Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Geraghty Gone...maybe for good

• 02-07-2007 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭

Whilst doing a routine check on the GAA news,I stumbled across this.It is nothing that shocks me to be honest but Meath seem to be having bad luck as of late with the withdrawal of Sheridan one week ago.With time racing against Geraghty,his intercounty career may be coming to an end but this does not help his cause unless he swallows his pride.

The following is from Hoganstand.com

Geraghty axed following bust up

Former Meath captain Graham Geraghty
    02 July 2007

Graham Geraghty is set to miss Meath’s tricky All-Ireland football qualifier against Down in Newry on Saturday after being involved in a weekend training ground bust-up.

It’s understood that the controversial attacker has been dropped from the county squad as a result of the incident and won’t be allowed to return until he offers a full apology to manager Colm Coyle and the rest of the panel.

According to reports, Geraghty reacted angrily to a tackle from a 19-year-old squad member and allegedly lashed out repeatedly near the end of an internal practice match at the Simonstown Gaels club grounds in Navan on Saturday morning.

Team-mates and onlookers were said to be shocked at the serious nature of the incident The session broke up immediately and Meath boss Coyle gathered his players together in an attempt to cool things down. But Geraghty left the pitch fuming and is not expected to return.

The 1999 All-Ireland winning captain has been involved in numerous controversial incidents in the past and this latest bust-up could conceivably bring the curtain down on his long inter-county career. His departure from the squad leaves another void in the Meath attack after Joe Sheridan pulled out last week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

If ya can't beat the dubs, beat your teammates!!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Unsuprising that it happened but perhaps a little suprising that it has came out like this.

Really an immediate apology and a closing of the ranks was in order. Sure isn't that what kickstarted Kerry title challenge last year (apparently)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Kenny 5 wrote:
    If ya can't beat the dubs, beat your teammates!!!! :p

..............And your wife..........!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Cliste wrote:
    ..............And your wife..........!

I thought that was just Dublin fans rising him. If it's true i'm glad he got a taste of his own medicine from the Australian's in the compromised rules match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I thought that was just Dublin fans rising him.

it is! has always been a rumour around dublin, she was on the late late show with him when the rumours started to fully deny them.

sheridan apparently left because he feels the team had no appetite to win, if thats true a roy keane style bust up like this could be a good thing, while sheridan leaving is no loss geragthy will be but i expect he will be back for the game anyway, i'm sure there is hundreds of incidents like this on training grounds around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Meath will have to rely heavily on Farrell and Bray to get through Down.Maybe Cian Ward will find himself playing full matches.Not a good omen for Meath if Geraghty isn't playing.I'd have predicted Meath to win with GG being the influential player.

I still expect a Meath win but without Geraghty,the next tie after Down could be Meaths last if they draw Mayo,Armagh,Fermanagh or Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

blackbelt wrote:
    Meath will have to rely heavily on Farrell and Bray to get through Down.Maybe Cian Ward will find himself playing full matches.Not a good omen for Meath if Geraghty isn't playing.I'd have predicted Meath to win with GG being the influential player.

I still expect a Meath win but without Geraghty,the next tie after Down could be Meaths last if they draw Mayo,Armagh,Fermanagh or Donegal.

yes very true, it will be a tough game against down and quality opposition in the next round could be a step too far for this season

I resisted showing my contempt for the man earlier but having mulled it over I'm going to say good riddance.
    For a man who has consistently got away with what I would call dirty fouls - off the ball, sly digs, little belts the ref can't see - I don't like.
    For his racist comment in Australia I don't like him.
    For being bad enough to get a years ban I don't like him.
    For his unapologetic attitude and his superior sense of injustice I don't like him.

One of the very few players most neutral GAA fans would not be sorry to see the back off I'd say.

From a Meath point of view though he is a good footballer and will be missed for his obvious ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

As a Dub there is only one thing i would like to say. Good riddance!

For his antics,I say good riddance.
    For his footballing talent he will be missed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Antics like his over the years far outweigh any talent, no matter how good. Won't be missed at all. I'd say the Down corner back is the happiest man in the country, knowing there is now some chance of him coming through the game with his nose intact!

