Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another kinda census / survey thread....

• 20-06-2007 9:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭

Hope Liamo doesnt mind, 'cos i dont mean to ripoff his census thread...

But how did you all hear about Airsoft ? And if you already knew about it before it was legalised, how did you find out it had become legal ?

Just curious how people got into this....

Oh...I discovered it by lurking on boards for awhile, and a new post on the main page caught my eye, so I came looking. I was hooked the second i saw the pictures thread- I've always had a thing about guns and military stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Big into war games. Had a cheap springer. Looking for a spring D.eagle, saw airsoft, google airsoft in ireland...Bawchicawawa:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

I was actually looking at replicas on an English website last September which got me on to ASI, can't remember how, but from there I learned of 1 joule's being made legal only 2 months before. From ASI I discovered the boards Airsoft forum and the rest is history.

Now I have no money and will never have again :( More AEG's, MORE AEG's :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,809 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Stumbled across ye old airsoft thread that was in the shooting forum eons ago. The shooters got sick of it so they gave us this nice forum.

I remember the day I rang N.O.I.P to tell him it had been legalized. He didn't believe me for quite some time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Fiach Dubh wrote:
    Now I have no money and will never have again :( More AEG's, MORE AEG's :p

I know exactly where you're coming from. I have to find new ways to finance this obsession.

On a side note....does Adverts.ie take "For Sale" ads for 5 year old children ? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

Shiva wrote:
    I know exactly where you're coming from. I have to find new ways to finance this obsession.

On a side note....does Adverts.ie take "For Sale" ads for 5 year old children ? :)

I couldn't tell ya but I'm going to ask UNcompany soon if they accept toenail clippings, fag butts and belly button lint as legal tender :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

N.O.I.P introduced me to Airsoft. If I had known it was going to cost me over a €1000, I would have ignored him, & covered my ears while running away screaming "I'm not listening...I'm not listening!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Went over to Lemmings gaff around a month ago and he showed me his new Aug. As I was a FPS Tactical Ops, Medal of Honor and Day of Defeat addict this seemed like the natural progression.

After my first skirmish last weekend I'll be back for more.

(not to mention in this month I have spent a fortune on gear!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Shiva wrote:

But how did you all hear about Airsoft ? And if you already knew about it before it was legalised, how did you find out it had become legal ?

Just curious how people got into this....

Jaysus.....emmm, well of course I've had my fair share of Spanish el chepo springers and was aware that there 'were' higher grade, more professional airsoft guns availible, but taking Irish gun laws into account I never gave it much thought.

Until a little over a year back when I seen this new forum and discovered that airsoft guns were legal*

*terms and conditions apply :p

It was sort of disbelief:

Me: "What? Airsoft guns are legal? What sort of licence do I need"
    Other poster: "You dont need any licence, once below 328fps"
    Me: "What, are you sure?? So I can just buy them?"
    Other poster: "Yes, no hassle"
    Me: "Yeah...sure, really........what do I need? Import licence, surely it isnt that simple"

The conversation went on for many days, until I realised that it was in fact, that simple to now buy some pretty cool kit! Only problem was deciding what to buy...and from where.........too much to choose from! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Was brousing the extreme sports forum and it was dominated by airsoft threads. I decided to check out what this airsoft thing was and was immediately hooked. Did some more research and savind and eventually bought the Aug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

good thread :)

I think I saw a thread in the shooting forum or somethin.... Then someone started looking for a seperate forum for the sport, so I started supporting that. Then bought the oul FAMAS, and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

i've had several cheap springers over the years when i was on holiday in spain and the like and then heard about the change in the law here on boards last year, think i ordered my first aeg just a couple of weeks after the law came into effect, allowing enough time for a few others to order first and see how it went...

and the rest, as they say, is history

Master of the Universe

kdouglas wrote:
    allowing enough time for a few others to order first and see how it went...

You big git! :D
    I remember being amongst the first wave of people to order. Was convinced it would never arrive. Seems customs were more up to date with the change than anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

Well after my second trip to Combatzone down in Limerick [paintball venue] i decided that no matter what i was going to get more into it[even looking into setting some place up, had a few discussions with the people running the place down their and they told me about the irish paintball site [Richie's one] So after browsing i some how found a link which brought be to the boards shooting forum were the legalisation of airsoft and other such wonderful things were being discussed :D I quickly forgot about paintball and but my s sexy shotgun :D . I knew what airsoft was before this but didnt think that id ever get to play it.

allowing enough time for a few others to order first and see how it went...

