ThatBloke

Is that the national stadium or the boxing club next door?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Brilliant, R.o.T. on the 28th then you on the 29th, what a weekend of Martial Arts for Dublin.

Might have to fire a warning shot accross the bow's of the wife and let her know she won't be seeing much of me that weekend..

HAPPY DAY'S OR WHAT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

ThatBloke wrote:
    Is that the national stadium or the boxing club next door?

Ringside Club is next door. Through the grey gates and down the side of the building.

Its the same place as the previous R.o.T's have been held.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Is me ol buddy Johnnie fighting?....

he found in the first inter club one?

I get an odd email off him, he had the bit between the teeth to get into the ring?

Paddy is Johnny still training? Tell him I said hello!

Cheers

Gerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

alls good indeed

ROT on the sat get up with a manky head the next morning and come watch some fights and have a few beers to settle the head :)

cheers Mairt for the directions to the ringside

tkts now on sale from chupasart gym, Mullens sports on henry/capel st and my brothers in the bridgestone gym

hope all is well

thanks paddy

figth list to come soon just waiting on some possible match ups

gerry, johnny still training and is fightin away, he looks lean at the moment and as always is smiling and always willing to let me mock him in front of newbies:) he do very well in his next fight, he got a bit of spartan blood in him me thinks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

paddyc wrote:

gerry, johnny still training and is fightin away, he looks lean at the moment and as always is smiling and always willing to let me mock him in front of newbies:) he do very well in his next fight, he got a bit of spartan blood in him me thinks :)

Great to hear. He must have been pushing hard if looking, lean as he said he needed to knock a few kgs for the last fight.

Spartan blood! Now he hardly got the spartan blood off the ditch...hhhmmmmm... now I wonder who helped put a bit of that there??? :cool:

LOL!! tell th johnny boy I said hello!

and best of luck with the fight nights Paddy.

PS if your looking to get good quality leather Muay Thai gear, I know a guy (out here in BKK years from UK), he just started his own line of boxing and muay thai gear, has found a small factory that hand makes all the boxing/muay thai gear. I just got a pair of 16oz velcro, customizd hand made, so they fit tight without hand wraps. ( see I not use wraps for KM, but for Muay Thai use wraps) and he was usual bigger size for normal Muay Thai.

Will do bulk discount, and even put your own clubs label, name, logo, or your own brand label on the gear.

Stuff is good, he is only set up a few months, and has to finailze a few things, when the www is fully stockedand has euro on I ll email it to you.

Hes getting me a few sets done of kit, which I will use for club use, until peole get their own.

He 100% sound too, not rip off merchant, and I m not involved nor getting a cut in this. (just for the record).

here is the web site.. I forgot to add it in when I posted this...

http://www.dftboxingequipment.com

I like the idea of getting club name on the gloves label, might get that done with stuff I buy..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Good luck.

I've to take the little lad to a goalie camp that day in Glenageery. I think it's over at 3.30. What time do you expect this thing to finish up at Paddy?

khannie

should be about 5.30 or 6 depending... a few beers after non the less

paddy

Sound. See you there so.

okay folks the fight list lokos a wee bit like this at the moment... needless to say it might change and all that

thanks paddy

Rabei Victor
    GD muay thai
    Vs
    38kg
    Uncu Constantin
    GD muay thai

Andy Gray
    AC Cork Thai
    Vs
    63kg
    Tiernan
    Siam Warriors Cork

Brian Amos
    Bridgestone Gym
    Vs
    87kg
    Adam
    Siam Warriors Cork

Ben Donovan
    AC Cork Thai
    Vs
    47kg
    Darren Pepper
    Siam Warriors Cork

Con O Rian
    Chupasart Gym
    Vs
    75kg
    Alan Joyce
    Warriors Dublin

To Be announced
    AC Cork Thai
    Vs
    77kg
    Keith
    Siam Warriors Cork

John Deegan
    Chupasart Gym
    Vs
    70kg
    Dominic
    Bridgestone Gym

Reggie
    Bridgestone Gym
    Vs
    66kg
    Johnathon Linanne
    AC Cork Thai

Paul Fox
    Chupasart Gym
    Vs
    65kg
    Fionnbar Long
    AC Cork Thai

Rabei Nicu
    GD muay thai
    Vs
    59kg
    Kieran O Brien
    AC Cork Thai

Steve Naughton
    Chupasart Gym
    Vs
    89kg
    Andrew
    Siam Warriors Cork

Brian Havery
    Bridgestone Gym
    Vs
    72kg
    Chris Lettice
    AC Cork Thai

Kevin Douglas
    Chupasart Gym
    Vs
    Dave Mc Garrity
    Bridgestone Gym

Declan Broderick
    Chupasart Gym
    Vs
    62kg
    Ray Lakes
    Bridgestone Gym

sorry boutt he layout, you'll be getting the gist o it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

I'll be there too, my mate Ray Lakes is taking on some bum fom a place called 'Chupasart' or something like that;) :p

Seriously though, it should be great crack, once my ears get used to the music! :D

You goin Mairt?

jon

I am a big fan of the betting matey.... it aint proper thai if there aint betting :)

what you reckon? e100

baggio gonna try make it as well i think

cheers paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Havo

I hear that lad brian havertys a warrior, i wudnt wanna be fightin him:D

paddyc wrote:
    jon

I am a big fan of the betting matey.... it aint proper thai if there aint betting :)

what you reckon? e100

baggio gonna try make it as well i think

cheers paddy

LOL your on Paddy, what the hell! :D

Looking less likely that I'll be able to make it. :(Totally pissed off. :mad: Still some chance I'll make it though.

