Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guitar Arrived (I think)

• 06-07-2007 9:03am
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I think my guitar arrived:

From the EMS site: Posted from Japan
    Jul 6
    1:58 Processing at delivery Post Office NAVAN IRELAND

Jul 6
    12:00 Final delivery NAVAN IRELAND

No one is home. I rang the local postie and they said they haven't received anything for me? What courier does EMS use when it gets to Ireland? There could be something in the door when I get home but that means I won't get my guitar for the weekend, waaaah.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

Sorted (pun). Rang the sorting office and he got in contact with the driver and confirmed that he has a large parcel for me. T minus 7 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Wait a minute... what guitar?

Details and pic, please, didn't you read the charter? ;)

Real pics and details next week. Tease (Oh matron).

Ooooh, very tasty, an exquisite choice, if I may say so. We'll be needing plenty of pics and a review of that one:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Slaanesh wrote:
    Real pics and details next week. Tease (Oh matron).

Not a big fan of lps, but that's very tasty, did you get it off Ishi?

I did to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

That guitar looks sweet. All hail the mighty Ishibashi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

I have played pretty much that exact guitar.. you will be pleased..
    TK

NeMiSiS wrote:
    I have played pretty much that exact guitar.. you will be pleased..
    TK

Damn you, I'm GASSING enough already as it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

*drool*

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

So EMS actually can get those guitars through Frankfurt airport without loosing them :mad: I am bitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

I've heard nothing but good words about those Edwards LPs so I had a look myself and I'm thinking I might like one. Still need to get my strat though.

@OP: How much did it cost ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Congrats. Not a LP man myself either, but I know a few ex-Gibson guys who won't be buying one again after getting their first Edwards. Quality guitars.

I've heard nothing but good words about those Edwards LPs so I had a look myself and I'm thinking I might like one. Still need to get my strat though.

@OP: How much did it cost ya?

€710 to the door. Didn't get by customs but had that factored in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

€710!! :eek: With the Duncan pickups I stuck on my Epi LP that works out cheaper! Feck. I can't help but feel slightly (and by slightly I mean unbelievably) pi$$ed off and jealous! Sweet axe my friend. Enjoy, and spare a thought for fools like me how insist on buying here still.

Don1 wrote:
    €710!! :eek: With the Duncan pickups I stuck on my Epi LP that works out cheaper! Feck. I can't help but feel slightly (and by slightly I mean unbelievably) pi$$ed off and jealous! Sweet axe my friend. Enjoy, and spare a thought for fools like me how insist on buying here still.

You never know, it could be in more than 1 piece when I take it out of the box :eek:

Well take it out of the box then ;)

T-Minus 2 hours my friend.

Isn't there someone you can call who can shake the box on your behalf and count how many pieces rattle? :D

The first problem there would be shaking the box!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

"Hmmm, yes, sir when I shake it it seems to sound like a rather dull wind chime. Is this a bad thing?!" ;)

Slaanesh wrote:
    €710 to the door. Didn't get by customs but had that factored in anyway.

Jaysus thats sweet!

Just had a quick wiff on the calculator there. Did you buy one of the ones that cost 77,280 or one that was more expensive? Just looking at the site now. I presume you paid around 18000JPY on shipping? If mine works out to be that price I might just get one like it...

Or even a semi..

mmm...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mr_fruitbowl

Nice guitar, i'm interested. What site did ya get it from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Ah Jaysus thats loverley!!!

I'm thinking of buying the P90 version of that guitar, it looks so sexy....mmmm P90 Custom!! :D:D:D

Ishibashi???

If it was ishibashi who you bought it off, it will be in one piece. you should have seen the amount of bubblewrap around my bass. it was ridiculous! its one case where you want it to be overkill.. :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Can I ask something about Ishibashi!

Whats so great about ishibashi? Cheaper? And also do you just order from that like you would on thomann? Credit card etc.

And also how do you find a english version of it? :(

Just have a look at some threads, including the resources sticky. There are loads of posts about ishibashi which should answer everything.

thanks for that!
    They good on price?
    also the currency is Jap yen ya?

They are fantastic. Do a search and see.

yeah wow! 390 for a jap fender :)

Tho I dont know how to order :P but so far Im havig fun looking!

payments can be made by credit card. you email them about what you want and they reply with the total cost and provide a link for submitting credit card details.

If you're buying from them please remember you will have to pay Import duty+Vat. Have fun!

If you want to order, email web-shop@ishibashi.co.jp and Daisuke will reply with very good English and will describe the condition of the guitar if it's second hand. And believe me, if they says scratches can be seen if look ever so carefully, you will not see them!

@ RHCP - Check out the tax calculator in the resources sticky as well. I still haven't decided what I want from ishibashi yet!

I've never actually heard anything on edwards guitars? They good?

They're ESP's Japan only brand. Better quality than ESPs apparently.

Having owned an Edwards, I wouldn't say they're better than ESP. They're very good, but personally I would rate real ESP's higher.

This is a good read on the different brands

http://www.guitarsjapan.com/ESPinfopage.html

I always get confused with the ESP brands. I thought the quality went:

Navigator - Edwards - ESP - LTD - Grassroots

Spose there is the possiblity that I might be slightly wrong :p

Swap ESP and Edwards around there and you're on the money ;)

Sounds great lads. Damn sexy price too!

Aye, for the money they are an insanely good deal.

Gas building...

Yeah, GAS ho!

img10452129923.jpeg

That actually doesn't do it for me...

This does:

elp105ce_dps.jpg

^ Be better if there weren't two 81's. If it had two 85's or an 81 85.

85 and a 60 would be perfect.

...i want one now:mad:

I want this one :)

E-LP-92CD_P.jpg

So edwards is just a little lower than Esp? But still kick ass?

And GAS METER: OVERLOAD

Their should be a gas thread :)

Every thread should be a GAS thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

joe robot wrote:
    I want this one :)

E-LP-92CD_P.jpg

I have also played this.. or a very very similar Edwards LP to this, and she was a beaut.. I'll try hook ye all up with some Edwards LP GAS pic's some day, mate of mine has loads of em.. and lucky for me.. I get to try them when I visit.
    Excellent guitars, quality is really outstanding.
    TK