Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath lineup for replay.....

• 12-06-2007 11:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭

Looking forward to the replay, should be another competitive game. My preferred/realistic lineup:

1. Murphy
    2. Harrington
    3. Fay
    4. Mckeighe
    5. King
    6. Moyles
    7. Kenny
    8. Ward
    9. Crawford - id like to see him replaced but its not going to happen.....
    10. Byrne
    11. Reilly - not a forward but id say he will start here
    12. Bray - prefer to have him corner forward but we have to go with farrell.....
    13. Farrell - freetaker
    14. Sheridan/Geraghty
    15. Sheridan/Geraghty

Cian Ward is not in great physical shape and wouldnt last 70 minutes - starting him would be putting all our eggs in one basket - using him as an impact sub for about 20-25 minutes in the second half is the way to go in my opinion.....
    Any views.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

sheridan has no place on any meath team, even the worst ever, he is useless, i agree with your comment on ciam ward though, starting him would be a disaster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 aran5

cian ward from play isnt great at all lads, played against and with him over the years and he's actually awful, its just he's great from a dead ball, and he's never been in good shape, so dont mind that business. is that the actual team or not????. i think they could even drop GG and use him as a impact player thats what they done against kildare. crawford plays extremely well for his club week in week out, but when it comes to dublin he freezes he needs a kick uo the ass and a bit of bite. big joe i think isnt a bad player, could you mark him? you can play the ball in high, and causes problem he's big and strong he'll at least break it and cause problems. plus he's quick enough for a big man with decent shooting plus he's very strong and therefore hard to get the ball off, and this gives him his balance for his shooting. i just think boylan brought in alot of these players slightly early and should of blooded them instead of throwing them in the deep end. but thats a different issue there are doing fine now. peader byrne for me over the years has been awful but over the last two games has done very well. kevin reilly if im right has started playing their for his club, and against dublin and kildare appeared not to move to much nearly as advanced midfielder. im also a big fan of mark ward i think he was great against dublin his all round game was good and he had the venim crawford needed. i like the old school tactic the team is using with the long ball. the team keeps it's shape and therefore has players up the pitch to press the ball therefore other teams have to restore to the same tactic like dublin in the second half. i'd like to see us in a championship game against tyrone as the contrast would be interesting. feed back?

also i thought harrington done well and showed potential, i liked his game using pace and his brain, not fowling. i don't really have faith in mc keigue in the other corner, i feel he lackes disaplein and try's to get involved in the game to much, resulting in getting sloppy with his man, this isn't what you want from a corner back? good too see other meath(home of football ha ha) men about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

MMM...seems to happen when you win one game and draw a game :D

Geraghty did not come on in the Kildare match.He was expected to but the sending off marred this.I think Coyle wanted to save him anyway.

Jason Sherlock will probably not be able to line out for Dublin as his wrist hasn't recovered 100% but there are rumours he will.Take Diarmuid Connolly out of the starting 15 and put Bernard Brogan in or replace Mossy Quinn with Vaughn if Mossy isn't playing up to his usual standard.I think if these substitutions had happened the last day,there would be no need for a replay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

i know blackbelt would reply and start talking about the dublin team - can we leave this thread to the meath lineup only......

I dont agree that sheridan is a bad player - in fact i think he can be an incredibly dangerous full forward when high balls are put into him. I have my worries about the corner backs as well - but i think they deserve another game to prove themselves. i have been very happy with our half back line this year.....

