Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dexter

• 27-06-2007 9:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭

Hi has anybody seen the new US show "Dexter"? My mate gave me them on cd and i watched all 12 episodes. Does anybody know if there will be more to come? I loved it. Really good. Anybody else seen it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

Yeah its pure class and the good news is the new series should be starting soon :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

There's a big long thread about it from just a few days ago here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

New series will apparently start September 30th in the US.

PS - probably tied with 'Heroes' as best new show of last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

i saw an ad for it on fx:anybody know when its starting?
    and julie ''darla'' benz!!!cant wait for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭NeoRox

i saw an ad for it on fx:anybody know when its starting?
    and julie ''darla'' benz!!!cant wait for it!

Its either starting on FX the 7th or 8th of July, cant remember exactly atm

thats great thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,373 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I've seen the first episode and a half, it's weird, dunno yet whether i like it or not.. It's quite long as well, 52mins or so, against to 40 mins or so of normal us tv shows...

1 thing that annoys me is that its like the writers feel they can make the show more grown-up or something by throwing it a few ****s (word that rhymes with duck...) for no reason at all, and it just sounds so out of place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭purplegeko

Just saw it advertised on FX definitely starts on Sunday July 8th probably in prime time 10pm start. I have seen the first 2 and loved them but decided to wait for it to be shown over here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

Yeah it starts here:

Time - 22:00 to 23:05 (1 hour and 5 minutes long).
    When - Sunday 8th July on FX

Dexter. Series 1, episode 1.
    When Miami blood-spatter expert Dexter Morgan is not out solving murders, he's a serial killer out committing them. But Dexter's world is shaken when another serial killer commits a riveting series of perfect slayings.
    Starring: Michael C. Hall, Julie Benz, Jennifer Carpenter, Erik King, Lauren Vélez, David Zayas
    (New Series, Premiere, 2006, 3 Star)�

I've heard a lot of good things about it (He's yer man from Six feet under?)
    hanni1234 wrote:
    Hi has anybody seen the new US show "Dexter"? My mate gave me them on cd and i watched all 12 episodes.

Dare i ask :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Watched the show a few months back and have to admit I was hooked on it. Its a fantastic show.

Also, the reason its 54(ish) minutes against the usual 42 minute running time is as its shown on Showtime (cable channel) over in the states. Channels like HBO and Showtime for whatever reason dont have as strict rules on cursing and as you have to pay to recieve them they dont require as much advertising per show.

dulpit wrote:
    I've seen the first episode and a half, it's weird, dunno yet whether i like it or not.. It's quite long as well, 52mins or so, against to 40 mins or so of normal us tv shows...

1 thing that annoys me is that its like the writers feel they can make the show more grown-up or something by throwing it a few ****s (word that rhymes with duck...) for no reason at all, and it just sounds so out of place...
    No offence but pretty daft reasons not to like a show.

The number of "f*cks" in my eyes always felt pretty minimal apart from Deb who, let's face it, had to use that language to get her character across. As Dexter always elaborated on her foul-mouth and tough way.

The long running-time is, as Winters mentioned, pretty standard for Showtime's serial dramas... and i appreciated the longer run-time due to it only being a 12 episode season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Theres a gay man in dexter trying to get out.
    Its a series of sexual repression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

basquille wrote:
    No offence but pretty daft reasons not to like a show.

The number of "f*cks" in my eyes always felt pretty minimal apart from Deb who, let's face it, had to use that language to get her character across. As Dexter always elaborated on her foul-mouth and tough way.

The long running-time is, as Winters mentioned, pretty standard for Showtime's serial dramas... and i appreciated the longer run-time due to it only being a 12 episode season.

I wonder has he seen Deadwood? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Just a reminder to anyone who hasn't already downloaded it, series 1 starts tonight on FX(Sky EPG 165) at 10pm.

Be there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,470 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Just watched it on FX, not bad, nice idea, reminds me a bit to American psycho in the way that he's talking about the police dept not knowing he's a serial killer, will have to watch more of it.

Snake ;)

Season 2 promos-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZ02YWwc1zI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kS6ykDhNkNc

Potential Spoilers obviously.

Can't wait for it :D

Doakes is a legend!