Very true.

As a Dub,I hated him and I think he's a scumbag but there is no denying he could play beautiful football when he wanted.Only part of me will miss that when Meath are playing other teams but it is probably better for Meath now that they can concentrate on their younger players.He had to go at some stage and if he doesn't apologize the last memory of GG will be him striking three times in a match,getting floored by Whelan and the cherry on top losing to Dublin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 dgrif88

hope he retires now the scumb@g.

what a bad ****1n example he is to every kid in the country.
    dont give a cr@p how talented he was he was a bad example in every facet of the game.

going for a pint to celebrate. yyeeeeeaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

A lot of Meath players could play football... when they wanted. Unfortunately, quite often they didn't want to. Many players of other counties have the bruises to prove it. Whatever about his football, Graham Geraghty will not be missing for his boxing talents, that's for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Nice to see that it's mostly Dublin based posters replying here. Nice to see that they applaud Whelan and condemn Geraghty. Keep it coming guys, top quality stuff here.

Whelan is no angel, but he doesn't attack his own teammates. Not happy enough with battering the other 31 counties, the Meathmen are now even battering their own players. Well, it is all a lot of them know. A pity really, because they have had some great footballers down through the years. Many were let down by their own antics, such as Geraghty, and many of the great Meath footballers who actually could concentrate on playing the game fairly, like Bernard Flynn, were let down by teammates who couldn't. Meath gave themselves a bad name Aedh Baclamh, not us Dubs. It isn't just the Dubs that have a go at Meath's and Geraghty's tactics either. The Dubs hereabouts and others, are not having a go at counties that do play the game properly. When it comes to the ones that don't, Meath always top the pile, so there must be something in it. We all know that there is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

blackbelt wrote:
    Very true.

As a Dub,I hated him and I think he's a scumbag but there is no denying he could play beautiful football when he wanted.Only part of me will miss that when Meath are playing other teams but it is probably better for Meath now that they can concentrate on their younger players.He had to go at some stage and if he doesn't apologize the last memory of GG will be him striking three times in a match,getting floored by Whelan and the cherry on top losing to Dublin :D

And if you were to say that to him, he'd smile at you and point out how he has won more All-Ireland medals than the entire Dublin squad put together!

I love how you point out that him striking three times (although I'd hardly call his tap to Cosgrave a strike) is a bad thing but its a good thing for Whelan to 'floor' him. Blue tinted glasses if ever there was a bad case.

And, by the way, Mayo have to beat Cavan before they get to even think about playing Meath ;)

ps. I don't think Down will be the pushover everyone is thinking they are. Dublin made Meath look good tbh.

Like clock-work Lemlin,I knew you would come up with that whole All Ireland medal jab.

If I was to say that to him,he would probably attack me or try to at least but they don't call me Blackbelt for nothing.:D .....That would really finish him off.:)

In all seriousness though,Whelan pushed Geraghty and Geraghty made a meal out of it.Its far less despicable than punching a player.As for Cosgrove,well that slap would have shocked him more than hurt him.I've been clipped in the side of the face by a player who is 6'5 and 19 stone.His shoulder caught me as he was running past me and I wasn't hurt but just shocked.

Geraghty picked on an 19 year old ffs.What a jerk.A grown man starting on a young man who is only a year out of school.To me,GG ending is worse than Zidane.The only difference is that GG was not captured on tv.

Who the hell can condone what GG did to his own team-mate/squad member?He is a racist and sneak.I'd love to see him actually square up to somebody his own size and age instead of sneak attacks from behind etc.

Yes Mayo do have to get past Cavan and Cavan did beat Mayo in a challenge match but that hardly means anything.Mayo will win when it matters in the Championship.Down are tricky but I think Meath have some talented players that will pull them through such as Bray,Ward,Farrell.

I do not believe Dublin made Meath look good,well not to the degree you think Lemlin.In the drawn game Dublin underperformed but in the second match,I believe Meath seriously upped their game for the Dubs and we performed and did what has been our problem over the years,closing games out at the last stretch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

I'm from Louth so I would never really like to see Meath doing well, but GG is great entertainment. He's a brilliant footballer and always interesting to watch even off the ball.

