Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I gave up alcohol two months ago...

• 09-07-2007 1:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

This might be interesting for those who'd like to cut back or quit drinking.

Note that I don't do moderation very well so quitting cold turkey is the only way to go for me.

On average I would drink one night during the week (4 - 5 pints) and one night at the weekend (8 - 10 pints).

Here we go...

About two months ago I decided to give up alcohol.

My reasons -
    • Waste of money
    • Bad for my heath
    • Keeps me in the vicious circle of eating junk food / drinking / eating junk food...
    • Affects my sleep / energy levels
    • Affects my motivation
    • Don't like the idea of being semi-addicted to something
    • And on and on...

I also thought it would be a good idea to quit my other drugs: caffeine and sugar. From reading websites for alcoholics, it seems when people give up alcohol they just replace that addition with something else. I didn't want that. As I have a big weakness for caffeine and sugar (chocolate etc.) I thought I would dump them too.

Well it's been two months and here are the changes -
    • Waste of money - I'm now able to budget properly - excluding rent I can easily live on €100 per week
    • Bad for my heath - The changes have been dramatic. I feel different - kind of "clean". No more aches and pains, better eye sight, more settled stomach, etc.
    • Keeps me in the vicious circle of eating junk food / drinking / eating junk food... - As I feel healthier I no longer want to eat bad food. Also, I no longer crave bad food. It seems the no alcohol lifestyle has made me naturally want to eat better food.
    • Affects my sleep / energy levels - Huge changes here. I don't need anywhere near as much sleep as I used to (used to need 8+, now I'm fine on 6), and I've lost that groggy feeling I used to carry with me all the time.
    • Affects my motivation - Big changes here too - I have more energy and time to do the things I want to do, and the semi-depression I used to get after a heavy nights drinking is gone. I'm a much better employee now, and I have more time to focus on my hobbies.
    • Don't like the idea of being semi-addicted to something - It feels good to be FREE!
    • And on and on...

The first two weeks were the hardest, but then it got easier. I am just back from a little Irish music festival in a small Irish town - it was easy to resist alcohol, even though I was surrounded by drunken fools.

It's also nice to no longer be a drunken fool. Walking through town at night (I live in Dublin City Centre) you realise how awful alcohol makes people. I am glad I am no longer one of those.

Really - I feel like I have my life back, no longer drinking during the week or on weekends. I get up early on Saturday morning and accomplish things. I'm financially way better off and I feel great.

If you're thinking of quitting alcohol or taking a break from it, DO IT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

This might be interesting for those who'd like to cut back or quit drinking.

Note that I don't do moderation very well so quitting cold turkey is the only way to go for me.

On average I would drink one night during the week (4 - 5 pints) and one night at the weekend (8 - 10 pints).

Here we go...

About two months ago I decided to give up alcohol.

My reasons -
    • Waste of money
    • Bad for my heath
    • Keeps me in the vicious circle of eating junk food / drinking / eating junk food...
    • Affects my sleep / energy levels
    • Affects my motivation
    • Don't like the idea of being semi-addicted to something
    • And on and on...

I also thought it would be a good idea to quit my other drugs: caffeine and sugar. From reading websites for alcoholics, it seems when people give up alcohol they just replace that addition with something else. I didn't want that. As I have a big weakness for caffeine and sugar (chocolate etc.) I thought I would dump them too.

Well it's been two months and here are the changes -
    • Waste of money - I'm now able to budget properly - excluding rent I can easily live on €100 per week
    • Bad for my heath - The changes have been dramatic. I feel different - kind of "clean". No more aches and pains, better eye sight, more settled stomach, etc.
    • Keeps me in the vicious circle of eating junk food / drinking / eating junk food... - As I feel healthier I no longer want to eat bad food. Also, I no longer crave bad food. It seems the no alcohol lifestyle has made me naturally want to eat better food.
    • Affects my sleep / energy levels - Huge changes here. I don't need anywhere near as much sleep as I used to (used to need 8+, now I'm fine on 6), and I've lost that groggy feeling I used to carry with me all the time.
    • Affects my motivation - Big changes here too - I have more energy and time to do the things I want to do, and the semi-depression I used to get after a heavy nights drinking is gone. I'm a much better employee now, and I have more time to focus on my hobbies.
    • Don't like the idea of being semi-addicted to something - It feels good to be FREE!
    • And on and on...

The first two weeks were the hardest, but then it got easier. I am just back from a little Irish music festival in a small Irish town - it was easy to resist alcohol, even though I was surrounded by drunken fools.

It's also nice to no longer be a drunken fool. Walking through town at night (I live in Dublin City Centre) you realise how awful alcohol makes people. I am glad I am no longer one of those.

Really - I feel like I have my life back, no longer drinking during the week or on weekends. I get up early on Saturday morning and accomplish things. I'm financially way better off and I feel great.

If you're thinking of quitting alcohol or taking a break from it, DO IT!

Fair play to ya. Were you at the Willie Clancy festival this weekend so? If you were, fair play for not drinking! This thread might be better suited in the Fitness Logs forum, but I'll leave it here for now if you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

All I can say is fair play..

I found that when I came back from abroad, western beer gave me awful hangovers. I resorted to just having the odd glass of wine when I was out, which improved things greatly. I dont think I could give it up altogether.

I lapsed on Friday and went mad at that there unmentionable festival, and oh my good god did I pay for it.

So back to the wine for me.

But fair play.. seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Good for you OP but don't be too hard on those of us who still enjoy a responsible drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Well done OP. A lot of people dont have that kind of willpower. Stick with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Fair play.

I've not really been drinking myself either and I'm 19 so it was a big challenge seeing as all my friends were going out and getting pissed regularly. I still went out I just didn't drink and I feel better for it. I have fun and save money, plus no hangovers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I quit alcohol two months ago...

