Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those Permanent TSB adverts

• 04-07-2007 8:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭

I still don't get it, why do they think a stereotypical mafiaso will encourage people to bank with them? Is it a case of 'join us or we'll break your legs'? Still at least it's not as bad as that dodgy Bank of Ireland fairy adverts. Must have been a lot of 'creative powder' used when they came up with that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Go home and get your ****in shinebox.

I think theyre gas :) Its too bad they didnt make any for post 9pm viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Moved...by someone else...heh. (From AH)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

I still don't get it, why do they think a stereotypical mafiaso will encourage people to bank with them? Is it a case of 'join us or we'll break your legs'?

It made me open an account straight away. The thought of waking up next to a horses head will do that to you. No concrete boots for this happy banker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I think of all the bank adverts out there, the Halifax ain't too shabby, followed by Rabo and AIB. The most recent BOI is a marked improvement on the ones of late. However a bit to go. The PTSB ads are just plain cheesy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

stepbar wrote:
    I think of all the bank adverts out there, the Halifax ain't too shabby, followed by Rabo and AIB. The most recent BOI is a marked improvement on the ones of late. However a bit to go. The PTSB ads are just plain cheesy.

"You mean bigger than AIB?"

"And Bank of Ireland, put together, TOGETHER!!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Not in Ireland they aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Its Phil Leotardo from the Sopranos,scary bloke...sign up now! :rolleyes: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Didnt want to open up a new thread on it , so i suppose its ok here , Does any one know who the girl in the Bank of Ireland ad , the one where shes an elf or something is ? She nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

I still don't get it, why do they think a stereotypical mafiaso will encourage people to bank with them? Is it a case of 'join us or we'll break your legs'? Still at least it's not as bad as that dodgy Bank of Ireland fairy adverts. Must have been a lot of 'creative powder' used when they came up with that one.
    Got you to post on the internet about them, and have obviously done enough to make you think about them.

Job done methinks

Oh and gustavo, let it go man! You going to ask on every forum ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Worst banking add has to go to ULSTER BANK

"A Grand!"

Followed by the 100euro add.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

shane86 wrote:
    Go home and get your ****in shinebox.

I think theyre gas :) Its too bad they didnt make any for post 9pm viewing.

This kid was great, they used to call him Spit-Shine-Shane, I swear to god, he'd make your shoes look like f**kin mirrors! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

tvnutz wrote:
    Its Phil Leotardo from the Sopranos,scary bloke...sign up now! :rolleyes: :p
    They probably couldn't afford Tony Soprano. American Airlines could though.

The-Rigger wrote:
    This kid was great, they used to call him Spit-Shine-Shane, I swear to god, he'd make your shoes look like f**kin mirrors! :D

MOTHER-****ER!!! YOU MOTHER-FUK YOU!!!!

*smashes glass, froths at mouth while yelling "keep him here" * :D

Possibly my favourite line/scene out of any film ever made.

lol.JPG

What are you still doin here? I thought I told you to go **** ya mutha....

Alright alright, Im finished now :D

So yeah, TSB, cool.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Well I suppose it ties in nicely with gangster politicians that keep all their money in brown envelopes under the mattress while trying to run a country's finances.

Of all the TV gangsters to pick, why use Phil Leotardo. The biggest asshole ever to appear on the sopranos. Why would they think that using an asshole would encourage people to use their bank!

He was on the PTSB ads before he became a major charachter in the Sopranos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Dodge wrote:
    He was on the PTSB ads before he became a major charachter in the Sopranos
    Yeah, and sure he's more famous for his part in Goodfellas, as was beautifully re-enacted by messrs shane86 and The-Rigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

I wish they'd pack that mafioso langer back to Sicily already

What a wonderful, well thought out post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

I have to laugh everytime I see Philly doing those ads, espesially since he called chrissy's mom a Cxnt. I like the Halifax ads as well very well done.

Don't like the BOI ones at all that girl annoys me.

Snake

BaZmO* wrote:
    Yeah, and sure he's more famous for his part in Goodfellas, as was beautifully re-enacted by messrs shane86 and The-Rigger

have to laugh everytime I see Philly doing those ads, espesially since he called chrissy's mom a Cxnt.

He should do a bit of that in the ads, or talk about shine boxes.
    I like the Halifax ads as well very well done.

What are they like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

the Halifax ad is the one where the lads have a bodylocking competition with other banks, its double funny for me as the baldy headed fella is the spit of one of my mates

Snake ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

This advert series plays solely on the fanbase of the sopranos and aims itself squarely at them. They probably figure they're appealing to a wide range of young adults with a fair bit of income, who are all too willing to sign up to this sort of crap. Pisses me off no end....same with the bloody dolmio ads or whatever. Piss off back to mafia land the lot of ye...