Hope he gets back in. Think about it, who'd you rather watch - boring aul Brogan or one of the c*nts from Laois or GG.

He's a class player and scores some great points.

Give him a break, he's one of the people that makes the championship interesting for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Lemlin wrote:
    And if you were to say that to him, he'd smile at you and point out how he has won more All-Ireland medals than the entire Dublin squad put together!

I love how you point out that him striking three times (although I'd hardly call his tap to Cosgrave a strike) is a bad thing but its a good thing for Whelan to 'floor' him. Blue tinted glasses if ever there was a bad case.

And, by the way, Mayo have to beat Cavan before they get to even think about playing Meath ;)

ps. I don't think Down will be the pushover everyone is thinking they are. Dublin made Meath look good tbh.

I'd rather have no all-ireland medals than have 2 and be remembered for being a scumbag who attacked his own team, pulled sly punches on other teams and is rumoured to beat his wife. In 10/15 years time when his name is mentioned the first thing people will think of is the thug who beat up a teenager on his own team, not the player who won 2 (?) AI medals.

Hope he gets back in. Think about it, who'd you rather watch - boring aul Brogan or one of the c*nts from Laois or GG.

He's a class player and scores some great points.

Give him a break, he's one of the people that makes the championship interesting for me

Very surprised at this post.First off I'll get to the less obvious points.Boring Brogan and c*nts from Laois?Brogan is not boring in the slightest and what did Laois ever do to you?I'd rather watch Brogan for obvious reasons because I am biased and from Dublin and I'd rather watch those c*nts from Laois rather than a man who is a pure thug.The man really showed his pedigree by picking on a man that barely got out of school.

Geraghty could have had a very successful career but chose to dirty his bib.Putting aside his under-handed tactics,the football he played when he chose to play it did bring a lot to the Championship and the Dublin-Meath games but thats little consolation now.Zidane got a roasting for a head-butt on Materazzi (sp?) which was disgraceful but less disgraceful than GG and his troubled profile of sly punches from behind,racist comments and rumoured wife-beating.

I don't think when Henry and Cosgrove where running with the ball they were calling GG sister a whore or anything along those lines.GG brought it all on himself.I'll just miss the football he could play,not the man himself or the thuggery he brought into the game and no,he doesn't deserve a break Mise Me Fein.

Give him a break,thats impossible,he gave himself a break.:D

He can have all the breaks he wants now as he will most likely not line out for Meath anymore.

I'm not from Dublin. And I've already stated my views on GG.

As for Whelan he can be bad but I get the feeling with him that its more from pure frustration than any real badness (unlike Geraghty). Although I do think refs are afraid to send off Whelan in Croker. He should have been sent off in the semi last year against Mayo and against Meath a couple of years ago when he broke yer mans nose. However compared to GG he's a fecking angel.

And by the way Mayo will get past Cavan pulling up on Saturday, even without Mac. Unfortunately I won't be there, I'm out of the country.

Don't be too worried,Mayo should win comfortably.I would imagine McGarrity might be put on at half time.Andy Moran will tear Cavan apart if he is having an on day.

Haha this is class guys, top quality stuff here. Comparing it to Zidane's headbutt:D Attacking THE WHOLE TEAM (Yeah, was just one player)...and the whole 'he's only out of school!!!' malarky...get a grip guys.

I need to hear for certain what happened before jumping to the lame conclusions you lot are jumping to. If he did beat up the guy then good riddance to him. Need to get that out of the game as soon as possible. If not, then ye can keep calling him what you want.

Whelan the angel :):)

Aedh Baclamh,I suppose when you were 19 or if you are younger,you would not like to have a man in his 30s lash out at you.It is said they had to break it up and GG stormed off.

This guy was supposed to be a role model for Meath and their youngsters but how the hell could he when he lashes out at a guy who not so long ago was an adolescent.

I hear this guy Sheppard (the victim) is a very talented footballer.He might have created himself a better opportunity at GG expense or done Meath a massive favor.

