Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling all 50nl players.

• 08-07-2007 1:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭

Hey

It seems that a lot of posters on here are playing 50nl at the moment trying to grind their way up to higher levels.

I am in the same boat as a lot of you. Although at the start of the summer I planned to play lots of poker it really hasnt happened, however with the purchase of a new monitor almost complete I hope to dive into the world of summer poker grinding for the next month and a half at least.
    So far I have a reasonable win rate of about 6.35bb/100 over a tiny small sample (circa 10k)

Anyway seeing as there seems to be a lot of us in the same boat, I am suggesting we get together as was previously suggested by P_L among others and set up some buddy type systems so that we pool coach each other, possibly record some sessions so that everyone can comment on them etc.
    I'm not sure if it ever happened with P_L and the lads that posted on that thread but we could give it a go anyway.

Possibly if there is enough of us we could request a private forum if warranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭RoadSweeper

Yea, there is a good few of us. I already am co-ordinating with another boardie helping and discussing HH with each other. Its a great help tbh and improves your game vastly.

I doubt a private for will be allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Any interest on making that discussion a three way? I presume it is done over msn or something similar?

msn is probally the best, but if sending HH it should be done by email or PM.

I have no problem with you joining any discusson anyway :D as everyone wins.

Well i've pmed you my msn anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Yeah I am up for it.
    I just done a session review thing on twoplustwo which was interesting.
    Although I may be on at weird hours to my location at the mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

Yeah id be up for something like this, i think the video idea is good because i think we could spot alot of small little leaks by viewing a 30min session as oppossed to viewing the big pots in a HH where the smaller plays and leaks are overlooked. I done a buddy thing with roadsweeper where we both traded our HH files, imported them and looked at the big pots in the replayer in PO where you could view the villains stats at the time of the hand.

This was very useful and we both learned alot and it helped for discipline because i knew he would be looking at my hands later but there was actually alot of work to it between reviewing his hands (we stuck to reviewing the big pots as i had around 1500 per day and him 800) and posting my taughts and comments and then replying to his posts and comments about my hands.

So i would probably like the video option where 1 person at a time posts a video we all watch and open up a thread and give comments and the next day another person posts a video and so on. If it was anymore than 1 x 30 or 45 min video a day it would get a bit too much work IMO. Just a suggestion and ill tag along with whatever the majority wants, maybe Phantom or whoever was involved in the other one can tell us how that went so we can avoid any problems they had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Dantes

Would be on for this also, playing 50NL mostly at the mo, and shots at 100NL when I have a few buy-ins and am running well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

This would have been great for me last week but I only managed to get in about 5600 hands at 50nl before hitting 2k and moving up. A 14.7 PTBB/100 winrate and a $100 deposit bonus will do that for ya :). Anyway, I'd be happy to look at sessions for ye or critique videos, etc.

You must have been running hotter than Jesus? or are ya just that good??!!

Im away at the races today but i can get the ball rolling on Tuesday and make a video if thats ok, God knows i need to get my game analyzed. Ill setup an msn account aswell and add ye.

Shoutman what do you think is the best way to go for this, make a video open up a thread post it and discuss and analyze. Afaik you can block out screen names for privacy. Or what ideas have you?

I think 1 tabling would be a bit boring so maybe i could 3 table, trouble is im on ipoker and cant use mini view because Poker Office isnt compatible with mini view and since i rely on stats a good bit i think it would be silly to make a video without them but if i 3 table there will be a bit of overlap so i dont know if that will be awkward for you watching or not?

Anyway i downloaded Camtasia for recording and here are the links for anyone that dosent have them:

Heres the free 30 day trial:
    http://www.techsmith.com/download/camtasiatrial.asp

A how to video (flash) for anyone who hates reading manuals (only about 5 or 10 mins long):
    http://video.techsmith.com/camtasia/latest/edu/howto/enu/howto_cs4.html

And i think youll need to download the 1st and last link on this for it to work properly in windows:
    http://www.techsmith.com/download/codecs.asp

If i do this what time session will i do 30min/45min and what format windows media player or Quicktime.

I done a test video and it seems very easy to use but it takes a long time to produce the film when its made i.e you might have to wait for an hour or so for the progress bar to get to 100% considering the time it took me for a 5 minute video.

I was talking to P_L and he said his group never got anything done so he's no help lol.

I think 1tabling would be boring alright but im sure theres a way to just capture one of the multiple tables you are playing and any interesting hands would be good.
    Also I think if possible people should do a running commentry on what they are thinking on playing their hands, it will make it a lot easier to analyse I reckon.
    Also I'm not sure if everyone would be comfortable posting in the main forum as a whole, possibly just putting the video on to a hosting site and just send the link to the other people in the group who want it or whatever.
    Also it would be handy to get a list of the usernames for everyone playing at this limit so we avoid each other. I just signed up to noble poker today with a rakeback deal courtesy of Ste05 but my money hasnt been withdrawn from my last site onto neteller yet so cant start playing.

Am just back from town with my new monitor in hand which I'm very happy about.

Dantes wrote:
    You must have been running hotter than Jesus? or are ya just that good??!!

Just that good :p , I was at 8.6 PTBB/100 when I was playing 20nl on Irish Eyes and that was for about 16K hands.

Now I'm on Party and I have SpadeEye so game selection has gotten ridiculously easy. 11.62 PTBB/100 so far at 100nl but it's only 2200 hands, I did take a 3 and a half buy-in downswing as soon as I moved up though, glad I played through it.

Here's the 2+2 guide to making a video.

shoutman wrote:
    Also it would be handy to get a list of the usernames for everyone playing at this limit so we avoid each other.