Cannot wait til September alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Finished watching Series 1 last night absolutely class. When the last few minutes of ep12 were playing I was nearly screaming Nooooooo!!

Can't wait for season 2 :)

Just watched it on FX, not bad, nice idea, reminds me a bit to American psycho in the way that he's talking about the police dept not knowing he's a serial killer, will have to watch more of it.

Snake ;)

:D Dexter's Alias is Patrick Bateman, writers obviously knew it would be compared to American Psycho:D
    Excellent series I'm up to episode 8, have to say that I'd make this number 1new series over Heroes (Still pizzed over the crappy finale). I see a good few of the cast have appeared in Oz, I'll check that out when I get through the final 4 episodes of Dexter, have to say showtime are bettering HBO on decent new series with this and Weeds.

Snake ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Apparently the first two episodes of season two have been given to critics in the US and should be available in the usual places now

sweetie wrote:
    Apparently the first two episodes of season two have been given to critics in the US and should be available in the usual places now

He speaks the truth. I'm currently "aquiring" them.
    Though, if the 'Weeds' pre-air leaks last year are anything to go by, the picture quality in these will be terrible.

Great show finished watching series 1 last night, I really hope that Season two is as good as the first one. It'll be interesting to see what direction it takes, will they introduce another serial killer? Will have a look at the first 2 episodes of series 2, hopefully they will be decent quality

Snake ;)

Just watched the first episode. The quality is excellent so no worries there. It even had the full end credits intact. The episode itself was great, too.
    Doakes is a legend.

Onto episode 2.........

Just watched the first episode. The quality is excellent so no worries there. It even had the full end credits intact. The episode itself was great, too.
    Doakes is a legend.

Onto episode 2.........

I really like Masuka he's a real pervert :D I also like Angel, Doakes is a bit of a hardass. Any insight into a major villain for series 2?

Snake ;)

I really like Masuka he's a real pervert :D I also like Angel, Doakes is a bit of a hardass. Any insight into a major villain for series 2?

Snake ;)

Major season 2 spoilers, for the love of God, don't highlight unless you've seen the 2 new episodes
    No sign of a major villan yet. The main plot this season(so far) seems to be that of the discovery on the ocean bed, of the bodies of all of Dexters previous victims and the huge FBI investigation surrounding it. Keith Carradine is playing the main FBI guy. I'm a big fan of his, so I was pleased to see him when he showed up. Also, the scenes of Dexter talking to his dead brother could've been liftet straight outta Six Feet Under. They were great. I got a huge fright at the end of episode 2, as well.

The second epsode was probably better than the first. Looks like the show is definitely gonna maintain the quality season 1 had, even though it doesn't follow the plot of the books anymore.
    Can't believe I'm gonna have to wait 2 months 'til episode 3, though. I want more Dexter.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭mikeruurds

Acquiring Season 2 ep 1 & 2 now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Absolutely brilliant 2 episodes. A nice bit of closure at the end too, which makes the 3 month wait a little less painful.

Roll on episode 3!

Ye great opening episodes. Looks like it is on track to be as good as season 1.

In case you didn't know, Jeff Lindsay's 3rd Dexter book is out tomorrow!
    Dexter In The Dark is out on hardback....

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dexter-Dark-Jeff-Lindsay/dp/075288509X/ref=pd_bbs_sr_3/026-7936656-3838015?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1184799598&sr=8-3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Superb. My US cousins will be faxing me a copy tonight. Cannot wait!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Wasn't sure when it was coming out, nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Think i will wait the 6 weeks or so for it to air. Then watch it, i have waited this long i might as well wait another month or so for regular episodes :D

Love this show.

Saruman wrote:
    Think i will wait the 6 weeks or so for it to air. Then watch it, i have waited this long i might as well wait another month or so for regular episodes :D

It's actually 10 and a half weeks until it airs, not 6:D Personally I would never survive that long knowing that the episodes were out there, just waiting for me to watch 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭kittex

Been really looking forward to this - have just started watching Series 1 on FX.
    Me likies. There's an awful lot going on.

I think I'm going to enjoy just watching it as it airs for a change.

Been away so am acquiring these babies now... will watch them as soon as possible.

