Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does talking to your ball help?

• 11-07-2007 3:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭

Lads i dont play golf much but i do have a few golf balls in my drawer at home and i'm sure there's a putter somewhere around the house. Anyway, i was watching a bit of golf there the other day and when yer man lashed the ball he kept asking it to "stay...stay..stay..STAY" but it didnt and went into the water instead. Is it because the ball didnt hear him? I've often screamed "NOOOOOO" as my ball headed at an almighty speed for the bushes but it never listened.

Any ideas?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I regularly tell my ball to go, it works well. More cases of talking to your ball working can be found in Happy Gilmore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Yeh, i once played with a female ball and it moaned the whole way round and whenever i spoke to it... it spoke back. Funnily enough it always had to have the last fecking word too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

It sure does.

But you have to put in a bit of effort if you expect them to respond. It amazes me that some people can take a new ball out of its box, hit it, and start yelling at it immediately. You need to be gentle with it at the beginning and have it gain your trust. Establish a good realtionship , put a bit of effort into training it and encouraging it, and allow it learn all the standard moves ( 'roll', 'bite', 'bounce' etc). You can then move on to more advanced stuff like, 'ah, come back', 'hit the pin!', or best of all, 'get in the hole ball!'.
    Millions of golfers around the world cant be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭corkandproud

Always and it works. You need to be courteous though.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

i talk to my balls all the time (hur hur) , mostly it works, but you have to pick the right ones to talk to, no point shouting 'get up' to a mi**** pitching wedge that is going nowhere!

Also it is the height of ignorance to talk to someone elses ball. As the Tommy Aaron man said 'get your mouth off my ball'

On No. 5, Aaron hit a chip that looked to come up short.

"Get up!" Reilly said.

Aaron didn't embrace the encouragement. He turned to Reilly and snapped, "Get your mouth off my ball."

"I don't use my mouth," a confused Reilly replied. "I'm using this wet towel here."

"No, no," Aaron shot back. "Keep your mouth off my ball. Don't talk to it. I want it to get up as much as you do. It doesn't help me to know that you're over there, telling it to get up or get down or whatever. It just adds to the pressure."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

So thats where i'm going wrong, i need to be more courteous. No need to bring the flippers and snorkler next time.

A mate of mine told me there's a new kind of golf ball that you can get which you cant lose. No matter where it goes you'l find it because you get a gadget with it that tells you exactly where it is. I asked him how much he paid for it. He said nothing because he found it. HA!!

I'l get my coat:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

First thing you do is introduce your ball to the hole on the practice green so the balls knows that it is not afraid to go in to it.