This guy was supposed to be a role model for Meath and their youngsters but how the hell could he when he lashes out at a guy

Given that this is Meath we are talking about, that's the very kind of role model they want.

"Given that this is Meath we are talking about, that's the very kind of role model they want." (Flukey)

ROFLMFAO :D

Yeah,was starting to forget that.I mean was he trying to look tough or what against a 19 year old.I bet Sheppard held his own and didn't back down and Geraghty stormed off losing face.True reflection on the "man" he is.:D

Flukey :*)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

As for Whelan he can be bad but I get the feeling with him that its more from pure frustration than any real badness (unlike Geraghty). Although I do think refs are afraid to send off Whelan in Croker. He should have been sent off in the semi last year against Mayo and against Meath a couple of years ago when he broke yer mans nose. However compared to GG he's a fecking angel.

This made me laugh. What about the incident when he punched his man in the face as the ref was throwing in the ball. That is downright tuggery.

GG is a scumbag. The fact that he can kick a football should not change anything. Good riddance, the man should never have another child look up to him. What are we teaching our kids if we condone this thug because he played some nice football.

After reading Hoganstand.com,it is for definite that GG is gone for good.The Meath team didn't want him to come back as he lost face against a 19 year old.He probably lashed out and had to look at the young man face to face which isn't Geraghty's style.

His tactic is hit them from behind or when they are not looking.What a wimp.

blackbelt :*)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭The Rooster

SetantaL wrote:
    This made me laugh. What about the incident when he punched his man in the face as the ref was throwing in the ball. That is downright tuggery.
    SetantaL, thats not what happened. The ball had been thrown in, Whelan was trying to get away to attack the ball, the Meath midfielder caught a hold of him by the collar of the jersey to hold him back, Whelan swung his arm back and caught the Meath lad in the head. No he should not have done it, and yes the ref would have been within his rights to send him off - but nowhere near "downright thuggery", that some revisionists try to paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭The Rooster

As for Geraghty he punched the 19 year old in the face after being on the end of a couple of tackles he didnt like.

That type of thing happens regularly in training sessions. Usually an apology comes and everyone forgets about it.

However, there was more. When Geraghty had decked the 19 year old, he decided that it wasnt enough. He proceeded to kick and punch him while he lay prone on the ground. Kevin Reilly pulled him off. Then Geraghty decided to give him another kicking, before Reilly and others intervened again.

The Meath panel then had a vote afterwards. They decided that Geraghty should be removed from the panel for the rest of the championship. If you can get your own teammates to turn on you, you must be a special class of s***

Don't want to sound stupid but is that exactly what happened or what probably happened.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

SetantaL, thats not what happened. The ball had been thrown in, Whelan was trying to get away to attack the ball, the Meath midfielder caught a hold of him by the collar of the jersey to hold him back, Whelan swung his arm back and caught the Meath lad in the head. No he should not have done it, and yes the ref would have been within his rights to send him off - but nowhere near "downright thuggery", that some revisionists try to paint.

I'm not talking about the Meath match. God knows GG was the thug that day, I'm talking about last years Leinster Final when the ball was thrown up he punched the man beside him in the face while the ref threw it up and his eyes were on the ball. I lokked on you tube for it but can't find a clip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

blackbelt wrote:

Geraghty could have had a very successful career but chose to dirty his bib.P

Yeah like winning Leinster??? oh actually,

Well yeah like maybe he could have won an All Ireland....hmmmmmm

Maybe if he had to have got on the Comp Rules team.....oh he did that too???

Ok if he had to have captained an All Ireland winning team maybe some people would call that success, oh wait a minute......em???

Idiot statement blackbelt. He's done it all. He's a class act on the ball and the other part of his game is entertaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

blackbelt wrote:
    Aedh Baclamh,I suppose when you were 19 or if you are younger,you would not like to have a man in his 30s lash out at you.It is said they had to break it up and GG stormed off.
    have you ever played junior football?? being 17/18/19 and playing full back iv been on plenty recieving end of wise old heads who couldnt hack being out paced and took the law into theyre own hands. at least in a training session they could deal with the problem by the others seperating it etc (ie everyone being probably trying to sort it out rather than start a big melee) and he has being duely punished by beling turfed off the panel.

