Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ps3 Cooling Fan

• 14-07-2007 12:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭

hey lads does any1 know where i can get me hands on a ps3 cooling fan cos gamestop don,t seem to be stocking them for some strange reason, anywhere near waterford would be handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 P992

Well, here's one for you. But it's not near Waterford, it's online.

http://www.play.com/Games/PlayStation3/4-/3321368/Joytech-Fusion-Cooling-Fan/Product.html

It's reasonably priced and shouldn't cause too many problems. I don't think the delivery should be much either and I think this is the only one around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

tried play already and it says delivery to uk address only when i go to purchase it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Try changing the currency to Euro before adding it to your cart.

cheers lads u were a great help i,ve just ordered a cooling fan for me ps3 now i,m happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Why would you want a fan? Its not a 360 ;)

Pacifico wrote:
    Why would you want a fan? Its not a 360 ;)

I was wondering about this myself. The PS3 doesn't really get hot at all. It pumps out a lot of hot air but it doesn't need a cooling fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

^^^ think about what you just said, it doesnt run hot and yet it manages to pump out alot of hot air?? If it dosnt run hot then where is all of that hot air coming from?

Yes I know that it generates a lot of heat internally, but I dont think it needs any external cooling fans. Its own system seems to work quite well. When mines been on for a few hours the only heat I can feel is the air coming out the vent, the rest of it seems very cool. Why waste money on another fan?

actually the system does require a cooling fan if it does,nt have one over a period of time it will damage the inside, just feel how hot it gets and that will give u an idea, also try hosting a game on the psnetwork and i 100% guarentee that the system will knock itself off of the psnetwork becoz ur system is to hot

also if it does,nt need a cooling fan then why are they on the market?? they would,nt sell sumthing that u don,t need and that there would,nt be a market for, believe me i work as a sales rep

No offence meant here, but I rarely listen to sales reps because they usually try to sell me stuff I don't need.:D

lol thats our job mate we have to make a living too ya know, but i,m right in wat i,m saying they would,nt have made the cooling fans for the ps3 if there was,nt a market for it and thats why sony are so rich coz they did it with the ps1 and ps2 with different extras that were essential like the memory card ya had to buy them separate and from wat i remember the ps1 memory card did,nt work in the ps2 so i had to buy another one and they did it this time with the ps3 but its the cooling fan this time and not the memory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

Assuming there is a market for a cooling fan, doesn't actually mean you need it for the ps3 to function properly, especially something that is probably just going to make a quiet system loud. I can't see the point. And I have yet to meet anyone with cooling problems on the PS3. If heat was an issue you would be seeing a lot more returns.

And come on...you are implying that because your ps1 memory card did not work on the ps2 which forced you to buy a ps2 card, that Sony in their scheming this time, left out a cooling fan on purpose, to force people to buy them from 3rd party resellers. That would be pretty stupid considering the amount of returns that would generate and the cost to the company. Your logic is erroneous at best. The PS3 does not need a cooling fan unless you are running it in a shoe box, in which case you should be shot and buried on the spot :)

And the comment that "they would,nt sell sumthing that u don,t need". Eh..isn't that the nature of sales and marketing...to sell stuff to the public they don't actually need, but convince them that they do. If I am running a PC for just wordprocessing and the web, i can get by on technology 5 or 6 years old or even older, but that won't stop Dell trying to sell me their latest and greatest..and nothing wrong with that. It's a free market. Although if all I had was what I actually needed I probably would be living in a big cardboard box with a toothbrush :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

believe me i work as a sales rep

so you should know damn well they sell a lot of stuff for no good reason, especially console accessories.

anyway lads at the end of the day i,m the one buying it not ye like ur not outta pocket here so why all the fuss?? look put it this way when gta4 comes out people will be playing it for hours on end with a roasting ps3 would,nt it be nice for the poor old ps3 to be cooled, and anyway so what if it has bit more noise shur the ps2 was the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭savemejebus

just bear in mind that the xbox 360 cooling fans fecked up more consoles then they cooled...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭notahappycamper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 P992

Ye but the fan would make it even noisier. You're better off not getting one, even though I already recommended one to you.

P992 wrote:
    Ye but the fan would make it even noisier. You're better off not getting one, even though I already recommended one to you.
    who cares about noise cos i cud,nt give 2 fecks as long as i get to play rainbow 6 vegas

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

The cooling solution designed for the PS3, 360 or any computer component for that matter should be sufficient to cool it in the harshest environment, unless you're overclocking it or sticking it in a confined space. Considering Ireland isn't exactly Singapore I doubt any extra cooling fan is necessary, and may adversely affect the airflow in/out of the unit reducing cooling efficiency killing your console.

If Sony sold PS3s without sufficient cooling they would be selling defective products, which would be a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

look put it this way when gta4 comes out people will be playing it for hours on end with a roasting ps3 would,nt it be nice for the poor old ps3 to be cooled

the point is that it will be cooled. that's why it has its own fans built-in. it gets hot because it's pushing air up into those vents, and out of the "important" parts of the console... the reason being so that we can all enjoy GTA4 et al for hours on end without having the nasty problems the 360 has had with overheating.

anyway lads at the end of the day i,m the one buying it not ye like ur not outta pocket here so why all the fuss?? look put it this way when gta4 comes out people will be playing it for hours on end with a roasting ps3 would,nt it be nice for the poor old ps3 to be cooled, and anyway so what if it has bit more noise shur the ps2 was the same

Most Sundays my PS3 might be on for at 8 to 12 hours. I get stuck into resistance and rainbow 6 online and when I'm finished I usually watch a blu ray. The machine never gets hot and I doubt it has ever even come close to getting hot enough for it to shut down. My point is that while the PS3 generates lots of heat, it is well capable of dealing with it.
    Waste your money if you want, but the cooling fan you buy will likely be louder than your PS3, cost you more electricity etc. and in the end utterly un-necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 stefanototti

How do lads, I just bought a PS3 yesterday, and if i felt for even 1 second that after forking out €700 for a console and a game, then an extra €50 for an extra controller...that i'd have to spend more money on a fecking fan, i wouldn't have bothered...for godsake, and of course they will try and sell something that you don't need,i too work in marketing and half the time we sit around thinking up ways of convincing people they need our product...its sad but its a living!! I mean, really, did anyone actually need a steering wheel for need for speed...i don't think so?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

why would you need an arcade stick for VF 5 why not just use the joypad? because people invent these things to make money even if they are not necessary people may think that they are...why would sony release a console that will mess up while hosting a online game? i dont think they would release a console like that and plus sony have not released a exclusive fan so therefore they know that there is no need for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

The arcade stick is incredible. But only worth it if you're really into beat-em up's.

But lads they would,nt sell sumthing that u don,t need :D

jez lads would ye ever get on with things and just forget about it makin a big deal about why don,t ye email sony and get on to them about it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭savemejebus

because sony don't make the fans ;)

and also because you are the one who kept harping on about how the ps3 overheats and it has to have a fan to cool it because (1) otherwise they wouldn't sell them and (2) you knew this because you are a sales rep, and (3) sony pulled the same stunt by saying ps1 memory cards would work on the ps2, but you had to buy a ps2 card anyway, so hence the same logic follows with the cooling fan :)

Is the ' key broken on your keyboard by the way ?