Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Galway Races - Who's comin West ?

• 13-07-2007 10:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭

Alright lads and Ladies who's coming to Galway for the biggest drinking and gambling session in Ireland whohooo not to mention the talent :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

oh yes - ya baby ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rebs23

No definitely not this year, with the weather, the water, etc, etc and it seems to have had its day anyway. Too much overcharging, overcrowding and general messyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Grown men whipping poor defenceless animals. Sounds like great craic. :rolleyes:

Scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

There are boards for Galway City and another for Galway County,
    us posters in the capital object to this careless posting :rolleyes:

(Well if the wellie-wearers object so strongly about anything related to Dublin in After Hours............................ :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I was supposed to but alas its not to be... Going on holiday instead.

I have been in Galway loads of times during the races... I never actually went to the races though :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

Altho ive been to Galway many, many times, i only managed to get to the races for the first time in 2005. I'll be looking to repeat my rookie luck of backing 7 out of 8 winners at the friday meet.. Drinks and dinner was on me that night. I've never seen Quay St so busy as i did that night, unreal the sea of people.. It was like Princes St in Edinburgh for Hogmanay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

To be fair it's little to do with the Horses lol It's only realy too packed on the Thursday Ladies day. But Quay Street, Cross street and Shop street is a sight to be seen on that evening ...
    http://www.galway.net/galwayguide/pod/races20050803.jpg
    But I have a good feeling the sunshine will be back at that stage too...(the legs givin me the jab lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Originally Posted by Zebra3
    Grown men whipping poor defenceless animals. Sounds like great craic.

Scum.

I think he's just jealous because Zebras can't compete

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I'm taking the week off work, and the following week! Mostly playing poker and drinking rather than anything to do with the races. It would take a year to get to work.
    Now, should I move this, and where, hm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Any women between the ages of 18 and 25 need a place to stay just PM me a current photo and your measurements and I'll see if I can find a place for ya ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

I have a friend who wants a room

Picture attached

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Picture attached

Caliden, you're going to need a bigger bed....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

Been going there since my teens, never yet made it to the race track !! too much going on in town ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭barrett1965

Welcome to Galway, but I think you'll find a lot of Galweigians leave the city during race week. Personally, I hate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Only one good night in the week, Thursday, the rest is just meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Zebra3 wrote:
    Grown men whipping poor defenceless animals. Sounds like great craic. :rolleyes:

Scum.

Ignorance is bliss. Whips are constantly being refined in order to make sure that minimum distress is caused to the animal. there are also many rules on improper use of the whip with penalties (fines and bans) for jockeys who break them

Actually the best way to do it is to take Wednesday and Friday off.
    Go to the Evening meetings on Monday and Tuesday, Plate Day on Wednesday. Don't bother heading to Ladies day as it's just too packed.
    Hit the town Thursday night with a case of beer. Drop it in the middle of the street and drink cheaply all night :)
    Recover Friday ...
    Great week...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Ignorance is bliss. Whips are constantly being refined in order to make sure that minimum distress is caused to the animal. there are also many rules on improper use of the whip with penalties (fines and bans) for jockeys who break them

Ignorance is bliss. Any use of the whip is cruel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Zebra3 wrote:
    Grown men whipping poor defenceless animals.

Jockeys are grown men? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Zebra3 wrote:
    Are you trying to tell me that there aren't any masochistic horses out there?

Picture attached

Computer says no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Zebra3 wrote:

The idea is for the jockey to hit the horse on a very fleshy area of his hind quarters. the horse does not feel much more than a tap. as stated there are harsh punishments for jockeys that break whip rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

Don't let the water problem stop any of ye coming to the races, apparently they have installed a very expensive water filtration system up there. They had to because i'm sure it would cost a hell of a lot of money to give the horses and jockeys bottled water!
    There's always a good buzz around the city when the races are on, i'm sure whoever comes down will enjoy themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Don't let the water problem stop any of ye coming to the races

Why would it?,sure nobody drinks water that week in Galway

I wonder how much a measure of vodka will go up by this year...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Buy all your drink now.