Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FN-FAL from Kingarms Review (sort of)

• 06-07-2007 11:45AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭

FN FAL from uncompany.com arrived today.
    Kings Arms make. No Customs fees at all.
    I think Wed it was shipped from Hong Kong and it
    arrived around 10am this morning.

Dont know how exactly to review this as I have not fired it
    yet. I have no experiance with Airsoft AEGs so I dont know what is
    good quality or bad quality, Having handled the real FN for years
    I can only compare the AEG to that with regards to
    seeing how life like it is.

Over all the Length feels the exact same as the real thing maybe
    the stock is a little longer.

The Front post type fore sight looks a little high but it comes with
    an adjustment key so easily sorted. The Post type protectors
    are skelton protectors and not like you would see on the Irish version
    which were solid.

The Back sights are either plastic of metal covered in plastic.
    The apeture back site is a OK the hole is a little small.
    The Ramp works and is adjustable for the different ranges.

There is no Grenade sights and there is no carrying handle on the
    version I got.

Its weight is VERY light compared to the real FN even though the
    King Arms AEG is made from a metal body.

I would have love if the handle that broke the rifle worked
    and the rifle did break on the hinge and allow you to access
    the inner workings. But it does not. Its not even a lever its
    molded into the body which is a dead give away that the rifle
    is a Toy/Replica. The Topcover is metal and looks like the real thing.
    It feels a bit light almost like a tin can but that actual real top cover
    felt that way only a bit thicker metal. The colour is slightly different
    shade of black an green/brown shade.

The Paint/Finish on it is pretty good and from a few feet away it would
    be hard to tell it from the real thing.

The Selector is solid and nice and works like the real deal. Flips almost
    180 degrees to go on full auto. It even has the dents in the body of the AEG
    where the selector slots into which is a nice touch.

I am disapointed with the stock and handguard.
    They could have just as easily used the same material as they
    did no the real thing it would not have cost that much. It looks fake
    and light. If I had a real handguard I would change it as it may fit!!
    The Hand guard paws too easily too and looks light.
    As soon as you touch it you know its a replica. The stock looks fine
    but feels delicate. The Rubber butt plate covers a plastic cover
    for the battery housing. This is difficult to get off and feels like it will
    break after a bit of use. I got a large battery pack 3600mah and it fits
    in without any modification. I am charging it in work at the moment.

The Cocking handle screws on and when you pull it back it
    does not pull back fully but about half the length of the real one
    but it does so under spring pressure and does pull back a slide that
    covers the hop up system that can be adjusted very easily.

The Battery pack was partially charged I had assumed it would not be
    like the batt pack I got last week for the MP5 I bought.
    One of the lads it work shorted out too leads and managed to burn
    his thumb as the sparks and I actually saw an orange flame! flashed for
    a split sec.

One very nice feature is they paid attention to detail with regards
    to the gas chamber. You can remove the gas lug and there is a
    miniture version (much shorter than the real thing in length)
    of the piston rod and piston spring. This flies out and shoots up
    into the air when you remove the lug so you have to be careful.
    It went about 20 feet into the air and I thought I had lost it as it
    nearly flew into my neighbours back garden when I removed it too look at.

The Magazine is solid and metal too. There is no winder on it so you have
    to use a speed loader to load it. This Sucks!! its a HUGE mag and only holds
    90 rounds. It would be better if you could open it pour the bb's in and then
    wind it!. I may buy the hi-cap magazin that holds over 500 in the future.

The Hold open device does not move or function (as it does not need to)
    The magazine release catch works like the real thing.
    The magazine even fits almost like the real thing.

