Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post Processing Photo Challenge 1 - Judging

• 11-07-2007 12:47PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭

Please vote your favourite photo, as seen on This thread

And the Winner is... 39 votes

Coolcon
    0% 0 votes
    Valentia
    17% 7 votes
    Fajtias!
    5% 2 votes
    Ruu
    10% 4 votes
    latchiko
    2% 1 vote
    angel2
    2% 1 vote
    Smellyirishman
    2% 1 vote
    jlang
    0% 0 votes
    Rot_T
    0% 0 votes
    Hugh_Chal
    20% 8 votes
    borderfox
    5% 2 votes
    trooney
    2% 1 vote
    m_stan
    2% 1 vote
    Calina
    2% 1 vote
    kjg
    5% 2 votes
    DarrenG
    2% 1 vote
    meano
    2% 1 vote
    meano2
    0% 0 votes
    meano3
    0% 0 votes
    leche solara
    0% 0 votes
    paddy@cirl
    15% 6 votes
    Fionn
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Should you add a poll? or a pole even, whatever takes your fancy

Can't post more than 10 options in a poll at the moment, gonna see if Rymus can do anything for me.

oops sorry, just saw this now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭Pansy Potter

What a rip off!
    Only the first 10 entries get to be voted on. This means closing date was actually 4th. July @ 14:04 (Hugh Chal's entry) not midnight on 10th. July. There were 21 entries submitted and 11 of them wasted their time.

p.s. Latchiko, by his own admission, broke the cropping rule but is still eligible to be voted for.

I didnt enter myself but a friend of mine did, but I can't vote for him as he's one of the 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Al, do us a favour and close the poll until you figure out how to include the missing entrants. I'm missing and I'm just a little miffed that voting can take place without all the entries listed.

sorry to sound miffed but all the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

If any of ye read the other thread, I can't put up all of them, gonna have to get Ryan to do something I reckon.

I'm not excluding anyone, just trying to figure out how to do this.

Pansy... it was the challenge's first time running. I think anyone that entered may aswell be eligble. M_Stan can correct me if I'm wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭coolcon

jeez take it easy people. its just a bit of fun, if you're so bothered i'll give up my place on the poll.

You're grand coolcon, it'll be sorted out soon enough hopefully, noone will be left out. :)

I can't edit the poll at all, not even close it.

coolcon wrote:
    jeez take it easy people. its just a bit of fun, if you're so bothered i'll give up my place on the poll.

awww its so nice to read nice posts from people!! very refreshing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭latchiko

Latchiko, by his own admission, broke the cropping rule but is still eligible to be voted for.
    Yep, you can take me off the list and make room for one more. ;)
    I probably shouldn't have posted it at all but I had all the work done at that stage and ready to be posted when I noticed Fajitas! comment about the cropping rule.
    Any accidental votes for my entry will be given to charity. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

What a rip off!
    Only the first 10 entries get to be voted on. This means closing date was actually 4th. July @ 14:04 (Hugh Chal's entry) not midnight on 10th. July. There were 21 entries submitted and 11 of them wasted their time.

p.s. Latchiko, by his own admission, broke the cropping rule but is still eligible to be voted for.

I didnt enter myself but a friend of mine did, but I can't vote for him as he's one of the 11.

Chill out for gods sake. It's only a game, dont take it so seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Now.. .extra names added, votes reset to zero. That should satisfy even the harshest conspiracy theorists among you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Actually I think this poll stuff is nonsense, Why not just post the stuff for the fun of it? It's only a bit of craic, I hope.

Being the abominable hypocrite that I am I voted anyway :) Fionn got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

It wouldn't be fun if there wasn't a winner. And it would be even less fun if there wasn't some debate and disagreement ! lol

My vote has been cast.

This has been fun. Take a look at the flickr pool to see them side by side, including the original - really cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 tanseyp

Leche

Had to vote for your picture, its just so in tune with the whole way the bloody countryside is being transmogrified by the consumer culture thats ruining our beautiful island. Ha ha!!

