Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick v Louth

• 05-07-2007 2:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭

Maybe I'm being optimistic but I think Louth can win this one even after all the drop-outs. Most of the players gone were fringe players or players who were going a bit stale anyway. Other than Mark Brennan, who's been rubbish all year, all those players are very replaceable. We still have Hoey, Stanfield, Clarke and Lennon in the forwards. Martin Farrelly could possibly move into the half forward line leaving Carroll to play midfield. Carr will be a loss in the back line particularly with Goss being ruled out. Neary came in for Goss the last day and performed OK but if Finnegan is out as well, because of his wedding, then we will be short 3 solid first team players from the back line. If Limerick are good enough in attack they should expose that. However they have lost Gavin and Kearns and I don't know if they have the talent to exploit these losses. They got an awful hammering against Cork and only put over 7 points. Even after the shake-up, with Lennon and Clarke and hopefully the whole team feeling they have a point to prove, I hope Louth can scrape through this one and regroup.

Louth team that beat Limerick in the League semi last year. They were 11 points up before Limerick even scored:

Stuart Reynolds, David Brennan, Colin Goss, Jamie Carr, John O'Brien, Peter McGinnity, John Neary, Martin Farrelly, Pady Keenan, Christy Grimes, Mark Brennan, Mark Stanfield, J.P. Rooney, Aaron Hoey, darren Clarke.

Limerick team for the game Saturday:

Limerick (SF v Louth): S Kiely; D Carroll, J McCarthy, A Lane; T Cahill, P Browne, R Ranahan; T Carroll, J Galvin; G Collins, J Ryan, S Buckley; M Crowley, D Horan, M Reidy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

i agree, i think louth have every chance of beating limerick - i seen them play a league game this year and they were so bad it defied belief - most of the players who left the louth panel are not a big loss, so i wouldnt be surprised to see louth winning by 2-3 points.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

Think the bookies have us as the underdogs....Gonna be tough but it's not a bad draw...hope we scrape it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

bookies are offering 2/1 on louth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Paddy power has Limerick 4/7, Louth 7/4

Kind of surprised Limerick are down as such strong favourites for this after the poor show against Cork. Maybe home advantage, and the few players Louth are missing, gives Limerick a slight edge. Should be a close game though. I wouln't know which way to call it tbh!

Well the bookies got it wrong again, you just can't keep this Louth team down..............unless of course the ref doesn't play the full amount of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭andrew1977

Fair play to Louth considering they were 3 points down with less than 10 minutes on the clock, i was listening to it on the radio (lmfm:D ) and thought we were a gonner.
    Considering all the messing and fighting gone on in the louth camp in the past couple of weeks, you would have expected them to just give up.
    Credit to the wee county,roll on the next round .

Mark Stanfield doesnt get the credit he deserves for good scores he contributes to the team.
    Whats the odds on Louth V Meath next round ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Great result... Went through the torture of listening to it on LMFM as well. When they cut away with us 3 points down, I thought that was it - couldn't believe when they went back to the game and it all square...

Hopefully, we'll get a draw closer to home this time around. You have to question the decision to have the throw-in at 7pm - certainly ruled out travelling for me. I have a sneaky feeling we could all be heading for Navan for another Louth v Meath clash..

I think we'd have no trouble beating Meath. I'd love to get that tie.

no problem beating meath, are you having a laugh mate...?
    Its an understatement to say that this is not a great meath team. But louth also have an incredibly average team and id be shocked if they got passed meath....
    We nearly dublin to the sword in 2 quality games - louth struggled to get passed a useless wicklow team....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

i had a nice little bet with boylesports on louth at 2/1 get in!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭andrew1977

I think we'd have no trouble beating Meath. I'd love to get that tie.

me as a louthman would even admit that we wouldnt beat meath, its the last draw i want to come out of the hat for us

meath are on their way back and showed that against Dublin, i dont think this current louth team would beat meath
    but if it happens i hope i am wrong:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Was listening on that LMFM aswell, while watching the hurling. Sounded like a good game. Fair play to the wee men for the strong finish, showed great courage. Injury time winner was a bit of a sickener from my point of view, but hopefully ye can go further in the qualifiers. Defo the bookies called this one wrong!

Ah Meath are rubbish. They had their chance against Dublin and they messed it up. We were robbed for time Vs Wexford.....incidentally where are Wexford now? :D:D

I'd love to draw Meath.

you really are a deluded about this louth team mate - i was at the game against wexford and youse were woeful - using timekeeping as an excuse is pathetic....

Dublin are notorioisly hard to beat at Croker, meath ran them close is 2 games - think your the only one in the country who thinks meath are rubbish......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 ducksie

Was in Limerick on saturday evening and although the team showed great character to win both teams were of a very poor standard. Lets be honest about it although he scored a point Sean O Neill must be the slowest outfield intercounty player in the country. I hope we can put it up to Kildare but to be honest we look to be the worst team left in the qualifiers but if we continue to show the same spirit you never know.