MMM,like getting picked for the compromise rules squad when Sean Boylan,the manager,is from Meath......what a coincidence :rolleyes:

Like attacking players from behind....oh wait he has done that too.

Like picking on a 19 year old who bested him because he's over the hill,wow that is totally shocking.

Like throwing around racist comments against the Aussies and then getting his hole handed to him in Croke Park :D:p:p:p

Like hiding behind his wifes skirt on the Late Late Show after the accusations he beat her...wow I am in shock.:rolleyes:

Yeah you are right,he has done it all.No stone left unturned with that clown.

Fact of the matter is that all his achievements have been totally overshadowed by the bad aspects of his personal life and thuggery on the pitch.Nobody will remember his achievements first,they will most likely remember him for the aforementioned first.

The only idiot on here is you who is entertained by "GG off the ball".How sad.Why don't you go to the circus with Smarmore.At least that way you have a more feasible way of entertaining yourself.At least Smarmore took my advice when I told him not to cross me again or under-estimate my knowledge of the game.GG is an example of one of those soon to be infamous legends of the game.Then again you were the founder of the thread from hell that put your integrity in the crapper....Laois v Louth.So I'd take what you say with a whole factory of salt.

Your idealistic vision of things is something that will make you the subject of ridicule.

Gucci,have I ever played junior football?...I didn't think I'd ever need to answer to that question on here.I've played junior football for two clubs and intermediate on one.The aul achilles tendon meant I had to drop back to junior football full time.

I've played against wise old heads in GAA and hockey and it is the same all the time,a lot of them act like play-school children while the younger heads act more like senior citizens.It happens when you best them and they can't hack it.
    Some 50 year olds who are washed up and know it but are too bitter to admit it and keep playing.
    Geraghty is...ahem WAS an intercounty player who should know better than to lash out and pick on a 19 year old.You'd think one of the veterans on that team would want to give a good example but as Flukey said,we are talking about Meath.

Anyone else cringing at blackbelts posts here? What age are you, 12?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

Anyone else cringing at blackbelts posts here? What age are you, 12?

i'm cringing at your comments tbh.

yes i am from dublin but am at a loss at how you can compare whelan with GG. As was said before Whelan is no angel but GG is a downright scumbag. A great footballler who will forever be remembered as being a filthy cheating knacker.

Stop being such a fanboy and call a spade a spade.

Cheerio Graham!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

blackbelt wrote:
    .... I told him not to cross me again or under-estimate my knowledge of the game.

followed by:

Your idealistic vision of things is something that will make you the subject of ridicule.

the irony!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Ross Carr is expecting both Geraghty and Sheridan to play, I wonder who is engaging in gamesmanship here

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=79851
    Down boss Ross Carr is expecting Graham Geraghty to feature for Meath in Saturday’s All-Ireland qualifier at Newry, despite his removal from the Royal County panel in the wake of last weekend’s training ground bust-up.

Geraghty’s team-mates decided at a meeting on Monday night that they didn’t want to see him return after his alleged attack on 19-year panelist Stephen Sheppard during an internal practice match last Saturday morning. But Carr believes Geragthy could still play against the Mourne County, adding that he “wouldn’t be surprised” to see Joe Sheridan – who left the Meath panel last week – lining out as well.

“Knowing Colm (Coyle) and Tommy (Dowd) pretty well, they’ll not have any intervention from any county board,” he said.

“I heard about the business about Geraghty, but to be quite honest I wouldn’t read too much into it. That type of thing can galvanise a team, just like it did with Kerry’s championship campaign last year.

“There was supposed to be a bit of a dust-up in training after their Munster final with Cork last year and they came back stronger than ever.

“We’ve had games when Down were going well and things came to blows. So I would take it with a pinch of salt. I would be very surprised if Graham Geraghty isn’t playing against Down on Saturday evening.

“It also wouldn’t surprise me if Joe Sheridan is playing for Meath. It wouldn’t be the first time there’s been a bit of gamesmanship.”