Love the whole idea of such a competition, just a newby myself but will be keeping a close eye on this site from now on.

t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Mine went to fajitas - though coolcons was cool too, also the osam/ kermie & spar ones too.

Ah yeah leche for me too!! Just too bloody funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Fionn

this was difficult, but i like the fun aspect of Troonys the best also especially like the reflections in the water very good attention to detail, well done!
    there were no unappealing ones so good efforts to all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

Fionn wrote:
    this was difficult, but i like the fun aspect of Troonys the best also especially like the reflections in the water very good attention to detail, well done!
    there were no unappealing ones so good efforts to all

Cheers. It was actually pretty hard to get King Kong, the Loch Ness Monster and Gerri Halliwell altogether at the same time. Headwreckin.

Good entries all round. Fun challenge.

I have to be honest here. I was a little dissapointed at the 'fun' entries. My intention, and I agree I didn't put this in the 'rules' at the outset, was that this should be a serious test of the ability of everyone here to improve a photo using post processing skills. Maybe I'm just too serious and have no sense of humour, or maybe I have an emotional attachment to the original shot but the fun entries I felt took away from the genuine efforts of those who put hours of time into working the photo - including my own entry which took several hours of photoshopping with the above intention in mind. For me it's spoilt those efforts. I didnt want to say it while everyone was having fun entering those shots, but I'm ready to admit this now.

In my view the Digital Art & Design forum is the place for messing around of this type, not here and for the next round, if there is one, we should exclude entries of this sort as a rule.

It's not that I dont appreciate the effort involved, not the humour either - I fully appreciate both. I just don't think this was the place, and as the person who suggested this in the first instance, it certainly wasn't my intention.

If people want to have this type of fun, we should do a seperate challenge over in the aforementioned forum.

And now, let the backlash begin ....

No backlash from me. I spent a fair bit of time (15 mins which is a fair bit for me :)). If the rule is set for what you suggest I think people would be forced to concentrate more on the subtlties of developing, like from a negative.

I did enjoyed the variety this time around but agree that there is a forum already there for more madcap ideas.

Still think the voting idea takes away from it all though! Just don't understand the point TBH. Just leave it up with no closing date and anyone can join in when they feel like it. Future new members as well.

I don't entirely disagree Valentia. I just think it adds a bit of craic to have a winner. For the guys I chat to day to day, it's created some competition between us so that was fun.

Anyway, it was a learning experience - same as anything you do for the first time, and it's a collective thing so we should make up the rules amongst us to ensure we end up with something that's as enjoyable as possible for as many as possible.

All valid points, but I think with this, like any challenge you gotta give it time before it 'becomes' what you want/intend it to be. I'm not at all surprised that most of the first challenge entries are fun ones... people didn't really know what to expect I guess, so they took their own interpretation. As the challenges continue this will change and settle into more of a 'routine' for want of a better word. Either way, its just about having some fun, and learning, and seeing how other people 'process' (in the broadest sense of the word) an image.

I think too many rules will turn people off. The idea behind this is that it should be individual and imaginative and if you start applying rules you will take from that, in my opinion. So, personally I would just give it time, and let people adjust to the style of shots being submitted, and I think then you will see the 'type' of submissions changing and settling into a kind of 'genre' closer to what you might be expecting. That's just what I think anyway.

I agree with ye both. It's certainly a great addition to the forum.

I think it is a great idea for a challenge. A bit of competition is always going to be a laugh though!

The fun entries weren't what I had thought were going to be entered, but they certainally were funny. No harm in that, especially for our first one anyways!!!

My vote went for Ruu's for what it's worth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 meano

I agree with m_stan.

All entries took time, effort and energy that could have been used to make money, or even just a crisp sambo. I could have made a lot of crisp sambo's in the hour and a bit i spent on this.

Although there is the "You can do whatever processing you like to the original photo" rule, it's is not in the spirit of the "Post Processing Photo Challenge" to paste a rough cut "Google Image" and call it done. I took this "challenge" to mean that it was a test of skill in the area of post processing. I guess once one child starts messing it's only a matter of time before there all at it.

