Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

REQ: 32" TFT TV - Where is good to buy online?

• 23-06-2007 1:33pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Want to buy a 32" TFT TV, its for my parents so just a basic model is all they need. Saw a few in power city etc for €600 but I'm thinking I must be able to get somehting better than that for about the same money from one of the online sites etc. I remeber seeing a few German sites that specialise in TV's and are really good value...

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

www.hardwareversand.de are good , shipping is 20 euro but you have to pay be bank transfer ( same with nearly all german sites )

this looks great value for 653 delivered
    http://www1.hardwareversand.de/6V2ZVudQcMJ3NH/3/articledetail.jsp?aid=8040&agid=569

or this for 562 delivered

http://www1.hardwareversand.de/6V2ZVudQcMJ3NH/3/articledetail.jsp?aid=8859&agid=568

and some more of there 32" inch tv's

http://www1.hardwareversand.de/6V2ZVudQcMJ3NH/3/articlelist.jsp?agid=568

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Thanks! The Samsung is a stunning TV my mate has the 37", I'm nearly sure that was €799 in Power City!

Can you ONLY pay by bank transfer? Why is that? I wanted to put it on my credit card... Could I do this via Western Union online perhaps?

Any other suggestions?
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

www.directtvs.co.uk just got gd samsung there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,916 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

checked out direct tv's - they seem to charge about 100 euro for delivery to ireland? a bit dear -takes the bargain out of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭colmranger

POowercity offer great new reductions too if you order online and then collect at the shop!

Think you save roughly €60 off marked price on a 32 inch.

See below:

www.powercity.ie

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Power City must have the worst website on the internet, someone should tell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

xtravision have two at the minute in Galway.
    A hyundai and another no-name unit.

Both were 599.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭branners69

I bought off www.tvandvideodirect.com

Would recommend them but remember that your warranty may or may not be valid in Ireland. The prices online are so cheap cos the websites buy the product off the manufacturer without any warranty.

In order to get it fixed you have to return it to the website you buy it from which could cost anything up to €200 so remember to budget for that in case things go wrong which often can with technology!!

www.richersounds.ie are a good bet cos they are based in Belfast so worst case scenario you can drive up to return your tv!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Zascar wrote:
    Power City must have the worst website on the internet, someone should tell them.

Wearing my unifrom right now, and i find that both offensive, AND true!! :D

There too fecking cheap ass to pay a professional to make the site, and this is coming from one of there employees. Fantasitc prices all the same though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Just bought a pretty decent spec 32" Samsung from powercity for €830. It was €850 + shipping on komplett.ie. Their prices were far better than pc world or curries so I'd reccomend them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭heggie

branners69 wrote:
    The prices online are so cheap cos the websites buy the product off the manufacturer without any warranty.

thats nonsense, the warranty is with the manufacturer, prices online are cheaper because overheads are lower.

Irish sites/stores are a rip-off thats all it comes down to. Samsung's customer service is top-notch so I'd definitely recommend them.

heggie wrote:
    thats nonsense, the warranty is with the manufacturer, prices online are cheaper because overheads are lower.
    You obviously have no clue, best of luck if something goes wrong with your tv;)

interesting point coming from someone who apparently buys things with no warranty!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Well, if you are to buy a TV online from another country, it's worth while making sure that the brand you buy has a service centre in Ireland. If you buy an own-brand from an etailer in Norway for example, chances are you'd have to ship it back to Norway from where you bought it.

Most of the big brands have European-wide guarantees, so should cover the TV even if bought elsewhere in Europe. As for purchases from Asia or USA, etc, that could be another story.

I doubt you can buy TV's online with absolutely no warrenty whatsoever. EU Law says you have to give at least 3 months iicr. Can anyone clarify?

I reckon this Sumsung looks the best deal I've seen so far. Its €699 on Komplett.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

branners69 wrote:
    The prices online are so cheap cos the websites buy the product off the manufacturer without any warranty.

Prices are cheaper because estore are actually just large warehouses in some industrial estate where the rates are as cheap as possible, they dont have to pay for a shop front on an expensive main street and they dont need to hire sells staff. Also as they just have a large warehouse they can buy very large quantities of one item, sell for cheaper and still make a profit.

You still have a warranty just with the disadvantage of not been able to directly, face to face, complain to some sells person/manager when something goes wrong. Just go directly to the manufacturer which in many cases is better anyway.

Ri_Nollaig wrote:
    Prices are cheaper because estore are actually just large warehouses in some industrial estate where the rates are as cheap as possible, they dont have to pay for a shop front on an expensive main street and they dont need to hire sells staff. Also as they just have a large warehouse they can buy very large quantities of one item, sell for cheaper and still make a profit.

