Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blackbelt in BLACK and WHITE

• 03-07-2007 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭

As pointed out by Kevmy,I've been here a long time and I've seen and read many arguments/debates etc.Some dude named Johnnog decided to come here and try and lay into me.I am not going to let that slide or give that him an opportunity to try and brand me this or that or express my views for me or give me a bad name.I am here to set the record straight and I am going to speak candidly upon my time here and my opinions.There are some things I need to get off my chest.Some of these points are directed at some members on here.I am not on a rant but I have to say this before I go on.

1.Blackbelt does not promote violence on and off the pitch.As Johnnog accused me of being like the "fans" that were beside him,I do not wish to see any player get his leg/jaw,arm or whatever broken no matter how much I like or dislike a player.I've acknowledged on here that I wasn't a fan of some of Whelans actions so I think board members can throw out the notion made by Johnnog that I am into violence and seeing players get hurt.

2.Blackbelt is a firm believer in what goes around comes around and the racist comment made by Geraghty was a perfect example of playing with fire and getting burned.In the Geraghty thread I did not say he deserved to get his hole handed to him,I am just pointing out what happened that he got punished for what he said.

3.As far as me being a rambo/Jackie Chan whatever,I am not that talented but have a blackbelt in judo and some experience in amateur/pro wrestling and boxing.I do not go around throwing my weight around however but I do not need to "hide behind my desk".I am well able to fight my corner and protect myself should the situation arise.

4.My comments about roughing it up with GG were a joke in response to Lemlins comment about how GG would smile and talk about his two all ireland medals and how he has won more than the current Dublin team put together.I do use the smileys for some poor misguided person who might take offence or take me too seriously.I do think some people seriously need to lighten up on here.

5.I know that sometime(s) in the past I have made outrageous remarks or some that were controversial.Most of which were from my ealrier days on here.I have never claimed to be whiter than white whether I be a bit biased or if I said something to somebody that was hurtful to somebody.That is not what I am here for although I do enjoy a debate even if it might get a bit heated.I am not here to get personal but again if its thrown my way I'll do my best to tone it down and throw it back.

6.This comment made by Johnnog made me laugh while at the same time made me angry.I go to nearly every Dublin match as a Dublin fan and as a neutral to other games.I have been following the league and championships year in,year out since I was a child.For Johnnog to come on here and claim that my knowledge of GAA was down to Google is an insult to me.Johnnog how foolish is it for you to say that.You haven't been here long enough and do not know me so before under-estimating my knowledge,take a look back at every post I made since 2004.I can safely say that most people on boards know that I have a good sense of the game and everything that happens/happened.

7.Blackbelt is not one bit jealous of Graham Geraghty.He won 2 AI for Meath which is something I never had the ambition of doing.I am not even jealous of Jason Sherlock,Charlie Redmond and John O Leary....why would I?They are my heroes.I have no reason to be jealous of Geraghty at all.In fact,I pity him to be honest.

8.I do not have any jealousy to any players,officials etc.My dream when I was a kid was to play in Croke Park and I achieved this in the schools finals.Now my goal is to be involved in an All-Ireland in the future.

9.I do not have any dislike for Lemlin.I've enjoyed debating with him over the years and is something which livens up Boards.Its well documented on here.Even though Lemlin may be wrong or right sometimes,I think he is a respectable person in my book.Like me he has made some outrageous comments in the past but he does have a certain degree of integrity.

10.I do not dislike Smarmore or Mise Me Fein and I am sorry if I made any comments that were hurtful or insulting.Being called an idiot for something which is feasible is ridiculous though.Some generalisations made by these two Idid not take very well.

11.I never claimed to be a master of GAA knowledge on here but I do pride myself in having a good sense of what I think is going to happen in a match.I know some of each counties players,their strengths,weaknesses,key players,weak links etc.I do not intend to ridicule somebody for having an opinion which I was subjected to by Smarmore and the impending threat of personal insults for having a valid opinion.

Being obnoxious and blatantly cocky is where I will ridicule people.The Laois v Louth thread was insulting to Wexford and people like Cruiserweight so I felt I had to step in to shed some light and point out the folly of their behaviour.I do not pride myself in proving people wrong but that episode made me angry with the cockiness and persoanal insults.

12.The comment made by myself by branding Leitrim football "bogwater football" was unfair.I made this mistake whilst defending my own county about televised coverage.I sincerely apologise to anybody from Leitrim and wish them well against Donegal.