Personally, I don't mind playing on a table of solid tags just as long as there's one big fish on my right. It probably shouldn't matter if ye end up on the same table as it most likely means that ye are using good game selection and chasing the same fish.

Sounds just like Full Tilt!

Thats where I'm playing, mostly TAG's but the odd fish drops in every now and then and its like pirhana's in a feeding frenzy!! lol :)

I've just broken through a cool streak, and that combined with moving my roll to iPoker, playing badly, moving my roll back to FT has hit me hard, what with currency exchange and charges, it will take another few K of hands to get back ready to take shots and move up again...

I hated playing on full tilt, I dont know what to tell ya.

So anyway I presume everyone has msn messenger? I reckon it would be good to have everyones msn name to casually discuss hands or whatever.

I couldn't take iPoker crashing on all the time, couldn't get my fix when I needed it so moved back. I like the FT interface... I'll pm you my msn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

id be up for this once i get a new laptop

Yea i have those problems from time to time, im still gonna give it a go 35% rakeback is good.

I've added you to msn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Anyone who wants to me add me on msn, just click on msn symbol at bottom left on my profile.

Ok, i finally got MSN sorted as i was having problems with it and you can get me on mornythailand@hotmail.com if you want to add me.

I also got the video done, theres actually quite a bit of work in getting in done the first time but once you do one its not too bad when you know what your doing. One thing to point out is you should goto the Tools ---> Options in the Camtasia Recorder screen (This is the small screen that shows up before you start to record not the big studio window) and under the capture tab select CAPTURE LAYERED WINDOWS, if you dont do this your stats wont show up if your using PAHUD/Poker Office etc.

Anyway its about a 40 min video, a few interesting hands but nothing spectacular. Question where is the best place to upload it for everyone to download. I cant figure out how to blur my screenname so ill only be giving the download to people involved in the group, does anyone have a link to the other thread about this where i think P_L explains how to blur out names on the screen and then i could insert it in a thread.

Ill upload it later once i find out what the best site is and hopefully it should be up by the end of the evening. Just to point out in advance as i didnt spotr it at the time. One of the hands i got all in with a donley i had my eye on i had forgot to top up and so i only had a $35 stack unfortunately, wheter i would have got the other $15 in is debatable but a bad oversight on my part that i taught id mention

If ye want ye can add me , just click the thing on the left :)

Cant find anywhere where you can upload the file. The all seem to have limits 100mb 25mb etc and my file is 160mb (as small as i could get it) Any ideas? People on 2+2 recommend MegaUpload but as far as i can see you can only email it to 1 person?

With megaupload, its kept on their servers I think and people can only download once item a day without paying or something, it should be greand for your video if it will hold it, then post or send out the address of it individually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

dvdfan wrote:
    Anyway its about a 40 min video, a few interesting hands but nothing spectacular. Question where is the best place to upload it for everyone to download. I cant figure out how to blur my screenname so ill only be giving the download to people involved in the group, does anyone have a link to the other thread about this where i think P_L explains how to blur out names on the screen and then i could insert it in a thread.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=53285767&postcount=73

dvdfan wrote:
    Cant find anywhere where you can upload the file. The all seem to have limits 100mb 25mb etc and my file is 160mb (as small as i could get it) Any ideas? People on 2+2 recommend MegaUpload but as far as i can see you can only email it to 1 person?

For sharing videos, each group could create a gmail account and use the Firefox extension Gspace,
    which turns Firefox to something like FTP clien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I haven't read the whole thread, so apologies if this is redundant, but you should consider posting up the Video's here and we can all have a look and make comments. When I get a new SN in a month or 2, I'm thinking of making a 2-4 table video and posting it up here for comments.

Ok i finally got the video uploaded to megaupload.com so if anyones interested in the link you can email/message me on the above email addy. Unfortunately i couldnt get the callout/blur thing as it was too complicated as i was moving screens around abit so i dont want to post it.

Maybe for anyone that does review it start up a new thread and refer to the time when a certain hand happened as otherwise it will be hard to locate the hand. I think it would be better to review it among the few of us involved so we can see different opinions and maybe get some discussions going on the some hands but if you want to do it by PM/IM then by all means go ahead any feedback by anyone will be appreciated and as i said already to some of you i made a few audio gaffs calling a set trips and a flush A34 board a dry flop and a donk bet a cbet etc which i didnt even notice at the time but its unusual having to concentrate on what your saying and playing at the same time. I wont be around till after 1pm so if some of the posters above already have the link if you want to ask them for it thats grand as long as your a regular boardsie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

can someone pm it to me?

thanks

pm'd Mr.plough, taught id let ye know Shoutman set up a thread for the video review here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=53578682#post53578682

Just incase people start posting several threads

Cheers

link please Dvd? :D

Whos Next So???

RedJoker wrote:
    This would have been great for me last week but I only managed to get in about 5600 hands at 50nl before hitting 2k and moving up. A 14.7 PTBB/100 winrate and a $100 deposit bonus will do that for ya :). Anyway, I'd be happy to look at sessions for ye or critique videos, etc.

I know you probably werent at the 50NL long enough but how did you find the difference when moving up to 100NL, much more 3 betting, harder to find looser tables???

dvdfan wrote:
    I know you probably werent at the 50NL long enough but how did you find the difference when moving up to 100NL, much more 3 betting, harder to find looser tables???

Definitely a lot more 3 betting, mostly by me though :D .

Not too much harder with SpadeEye but the regulars are certainly tougher than at 50nl. Fish are still fish but I find it harder to stack people now.

dvdfan wrote:
    Whos Next So???

i hope to get it done by the begining of august. Just some techincal implications!

Hi, I recorded a roughly 40 min session, I'll do like dvdfan, if any of the regular boardsies would be good enough to take a look and comment, I'd be very grateful. PM me for link...

Cheers