Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Round of Each Tournament @ the Sporting Emporium

• 16-06-2007 3:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭

Round of Each Tournament @ the Sporting Emporium

This Tuesday 19th June

Tournament is a Double Chance Freeze Out

Entry is €65+ €5

Starting stack 7,000

25 min clock

Two extra levels added 25/25 & 500/1000

25 25
    25 50
    50 100
    75 150
    100 200
    150 300
    200 400
    300 600
    400 800
    500 1000
    600 1200
    800 1600
    1000 2000
    1500 3000
    2000 4000
    3000 6000
    4000 8000
    6000 12000

Card room will be open from 8pm for registration and some blind Omaha hope to see you all there,

John & Alex.

Please note:
    This event is being run by the Sporting Emporium and all events at this location are commercial unless otherwise stated.
    All tournaments start at 9pm sharp unless otherwise stated.
    “”We ask all players as a courtesy to each other to arrive at least 30min before the event to ensure a prompt start time.””
    All players must be at least 21 and be a member of the club.
    All tournaments are No-Limit Texas Hold’em unless otherwise stated.
    Structures and starting stacks are set in relation to the size of the buy-in and may be amended or changed at the tournament director’s discretion. (We always make an effort to give maximum value for all our players.)
    All tables are dealt to the highest standard.
    Card room rules available on request (amended TDA rules in practice in the club)
    As normal practice the Tournament Director / Floor person’s decision is final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

perfect... right buy-in and structure! fair play to the SE... see you tuesday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

ditpoker wrote:
    perfect... right buy-in and structure! fair play to the SE... see you tuesday!!

Good - your provision of an overlay more than justifies my involvement. In.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Good - your provision of an overlay more than justifies my involvement. In.

Lloyd, meet fist - fist, meet lloyd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

anyone heading into this tonight, was getting great reviews last night in the SE....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

anyone heading into this tonight, was getting great reviews this morning when I was leaving the SE @ 6am

FYP

Degen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

anyone heading into this tonight, was getting great reviews last night in the SE....
    Hoping to head in but what do you think the numbers willl be like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Is this going to be weekly going forward

I hope so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Im thinking of giving this a spin, a great way of playing omaha without losing a fortune........I am way tooo optimistic to play omaha cash games.

Looks like a great structure. Looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

so tempting....must...squeeze in live poker...before return of spouse...

how do you play Omaha again?

Limp / call every hand pre - flop from every position (you have two extra cards!!); and then repeatadly say "pot" post flop when you make any pair or draw (you always have outs DUCY??).

Hope your added value is there Glyn.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

So this is a DC game? Is it 3500+3500 or what? I might go here and attempt to last longer than last time I played in the SE.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Limp / call every hand pre - flop from every position (you have two extra cards!!); and then repeatadly say "pot" post flop when you make any pair or draw (you always have outs DUCY??).

Hope your added value is there Glyn.

sounds EZ!

and four aces in your hand is gold, right? :confused:

sounds EZ!

and four aces in your hand is gold, right? :confused:
    Four deuces is the nuts preflop.

5starpool wrote:
    So this is a DC game? Is it 3500+3500 or what? I might go here and attempt to last longer than last time I played in the SE.
    Yeh it looks like its 3.5k + 3.5k. What do people think is best....... Take the 7,000 at the start or when u bust the 1st 3.5k? Id say seeing as its Omaha and the variance is higher maybe the latter is the best strategy?

eoghan104 wrote:
    Yeh it looks like its 3.5k + 3.5k. What do people think is best....... Take the 7,000 at the start or when u bust the 1st 3.5k? Id say seeing as its Omaha and the variance is higher maybe the latter is the best strategy?
    I'd imagine having a big stack in Omaha is more important so would recommend getting the DC in time for the first Omaha round.

Your chips are more of a weapon at the 25 / 25 level than they are at 100 / 200. I will be calling for mine after the first hand - as I do in any DC tournament.

FYP

Degen.

lol, just awake now and ive to go to work MEH - 3pm start not to bad, more than i can say for others who where there and had a 9am start...

shuffle up and deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

Jaysus Wes, I think I said good bye to you 3 or 4 times last night...lol
    Everytime I looked around you were back :D

PiperT wrote:

sickness - booking myself into my own place for 2 weeks :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

PiperT wrote:

They dont call him boomerang wes for nothing!

Flushdraw wrote:
    They dont call him boomerang wes for nothing!

Tony you heading in for this.....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

I simply cant go in there again tonight. It simply did nt happen last night in the cash game. Particularly with Premium hands. Please please no more AA,KK,AK in cash games.... 10 J suited anyday.. Thank you

Im playing like an idiot and not smelling the usual rats and snakes in grass that I usually pride myself on. Playing like a complete donk so I need at least a 4 day break..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Great little tournie tonight. 25 runners, but definately enjoyed my first experience into holdem/omaha tournie style.

Yeh it was a good tournament just a pity about the lack of runners. I went out early but it didnt finish until 4am so plenty of play in it. Good Boards representation at the FT.