I have some early pics here:
    fn7.jpg
    fn6.jpg
    fn5.jpg
    fn4.jpg
    fn3.jpg
    fn2.jpg
    fn1.jpg

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

Thats one savage looking Aeg, good review

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mark_Sc

Wow! I used to hate them but..... wow that looks great! Congrats man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

Nice review alright, very detailed. I'm a bit of a fan of the FN FAL myself and was thinking of getting one when they first came out but then I heard some people commenting on it being very light which was a bit of a letdown. I reckon Kings Arms did it on purpose to sell more units, make it light so anyone can wield it. Although I don't know why anyone of small stature would think of getting an FAL anyway given the length of it.

Maybe after VFC have finished their FN-C they'll do an FAL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭ambro25

Very nice review bullets. Made all the better since you're used to the real steel version and have compared to same. Thank you very much. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I will let ye know how it fires once I finish work.

[EDIT] She fires Low! Fiddled with the hop up a bit
    did not seem to make any difference. rotated
    the setting up it rolled smoothly up and then seemed
    to get a tiny bit tight/stiff to roll up but but when I
    tried to roll it down to its original position it did not go as far back.
    Hope I did not break anything as I was gentle and did
    not want to force anything. Not that it matters much
    as Its just mainly a display piece/toy for me.

One thing I am going to do is mix a bit of boltgun metal and black paint
    from games workshop and weather it a tiny bit. This gives a very realistc
    look to the rifle.

Where you might give a hint of wear or a slight silvery colour around
    the edges of the flash eliminator or the magazine houseing or
    other edges that may wear in real life.

When its perfectly new looking it some how looks less real.
    If your in the field they are bound to get worn a bit so
    by adding a bit of artifcial wear marks it looks great.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

Good review man, I have one... it empties that 90rd mag in no time so with only one mag it has been useless for sustained firing. It's a nice gun, quick enough first shot and savage ROF. It's faster than my CA Aug as best as I can gauge. I ordered more 90 round mags because I don't like the rattle of bbs in the high caps. The sight aperture (as you said) is quite small and low light firing is annoying if not impossible. I tend to go for two eyes open quick snap shot and adjust with the second shot at the next moment. I have vids of it firing but I don't really wanna post them on the board. (that said they are on youtube...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,144 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Just a question.

Did you order the full length or the tactical carbine version? As that's the tactical carbine. Would explain why it's not as long as there's no carry handle.

I know someone else on here ordered one and got the wrong rifle. Just wondering if that happened to you too!

Oh and I don't think the high capacity magazines are out for it yet. King Arms keep putting it off for some reason. So you'll just have to make do with mid caps for the moment.

Still, great looking gun.

King Arms FN FAL Carbine (KA-AG-02-C)
    is what I ordered and what came no probs there.
    I am amazed at the speed of delivery!!!
    It went from Hong Kong to India to Denmark to Limerick.

I specifically wanted this model as it was the most close
    to the later Irish issued ones. (The earlier ones had wood stocks)

I did not order any of the others because:
    (KA-AG-02) Did not have the flash eliminator I wanted.
    (KA-AG-02-TC) was shorter with short handguard.
    (KA-AG-03-TC) Had a folding stock.

The 550 hi-cap mags you can order they appear as new
    in the magazine section but I dunno if they are in stock or not
    as it does not say.

I got a Basic-01 BOL charger which charged the battery pack in
    an hour using the 4.0A setting on it.

The BB's appeared to travel faster than the ones from the MP5 I got.
    As I shoot real stuff too I can borrow a chrony off a buddy in work
    and see what FPS they come out at.

Have not been able to have fun
    with it as I am living in an estate with nose'y neighbours and I dont want
    to spook them or have them call the cops thinking I am up to no good.
    While fireing the mp5 last weekend at the hedge out my back garden
    I startled my Indian Neighbours living next door to me that I have not
    been introduced to yet (They keep to themselves) as they looked over
    the wall when they heard the noise of the motor. I was worried I may have
    scared them as they may not have understood it was not real.

I may yet in the distant future buy a de-activated real steel one
    as you can pick one up for 400 GBP someplaces. But its hassle
    to get permission etc from the GARDAI. Would love to be able
    to strip and assemble.

