Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRL: 2X04 - "First Down" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 25-06-2007 11:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,193 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN "SCAN" -

Episode Title: "First Down"
    Airdate: June 25th - RTE2

TV.com Summary:
    Bellick, now teamed up with Michael, Lincoln and Nika, sets out to find the money stolen by Westmoreland during the 1971 skyjacking.

Kellerman targets Sara, who receives a long-awaited phone call. T-Bag gets a ride from an unsuspecting family. Abruzzi resumes the search for Fibonacci to settle the scores once and for all.

Next Episode: "Map 1213" - Same bat time et channel.

What did you think of "First Down"? 10 votes

0%
    0%
    10%
    mcowhey 1 vote
    20%
    Baby4Mr Mobius 2 votes
    50%
    BrowprospectJelloDermot2468SoSueMe 5 votes
    20%
    homerjkfobs 2 votes
    0%
    0%
    0%
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

This episode was an improvement on the first few of the season.

Lincolns healed leg is still annoying, and there was too many storylines running together. Also, it is a bit silly that two cops are suspicious of a guy with a serious flesh wound, and they did not recognise him as one of americas most wanted men.

I like Lincolns new found intelligence, smart enough to put glass under the tyre and to remove the bulleets form the handgun.

Also, the way the episode was written, to confuse the storyline between Tweener and the girl, and Abruzzi was very clever, it had me fooled anyway.

I am a bit sad about Abruzzi.

Two 7's, snap. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Best one of the season IMO. Lots of tension. God, T-Bag was super creepy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Brow

Well thats one of my three favourite characters gone. Shame Abruzzi was killed off, I really liked him and I didnt really think the way he was written out generated enough sympathy.

Good episode though. T-Bag is great whenever on screen and it's good to see how he reacts outside prison, as in prison did nothing for him. Needs more Haywire though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

I have seen the first 6 episodes of this season (dont worry wont spoil it) but did anyone notice how in the ad on rte for "USA top dramas on RTE 2" with the arcade fire music, they SHOWED Abruzzi getting pumped full of lead!! good work on giving away the story line lads.....:mad:
    was half expecting to see the last scene of the sopranos in the same ad!! (maybe it is!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭homerjk

well thank god they're going for double episodes from now on anyway.
    thought it was grand, the best part of it was when t-bag drove slow mo past the young girl. he is a class act!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

I thought the way they teased the audience with the suggestion that T-Bag might rape that girl was kinda sick and disturbing to be honest, it's not really the kind of thing I find entertaining.
    I know he was inside for paedophilia so I suppose it was on the cards that he would try it when he got out but still it was in poor taste.
    Also, if you are an escaped convict you wouldn't want to attract attention to yourself so leaving a trail of dead bodies everywhere probably isn't the best idea.
    Abruzzi will be missed, I would go so far as to say he is probably the best actor on the show.
    Great line by him to leave with too: "I kneel only to God but I don't see him here".
    Holly will be missed too (if only for her lovely arse!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Good old T-Bagg made this a good episode for me.

Bring on the doubles!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭SoSueMe

Why have they completely ignored Veronica's death on the show? Overall the second season has exceeded my expectations that the could make the show as compelling as it was in season one. But the fact that the don't have Patricia Wettig as President Reynolds dissapoints me. They barely refer to her offscreen and she was such a big part of season one. I remember reading that the writers wanted her to be a regular in season 2 but she chosse Brothers & Sisters over PB. The writiers obviously had to change their plans in a big way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

SoSueMe wrote:
    Why have they completely ignored Veronica's death on the show? Overall the second season has exceeded my expectations that the could make the show as compelling as it was in season one. But the fact that the don't have Patricia Wettig as President Reynolds dissapoints me. They barely refer to her offscreen and she was such a big part of season one. I remember reading that the writers wanted her to be a regular in season 2 but she chosse Brothers & Sisters over PB. The writiers obviously had to change their plans in a big way.
    <SNIP>

MOD EDIT: No allusions to future events in any way, lukin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

SoSueMe wrote:
    Why have they completely ignored Veronica's death on the show?

Was just thinking the same myself.

Pretty good ep though.

Abruzzi's exit was well done, though he will be missed.

And Holly looked very nice indeed in that tracksuit :)

But yeah, roll on the double eps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Brow

To be honest I dont miss the political stuff at all. Whenever I was watching season one I'd be waiting for them to go back to the prison whenever the court case stuff was on (unless it was interesting like when Quinn came into it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Now we're getting a bit better! Still a few annoyances like Lincolns miracously healed leg but as said above it was good that he was smart enough to slash the tyres and take out the ammo from the gun.

I'll miss Abruzzi he was a great character but not as much as T-Bag I'm glad we see him back to his old ways! Really a great actor that guy...but yeah, would he really be so stupid to attract attention like that? It's a wonder that the average citizen doesn't recognise T-Bag or any of the rest of them, yet police officers of all people don't recognise one of the most wanted people in America.

What was going on with Tweener and the girl from college? Did she ring the police or was she actually talking to her dad? Wasn't really paying attention for that...

I think they should've killed Bellick and yer man. I know we didn't see what happened to them but it's stupid to leave them there alive (if that's what they did) seeing as they are the only two people who know that they're headed to Utah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Afaik she was talking to her dad, they wanted us to think it was the police to confuse us with the Abruzzi apartment.

Also, I couldn't tell but did that kick to the head not snap Bellick's neck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

I would doubt that bellick is dead, Michael wouldn't do that, or would him?

Tweener and the girl was cleverly written. We were led to believe she was in contact with the police and they in turn with Mahone. And we see the FBI rushing out to a motel, which we presume is where Tweener is. But in the last few minutes we realise it is Abruzzi they are after.

Also, Bellick (if he is alive) is not going to tell the Police where Michael and Lincoln are, he is now an accessory to their escape. I hope Holly goes back and joins forces with Bellick. That way we get to see more of those loverly buns...