13.My last point,I know some people might have switched off by now.As a GAA fan,I love my county,I love Dublin.I can't think of any other county I could support whole heartedly,Mayo comes very close when the Dubs are not playing or gone.Comments I make here are objective to the best of my ability.I can be biased at times and other times I'm not.

Posting on Boards is something I enjoy doing and offers me an escape from the pressures of working life.I love posting and responding.Its as if I am part of a clique.I'm happy to know that I update people or start threads on breaking news.Boards is part of my day and I will continue to enjoy reading everybodies posts and talking about the best sport in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

The comment made by myself by branding Leitrim football "bogwater football" was unfair.I made this mistake whilst defending my own county about televised coverage.I sincerely apologise to anybody from Leitrim and wish them well against Donegal.

Crocodile Tears TBH. Very easy to retract that statement when the match is over. If Leitrim were bet by 10 points, I dont think we would be seeing the retraction above. For someone who "supposedly" knows about football, that was way out of line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

You know Stepbar,I said I was going to speak candidly on things that I have said or done or things that have happened.The fact that I did not overlook my statement about Galway-Leitrim is something even you should consider."Crocodile tears" is bullsh1t.

I know I was out of line saying that but the truth is I'd retract that statement if Leitrim got beat by 20 points.The result had nothing to do with it.I was coming to the defense of my county against those who spoke out against having Dublin-Offaly televised.Being angry at the time didn't help.

But Stepbar,even though I explained all this to you,I do not owe you any explaination and I do not have to defend myself from your ignorant comments.At least I had the decency to stand up and admit I was wrong to say that and apologise.I remember after the Dublin-Mayo game you went on a long tangent ridiculing us Dubs,our players,our hopes.So your statement in relation to my apology is extremely rich coming from you.

I've said my piece,I've moved on.

Fair enough. However, a year on I still stand over every comment made on that thread. Maybe the posts could have been toned down but I still stand over every comment. And especially after the behaviour of the Dub fans on the Hill after the first Meath v Dublin match.

Finally, I'm not attacking Dublin football, just some of their fans. I've no problem putting that on the record. Thats all I have to say on the matter.

I just think my apology being questioned is a bit rich.No crocodile tears as far as I'm concerned.You have a right to your opinion.Attacks on all Dublin fans and generalisations are something that p1sses me off and led to me uncharacteristically lashing out.

It would be rich if it was a comment about Leitrim supporters. How in ever, your comment wasn't, which is fair enough. Unfortunatly as I've said, I'll still stand by my comments re: dub supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

wow blackbelt you really do think highly of yourself, creating a whole thread to talk about yourself...?!. what makes you so important when it comes to all things gaa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

In no relation to BB,

But generally most Dubs always see the flaws in others before their own lot, and go overboard on the hate factor. The mass booing of the opposition & in particular their freetakers at Croke Park is bad enough, but when you see the abuse a sizeable minority dish out, that's unacceptable. It borders what you see in English soccer grounds (even on TV footage) at corner flags etc. GAA generally rises above this, but it is becoming more & more noticeable/common. No matter how much of an oaf some players may be, fans should not encourage, condone or accept certain types of responses from the terraces.

My brother was talking to one of Meath's most high profile ex-players recently and he himself feels GG should be banned from playing, for life by the county board. It might be at the 11th hour of his career, but that he should be made an example of.

For me his actions (despite his footballing talents), abhor those who love gaelic games. We do not want these bullies/brats sullying what is a nobel sport, one which does so much for those that participate (character building), not to mention the sense of community/feelgood factor the games bring to the fans & wider public.

agreed tommc, i will never forget the day i was at croke park and a group of dublin 'fans' spat at tommy lyons on his way into the dressing room. That day i lost any respect i ever had for dublin fans. Personally i think they are the most hateful group of supporters i have ever come accross - booing free takers, their own players, opposition players, their own management team etc etc etc - comparisons to english football supporters really is justified in my opinion. Obviously there is a group of dub supporters who are genuine gaa people and dont do any of the above, but i really do feel that they are in the minority. Its unacceptable in a pro sport like soccer, but in the amateur gaa, its just a discrace......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Why do most thigs here end up being about Dublin's fans?