The lads in work thought it was pretty cool and liked it but I doubt are
    willing to travel all the way to Dublin to try Airsoft. And if they did
    it would only be a once off visit.
    ~B

Master of the Universe

May be a good idea to go in and explain what it is to your neighbours just to be safe. The last thing you want is the Gardaí coming around to check it out. Which has actually happened in a couple of cases. More than likely they'd even ask to take it for inspection.

The KA Fal shoots 1 joule stock. I doubt the mp5 is doing that. So it's going to have a nice bit of ooompfh to it alright.

Oh, and just to note, we don't talk about reel steel in here as we're trying to distance ourself from real firearms as much as we can. Not a connection that helps the sport in the slightest.

Anyway. You have me very very jealous indeed. I've been wanting one of those since it was released.

May just hang on though until King Arms release the British version as I'd quite like to put a Falklands loadout together.

o1s1n wrote:
    Oh, and just to note, we don't talk about reel steel in here as we're trying to distance ourself from real firearms as much as we can. Not a connection that helps the sport in the slightest.

No worries. I understand its in airsofts sports best interests to
    distance them selfs from real steel stuff or else ye guys
    would get slapped with licence fees and retrictions etc.
    I must say it was a relief to be able to get nice "looking" stuff
    even if a replica like without needing to jump through legal hoops.
    So I will refrain from mentioning the real stuff in the future.

What specificly is OK to disuss?
    I dont want to cross the line and start having threads locked or
    aggitate anyone.

As I did not intend it to start a discussion about the real thing itself.

is it just dont mention real stuff etc
    ie can you compare the experiance beween real life and simulated etc

Its difficult to avoid. as I thought the entire idea of airsoft
    as I have read about so far is to simulate real tactics/events and what
    Would be done in real life. People are buying Uniforms as close to the
    real thing as they can, People are buying AEG's that look as close to the real
    thing. People are re-enacting the methods that are done in real life situations.
    Doing things to emmulate everyhing in detail and as close to doing it for
    real without any real danger.

I'm not trying to start any arguments or anything as I have never tried
    airsort but I would have assumed that To restrict or to not encourage t
    he discussions between comparing whats real and whats acting would only serve to push the airsoft sport more towards the fantasy end of things rather than keeping it a real as possible.
    Sure there is a need to discuss some aspects of real things in order to get an accurate
    mil-sim.

If I was to try Airsoft one thing that has been on my mind is the lack of
    any recoil on the AEG's would love to see a device small enough to
    fit in one to create even a little. As people would see it would be a
    different experiance should an AEG have the full effect of recoil.

~B

Master of the Universe

bullets wrote:
    No worries. I understand its in airsofts sports best interests to
    distance them selfs from real steel stuff or else ye guys
    would get slapped with licence fees and retrictions etc.
    I must say it was a relief to be able to get nice "looking" stuff
    even if a replica like without needing to jump through legal hoops.
    So I will refrain from mentioning the real stuff in the future.

What specificly is OK to disuss?
    I dont want to cross the line and start having threads locked or
    aggitate anyone.

is it just dont mention real stuff etc
    ie can you compare the experiance beween real life and simulated etc

Its difficult to avoid. as I thought the entire idea of airsoft
    as I have read about so far is to simulate real tactics/events and what
    Would be done in real life. People are buying Uniforms as close to the
    real thing as they can, People are buying AEG's that look as close to the real
    thing. People are re-enacting the methods that are done in real life situations.
    Doing things to emmulate everyhing in detail and as close to doing it for
    real without any real danger.

I'm not trying to start any arguments or anything as I have never tried
    airsort but I would have assumed that To restrict or to not encourage the discussions between comparing whats real and whats acting would only serve to push the airsoft sport more towards the fantasy end of things rather than keeping it a real as possible.

