Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Having guitars on walls

• 14-06-2007 6:29pm
    Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,

Bought an apartment recently and want to optimise space by hanging my guitars high enough on the walls so that they don't take up the usual floor space that a stand would take.

Can anyone recommend specific wall mountings for the following types of guitars?

- Jackson King Flying V (my pride and joy :) )
    - standar acoustic (the work horse :cool: )
    - a 3/4 size spanish guitar (the baby :o )

I was thinking of just taking the top of my current Jacksons stand and screwing it to the wall... but may not hold as plastic.

Cheers for advice / ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

just make sure they are screwed into wood :eek: because i could see someone turning very angry if they aren't.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Cremo wrote:
    just make sure they are screwed into wood :eek: because i could see someone turning very angry if they aren't.

haha... I meant that my current Jackson stand is made of plastic... not my walls.

Parsley, thanks. Do you reckon the guitars will hang dead straight from those wall mounts? Don't want the lower body scraping against the walls or leaning against the paint.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Seriously, screw the holders into wood then screw the wood into every joist you can otherwise you'll have 3 broken guitars. As for rubbing against the walls, check out any guitar shop and see the wall hangers they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

feylya wrote:
    Seriously, screw the holders into wood then screw the wood into every joist you can otherwise you'll have 3 broken guitars.
    Joists are found in ceilings/roofs and not walls;)

Of course Fey means studs, and yep, very important unless you want to make sh1te of your guitars and/or walls :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Studs! They're the ones. Been a while since I build a house ya see ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Ok! I see your point.

Luckily enough I bought a detector recently which highlights when a stud or electric wiring is behind a spot on the wall. It came in handy when putting shelves over my piano keyboard.

I'm now in two minds as to if it is worth the hassle to hack the walls to bits for the sake of hanging the guitars.

BossArky wrote:

I'm now in two minds as to if it is worth the hassle to hack the walls to bits for the sake of hanging the guitars.
    Well, the idea is that you don't hack the walls to bits.

Get a nice length of timber, sand & varnish it up, fix it so the load is spread between a good few studs, and screw on your guitar hooks. Looks lovely and keeps the guitars away from clumsy drunken feet (yep, been there, dont ask..;) ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Gandorf

I use these:

http://www.herculesstands.com/guitars/GSP38WB.html

GSP38WBMain.gif

and find them brilliant. The weight of the guitar "locks" them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭Paligulus

BossArky wrote:
    Hi folks,
    Bought an apartment recently and want to optimise space by hanging my guitars

Optimise space my ass!!!!! Why couldn't you just say:
    Bought an apartment recently and suddenly realised that it would look sh!t cool if I had my guitars hanging on the wall!!!!!!

Ah no, good thread. In a similar dilema myself cos the 'music' room in my new gaff is bloody tiny. Dont think I can afford to waste space on guitar stands..

Those last ones (hercules) look the job.

On saying that it would be such a kick in the balls though if my piss poor DIY skills were the reason my ESP had a large crack in the middle....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Paligulus wrote:

On saying that it would be such a kick in the balls though if my piss poor DIY skills were the reason my ESP had a large crack in the middle....
    You could just claim it's an antique?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

I usually keep 'em in their cases. More hassle when I want to play at home (but less hassle when bringing to gigs), and stored where they are, at least I don't have to worry about screwing a plank to a wall and mounting a hanger on it and subsequently worrying about my negligible DIY skills.

Currently, I'm in a 3-bed semi, so I have a "music room", though in practice it's the "clothes drying room". The plaster in that old house is so sh!t that I wouldn't even consider mounting guitars on the walls.

Before this house, I was in a very small 1-bed apartment. I had one electric beside my TV-watching chair connected to a sh!tty practice amp, my gigging guitar in its case in the corner, and my acoustic on a stand next to the stereo. And that's pretty much how I store things now, except spread over 2 rooms rather than 1. And in their cases. And I only have 3. And an electric piano.

My suggestion is: don't invite anyone back to your place who won't respect your guitars. If you have that kind of person back at your place, hanging them a few feet off the floor won't protect them (from rough handling, smoke, "jokes", or general scumbaggery). Keep 'em in their cases and out of general sight (like a wardrobe or in your bedroom) to be safe. And get them insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

I have four electrics hanging in my room at home. The hangers i bought come with special plugs which can screw into plasterboard.

None of the hangers are fixed into studs. some of you may think that the guitars will fall some day, but they've been up for years and they are as strong as houses. The plasterboard and proprietary fixing system are of good quality mind you. since there is little distance from the guitars to the wall, the stress on the fixings is not all that big.

That said, if you can find a stud, fix to it. It's definitely worth hanging your guitars. makes an ordinary room look cool!

haha.. cheers for the input all.

Since I posted this I have noticed one shelf with a few books starting to loosen its grip on the wall. The plastic expanding sockets seem to small and aren't gripping. Think I will wait for a while before setting the guitars up on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭The Doktor

Use these type yokes to put the bracket on the wall if ye cant find the stud.
    http://www.fastfixdirect.co.uk/code/navigation.asp?fType=Fasteners&MainCategoryID=8&ProductCategoryID=232
    They will be going no where. I used em cos I wanted to put mine up in a place where I couldnt screw the bracket to a stud, and its still fine 8 years later.
    Also if you are worried about the guitar banging off the wall, get some felt (or speaker carpet as I did) and glue it to the wall with evostick, or just use some decent double sided tape to stick it up.
    Just dont use the plugs that come with most of these brackets, as they are for solid walls (probably like the ones that came with yer shelves)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

When we get settled I'm going to build a cabinet/rack type of thing, possibly out of a large wardrobe or something similar. As I see it, it'll be the best of both worlds, easy access to all the instruments in a spacially efficient unit but also protected behind doors from accidental damage, kids, dust and ****e, etc. There's way too much scope for damage on wall hooks and they're not an efficient use of space, they're for display purposes really, I wouldn't consider them a long term solution to a guitar storage problem.

The Doktor wrote:
    Use these type yokes to put the bracket on the wall if ye cant find the stud.
    I can't recommend fixing anything with a decent bit of weight into plasterboard. There's plenty of fixing solutions specifically designed for this purpose, and spreading the load out helps, but, if it was my guitars on the line, I definitely wouldnt do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭icon

I can't recommend fixing anything with a decent bit of weight into plasterboard. There's plenty of fixing solutions specifically designed for this purpose, and spreading the load out helps, but, if it was my guitars on the line, I definitely wouldnt do it.

I can recommend Rawlplug Interset hollow wall anchors for plasterbord, you'll get them in Woodies, make sure they are the metal ones. Dont use anything made from nylon or plastic.

I can recommend Rawlplug Interset hollow wall anchors for plasterbord
    There's plenty of fixing solutions specifically designed for this purpose, and spreading the load out helps, but, if it was my guitars on the line, I definitely wouldnt do it.

I work in building construction FWIW. I'm well aware of the various plasterboard fixing solutions (as i mentioned), have worked with most of them, and if you want my advice, don't hang any guitar you like from a hook fixed into drywall only.

That's all it is, advice, take it or leave it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I would always anchor something of any weight into timber. I never had a problem fixing things to plasterboard in my old house. My new house is terrible nothing stays in the plasterboard. Very poor quality stuff.

I bought guitar hanging bracket like that one
    http://www.herculesstands.com/guitars/GSP38WB.html
    In goodwins on Capel Street.

Need to keep a good guitar away from a toddler! He has an old one he can bash about with.