Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The language of Cork!

• 02-07-2007 9:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭

This is your first lesson in the phrases of Cork boyeens and girleens of Cork!
    If ther are any more ye can think of add them here!

PART 1: EXPRESSIONS
    1) C'mere = Excuse me
    2) I will yeah! = no!
    3) What's the story fella? = how are you?
    4) hows the form? = hows it hanging?:
    5) You would yeah! = You wouldn't dare!
    6) Here la = here you are
    7) There la = it's over there / look over there
    8) State a him la = He looks bad
    9) (Ah / Awe) now sham = that's good
    10) I claim ya = I would really like to engage in a fight with you.
    11) Pure = very
    12) Like = this word is used at least once in every Cork sentence.
    13) Like eh = Used as a hesitation at the start of a sentence.
    16) Nawful = terrible
    17) Have a lash off = have a go
    18) Be wide = Be Careful
    19) Sketch = Theres someone coming (Be Wide)
    20) How bad bhoy = good
    21) Bhoy pronounced-by biya) = man / person.
    22) A trip in the white van = A trip in an ambulance

PART 2: NOUNS & VERBS
    23) Young wan = Female Child
    24) Small fella = Male child
    25) Mam / dad / ole man / ole lad / oul fella / oul wan = mother/father
    26) Apache = joyrider
    27) Salk = stolen car
    28) Sham = young male / tough man
    29) Sham-feen = macho / hard-man
    30) Snout / gonker / snoz = nose
    31) Langer / langerdan: Wally
    32) Gowl (Ghoul) = Stupid person
    33) Gimp = eejit
    34) Gimpy walk = person with the mousy walk (wabbling from side to side)
    35) Fifty = Stood up
    36) Poppies / tatties = Potatoes
    37) Yolkes = anything
    38) Gatch = walk
    39) Doing a line = going out with
    40) Gatt / lush / drink = alcholic beverages
    41) Lamp / skanse / la = look

• Registered Users Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭SouthernBelle

A jag = a date (jagging = dating)

To get a '50' = to be stood up

Mock-e-ya = fake

Langers = drunk

Rubber Dollies = Trainers / Runners (that's an old one!)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Two-Bulb= Squad car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

She'd mind mice at the crossroads = she's clever/shrewd/good with money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭~Candy~

12) Like = this word is used at least once in every Cork sentence.

lol,, haha, yea!! thats so cork =P

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Mackleton

You forgot..

Howya? = how are you?
    Talk cha = see you soon!
    Any sca? = have you any news?
    Ware you from yourself like? = where are you from?