Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Canon Mark III

• 03-07-2007 9:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭

Did anybody hear of any updates on the 1D Mark III, I am referring to the AF problem

Fireman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

what af problem?:rolleyes:

But no.. If the current availability of the mark3 is anyway indicative of a problem being recognised, I'd imagine Canon has stopped supplying to camera shops. It doesn't seem that any camera shop in Ireland has a mark 3 at the moment, yet no shortage of people crying out for them. I've rang several shops in different areas of the country. What they are being told by Canon seems to revolve around the same basic story; 5/6 weeks (they think) before availability, if even then. If that's down to a half hearted recall or the buzz of a high demand newly released camera I don't know.

If anything, the so called af problem seems to be vastly exaggerated, alot of it could be down to a revised af system that the 'old pros' just aren't used to yet. RTFM perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

Valentia and I did a test of the AF system in mine last Saturday and found it perfectly acceptable... the majority of images of a moving object were sharp with on one exception where the camera focussed on the background and this was user error ... and we did not touch the AF sensitivity settings.

Admittedly neither myself nor Danny (the test subjects) are particularly fast movers :o ... and it was not 28C per Rob Galbraith's test ...

Personally I think (... or is it hope ?) ... it is all just a storm in a teacup ... the camera has more custom setting than you could shake a stick at ... there are bound to be lots of user issues in the early days.

I love the camera ... the AF is particularly good in my opinion ... lightening fast. I'll be giving it a proper run out once the GAA season moves to Croke park...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

I love the camera ... the AF is particularly good in my opinion ... lightening fast. I'll be giving it a proper run out once the GAA season moves to Croke park...

Looking forward to the images mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I'll be giving it a proper run out once the GAA season moves to Croke park...

I've already been to two Dubs games in Croke Park. Where have you been?? :D

I look forward to seeing some real action shots with your camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Admittedly neither myself nor Danny (the test subjects) are particularly fast movers :o

Speak for yourself!! You have never seen me running out the back door of the local at 2.30am when the cops are coming in the front. ;)
    Seriously though, any chance of resizing those "action" shots and letting me have a gawk. You'd never know we might have an action challenge on here some day!:eek:

Rob Galbraith has an update on his site with full size examples zipped for download. I must say that there are enough in focus for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Fireman

Thanks for all the replys as I am very interested in buying one and keeping my 20D as a backup

While I have you're attention if ye (Experts) were shooting at a bike rally as I was the weekend would shoot on AL Focus or AL Servo, I shot on both but I had a good few out of focus needless to say they were doing 160 on the straight

Fireman

I'd be on ai servo... but don't take that as gospel that it's the correct setting to be on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

rymus wrote:
    I'd be on ai servo...

gospel

hallelujah brother!

Yep servo is yer man ...

you need to keep the af point in the right place though as you track the subject ... this is one of the problems I get ... where the AF tracks onto the background ... usually when players are bearing down on you from directly ahead ... or if you don't track you subjects fast enough ...

Valentia wrote:
    Speak for yourself!! You have never seen me running out the back door of the local at 2.30am when the cops are coming in the front. ;)
    Seriously though, any chance of resizing those "action" shots and letting me have a gawk. You'd never know we might have an action challenge on here some day!:eek:

Rob Galbraith has an update on his site with full size examples zipped for download. I must say that there are enough in focus for my liking.

Danny ... I had another look at some of those images ... there are a few out of focus ... but mostly due to the focus limiter on the 100-400 ... I'll batch process and post 'em in my flickr for you ... unless Rymus is willing to make his FTP available to us both (and himself) ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

I can give you an FTP account if needed.

nless Rymus is willing to make his FTP available to us both (and himself) ...

no bother... if Darren hasn't already sorted you out, give me a shout on skype... Actually, if you still have the details I gave to you a week or so ago, use those.

Grand ... I'll use your site Ryan, I still have the password somewhere I think ... Darren if you want the images also let me know ... they are just pictures of Danny and me running ... I think I'll censor the ones of me ... not a pretty sight!! :eek:

... one black mark against the 1D MKIII ... or rather Adobe ... there is no damn support for sRAW yet in CS3 :mad:

... on the good side this has forced me to start using Canon's DPP ... which is not a bad little programme if you just want to do basic stuff ... I only which this integrated into CS3 the way RAW viewer does!!