You big git!
    I remember being amongst the first wave of people to order. Was convinced it would never arrive. Seems customs were more up to date with the change than anyone else.
    lol , i was fairly surprised to see mine arrive aswell since i didnt know anyone personally with anything better then a cheap springer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Came accross an English site about 10 years ago and bought a couple of springers from them along with some cheap gear. Battle Orders I think they were called.

Was following proceedings over on ASI when the whole thing became legal and then I found this forum been here since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Miscreant

A friend of mine was talking to me about "replicas" when I was about 14 and I thought it was the coolest thing on the planet. He told me that you could get them in the UK and that they would shoot little plastic balls that wouldn't be lethal. That was 15 years ago or thereabouts and the second I got a PC with an internet connection (about 11 years ago) I went about finding them. I was pretty bummed when I found out they were illegal here at the time but I always kept airsoft in the back of my mind. I went paintballing a couple of times, which was the closest I could get to Airsoft. The second I heard that Airsoft was legal here I went about buying a whole pile of stuff. The upshot of this is that I have 2 pistols and 3 AEG and 1 more on the way and I have not gone to a skirmish yet. Is there something wrong with me? If there is then I LIKE IT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭whupass

mark sc showed my speedytoys.com a few years ago and i LOVED IT!!!!!! so the airsoft ireland thread opened in extreme sports with a guy thinking about opening a site, so i talked on that thread for ages, and emailed him ideas for the site and everything! August 1st 2006 bright and early in the morning i was on the doj site and when i saw it i called them, i was PACING the whole house on the phone to them. i did my bit in helping fight for this forum and helped many people in their search for aegs and stuff before the forum opened. actually i even got told i should be mod, so O1s1n, shove over :P

Master of the Universe

whupass wrote:
    i even got told i should be mod, so O1s1n, shove over :P

I remember you asking for it..I don't remember anyone responding though :p heh

It's mad how far it's all come in under a year. Mad how much knowledge everyone has gained too. I knew what airsoft was before last August but it would have been pretty basic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I always remember the first time I found out about airsoft. I've always been something of a firearms enthusiast, I used to make proper moving slides and hammer mechanisms on spray painted water pistols when I was a kid! I remember looking at Berettas on Encarta 1996 and trying to figure out the motions of the slide!

Back when I started college in 2001, I always knew deep down, that better <edit> airsoft guns existed than springers you'd find at your local dodgy market, I mean, i always thought "how hard can it be to make realistic replicas that could mimic the mechanics and actions of real guns through the use of gas?". I remember searching like a b1tch one day and I came across gas blowback guns, I couldn't believe it!
    Finally, my search was over! :D

Master of the Universe

that better pellet guns existed than springers you'd find at your local dodgy market

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

*Oisín's head explodes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

discovered the sport a couple of years ago, got my first credit card and went looking for things to but, got a cheap spring TM MP5 and a gas hard baller, completely un aware of the leaglity until i want my SR-16. read up and then discovered in novemeber it was legal below one joule, haven't looked back since :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

First heard about airsoft when searching the web for a spare magazine for an old springer I had.
    Came across ASI in November 2005 and made plans to go to Predator and buy gear up there , but alas it never happened and I didnt really do much about it till things became legal down south.
    Started buying gear in January of this year and first went to HRTA about 3 weeks after it first opened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

will always remember how i found out about airsoft i used to think they were called bb guns but then realized they weren't so changed to calling them airsoft guns so i just googled airsoft in ireland and nonex's post cam up clicked on it and wallah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

I knew about airsoft for years... but I was slow on the pick up of the law change as I had gone back to college and had been off most discussion forums for a long while. Was doing my usual trawl through the shooting forum I think and came across a thread on airsoft being legal. So I ordered a gun as soon as I had some cash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

o1s1n wrote:
    :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Simply illustrated my thoughts at the time my good friend...

Master of the Universe

Simply illustrated my thoughts at the time my good friend...

Still. Don't use it. Past, current or future tense. I actually thought that had finally been stamped out.

*Puts the dunce hat on Voodoomelon and sends him to the corner*