4th. 5Starpool
    3rd. Imalegend
    2nd. Lucky Llyod
    1st. Kevin (possible poster definate lurker)

P.S. Props with El Stuntman was great craic! He sucks at it though!!!

I think after about 3am people started to get tired and loads of chips went in at times with less than stellar holdings. Despite coming to the FT as a slight chiplead probably and then taking out the second in chips with an inspired (in my mind) call, I lost a few key big hands. I almost always enjoy round of each tournies anyways, and this was no exception, and there were tonnes of play. There were 175k chips in play, and the FT started at 200/400 , so average stack was around 40 BB's and kept that way for pretty much all of the FT.

Also, Kevin Maloney is a luckbox of the highest proportion. :)

Glad Lloyd used my money to good use.

Raise in Mp with 8d9d9s10s, to 900 3 callers,

Flop comes down 9h kd 2s, I bet 1.5K Lloyd calls,
    Turn is 4h (I think), I go all in for 3.5K he calls like a hot snot and turns over......
    wait for it....... Set of Kings ++++ the Nut flush draw, so
    mmmm im drawing to 9c, river is a 4 to pair the board and bad beat joe points out that I lost with a House (great thanks for that Joe, it will make a much better bad beat story to tell people "I was beaten by a bigger house, meh what can you do", Rather than I put all my chips in the middle practically drawing dead:o :o

Didn't play the cash game, just headed home. Good tournament, great structure, although a bit scary that it didn't finish til 4 even with a small turnout.

smurph wrote:
    bad beat joe points out that I lost with a House (great thanks for that Joe, it will make a much better bad beat story to tell people "I was beaten by a bigger house, meh what can you do"
    I got him for you later Smurph, don't worry, accompanied by coat grab, upset walk and story of runner runner (which basically means he flopped a flush, I flopped a set, board paired).

Poor Joe.

eoghan104 wrote:
    Yeh it was a good tournament just a pity about the lack of runners. I went out early but it didnt finish until 4am so plenty of play in it. Good Boards representation at the FT.

4th. 5Starpool
    3rd. Imalegend
    1st. Lucky Llyod
    1st. Kevin (possible poster definate lurker)

FYP. Kev and I split it wiithout bothering to luckbox any further headsup for €500 each.

As Dom said, we got four handed and were still really deep. All of us knew what we were at and were exchanging small pots and making loads of sneaky checks and cunning folds. Then we got tired and decided to see which of us ran better AIPF in Omaha. Clear winners = Kev and I (I won a 100k pot AIPF with As5sKh8d vs Kev's AdAh8h5d despite the board bringing two hearts :o ).

Great structure. Loved the Omaha eventhough I haven't a clue what I'm at. This tourney deserves more runners. And I wouldn't be against that structure and pure Omaha only!!

Dom, Smurph - I'm sorry.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Dom, Smurph - I'm sorry.

:D:D Don't be sorry, i'll get you back. Well done, although this "I haven't got a clue what im doing at omaha" line needs a bit of work..... you know exactly what you are doing at omaha sir, and WP at both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Is the round of each pot limit omaha or no limit (ie lazy)
    I only ask cause this sounds like a good tourney.
    I may look it up in the future

Both normal Omaha and 2 card Omaha are Pot Limit.

eoghan104 wrote:
    P.S. Props with El Stuntman was great craic! He sucks at it though!!!

harsh but fair...I discovered I am a far better roulette player on the way out though ;)

(although being moved 2 hands before you would have flopped a straight flush and taken my entire stack was a bad beat of tremendous proprtions)

harsh but fair...I discovered I am a far better roulette player on the way out though ;)

(although being moved 2 hands before you would have flopped a straight flush and taken my entire stack was a bad beat of tremendous proprtions)
    Do you really get the stack for that no?

eoghan104 wrote:
    Do you really get the stack for that no?

yes, see BB sticky

El stuntman, didn't realize that was you @ the table playing props, i seen that straight flush [eoghan was just after moving]

anayhow nice to meet ya..

Yeah this was a very enjoyable game and very good structure, some people even suggested that there was to much chips out there.
    i think if they made this a FO with a 5k starting stack, instead of a DC would be ideal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 kweeveen

5starpool wrote:

Also, Kevin Maloney is a luckbox of the highest proportion. :)

flop of 5 5 8

Me: Check
    Dom: Bet pot (committed)
    Me: Raise
    Dom: So you have a 5 then Kev
    Me: Yeh
    Dom: I have an overpair (shows jacks)
    Me: I got the blockers (shows other pair of jacks)

lol!!

El stuntman, didn't realize that was you @ the table playing props, i seen that straight flush [eoghan was just after moving]

anayhow nice to meet ya..

Yeah this was a very enjoyable game and very good structure, some people even suggested that there was to much chips out there.
    i think if they made this a FO with a 5k starting stack, instead of a DC would be ideal.
    Yeh I think that would make alot more sense. I also think that it being all Omaha would be a good move too. I just cant see them getting many runners no matter what they do!

eoghan104 wrote:
    Yeh I think that would make alot more sense. I also think that it being all Omaha would be a good move too. I just cant see them getting many runners no matter what they do!