Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ask him out?

• 14-06-2007 3:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

okay met a pretty hot guy out last week. we were chatting for ages got along great, kissed a bit. he seemed like a really nice guy and asked for my number which i gave. Thought no more about it to be honest as i just presumed it was another niteclub type encounter which would all be forgotten the next day. Anyway..

He texted me the next day to say he had a good night and general small talk. i thought it was nice of him and that'd be the end of it. 4 he days later he texts again more small talk, so i started to think hmm, maybe he is actually interested but after dropping numerous hints about being free at the weekend to no avail i'm now slightly confused. I like him would like to meet up with him again, and i know yeah just call him but i can't help thinking he's out of my league, i'm a pretty average looking girl but he's hot. Also i've seen his ex and shes a stunning looking girl.

so if he was interested in meeting up again surely he would've asked me by now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Ok.. he kissed you.. he asked for your number.. he contacted you ..
    Call say "Hi, how are you?, would you like to go out at the weekend"
    At least you will know then...
    TK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Just ask him, even if it is by text. Enough "hinting" ****; for the last time, we don't get it. Maybe he is "hinting"? Sheesh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

i can't help thinking he's out of my league,
    Do not EVER go into anything thinking this. It's very annoying for the other person to have some submissive little mouse who'll do anything you say, just because YOU think you have to to keep him interested. NO-ONE is out of ANYONE'S league. Okay? Are we clear on this?

i'm a pretty average looking girl but he's hot.
    Erm...he was kissing you, and asked for your number, and got in contact. I'd say he kinda fancies you too.
    Also i've seen his ex and shes a stunning looking girl.
    So what? She's his ex, probably a headwrecking bint, who thought he was out of her league.
    so if he was interested in meeting up again surely he would've asked me by now?
    Or maybe he's a bit shy.

Ask him already, and put yourself out of the misery. I've no idea what he'll say, neither does anyone else on here. But I'll tell you one thing, if he's a hot as you say, you better do it quick before someone else does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

but i can't help thinking he's out of my league, i'm a pretty average looking girl but he's hot. Also i've seen his ex and shes a stunning looking girl.
    Just as an aside amazing how many girls I know who think they're average but are actually beautiful and amazing how many girls think they're beautiful and, well, they're not. If he snogged you and wanted your number chances are he likes you. He didn't have to ask you for your number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

Just call him. He wouldn't be texting if he wasn't interested. You'll ruin this for yourself by being negative about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Beauty in the eye of the beholder and all that lark.
    Ask him out and put an end to this age old crap where the guy has to ask the girl out. Use some initiative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe he can see beneath the surface and really thought you have a great personality, beside the exterior, and just want to meet again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

but after dropping numerous hints about being free at the weekend to no avail i'm now slightly confused
    You could hint untill the cows came home, and most guys wouldn't catch on.

So ask him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Look if I can ask out this girl in the pic (yes a model) then you are underselling yourself.

/looks in avatar mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Paddygarrett

You should ask him out.

We guys like to be asked out. Its good for the aul ego. Its also a nice change.

You think hes out of your league. He probably doesnt.

If he shifts you in a club and then feels compelled to text you in his own free time then he probably likes you.

Go for it. The odds for success are in your favour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

Ask him out...unless he was only flirting with you but has no serious interest in going out again!
    Are you sure he is single?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Anna23

You should ask him out, I wish I had that opportunity with a guy I fancy in work, seriously he will not say NO, after all he is the one who asked for your number, theres nothing to loooooose, and if he says NO well you wont have to see him again!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Stop with all the *hinting*
    Guys simply do not get it when girls hint.
    Be blunt as a sledgehammer- stop beating around the bush.
    The poor guy is probably miserable, thinking to himself that he made the effort to contact you- and you seemed receptive, but nothings happening......

Quit hinting- ask the guy out, put both of yourselves out of your misery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

As all the others are saying. Guys don't get hinting.

Be blunt (this goes down very well I've found) and ask him out.

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Yep us guys have a mental bloke to hinting, we cant see it even when its right in front of us. :rolleyes:

Just as ask girl, just ask.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

right, so i couldn't quite work up the courage to call him, so i texted him instead. cowards way out.

nothing. no reply.

yep i give up i will never understand men!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Paddygarrett

At least now we know.

hazel wrote:
    right, so i couldn't quite work up the courage to call him, so i texted him instead. cowards way out.

nothing. no reply.

yep i give up i will never understand men!

Well, you mustn't have been interested if you texted him.
    I get loads of texts every day- I ignore lots of them- especially if I don't recognise the number they're from.
    I really do not get what this preoccupation with texting people is.
    RING HIM if you're interested. RING HIM........
    Texting is not a cowards way out- its a slipshod implement that a lot of people think means that the other couldn't have been arsed to call them.
    RING HIM...... If you did meet up with him- would you be hiding in the bathroom texting him outside instead of chatting to him? No. So- don't do it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

smccarrick wrote:
    Well, you mustn't have been interested if you texted him.
    I get loads of texts every day- I ignore lots of them- especially if I don't recognise the number they're from.
    I really do not get what this preoccupation with texting people is.
    RING HIM if you're interested. RING HIM........
    Texting is not a cowards way out- its a slipshod implement that a lot of people think means that the other couldn't have been arsed to call them.
    RING HIM...... If you did meet up with him- would you be hiding in the bathroom texting him outside instead of chatting to him? No. So- don't do it now.

Jebes S, take it handy. First of all the lad started texting her. Therefore he had/has her number stored on the phone. Could be a whole myriad of reasons for non reply. No credit, out on the lash with lads from work, a whole bunch of them. Hazel, FWIW don't give up until no contact by torw. Then, you'll know.

Decided to add to this instead of new message. So out last week kissed a guy who's friend through mutual friends.

Great guy really like him, get the impression he;s kind of a player of sorts. Seem to be a lot of girls after him, he was certainly approached by a lot while with me.

We swopped numbers that night. I liked him so decided to text.

Texted Wed eve he replied, I replied, so on and so on, but was pretty shattered after tag so just said ok talk to you soon in the last message. Havent heard since, thought I'd left it open for him to get in touch.

As I say, he has a lot of girls after him so I don't want to be another statistic in the chase for him, decided to play it cool. All good in theory. Should I contact him again or wait to hear from him. After all I started the texting last time.

I know this is trivial but I really like him so any advice.criticism.opinion would be welcome.

Samantha

***Hazel, give him till sunday eve!***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Whats wrong with actually picking up the phone and talking? you can get much more information across and resolve a lot off these issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

texting. removing emotion and context from words since 199something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

edanto wrote:

haha, so true!

edanto wrote:
    1988 actuallly- but it was a bitch trying to get to the engineer settings on those old mobiles...... :)

yeyy, he rang, we're going out next week.

thanks all.