You still have a warranty just with the disadvantage of not been able to directly, face to face, complain to some sells person/manager when something goes wrong. Just go directly to the manufacturer which in many cases is better anyway.

There are many reasons why the prices online are cheaper, you have touched off some of them bulk buying and low running costs. But a huge reason is that online sites buy off the manufacturer directly but with conditions in relation to the manufacturers warranty or no warranty at all! When shipping to another country the maunfacturers warranty can be void so you are left to use the suppliers which means you must get it shipped back to your original suppler whether in Germany or England!

If I was buying off www.directtvs.co.uk I would definitely be looking for a copy of their "For full terms and conditions" in relation to returns as the website has no info! As for the German sites I hope you have an excellent knowledge of German to fully understand what you are buying into!

So if I was buying online I would fully understand the returns policy and I would want it in writing and I would contact the manufacturer to clarify if your product is covered! For example if you look at the wording from the Pixmania website: "The product must be returned to PIXmania for technical examination within 15 days, in order to identify the nature of the breakdown, to confirm that this does fall within the terms of the manufacturer’s warranty"

If you have used the above website to buy a TV then if you goes belly up you have to ship it back to them for them to decide if it goes to the manufacturer for repair. But the return is at your expense!

People can take on board or ignore this fact but dont say you havent been warned!

heggie wrote:
    interesting point coming from someone who apparently buys things with no warranty!

If you had of read my 1st post fully and understood it, you would have seen that:
    branners69 wrote:
    www.richersounds.ie are a good bet cos they are based in Belfast so worst case scenario you can drive up to return your tv!

And at the time cos I spent over 8k with them they gave me a 5 year warranty aswell.So my warranties are just fine thank you very much;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

branners69 wrote:
    If you had of read my 1st post fully and understood it, you would have seen that:

And at the time cos I spent over 8k with them they gave me a 5 year warranty aswell.So my warranties are just fine thank you very much;)

If you read your own first post properly, you'd see that you never mention buying off www.richersounds.ie, but
    branners69 wrote:
    who are based in Bolton, which, last time I checked, was in just as much a different country as Germany is.

I hate these threads though, everytime I see one I spend an hour convincing myself I need to replace my 2 yr old TV so I can get one of those nice Samsungs :P

mcgovern wrote:
    If you read your own first post properly, you'd see that you never mention buying off www.richersounds.ie,

My first post was responding to the original OP, I bought my LCD from tvandvideo direct. I bought my home entertainment kit from Richersounds. But as the OP was talking about LCDs I never mentioned about me buying from Richersounds! I only mentioned buying from Richersounds when I was accused of buying things with no warranty!
    mcgovern wrote:
    who are based in Bolton, which, last time I checked, was in just as much a different country as Germany is.

the savings I made was over €500 at the time so it was well worth it, even if I had have sent it back to them!

I just want other people to be aware to budget the potential return costs into their budget!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭shanethemofo

Branners you are actually an idiot, sorry if that seems harsh.

Are you sure your not mixing up guaranties and warranties?

You dont pay for warranties unless its extended or unless they offer it as a service for customers, you are entitled to a guarantee by law in ireland and the EU.

So you will go and buy a tv from komplett. you bring it home to find that the tv is held together with staples. The tv turns on for 5 seconds and subsequently explodes because they also forgot to put in resistors and fuses.
    You e-mail komplett and say that the tv broke blah blah blah.

They send you back an email saying

"Sorry did you not realise we are an e-shop?.<quote branners> The prices online are so cheap cos the websites buy the product off the manufacturer without any warranty.<quote> We will not fix your tv or replace it"

Ok so whos gonna be the first to say

"DUH"

Shane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭pedroj

http://www.laptopsdirect.ie/asp/tvs.asp ...think tv section is run by www.directtvs.co.uk but at least laptopsdirect have dublin offices and show prices in Euro, €60 for delivery but you can get some very very good deals even after taking into account delivery...or if you know some1 in UK (Huddersfield) who can collect n send/bring it over ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭GG66

Get one here http://technikdirekt.de

check boards for threads about this site. generally good reports. I bought a tv off them, prompt delivery, good email communication, 2 year manufacturers warranty (if you walk into Curries in Ireland this is what you'll get).

Can pay by cr card

byte

Komplett have a nice 32" Samsung for €630 in their weekly offer:
    http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=329508

Fantastic cheers, thats the one I want and I'd much rather buy it from Komplett..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Just bought a pretty decent spec 32" Samsung from powercity for €830. It was €850 + shipping on komplett.ie. Their prices were far better than pc world or curries so I'd reccomend them.

Didnt ask for a discount then? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Pixmania are selling these
    http://www.pixmania.com/ie/uk/552747/art/acer/at3720-lcd-tv.html
    Seems like a good deal I suppose?

