Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

class act

• 12-07-2007 1:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭

WSOP
    Scott Grey

Day 2B
    100000 pot
    flop\kJ RAG

SCOTT jj\
    ROCK STAR kq
    ALLIN
    TURN t
    RIVER 9

espn CAMERAS EVERYWHERE
    sCOTT NEVER BUDGED
    THEY LEFT
    sCOTT 5 MINS LATER aT LEAST I LOST MY CHIPS TO A FAMOUS GUY THOUGH I STILL DONT KNOW WHO THE **** HE IS!
    SHEER CLASS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

who is the Rock Star???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

LuckyLloyd wrote:

And FWIW - hard luck Padraig. Sounds like you made some really great laydowns, etc while you were still in.

Probably misread his hand:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Scott is a class act, one of the few poker players you can have a beer with and not have to endure the bad beat stories. Top man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Was it the guy from Godsmack? I saw he was still going ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Padraig06

godsmack sounds right.half the room would have thrown a tantrum.scott said the camera guys were really pissed off.to be fair the irish team in general were a credit to themselves.the wSOP wouldnt be the same without them.the rest of the teams were pretty ****ing grim,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 oooops

LOL much Kudos to him for that. It's when I see guys controling themselves like that I realise the gap to the top...we can read all the books we like but self control is something you just have to learn.....and a lot us us will never attain it.......I've had many many bad beats from baaad players but my main issue with them is my lack of ability to dismiss them immediately. I'm working on this but any tips from the top would be welcome......I've tried humour but the punchline gets stuck in my throat as I feel the sickness creeping up my neck and the tiltmonster gets ready to spew out diatribe at the donkeys .
    Feel like a goon afterwards also.
    Once again Kudos...

Btw. The ESPN guys at the WSOP sound like a shower of gobshtes from what I've heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I don't see any reason to ever throw a tantrum, save for if someone has done something unethical or frowned upon, i.e slowrolling.

The-Rigger wrote:
    I don't see any reason to ever throw a tantrum, save for if someone has done something unethical or frowned upon, i.e slowrolling.
    Same here, a beats just a beat, after enough of them you become immune. They're hard to take, especially a runner runner like this one, but if he let it get to him he'd be gone in 10 hands. Fair play though, he is a class act, imagine Hellmouth or any of those US knobs taking that beat... :rolleyes:

EDIT: I hope I don't look like a tard now, and he wasn't knocked out with this hand, but still my point remains the same, no need to cry, and showed the class of the man to take it so well....

I played with Scott seated directly to my left once, he is indeed a very very sound, entertaining man. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

*hide the chairs.jpg

:p

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    :o
    LOL :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 oooops

One of my tips to control my bad beats is when I think I'm about to lecture mr 72 offsuit, I just think of the ad in the supermarket when the mother reacts to the kids squealing by diving on the floor and doing a similar tantrum.... (brill ad btw) I just imagine the dealer is itching to do similar him/herself, the inner grin calms me....then I leave and kill a small animal, usually a rodent.

oooops wrote:
    One of my tips to control my bad beats is when I think I'm about to lecture mr 72 offsuit, I just think of the ad in the supermarket when the mother reacts to the kids squealing by diving on the floor and doing a similar tantrum.... (brill ad btw) I just imagine the dealer is itching to do similar him/herself, the inner grin calms me....then I leave and kill a small animal, usually a rodent.

but not always :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

oooops wrote:

careful with those rodents, they can turn nasty on you....

itchy.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Ste05 wrote:
    Same here, a beats just a beat, after enough of them you become immune. They're hard to take, especially a runner runner like this one, but if he let it get to him he'd be gone in 10 hands. Fair play though, he is a class act, imagine Hellmouth or any of those US knobs taking that beat... :rolleyes:

EDIT: I hope I don't look like a tard now, and he wasn't knocked out with this hand, but still my point remains the same, no need to cry, and showed the class of the man to take it so well....
    AFAIK, he flopped a set of jacks again shortly afterwards, and doubled back up to where he was before the RR beat. At least I hope I'm right on that.

I bet the ESPN knobs didn't even realise that Scott finished 4th a few years back. He is indeed a class act. He was on my left at a game last year for about eight hours (MPT was there as well), and he was totally card dead for seven of those, but didn't let it worry him at all. When he finally started picking up some hands, he was knocked out when his AA was outdrawn, but again no tantrums. I think he was a good footballer with some of the legendary Castleblayney Faughs teams as well, so it would be nice to see him going well in the ME, and Monaghan hammering Tyrone on Sunday!

And I'm still embarrassed after my part in the thread last year where a few of us tried to give him a lecture on the state of Irish poker...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Scott is a class act, one of the few poker players you can have a beer with and not have to endure the bad beat stories. Top man.
    Thinly veiled brag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

You're a class act yourself Parky. I hope all the kids with a few notches on their Irish belts on this site will support your brilliant charity game in October.

although you cost me 20 bucks you nearly made me 1500 so i owe you a decent cigar.

best of luck to you and Scott with near future events.
    (take some advice from Mr. Gray regarding comfy shoes, he's the maestro)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

rb_ie wrote:
    Thinly veiled brag?

huh?