Cringing??.....I hope you are because to quote Jack Nicholson I'll say "YOU CAN'T HANDLE THE TRUTH." :D

Thanks for asking me my age but I have enough friends thank you.I also must be extremely talented to have played intermediate football before the tender age of 12 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

why has sheridan left the panel?? sorry i was away for few days so havnt heard much news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

gucci wrote:
    why has sheridan left the panel?? sorry i was away for few days so havnt heard much news!

Apparently he went to the selectors and said he had lost the appetite for inter-county football and needed a break. He looked a bit lost, as if he didn't have the hunger the last day against Dublin IMO

TBH,what the hell are you talking about.You are quoting me way out of context and no irony at all.

In quote 1,the point I was making in regards to those quotes from me was that Smarmore was so cocky and stated he'd refrain from personal insults because I gave my opinion/prediction for the Louth-Wexford match,then Smarmore questioned my knowledge of the teams by stating I only mentioned Mattie Forde and went on to say I knew nothing.He then said I should only concentrate on Dublin as that was the only team I knew anything about according to him.I predicted a score of 2-5 to 1-10 to Wexford when the score in that match was 2-8 to 0-16....only a three point markup difference.So after the cockiness of Louth being supposed to win,that didn't happen and Smarmore was left reeling.(Quote 1)

Now on to quote 2 which concerned Mise Me Fein,

I was talking about how he called me an idiot when the facts (which can't be rebuked) are staring him in the face.He was also not in a position to call me an idiot after his Laois-Louth thread which made him look foolish.He started talking about Louth taking on Laois when they had a match that Sunday against Wexford.Some people on here like the aforementioned (mainly Mise Me Fein) who get it so terribly wrong seem to amazingly try and come back and ridicule me or get even.

Smarmore can take digs at Dublin in good taste,I don't mind.Like that Croker Joker sentiment.I don't care about that.I told him not to try and ridicule me again because its not a wise thing to be so cocky and claim that you will refrain from personal insults only to be proved wrong.Being called an idiot by Mise Me Fein is not plausible on his part.Nothing idiotic in what I said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 johnnog

blackbelt wrote:
    MMM,like getting picked for the compromise rules squad when Sean Boylan,the manager,is from Meath......what a coincidence :rolleyes:
    And also picked in '99 by O'Rourke ,by Brian McEniff in 2000 and 2001, and played in 2002 under Pete Mc Grath .
    blackbelt wrote:
    Like picking on a 19 year old who bested him because he's over the hill,wow that is totally shocking.
    I wasn't there and neither were you. People seem to be making a big deal beacause this lad was only 19. So what if he was 19. He wasn't some weak puny little kid. If he was training with the county seniors then he's a strong as anyone else there . (I'm not condoning anything which may or may not have happened, I'm just saying the fact that he was 19 is irrelevant). Geraghty played senior intercounty football when he was barely 18 himself. Do intercounty teams "go easy" on young players in the opposite team? Would a manager play a kid and expect the opposition not to tackle him hard because he is a kid. I'd hazard a guess that they do not. So if this lad was on the panel then he was as strong as anyone else there.
    blackbelt wrote:
    Like throwing around racist comments against the Aussies and then getting his hole handed to him in Croke Park :D:p:p:p

So basically your view is that violence is ok when perpretrated against people you dislike/are jealous of. You are like the "fans" I was sitting beside in the canal end when the Whelan hit/pushed/whatever Geraghty and he fell to the ground. It appeared to everyone that he had laid him out with a punch. These "fans" were ecstatic and the one beside me proclaimed "He should have broke both his legs while he was at it". I was sitting in the family section and that man had wife his kids with him. The wife was as bad. Anytime Geraghty went near the ball if a Dublin player had it they screamed at the ref to give a free and everytime he had the ball they shouted to the Dublin players to "hit him". The double standards are actually funny.
    To put this into a more dub-centric arguement, it would be like people who don't like Vaughan applauding the drunk Mayo thug who broke his jaw ,in Copper Face Jacks last year, as a hero. Notice that I didn't hypocritically put smiley faces after that sentence.
    blackbelt wrote:
    Like hiding behind his wifes skirt on the Late Late Show after the accusations he beat her...wow I am in shock.:rolleyes:

Eh, a public figure gets accused of hitting his wife. He comes on TV with his wife to deny the accusations. Who was he hiding from behind the skirt? Pat Kenny /Gay Byrne or whoever was hosting the show. Yeah sure it's well known that Gaybo regularly meets out vigilante beatings to those accused of wife-beating. What would expect somebody to do? Go on on their own and just deny it or bring someone else who would back them up? If he didn't bring his wife on sure you'd be saying that he didn't want to bring her on in case she confessed that he was hitting her.
    blackbelt wrote:
    Yeah you are right,he has done it all.No stone left unturned with that clown.

Fact of the matter is that all his achievements have been totally overshadowed by the bad aspects of his personal life and thuggery on the pitch.Nobody will remember his achievements first,they will most likely remember him for the aforementioned first.

No, that's the way you will remember him. The same way as you will recall fondly your heroes who hit him
    blackbelt wrote:
    The only idiot on here is you who is entertained by "GG off the ball".How sad.Why don't you go to the circus with Smarmore.At least that way you have a more feasible way of entertaining yourself.At least Smarmore took my advice when I told him not to cross me again or under-estimate my knowledge of the game.GG is an example of one of those soon to be infamous legends of the game.Then again you were the founder of the thread from hell that put your integrity in the crapper....Laois v Louth.So I'd take what you say with a whole factory of salt.

Good man there. So we'll all just proclaim you as master of knowledge of all things pertaining to Gaelic football.
    blackbelt wrote:
    If I was to say that to him,he would probably attack me or try to at least but they don't call me Blackbelt for nothing. .....That would really finish him off.

Good man. Of course you would. I'd say you are one brave hard-ass motherf**ker sitting there at your desk. I'd say Geraghty is hurridly getting some private bodyguards as we speak! I'd say you're a one-man rambo/jackie chan/steven segal/bruce lee all rolled into one. The only finishing off you're likely to be doing would be of the handy-shandy variety :)

If the man wasn't a very good footballer then it wouldn't be in the news. Are all other intercounty players angels? Was Geraghty the only player ever to get sent off? The reason you seem to hate him so much is that you are jealous of him. I doubt whether Graham Geraghty would be bothered his hole sitting down writing out lengthy discussions about "Blackbelts" failings.

Get yourself 2 All-Ireland medals and then start critiscising. Or sure better still, stick with getting your next "blackbelt Dan" with whatever type of fancy dancing/stretching/karate you do. And don't be boasting about your "knowledge of the game". You're typing crap on a internet message board. Your knowledge is "Google search" and thats about it!

In fairness to blackbelt he's been on this forum for a long time and is one it's more regular posters. IMO he trys to be pretty fair (excepting a small Dub bias but then every one likes there own) and is probably stating the majority view in GAA supporter circles.

And by the way there is nobody here who has 2 AI medals in there back pocket (unless Peter the Great is lurking around boards somewhere:D ) and something like "you have to have played football at a high standard to have an opinion" is bullsh1t.

As regards GG I don't know the truth about some of these rumours but what is certain is
    He got a year ban from GAA.
    He made racist comment to an Aborigine (sp?) guy during the Int Rules.
    He was kicked off the panel by his own teammates after attacking a player during training.
    He has hit at least his fair share of belts during games.

This is not a thread about whether he's better\worse than Ciaran Whelan.
    This is a thread about his legacy.

IMO despite his talent his legacy will the controversy he caused on the field.
    IMO he is not a role model for many young players. There are lots of guys out there who won 2 AI medals and were not as controversial or who recieved bans.

It's guys like Seamus Moynihan, Maurice Fitzgerald, Ja Fallon, Padraig Joyce, Cormac McAnallen, James Nallen, Ollie Murphy and loads more that young players should be looking up to and supporting not players like Geragthy who are well capable of pulling dirty strokes. It gives the incorrect view that to be succesful you have to be cynical.