That's exactlly the same time I lost all respect for you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

I must admit i kinda know the feeling. I was a cnut for drinking and a bit of class a at the weekends. End up with feck all money on monday, feeling anxious and not an ounce of motivation in my body. Must say lads, it was the missus that helped me big time to sort it out. What a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 monkey junkie

scojones wrote:
    Fair play to ya. Were you at the Willie Clancy festival this weekend so? If you were, fair play for not drinking! This thread might be better suited in the Fitness Logs forum, but I'll leave it here for now if you like.

Yeah, the Willie Clancy festival. Was good fun!
    ...hangovers...

Hangovers!! Totally forgot to mention them :) Yeah no more hangovers is a lovely thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

I'm the middle of quitting too. Just 10 days in, so early days. I didn't drink as much as yourself, in fact since I left college I'd say my intake has been reasonable, but recently I decided to try quitting and see how I felt.

I'm not expecting to see the financial savings or physical differences you have, but I hope to notice some changes. I'm intending to stay dry for a few months and then re-evaluate. I'm not really looking forward to going out with work or anyone else for that matter though. Could be tough while off the sauce :-/

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

fair fooks... I find if I cut out drinkin for a bit I look and feel better not to mention slimmer... Although Im off on a bender in the sun next week lol... but when I get back I intend to de-tox for a bit..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Yeah, the Willie Clancy festival. Was good fun!

Excellent. I was supposed to go but the plans fell apart. Might go there this weekend. Last time there I woke up on a couch in a field. Good times! :)

Back on topic.... do you find it hard to still socialise in pubs and not drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i'm also off it , gave it up for a year , and then had some women problems , went back , regretted it , of it again for 3 months -- hangovers were the main reaon i gave up -- so i'm single and off the booze, and that ain't a nice combination , as chattin up the ladies was always a lot easier with some dutch courage -- lucky you for saving money, i keep blowing my money on new things, photography and cameras , is my thing now .. anyway well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

i couldnt get through a sunday shift in the pub i worked in unless i was hungover. i dont know the hangover takes the focus off the work.

hangovers are great because of the satisfaction you get from curing them with smokes, crap food and couches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭bushy...

Maybe a lot of your feeling better etc is due to eating better food. It would be a good experiment for a fortnight if you could stay eating the way you are but go back on it and post up how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Well done OP. Nice to see someone posting something like this.

I don't think I drink enough to warrant giving it up. I only drink on average about once every two weeks (haven't drank in 3.5 weeks), and never really have more than 4-5 pints at that. But I do have a high amount of chocolate and feck all fruit in my diet.

About 2 years ago, I started an 8-month work experience bout and got into a routine of going home for lunch (I lived 10 mins away) and having an apple, a banana and a glass of orange juice. That, combined with me making an effort to cut down on white bread and replace it with something else, be it wholegrain bread or whatnot, made a massive difference. Just as you said, a higher level of energy, plus I never felt hungry between meals. But most importantly, I was as regular as clockwork! If my boss came looking for me between 10 and 10:30 and couldn't find me, they always knew where I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Gave it up in the first week in January of this year, I used to have a few cans almost every night and the cost at a monetary level never mind the health issues associated with over indulgence of alcohol was more than enough motivation tho the adverts on tv showing the liver of someone who had cirrhosis of the clinched it for me.
    I would have to say I gave it up mainly for the same reasons as the OP. I still miss it some weekends but I dont miss the hangovers, that's for sure ;)
    This is my second time to try it, last time I stayed off it for 8 years heh until a sister got married :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Did it myself a while back. It was great not feeling groggy and bloated all the time.

Have you had any people annoying you about not drinking so far? That's what drove me mad while trying to stay off it. People just can't mind their own business if they see you without a pint in your hand.

I never had a problem not drinking at festivals. Even when I wasn't off the drink, I wouldn't drink at festivals in order to minimise trips to the portaloos... Not to mention the outlandish prices for crap pints at festivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

the main thing i miss about tee-totalism , is the odd bottle of Budvar beer, when in pub situations, i now drink becks non alcoholic, its ok , but i really loved budvar -- one of the reasons i can't drink now:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Fair play to you, OP! I gave up drinking 18 months ago and know I'll never go back to it. I feel the benefits that you mention.
    I never wanted to admit I was addicted to alcohol, but I found my self craving glasses of wine every afternoon when I'd be bored at home alone with my small kids. I knew this was a dangerous sign so I decided there and then to quit.
    I don't miss it one bit. I enjoy social occasions just as much, and it's great to be able to drive at all times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Stark wrote:
    Have you had any people annoying you about not drinking so far? That's what drove me mad while trying to stay off it. People just can't mind their own business if they see you without a pint in your hand.

Sister-in-law "promised" everybody at a party last weekend she'd get me drinking again! After a while, it was "I'll geh her drinchinnn"....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

It seems im going the other route than you :)

Im 22 years old and I dont drink any alco drink...(had a glass of champange a few years back)

until 2 weeks ago! Ive been drunk last week and this weekend, It was great.

We should compare notes in 2 months and see the difference :D

People asking about the not drinking is a lil annoying sometimes but most generally respect you for it. It can however make you look a lil dull but when ur carrying ur friends home, and getting any information u want. its worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

thebaz wrote:
    the main thing i miss about tee-totalism , is the odd bottle of Budvar beer, when in pub situations, i now drink becks non alcoholic, its ok , but i really loved budvar -- one of the reasons i can't drink now:mad:

Man I hate that non-alcoholic Becks stuff. Was drinking it one night and woke up with a worse hangover than I would have had drinking normal beer. So much crap in it...