I do not think too highly of myself Meathman007,I know myself and don't give two sh1ts what you think I think about myself.I started this about myself as I was starting to get the feeling that some individuals on here wanted to drag my name through the mud ie Johnnog Amadain who claimed I promote violence,was jealous of Geraghty and so on.For somebody to join here and say that about me,not knowing who I am or my profile on here is ridiculous and disgusting.Basically I read this guy imply I was a scumbag with no backup to the claim.

The Geraghty thread was closed with Johnnog saying things I did not take very well to.I could hardly start a thread on Geraghty again as Kaimera would close it due to it turning into a flame against Geraghty.I wanted to make concessions and tell it how it is as far as I'm concerned.I've pointed out situations where I was right or wrong etc.I am not prepared to stand by and let somebody like Johnnog say those things about me ie I know nothing about GAA and I promote violence.

I do not think I am so important when it comes to all things GAA but as Kevmy said,I am one of the more regular posters on here and have been since 2004.I'm a fan like everybody else and a real one at that.I'm happy to know that I can update people on breaking news etc.Some people seem to think that I know "nothing" about GAA which is an insult to me.Some of these people who claimed this were proved wrong.I go to other games not involving Dublin (like Flukey),club games etc and follow talented players and their progression in the sport.

I think you guys need to seriously relax.I've lost count on the amount of times I have been quoted and people try to ridicule me for valid opinions this week alone.Its getting to the stage where somebody makes a point and they get attacked for doing so.This was happening to me weeks ago only for my point to validated.I'm just fed up of somebody trying to ridicule me if they don't agree with me.If somebody disagrees they should state that and explain why etc.This seems to be a problem with some of the new breed on here.

you make some fair points blackbelt and ive never said that you are not a genuine gaa man. But i have to say that anyone who starts a whole new thread about themselves and not a specific gaa topic, opens themselves up to ridicule.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

agreed tommc, i will never forget the day i was at croke park and a group of dublin 'fans' spat at tommy lyons on his way into the dressing room. That day i lost any respect i ever had for dublin fans. Personally i think they are the most hateful group of supporters i have ever come across - booing free takers, their own players, opposition players, their own management team etc etc etc - comparisons to english football supporters really is justified in my opinion. Obviously there is a group of dub supporters who are genuine gaa people and dont do any of the above, but i really do feel that they are in the minority. Its unacceptable in a pro sport like soccer, but in the amateur gaa, its just a discrace......

I was watching the Decade of the Dubs DVD last night and there were boos all round when the Dubs were taking a free in Croke Park and that was the 70's! (I'll get the time of it tonight).

There is an interesting point about the lads that spat at Lyons. I have said before that I have been on the Hill for, god, decades now, and everything that Meathman has said - I have seen it all. I have also seen it all from opposition supporters. That doesnt mean that all the fans , or even a sizable minority of them, are hate filled. Same for Dublin fans but Meathman is kind enough to allow that there is a "group" of real GAA fans in there somewhere.

I find that the majority of these idiots are young and stupid. They indeed do not have a clue about the game and usually are either drunk or drugged. The problem is that if you have ten or twenty of them in your midst you find that the several thousand who are well behaved tend to drift out of your attention.

There are many stories where i have encountered thuggish behaviour from opposition supporters because i wear a Dublin Jersey - just as there are good stories with them. My point is that, yet again, here we are tarring everyone with the same brush.

As for Blackbelt, you should know better than to be risen by some goon with five posts. This thread is just giving that wally the satisfaction of sitting back and laughing at your reaction.

some good points there pope, i would agree that there is hateful fans that follow every county. but i stand by my comments about some of the dublin supporters. In my view there is a group of hardcore dubs who go to all games home and away - most of them cause no trouble at all. Its the sunny weather supporters that annoy me - the supporters who go to quinns etc and get locked before every match, the supporters who decide not to show up on time and delay the match, the supporters who partake in all of the points i outlined in my previous post - these are the suporters who give all dubs a bad name......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

most Dubs always see the flaws in others before their own lot

Name a county of which that is not the case, or team in any sport come to that. We'll all defend our own that bit further than others, but we all have a line. While most fans of Meath abhor what he has done, there would still be some who would think of GG as standing for God's Gift. It is only because of recent events that the abhorrence has extended to "most fans". Go back a bit further and most Meath fans would have sided with Geraghty.
    The mass booing of the opposition & in particular their freetakers at Croke Park is bad enough, but when you see the abuse a sizeable minority dish out, that's unacceptable.

