Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last minute Vegas

• 04-07-2007 11:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭

I'm both nervous and excited as hell now. Just trying to think of last minute type stuff that needs to be done.

The WSOP is not being shown on TV in this part of the world is it? I'd guess it can be got over the web though, anyone got any links?

Any last minute tips bout where to visit in Vegas? bars, casinos, shopping etc.

Best casinos for 5/10 nl and 5/10 plo poker games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

its worth heading downtown for a stroll around,its totally different from the strip,a bit out of the way but well worth the effort.

if you're looking for a fancy meal i'd recommend picasso in the bellagio,its really pricey but well worth it,definitely the best meal i had while i was over there last year.

i found i ended up eating at all sorts of crazy hours last time,which meant ending up in the 24 hour restaurants a lot,which is pretty annoying,most of them are really grotty. however towards the end of last year i ate a few times in the 24 hour place in the venetian,it seemed to be by far the best of them,also their buffett breakfast is top notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

Cheers Rob, anybody sort out an ITIN? I never got around to doing this:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

anybody sort out an ITIN?

Ive a couple of mates heading over to the ME and we were talking about the ITIN crack last night. Can someone explain what exactly it is and what one needs to do when arriving in Vegas?? Thanks

It's an International Tax Identitification number which non us-nationals can use to claim tax back (or stop being taxed) when in the States. I'm not sure what exactly it covers but if you win prize money over a certain amount (I think the amount is $10K), you are liable for some heavy taxation of it unless you have one of these. I've gathered that you can get it sorted when you're over there, but it can take a few days apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭TheBlackThing

Just spooted an older thread on ITIN. If you follow fatboydims link it explains it pretty well.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055043433&referrerid=&highlight=itin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Blip

luckylucky wrote:
    I'm both nervous and excited as hell now. Just trying to think of last minute type stuff that needs to be done.

The WSOP is not being shown on TV in this part of the world is it? I'd guess it can be got over the web though, anyone got any links?

Any last minute tips bout where to visit in Vegas? bars, casinos, shopping etc.

Best casinos for 5/10 nl and 5/10 plo poker games?

I was flicking through the box last weekend and came across a program/docu on the WS from a couple of years ago so you might have seen it (pokerzone I think), it featured Barney Boatman taking some time out.

He was brought to the Gun Shop where the owner has a shooting range out back and you can hire any gun you can think of. Barney goes for a Tommygun, the old fashioned one with round mag and the front handle, thinks he's the business making gestures to the camera guy MOB style as you'd expect.

He turns to the target and and lets loose, arms and body shaking while the bullets rattle out, when he stops he turns to the camera totally lost for words...man he looked like he sh*t himself there and then.

Anyway it looked like a Vegas must do, If you get busted on the bubble of the ME after villian caught his one outer on the river you could bring a long a photo of the guy for target pratice. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

You could visit the Gamblers General Store

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

One of the best things i done while in Vegas was horse back riding on one of the canyons just outside vegas. Great views and great craic followed by a camp fire dinner and a few drinks under the stars fcking class. Good few tour guides run similair and inlude coach to and from Vegas.

Cheers Lads. Some good suggestions there.

Anyone know on what day the bubble is expected to happen in this year's Main Event? I'm guessing late Thursday or Friday, but that's just a WSOP virgin's guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

last year the bubble burst about 4 hours into day 3, id expect it to be around about the same this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

luckylucky wrote:
    that's just a WSOP virgin's guess!

Best of luck Barry, enjoy yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭pumpkinpints

luckylucky wrote:
    the amount is $10K
    its actaully $600.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

i didnt know anything about that tax number last year but they sorted it all out for me when i went to pick up the cash. probably best not to rely on that but it should be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,957 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

go watch the darts in vegas....