Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Large number of Garda on malahide road and buslane

• 13-06-2007 8:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭

I take the Malahide road every day, this week and last week there have been at least 2 patrols stopping card in the bus lane, They all look very young so it's a live training exercise...

They never even look my direction o the bike....but they have always been dealing with a car.
    has anyone ever been done in the buslane?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

There were 3 individual checks on the way in yesterday morning on the N3.

The usual buslane before the blanch roundabout. And 2 fairly close at cabra.
    They've been doing checks since Monday. Not batting a lid at my bike though!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

I noticed a couple on Monday & Tuesday on the Swords Road on Monday & Tuesday mornings. Each time I saw them they had a couple of cars pulled over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

I saw about 20 Garda on my way to work this morning! Yesterday I even saw a young female Garda giving a ticket to a motorbike in a buslane in Drumcondra! They're all over the place pestering motorists! What's going on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Damn those Gardai doing their jobs :mad: whats the country coming to !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

KTRIC wrote:
    Damn those Gardai doing their jobs :mad: whats the country coming to !!!

Well actually traffic was very bad this morning and while 5 guarda stood at a check point the road up ahead of them was crying our for a garda on point.....
    So peoples complaint is that they are negatively balanced.
    i.e focusing on fines for buslane driving rather than trying to solve the problem by moving traffic on.

Anyway, the point of this thread is to see if Bikes are getting pulled....
    And one poster has said yes....

So what's the fine for bus lane driving?
    Any penalty Points?

I don't think you get points for driving in a bus lane... Could be wrong though. And I think the fine is €90 EUR. Very lucrative business!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

I don't think you get points for driving in a bus lane... Could be wrong though. And I think the fine is €90 EUR. Very lucrative business!
    None for driving in the lane per se, but you could get done for ignoring signs. I have heard about taxi drivers, not quite bikes but same principle, that got done for leaving the buslane to pass a stopped bus. They did him for crossing a solid white line.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

there were 2 coppers on bachelors walk yesterday,had a car pulled over for using the bus lane. i came whizzing up behind them,copper threw a look at me and then continued writing the fine,i overtook them and no problems. thats been my general experience with them over the last few years,you could just be unlucky and get a copper in his horrors who's doing everyone for everything but generally they just ignore us:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

egan007 wrote:
    Well actually traffic was very bad this morning and while 5 guarda stood at a check point the road up ahead of them was crying our for a garda on point.....
    So peoples complaint is that they are negatively balanced.
    i.e focusing on fines for bus lane driving rather than trying to solve the problem by moving traffic on.

Anyway, the point of this thread is to see if Bikes are getting pulled....
    And one poster has said yes....

So what's the fine for bus lane driving?
    Any penalty Points?

I would have to agree with the point that they where doing there job. you could send 1000 guards out every morn to help traffic but what difference would it make. On the other hand the government is trying to promote public transport which should in theory solve the grid lock problem. muppet cagers blocking bus lanes up would put people off getting the bus. Bikes as we all know ain't allowed in bus lanes but don't really stop the progress of a bus so most guard turn a blind eye.

Have you guys seen any guards this morning? I didn't see a single one!

Their "huge operation" must be finished...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

I took teh bus in this morning, they were pulling bewteen the Airport and Santry....funny enough the bus was delayed as it had to come out of the bus lane because the Guards had it taken up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Papergirl 1

There were guards all over the place this morning. They was one young female guard (who looked about 16), walking through the traffic on the Ballymun road making sure people had their seat belts on. She had a book in her had but didnt see her give anyone a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭stipey

Any news on when bus lanes would be opened to us?

Didn't reliable Martin Cullen make some noises about a pilot scheme to see how it goes a while back?

stipey wrote:
    Any news on when bus lanes would be opened to us?

Didn't reliable Martin Cullen make some noises about a pilot scheme to see how it goes a while back?
    Let's just say I won't be holding my breath...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

that was back in november afaik...

and wasnt gay byrne pushing for this to go through before the summer dail break last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

just to let ye know.

About 250 probationer Gardai came out of te college last friday and they were placed with the Traffic Corps for a week.

Everything should be back to normal next Mon

yayamark wrote:
    Everything should be back to normal next Mon
    LOL :D

In other words: they'll be indoors sipping tea again! LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

LOL :D

In other words: they'll be indoors sipping tea again! LOL

What are u talking about!

Have u gone mad
    TEA?

Its Coffee and Doghnouts man! :D:D

yayamark wrote:
    What are u talking about!

Have u gone mad
    TEA?

Its Coffee and Doghnouts man! :D:D
    Oups! My apologies! :o

I apologise to any member of the Garda I might have offended by writing you drank tea instead of coffee! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Oups! My apologies! :o

I apologise to any member of the Garda I might have offended by writing you drank tea instead of coffee! :p

lucky they're all out in the buslanes, thats a 2 point penalty right there :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭smoc

Bikers should be allowed in the bus lane like they are in Northern Ireland. It so stupid. I would even go as far as saying they should be allowed in the cycle lane considering they are bikes after all. I mean like it makes so much sense from my 5 years experience on a bike. Its so much safer for me to go down a bus lane then to go down the middle of two lanes constantly watching out for cars passing over lanes without checking. I think everyone will agree with me on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 fergusdo

I put the unusual number of them on the buslanes down to Dublin Bus moaning over last weekend.

I have never had any problem with Guards and buslanes; when you see them move over and show them a little respect. Don't stick it up their noses that you are in a bus lane and, I have found, they will just leave you alone.

BTW, I have looked and never found the relevant legislation forbidding motorbikes in bus-lanes. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

fergusdo wrote:
    I put the unusual number of them on the buslanes down to Dublin Bus moaning over last weekend.

I have never had any problem with Guards and buslanes; when you see them move over and show them a little respect. Don't stick it up their noses that you are in a bus lane and, I have found, they will just leave you alone.

BTW, I have looked and never found the relevant legislation forbidding motorbikes in bus-lanes. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Dublin bus lanes.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1984/en/si/0329.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 fergusdo

Thanks Chief, that clears up the mystery, I never thought to look for an SI. Interesting that its a 'temporary order' still in effect after 13 years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 dnk_

fergusdo wrote:

What about this: "A proposal to allow motorcycles use bus lanes has been accepted by the Minister for Transport Martin Cullen and a pilot is due to get underway soon."

http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/motors/2006/1101/1162055655485.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fr Dougal

So where do we start sending our letters and e-mails to stir this up?

In the run up to the elections I was going to bring this up with any canvassers but no-one knocked......