The Dublin fans on this board would agree with you on that. Still, it is a minority. It is sizeable, only in the context that there are a sizeable amount of fans there altogether. Proportionately it would not be much different than other counties though. It comes from the mob at the back of the goal section of the Hill 16. Most of the rest of theHill is more tolerant as is most of the rest of the ground. The main mob part would be "Dublin fans", and just that. What I mean is that they have no real interest in anything outside of Dublin playing and at that, just the footballers. Hill 16 isn't packed when the Dublin hurlers are playing. That mob are completely blind to anything bad their own will do and to any decision onfield that goes against them. Every county has fans like that though.

The likes of Blackbelt, myself and other "Dublin fans" here are better described as "GAA fans who are from Dublin". Our interest goes well beyond Dublin's senior footballers, as you can see from our contributions to threads here. Some of us were at last Sunday's Leinster Hurling finals, and would have been with the same interest, even if our minor hurlers were not involved. As on any day when I am in Croke Park, on Sunday my walkman was with me, keeping me up to date with what was going on at other venues. I am definitely a GAA fan from Dublin as opposed to just being a Dublin fan. Blackbelt's knowledge of GAA comes from being a GAA fan too, not from Google.

Whatever our county is, we are all GAA fans on this board, with the exception of the odd temporary visitor. All our counties have minority mobs. All our counties have sunshine fans and ones who couldn't even spell GAA, let alone know anything about it, bar their own county playing. Let's just say, that amongst the core group of posters here, bar our county affiliations, we are not much different and much the same can be said for the different categories of fans out there. The Dublin mob fans are not much different to the Meath mob fans and the GAA fans from Dublin are not much different to the GAA fans from Meath.

Meathman007,I've been here a long time and had never been subjected to that amount of crap by one person at one time in recent memory.I don't know where else I could defend my reputation only on a thread made by myself.I'm not rising to what he said,I am just simply defending myself and publicly disregarding his sentiments in a calm mood.He can sit back and laugh all he wants wearing his mud stained dungarees and eating his corn on the cob,I don't care about him because the second part of his name suggests it all to me.I am more p1ssed with what was said rather than the person who said it.

I just wanted to make it clear that I do not promote violence,am jealous or know nothing.If I didn't,I would not be on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Smarmore

OMG!! You have officially lost the plot my good man. Anybody who starts a thread here about themselves, writes a biography of his "life" on boards.ie and refers to himself in the third person, really does deserve to be put in a straight-jacket. You're a deluded clown blackbelt and if you want to be ridiculed more then this thread is the perfect forum for it. I've just seen the following quote on th geraghty thread:

At least Smarmore took my advice when I told him not to cross me again or under-estimate my knowledge of the game.

Well excuse me while I bend over blackbelt. Cross you!! It's an Internet forum you w*@ker. I even saw a quote by you stating "They don't call me blackbelt for nothing". ????!!!!! You call yourself blackbelt ya moron. Does this forum give you some sense of personality or something? Like you're some sort of GAA guru that everybody bows down to. Get a grip of yourself and loosen the grip on your own c*@k for a minute blackbelt and try and enter the real world for a while. You talk yourself up as some big man who will kick everybodys ass, even calling yourself blackbelt, what a gimp!! Is this some sort of alterego you've created for yourself over the internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I was waiting for this to explode :) Could be fun before it gets locked

A certain phrase using the words head and arse spring to mind!! He actually had the nerve to say mise_me_fein should join me in the circus and then puts up this thread!! This is just comical, he's created his own alterego and doesn't even know who to refer to at this stage. blackbelt!!! He must be an 80s kid that watched too many Karate Kid and Chuck Norris films.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Well I for one have finally tired of the anti Dublin thing on this board. BB you would be as well off just ignoring it, I am even prepared to let Lemlin say what he wants (although he does have an uncanny knack of being able to provoke a sense of injustice in me).

Every year we have the same bull**** arguement in five or six threads as the main feature, and it arises in most other threads. Yes Dublin have some fans who are scumbags, but it is not most of their fans, it is a minority. All counties have fans like these, its just Dublin fans tend to be more numerous and hence more noticable. Over the years I have enjoyed coming to this board and reading some of the posts, but they are all getting pretty repetitive and boring now. BB I suggest you let the ignorant feckers have their rants, its much easier on the blood pressure!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Ah yes this should be good! It should be like watching, oh I dunno.....Geraghty and .....um, maybe Whelo? fight to the death using only their shoes as weapons. My money is on.....no it's too close to call!