BTW I have a general question for this forum. If the dimensions of a TV are 944 x 692 x 261 does that mean the tv itself is 26.1 cm deep or is that figure the measurement of the footprint of the basestand (making the tv measurement itself considerably less in depth)? Was thinking of getting a tv for wall-mounting but not if it's sticking a foot out from the wall.

byte

Pigman II wrote:

BTW I have a general question for this forum. If the dimensions of a TV are 944 x 692 x 261 does that mean the tv itself is 26.1 cm deep or is that figure the measurement of the footprint of the basestand (making the tv measurement itself considerably less in depth)? Was thinking of getting a tv for wall-mounting but not if it's sticking a foot out from the wall.
    That would be the dimensions of the base. Basically the TV's maximum size.

byte

Zascar wrote:
    Fantastic cheers, thats the one I want and I'd much rather buy it from Komplett..
    Glad to be of assistance :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

byte wrote:
    That would be the dimensions of the base. Basically the TV's maximum size.

Thanks for that byte. Sorry for these Q's but I'm new to this subject.I'm presuming the basestand can be removed from the main body of the TV so how deep (on average or approximately) would I expect a tv of those dimensions to be hanging from a wall? ie how far out from the wall would it be?

byte

Hmm, about 7cm I'd say. Allow a few cm for the bracket too, depending on the bracket you use.

http://global.acer.com/PRODUCTS/lcd_tv/spec_at3720.htm Link to confirm that the depth is inclusive of stand.

Pigman II wrote:
    /quote]
    Very nice but I'm only after a 32"
    Surely Acer would not be up to the quality of Samsung, would they?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Was in Dunnes Stores this evening with herself and spotted an LG 20" LCD for €349. Am on the look out for a tv that size as a present. Checked out most online retailers that are mentioned on here and this seems like a really good deal. No doubt if it is not I will be told here!?

byte

Acer wouldn't be as good IMO. They look very similar to the Grundig, probably the same set rebadged. Picture is grand to be fair, though not on a par with a Samsung.

byte

Was in Dunnes Stores this evening with herself and spotted an LG 20" LCD for €349. Am on the look out for a tv that size as a present. Checked out most online retailers that are mentioned on here and this seems like a really good deal. No doubt if it is not I will be told here!?
    349 for a brand name LCD screen seems pretty good to me, particlarly for a bricks n' mortar shop.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Cheers byte

I need it for the weekend so will pop down in the morning!

We will not fix your tv or replace it"

No you tool, they will get your tv fixed but my point was that you will have to pay for the privilege of having it shipped back to them, for them to get it looked at!

There is a brief discussion about this here on avforums. Where one of the posters points out that Toshiba only guarantee in country of purchase. So if you bought a Toshiba lcd off a website you would have to ship it back to them! The same with JVC and other manufacturers!

yes thats true, but its not what you said, you said websites sell items cheaper because the manufacturers dont give their warranties, which is false information, so to put it in terms you can't try and dispute, if an irish website is selling a tv here, and an irish person buys it, they have a warranty with THE MANUFACTURER, if a uk person buys it from same irish site, they dont has it wasnt an international warranty, which is not what you were trying to say.

so to quote:
    You obviously have no clue, best of luck if something goes wrong with your tv ;)

I bought a Samsung tv off a german site and Samsung sent a courier to my house, gave me a brand new tv and took the broken one. Not bad eh....

Anyways anyone who buys from a foreign site should know the risk, that they might have to send it back and I doubt many ppl rush into something like this without thinking about it. If you want to pay over the odds in Ireland, fire ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭shanethemofo

heggie wrote:
    yes thats true, but its not what you said, you said websites sell items cheaper because the manufacturers dont give their warranties, which is false information, so to put it in terms you can't try and dispute, if an irish website is selling a tv here, and an irish person buys it, they have a warranty with THE MANUFACTURER, if a uk person buys it from same irish site, they dont has it wasnt an international warranty, which is not what you were trying to say.

so to quote:
    You obviously have no clue, best of luck if something goes wrong with your tv ;)

Ledge tbh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

I bought a Samsung tv off a german site and Samsung sent a courier to my house, gave me a brand new tv and took the broken one. Not bad eh....

Anyways anyone who buys from a foreign site should know the risk, that they might have to send it back and I doubt many ppl rush into something like this without thinking about it. If you want to pay over the odds in Ireland, fire ahead.

Kaiser, which site did you buy from ?

Thats a helluva service.

www.hoh.de

But the support was down to samsung as I didnt even contact hoh.de , just rang samsung and explained the problem. So samsung for me anymore.

I went iwth Komplett and bought the samsung.
    Cheers for your help