Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Office outing /Link to Skirmish Locations?

• 02-07-2007 3:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭

An Image map with locations of airfoft clubs/event locations
    would be nice here. Does one exist ?

When reading the stickys here I did not see info
    that tells poeple where the various sites are
    in Ireland where you can go and try out airsoft.

Anyone know where is the nearest place to Limerick
    where maybe a group of vistors could go and try
    out something like a Mil-Sim for the day.

The lads I work with with have expressed interest
    in doing something that involves tactics.
    They have gone paintballing before but have been
    disapointed as its gone a little bit too commercial
    and expensive and you can get lumped into a field or forrest
    and ya just end up running about shooting each other
    without plans/tactics or a sim of maybe a real event.

Had a chat with the lads I work with,
    They recently organised pitch and putt outing
    which for me in depressing and boring like so many
    other office outing like Rounders/Football/golf its something
    that is too everyday and dull.

They siad if I organized something along the lines of Airsoft that
    they would be willing to go. So wondering how difficult is will be to do this.

They wont have any of their own Equipment.
    They wont have any experiance.
    They probably wont want to travel an extreme distance.
    They wont want to be crazy expensive.

I am dying to have a go myself. I would like the idea of Mil-sim
    where you have a team/squat with each
    person having a role/tatics/job but would not like the idea of having to roleplay.
    ie doing the event/mission/tactics fine, but actually pretending to be
    a fictional character would not be for me.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Theres nothing near you that I'm aware of...HRTA in Swords, Co. Dublin is the only skirmish site at the moment, although there might be one or two opening up elsewhere on the East coast soon(ish).

For the type of event you seem interested in though, I think Predator Combat Games in Northern Ireland is your best bet.

Its a lot further than you'd like to travel though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Could any ol field be used for airsoft, as long as you have permission from the onwer and wavers?

I didn't get to go up to HRTA this weekend getting everybody orginized was to much hassle but hopefully this weekend.

It would be great to just find even a local farmer with a bit of unused or vacant land somewhere in the west that would let his land be used. Allot of land out here is just waiting to be sold for housing so it's not being used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

ScumLord wrote:
    Could any ol field be used for airsoft, as long as you have permission from the onwer and wavers?

I didn't get to go up to HRTA this weekend getting everybody orginized was to much hassle but hopefully this weekend.

It would be great to just find even a local farmer with a bit of unused or vacant land somewhere in the west that would let his land be used. Allot of land out here is just waiting to be sold for housing so it's not being used.

The farmer would have to have the relevant insurance on his land to allow people to play on it.

The Gardaí would need to be alerted just in case joe public accidentally saw something and misunderstood what was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Would love to be able to try an create a club via the sports and social club
    in the place I work but most people I know would only like to try it the once,
    rather than doing it regularly. And work would not even want to
    know about it.

A few years back myself and a work mate tried to start a Paintballing
    club in work. At the time you could get yourself Kitted out for under
    200 Euros per person and the same guys sister worked in a factory in N. Ireland that manufactured paint balls so he could get them for cheap.
    As far as I remember as Paintball was not popular at the time you could
    just buy markers without any hassle. When paintballing took
    off in Ireland and became more visable all of a sudden you needed letters
    from the Local Super in order to own one and other various things.

Our company owned a bit of land where they have a field and some tennis courts and a gym etc but they said Insurance would be a problem and
    turned us down and they reckoned they did not have enough land.

Airsoft it would be great to start a club as even if you started off
    with 10 Aegs with two teams of 5 poeple. And got some help with
    experianced Airsofters that could train people to do missions etc
    it could be cheap and fun. Insurance and land would be the big issue.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Might it be worth your while trying to organise a trip to HRTA / the Big Smoke, despite the distance, just for starters? Give your mates/colleagues a taste for it early on, then build on that to try & start something Limerick-side? Combine it with a WAGs outing (they shop-while-u-shoot :D )? Trying to be creative, here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Also it's fine if your company gives persmission to use the land but you'd still have to erect structures, or at least some obstacles. Having essentially a tactics training field at the side of the company building isn't usually something that would fill the board of directors with glee. You'd need somewhere out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

IF you are not paying to play is insurance still required?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

I guess if people arent worried about law suits

That's what I was thinking a few people there on their own initiative. It's a personal risk, not on any company.

It's the best part of 5 hours travel for me to get to and from Dublin I'd have to think about staying up there. Even if the Limerick site opened it's still 4 hours because I live up near the Mayo border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

If the land owner gavve us use of the land fo absoloutley free does he need insurance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

If the land owner gavve us use of the land fo absoloutley free does he need insurance?

I'm not a solicitor or lawyer, but I *believe* he doesn't legally need insurance if you aren't paying for the use of the land. I could be well wrong though.

HOWEVER....any landowner who lets you play without having insurance is wide open to getting his ass sued off if one of you gets hurt...whether a stray bb to the eye, or falling and breaking a leg. Jeez, in this day and age, getting a splinter in your finger is grounds to sue someone in some peoples eyes.

If I was a landowner, theres no way I'd let people play on my land without insurance, whether I know them personally or not. The sniff of a little bit of "compo" sometimes makes people forget that they agreed to do something at their own risk.

That's that so. :rolleyes:

What about one of those abandoned Islands like Inishturk. :D Not really any closer to me but I always thought something like that would be the ultimate skirmish site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

taht would be class, jaysus a tennis court would keep me happy for a while aslong as its this side of the country :p