Mmm.... crisp sambo's....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 meano

Forgot me shoutout.... go on Rot_T !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭coolcon

Well seeing as this is the first time this challenge has been run I dont think we should get to uptight about it. Rule changes can be made next time round and they can be as specific as the majority of people want them to be. The way I see it there's no harm in a few funny efforts, it lightens up the thread. I think we should try and keep it as open as possible. Remember this is just a internet forum at the end of the day! My vote did go to one of the more traditional pictures though - that of Valentia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭Ardent

+1 for Rob_T. Really brought the photo to life with some awesome colours.

Can we get the winner to divulge the tricks they employed to achieve their end result?

coolcon wrote:
    Remember this is just a internet forum at the end of the day!

Here here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

coolcon got my vote .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

angel2 wrote:
    coolcon got my vote .

Here too, a good few users went for the fun option and I think that is super.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

meano wrote:
    Although there is the "You can do whatever processing you like to the original photo" rule, it's is not in the spirit of the "Post Processing Photo Challenge" to paste a rough cut "Google Image" and call it done. I took this "challenge" to mean that it was a test of skill in the area of post processing. I guess once one child starts messing it's only a matter of time before there all at it.

Why isn't it in the spirit? If you look at a photo and decide you can make some changes to it that will make it more to your liking in any way then of course its in the spirit of the challenge. Be it by adding images to it or by cloning parts out of it or by removing colours or adding filters. Surely the idea was to use your imagination. Freeform, even. Having said that, if thats not the route the majority of people would like on this then thats fair enough too.
    I guess when you're the OP (in any post) its only afterwards that you realise that not everybody interprets things the same way. Still, it is only a bit of fun really. I'd like to think no-one was losing any sleep over it.

trooney wrote:
    I'd like to think no-one was losing any sleep over it.

I'm the OP, and the originator of the idea and I'm certainly losing no sleep over it.

I do think it's worth debating 'the rules' though since this was the first time this was done and by the sounds of it people enojoyed it enough to want to do it again.

For me, the original idea was always about practicing my post processing skills in a serious way, having the benefit of being able to compare my efforts directly against those of others and hopefully learning something in the process. I didn't learn anything from the loch ness monsters or the Eurospar entries and feel their place is in the Digital Art & Design forum and not here. I did learn something from the 'serious' entries. That's it. Nothing more nothing less. Nothing against those who took the mick.

Whether we change the rules as a result of this is up to us collectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Fionn

Ardent wrote:
    Can we get the winner to divulge the tricks they employed to achieve their end result?

isn't the winner leche solara??
    m_stan wrote:
    In my view the Digital Art & Design forum is the place for messing around of this type, not here and for the next round, if there is one, we should exclude entries of this sort as a rule.

I'd tend to disagree - it almost amounts to stifiling creativity! who's to judge whats 'Serious' who's to say some of the so called fun entries didn't take hours? It's sorta like changing the goalposts huh?
    anyway
    Make a pile of rules and nobody will bother their arse with it! ya know.

m_stan wrote:
    and the originator of the idea

:D I did suggest the idea a good while back, with the intention of having it as a sticky thread. Posted the suggestion thread, got great feedback and set off to upload a shot and got sidetracked by some very crazy life events and never got back to it! Im glad someone did though, cos I think its a great idea! Great minds think alike and all ;)

I presume this is over. Well done leche!! :D

Now can we have another one before I head off t'internet for three weeks? ;)

Valentia wrote:
    I presume this is over. Well done leche!! :D

Now can we have another one before I head off t'internet for three weeks? ;)

yes we have a winner, though in reality EVERYONE'S a winner ;)

Its over to someone else now to start the next one. Thanks all for participating

Anyone wanna play with a 5D raw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

But it can't be over? I never got a vote :(

Fajitas! wrote:
    Anyone wanna play with a 5D raw?

Yes please!

Then bugger off and use your own :P

(joke)

Fajitas! wrote:
    Then bugger off and use your own :P

(joke)
    Yeah? I'm fed up of playing with my own. Throw us one there Al and lets see how we can destroy it!! :D:p

I'm scared now :D

Wonder if I have anything with telephone poles... you can stick up some election posters :p