Waylander wrote:
    Well I for one have finally tired of the anti Dublin thing on this board. BB you would be as well off just ignoring it, I am even prepared to let Lemlin say what he wants (although he does have an uncanny knack of being able to provoke a sense of injustice in me).

Every year we have the same bull**** arguement in five or six threads as the main feature, and it arises in most other threads. Yes Dublin have some fans who are scumbags, but it is not most of their fans, it is a minority. All counties have fans like these, its just Dublin fans tend to be more numerous and hence more noticable. Over the years I have enjoyed coming to this board and reading some of the posts, but they are all getting pretty repetitive and boring now. BB I suggest you let the ignorant feckers have their rants, its much easier on the blood pressure!!!

Seconded.

I don't mind Waylander,Smarmores post made my day actually.I thought nothing good could come out of this day until I read Smarmores post.He has shown everybody on here what he is like.

Firstly,I'll simply defend myself with extreme calm whilst drinking some nice green tea.:D

1.I talked about myself in the third person as I didn't want to be associated with promoting violence on the pitch.When people read my posts,I don't want to be thought of as the person who promotes violence like some scumbags might.

2.I created a thread about myself as an outlet to rebuke certain comments made about me.The Geraghty thread was closed and at that stage I wasn't going to let what was said slide.I wasn't going to run to Kaimera and bitch with PMs trying to get somebody banned.I think some people on here would have done the same as me with that sort of slander against them.

3.This is actually gone past a joke,I explained that the comments about me and Geraghty squaring off was a joke in response to Lemlins comments about him smiling and boasting his All Ireland medals.I mean I even put smileys in for those peoples benefit who might have taken offence or accuse me of being a hardman but the concept of smileys is wasted on brainiacs like Smarmore and Johnnog.

4.I did create a profile on here with my name as Blackbelt.My friends came up with the nickname Blackbelt for me as I have a blackbelt in judo and I used to be a fan of the Blackbelt Jones series.I don't have an alter-ego,everybody has a username,I chose Blackbelt.Enough said on that.

5.I find it extremely ironic that Smarmore brands Dublin fans scumbags only to come on here and attack me with childish insults.Thats a true reflection on the person he is and is not a good representative for Louth.Names such as w@nker,gimp etc....disgusting.

Now,as far as his post is concerned,I will say the following.

1.Smarmore wanted to take everything I said literally and serioulsy so I will treat him in the same way.Smarmore I know you are probably unlucky in love or don't have an active sex life but I can't help you out with that so theres no need for you to bend over.I'm not your good man either.

2.Even if you are gay,I don't want to know what your role is or what your sexual preferences are.PS I have nothing against gay people,they are some of the nicest people you can meet so there goes half your comeback.

3.I love this,I don't think there is a person here who hasn't/doesn't jerked off in his life but I really didn't see the need for you to mention this when talking about the real World.Hmmmm Louth v Laois,who is living in the real World Smarmore?

4.Smarmore,you called me a moron.The way you said it,"ya moron".It is YOU moron.If you are going to try to imply that I am a moron,do yourself a favour and stop showing everybody how moronic you are and use correct spelling.

5.You tried to get a rise out of me weeks ago and now again.Maybe you did this in the hope that I'd get banned but now look where you are.You are at the discretionary disposal of the mods for your personal insults and attacks.At this stage,you are simply expendable.

You really have too much time on your hands blackbelt. Anally retentive is the most fitting term to describe you. You deserve every personal insult known to man for this thread. Blackbelt, suffice to say, you are a tosser.

P.S. The GAA forum was specifically designed for threads on GAA topics. If there was an "Autobiography > Gob****es" section on Boards then you could have posted this thread there.

Smarmore, I think you should be made special guest at the 'Boards Beers for Dublin Fans.' I'm sure you'd love an auld chat over a pint or two?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

Smarmore, is it so hard for you to speak your mind and say what you think without insulting people?
    If you don't like this thread,if you disagree with Blackbelt's intentions...don't post on here...
    Nobody gives you the right to call a person a tosser,a gimp and so on!
    This proves us your lack of argumentation....and tbh,I don't think you would be ever able to say these things face to face with Blackbelt...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Couldnt agree more FL, its a brave man who throws personal insults over the interweb! It really makes you respect a mans opinion when he does that:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

balckbelt Smarmore

banned for personal abuse.