Cannot wait... and kudos to Dave for the heads-up on the third Dexter book. Have the first two and they're a thrilling read.

Will be back tomorrow for my two cents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

Finished the first two episodes of season two last night and they are sheer quality again. Anyone any idea if they are going to maintain the 12 episode season or add a few more to the schedule?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

It will be 12 episodes. I tend to prefer it this way, quality programming instead of possible pointless filler.

basquille wrote:
    Cannot wait... and kudos to Dave for the heads-up on the third Dexter book. Have the first two and they're a thrilling read.
    Went into Easons last Saturday to buy this... it wasn't there, and wasn't on their computer..... I'll try again tomorrow, and order it online if I'm not successful (still showing as July 19th release date on Amazon.co.uk).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Yeah i had the same experience with the original dexter books.

Went into the new Hodges and Figgis (i think?) in Dun Laoghaire and they did have it on their computers and i got it ordered.

It seems to not be very well known in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭mikeruurds

TmB wrote:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dexter-Dark-Jeff-Lindsay/dp/075288509X/ref=pd_bbs_sr_3/026-7936656-3838015?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1184799598&sr=8-3

Hell yeah... roll on season 3. Maybe I'm getting ahead of myself :D

Defo my favourite show of last year and this year.

B-K-DzR wrote:
    Yeah i had the same experience with the original dexter books.

It seems to not be very well known in ireland.
    I bought the first two books from Kenny's Bookshop.

Based in Galway - delivery was a bit slow but good price for the two of them. Recall it being cheaper than buying them on Play.com at the time. Think they only have the first book right now in stock though.

PS - the first two episodes were fantastic.
    Anyone else squirm in their seat when Little Chino started to escape? And as for the discovery of the Harbour Bay Butcher's bodies....
    very exciting stuff!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Really like the setup for season 2 basquille:
    Dexter investigating himself! Hah! Interesting to see how it will play in with Debbie and her drive to purge herself of her nightmares.
    Chino was a good villain as well (and hell was he tall - 6'9"!) and it was good to see the two episodes compliment each other.

On a side-note, I've watched the first two episodes of 'Burn Notice', also set in Miami (and I assume filmed there) and each one has had someone from 'Dexter' - the pilot has Angel and the second episode has Mike. Wonder who I'll get in episode three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,373 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

So I finally finished the first series other day, must say at first i wasn't sure but really got into it, great show... Reminds me of Max Payne when he talks, he's cool...

Pretty hard to read through this thread with all the spoiler tags, temptation is out there... I think i'll wait till they air to watch them though... Roll on September...

how many eps is in series 1?

Sundays ep on fx was a return to form of sorts for the show-its being getting not bad, but 'less great' since the 2nd ep but sundays ep was fantasic

Great show really love it first two episodes of Series 2 were good too, nice two parter so really looking forward to this coming back

Snake ;)

how many eps is in series 1?

Sundays ep on fx was a return to form of sorts for the show-its being getting not bad, but 'less great' since the 2nd ep but sundays ep was fantasic
    12 episodes in series 1, 2 so far in series 2. I assume there will be a total of 12 for the second series, but I'm not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I've watched all of this and I have really enjoyed it. I do have one question, why does the intro and the damned recap take so long? I have started to find the recap quite irritating and can't understand why it's needed at the beginning of each episode. One episode I watched took six minutes between the two of them.

is_that_so wrote:
    .. why does the intro and the damned recap take so long? I have started to find the recap quite irritating and can't understand why it's needed at the beginning of each episode..
    It's a regular ploy used by networks so non-regular viewers of the show flicking around can get a good idea of what happened thus so far. Daft but it works!

The first episode of season 2 took feckin' ages to get going - it must have been at least 8 minutes with the intro and the entire blow-for-blow recap of season 1!

basquille wrote:
    It's a regular ploy used by networks so non-regular viewers of the show flicking around can get a good idea of what happened thus so far. Daft but it works!

The first episode of season 2 took feckin' ages to get going - it must have been at least 8 minutes with the intro and the entire blow-for-blow recap of season 1!

It's pretty understandable, to be fair. The last episode was almost a year ago. You'd need a good recap, especially if you're watching it on Showtime and haven't seen it since November.