Related note, that halifax ad that apes the Jason Nevin's video is very good, never fails to get a chuckle out of me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I'm glad Halifax went a different advertising route when promoting over here. I don't think I'd have liked Howard and friends with an Irish slant.

Wertz wrote:
    This advert series plays solely on the fanbase of the sopranos and aims itself squarely at them. same with the bloody dolmio ads
    Sweet jesus...

NOBODY switches bank because opf the tone/style of the ad. The ad is only there to get itinto your head that BANK A does this scheme of gives that bonus. Do you honestly believe that a bank aims an ad at such a small market? Get real lads

Dodge wrote:
    Sweet jesus...

Is that all aimed at me? Or a comment on the bolded text?

Assuming it's aimed at me;
    Ask 100 people that heard the ad in question what they remember about it....good chance 90% will tell you it had some mafia guy in it....I'd be very surprised if the other 10% could quote you any of what the mafia guy said in relation to what the bank is offering. Therefor their ad is failing in what it sets out to do.
    Obviously the bank wants to appeal to a very large swathe of people...and actual sopranos fans might make up small amount of the population....but the type of people they want to switch/join are people with decent incomes, who have a lot of cashflow and need of loans, mortgages etc.
    Chances are, the ad guys making this sat round a table, thought "What's the best way to appeal to the demographic our client want as new customers?" and someone said "Hey I know, everyone our age knows the sopranos, why it's the most popular TV show in the US! Imagine the japes we could have with our Tony-esque wiseguy recommending financial products!"
    Then they all went to lunch, the ads went to air and everyone lived happily ever after...

Dodge wrote:
    Sweet jesus...

NOBODY switches bank because opf the tone/style of the ad. The ad is only there to get itinto your head that BANK A does this scheme of gives that bonus. Do you honestly believe that a bank aims an ad at such a small market? Get real lads

I signed up purely because Phil Leotardo was on their ad.

Wertz wrote:
    Is that all aimed at me? Or a comment on the bolded text?
    The sweet jesus comment was aimed at the fact you think Dolmio ads are aimed at people with an interest in the Mafia. Most idiotic thing I've ever read.

The rest of the post was aimed at your ridiculous idea that the ads are only aimed at same fans, which you've gone further to say that this notional groupo are the ones most likely to change bank :rolleyes:

The fact there's a two page thread on this shows the advertising works. Glad you changed The Rigger

Dodge wrote:
    The sweet jesus comment was aimed at the fact you think Dolmio ads are aimed at people with an interest in the Mafia. Most idiotic thing I've ever read.
    Where did I say that they're aimed at people with an interest in the mafia? I said they played on the same strings as the PTSB ads and are equally annoying. Nothing more.
    Dodge wrote:
    The rest of the post was aimed at your ridiculous idea that the ads are only aimed at same fans, which you've gone further to say that this notional groupo are the ones most likely to change bank :rolleyes:

Notional group? Approximately a 1/4 of a million people watch the sopranos on Irish TV ( http://www.precisionmedia.ie/index.php?action=viewTV&objectID=2 ) That's not a notional group.
    Where did I say they were most likely to switch? I said that the demographic that the bank is primarily aiming for (young professionals, large incomes, in need of lots of financial services) is also the one most likely to be a fan of, or at least to have heard of, the Sopranos; if not then why bother using the whole mafia vehicle in the series of ads? Wouldn't it be cheaper (if not as effective) to just do it on the cheap, flash some figures/rates in your face, have some young one from their call centre produce a nice smile and get a catchy backing tune for the ad campaign?
    The reason why is that the ad guys want the ads to be noticed by a certain group of potential customers and this campaign's vehicle is the one they hope will do that for them...
    Dodge wrote:
    The fact there's a two page thread on this shows the advertising works. Glad you changed The Rigger

I love this argument, there's always one poster who'll stick it into threads like this. How does a two page thread on an intarweb forum show that an advert works, exactly? Is it that old chestnut of "no publicity is bad publicity"?
    The opposite has been shown to be true amongst people who have posted about annoying ads/campaigns in the past, some going so far as to say that they'd avoid a product simply down to the fact that the advert annoys them.
    So when I walk past a branch of PTSB am I thinking "Hey they have great rates and reasons to join in that bank" or am I thinking "There's that that bank who's ad it is that annoys the hell out of me"?