If I was to try Airsoft one thing that has been on my mind is the lack of
    any recoil on the AEG's would love to see a device small enough to
    fit in one to create even a little. As people would see it would be a
    different experiance should an AEG have the full effect of recoil.

~B

You have some interesting points. Airsoft is indeed about realism. However, it IS possible to discuss the sport without talking about real firearms. We've been doing it here for quite some time.

The comparison with firearms goes no further than the looks. Comparing how a real steel FAL and an AEG FAL feel to fire is completely pointless. One is just a toy (for no use of a better word) the other is a firearm. They are completely different mechanisms.

We need to keep this line defined between the two for the benefit of our sport. Once the line gets blurred, and people are comparing the two, bad things can happen. I.E licensing. Stricter controls. Etc. One thing we're trying to distinguish, is the difference between air rifles/bb/pellet guns and airsoft. As again, one is a firearm, the other is not. Its a common misconception of the general population that they are the same thing.

You can discuss tactics, real life events and so on. Just not actual firearms. Most of the people who post here don't own firearms, so it's not an issue. I know you're a shooter yourself, so you may have some difficulty. :)

Cool thanks for letting me know.
    Did not want to cause any negative waves!

~B

Master of the Universe

bullets wrote:
    Cool thanks for letting me know.
    Did not want to cause any negative waves!

~B

No problem. Now go shoot that FAL! It pains me to think it's sitting there all lonely.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

o1s1n wrote:
    Did you order the full length or the tactical carbine version? As that's the tactical carbine. Would explain why it's not as long as there's no carry handle.

Actually that's the carbine version it's between the Tactical Carbine and the full length FAL. It was me who got the tactical carbine... I had ordered the carbine (it's the closest to the one the fca had, the full length fal has a different hand gaurd and flash eliminator). Still I'm happy enough because I will use mine at skirmishes and I can only imagine lugging the longer version around tight corners.

Master of the Universe

padmundo wrote:
    Actually that's the carbine version it's between the Tactical Carbine and the full length FAL. It was me who got the tactical carbine... I had ordered the carbine (it's the closest to the one the fca had, the full length fal has a different hand gaurd and flash eliminator). Still I'm happy enough because I will use mine at skirmishes and I can only imagine lugging the longer version around tight corners.

Ah I see. Well, when I get the full length, we should have the complete set between us :)

I was going to sell my FAMAS and put the money toward it. Although, with the length, I'm not too sure now. Would be handy having a smaller AEG too for CQB.

Steyer AUG is next on my list.
    And if I can get a Bren MKIII I would love that too.
    (All to bring back fond memories of my youth!!!!)

~B

There's no production model Airsoft Bren gun but there is a company in England that has made some custom bren's and Lee Enfield .303 carbines for Airsoft. If I can find the website I'll link it here.

Soundist, googled earlier today but did not come up with anything
    much.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

bullets wrote:
    much.

~B

Blasphemy! Google can answer anything!!!!

bullets wrote:
    much.

~B

Found the site www.shootnscoot.co.uk You have to commision a piece and it's quite expensive 680 pounds sterling for a Bren MkI or II. I don't see mention of a MkIII but I'm sure they'd do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

Fiach Dubh wrote:
    Found the site www.shootnscoot.co.uk You have to commision a piece and it's quite expensive 680 pounds sterling for a Bren MkI or II. I don't see mention of a MkIII but I'm sure they'd do it.

i guess gandalf will be way way interested in that..they have ww2 gear, not bad value either....very hard to find companies selling it in one piece, y straps, bread bags, etc...

Managed to clock the speed today of the FN.

Batterys fully charged 8.4v 3600mah.

At the muzzle it with 0.2g BB'c (CYMA make)
    figures came out at 297-308 fps
    At around 25ft they dropped to 266-275 fps
    I thought this may be a little more!

(the CYMA MP5 was around 200fps at muzzle and
    average of 193 at 25ft)

~B