Paddy...I'm sorry bud...but I think your tonne's going Jon's way....I saw Ray training down the gym there the other day....I think Ramon himself would have trouble stopping him. ;)

Happy days, Rays a dedicated lad. Tough as nails, it'll be a good fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Mike D Warriors

Good luck Paddy I hope all goes well
    and My lad Alan give your lad a good Scrap
    Sorry i wont be there to see it Mike

suits me

mike thanks i sure they be a good fight alright

oohhhhh khanniieeeeeee.... tis a shame u can put your money where your mouth is... I got another e100 in my pocket :)

you wanna piece of it?

paddy

lol. Sure I knew you were gonna come back with that. Who's playing who? ;)

I'll definitely take some action off ya alright. We'll discuss the amount on the day over a pint (will defo be there now). I think there may be a queue of heads wanting to take you up.

Paddy, I was going to ask you for the ton today in Phibsboro save you bringing it on Sunday! :)

Congratulations to Paddy on two fronts;
    Class day out......Really really enjoyed it, though I only got to see that last half of the card.
    Some very good wins for Chupasart.

For those wondering: Paddy won his bet. I didn't actually bet him anything on the day. I had to leave for about 90 minutes to pick up the youngfella and Paddy was busy as hell when I got back......I was going to go up to you before the fight Paddy, but thought it might seem like a sneaky attempt to freak your lad out and decided against it.

Great fight anyway. Well done to both of the lads. They really gave it their all. Definitely the best fight I saw all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Im2Lazy

Can someone put the results up......I couldn't make it!

Have to echo what Khannie said, great show. And I did indeed lose my bet. After the first round I thought my man Ray had in the bag, he looked class in the first and put Broderick on his arse. 2nd round, what ever Paddy said to his man in the corner it worked! Broderick came out very strong and dominated the 2nd, the 3rd round saw Ray take a couple of heavy head shots which opened up the old nose. This was the best fight of the card imo, fair play to all involved, Chupasart have indeed some great fighters and characters.

Well done Paddy!

Khanni sorry I didn't say hello, I haven't a clue what you look like!

Jon wrote:
    Khanni sorry I didn't say hello, I haven't a clue what you look like!

Likewise. :D

I thought you might have been the fella near me screaming at Ray to keep his f****n hands up. :)

I was the baldy lad with glasses and a baby in my arms over near the red corner. I think she's gonna be a fighter....never seen her so excited.

Khannie wrote:
    Likewise. :D

I thought you might have been the fella near me screaming at Ray to keep his f****n hands up. :)

I was the baldy lad with glasses and a baby in my arms over near the red corner. I think she's gonna be a fighter....never seen her so excited.

LOL that was me in the green shirt alright, screamin keep your hands up or I lose me bet :p
    Seen you with the baby! She had a little hat on her right? Won't be long before she's in the ring and were betting on her to win :)

many thanks for that

dont know the results of the fight will get them and post them up...

...sorry i couldnt make it up to phibsoro on sat jon i was in naas buying a new phone and putting a down payment of e100 on it I went in and paid for it today... thanks for that :)

I am delighted for deco,i am trying to get my lads to fight thai not brawl so our first rounds are always generally slow... but i had to change a few things about for the 2nd and i knew he had him and the third... well what can i say... I was delighted he even managed a few wee tricks that caught ray off guard :) we train the old ways and it seems to be working

we only training about a year really and i am delighted with the way it is going. JOn thanks for the very prompt payment, I gave it to deco as he went to bulgaria that night with the woman... khannie u very lucky i was gonna bet your pram on the fight :)

to the lads that didnt pay up from the bets... feck the lot of u... u wont ever get a second lok from me... a bets abet is a bet... you know who you are

thanks to the 2 cork gyms the bstone possie and warriors for all the fighters

thanks also to all the lads from chupasart for helping out, the bramha bull, the judges and the ref and wayne byrne... bruce buffer aint got **** on you mate :). thanks also to jamie crawford for all the behind the scenes work and keeping me focused while my gollum buddy is away seeking knowledge :)

thanks to the crowd...lovely people, thanks for paying :)

will prob hold one again n a few months and after that some sat night shows

thanks again paddy

Look forward to the next one Paddy!

Jon wrote:
    LOL that was me in the green shirt alright, screamin keep your hands up or I lose me bet :p

HAHA. Classic. :D There was more than brotherly love in those yells. I knew whoever it was had money riding on it.
    Jon wrote:
    Seen you with the baby! She had a little hat on her right?

The very one. :)

paddyc wrote:
    khannie u very lucky i was gonna bet your pram on the fight :)

LOL. I'd have had two black eyes today if I'd shown up at home with no pram. Your teap is nothin' on "the claws".
    paddyc wrote:
    thanks for paying :)

Speaking of which....I owe you 12.50. By the time I came back with the youngfella there was no sign of anyone taking money so he got in for free. I'll give it to you next time I see you.