If we can stem the dubs onslaught in the first 20 minutes, i think we have a great chance of beating them...
    important points for meath

1. Wardy needs to have a big game in midfield again - he carried crawford the last day....

2. Farrell needs to step up to the plate on a big occation and prove himself as a top player - from both open play and from frees

3.Geraghty needs to stop acting like a 18 year old and stick to football - if he does he can be unstopable

4. The management need to use the subs effectively:
    Bring on ward with a about 20-25 minutes left...
    Replace Crawford with about 15-20 Minutes left

Really looking forward to it, personally i dont think either team should be badly affected by having to play offally a week later - 1 weeks rest in plenty at this stage in the year.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

I thought Sheridan was quite good in the first game. McConnell did okay for the first 15/20 mins but Sheridan came into it then. Yes he was good under high balls. Farrell will be a good addition. Geraghty should be banned and ye're luck that he isn't. Moyles was ye're best player and will need to be on top of his game again...

one cold hand, what are you on about, the gaa arent treating GG any different than any other player. what ur saying is that every off the ball incident such be punished, they dont do this cause they cant inforce it at club level and plus you'd get four or five suspensions a game,

aran5 wrote:
    one cold hand, what are you on about, the gaa arent treating GG any different than any other player. what ur saying is that every off the ball incident such be punished, they dont do this cause they cant inforce it at club level and plus you'd get four or five suspensions a game,

There would have only been one suspension in the Meath Dub game: GG.
    And if they started to stamp it out and clean it up it wouldn't happen (as often!)
    Just because they can't stamp it out at club level isn't a good enough reason not to do it at county. It only happens at club level because it appears to be acceptable at county level. County level is the highest level and if it was cleaned up at this level it would hopefully happen less at club level.

You appear to think that GG blatantly punching someone in the face (and other violent off the ball acts) are acceptable. Is the example our kids should be set?

There would have only been one suspension in the Meath Dub game: GG.
    And if they started to stamp it out and clean it up it wouldn't happen (as often!)
    Just because they can't stamp it out at club level isn't a good enough reason not to do it at county. It only happens at club level because it appears to be acceptable at county level. County level is the highest level and if it was cleaned up at this level it would hopefully happen less at club level.

You appear to think that GG blatantly punching someone in the face (and other violent off the ball acts) are acceptable. Is the example our kids should be set?

if you were at the game or watched it, at least five players between the two teams should were involved in similar activities, so stop with this crap. the camera's dont get every off the ball incident, look at ciaran wheelan in 2005 a straight punch before the game started and nothing done, their was no hype about that, i think ur fond of the old dublin media, ciaran wheelan sells lucozade are you saying he's a role model to do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

aran5, your memory is as good as your spelling. Going senile maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 dgrif88

whelo got a yellow card for that punch on the stick (crawford).
    geraghty didnt even get a ticking for his 2 punches on henno.
    face it lads,yez got outta jail the last day.

doesnt matter what team yez have out we wont make same mistake again.

expect couple of dublin changes just before throw-in and us to win by at least 4.

up the dubs

typical small group of bitter dubs turning every thread into a geraghty bashing. Get over it....... this is a thread to discuss the meath lineup for sunday....

dgrif - got out of jail, are you serious? - so what about the ref wrongly disallowing a legitimate geraghty goal and allowing a square ball goal for dublin - short memory i think. Ill be delighted if we can pull it off on sunday, not gonna say we will defo win because its too close to call, just so typical of the cocky dubs underating us.....

it wasnt a disallowed goal ya plank-it was free out.
    watched it 3 times since i was at the match and the whistle clearly went 3 secs before ball hit net. everyone stopped playing bar the thug and clucko(natural instinct for goalie to play on).

as for being cocky-dont think so horse.

if pillar made the right switches wed be home and hosed.

were not world beaters but it would be embarrassing if youse were representing leinster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Can we keep this to the Meath lineup perhaps?

Maybe one thread can be kept on topic for a change.

Can't wait for the game to be over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

Hopefully it will be dry and Meath so have the edge. The Dubs were on top the last day when it was wet and the football was more hussle and bustle and a bit scrappy. When the conditions improved and the pitch dried out somewhat, Meath's footballing skills came to the fore. Rain came down early in the second half and once again the Dubs gained control. When it stopped back came the Royals. If Meath can avoid a slow start and avoid having to play catch up, then they could do the business. They will need a good start as Dublin will have shaken off the cobwebs. Sheridan scored a few good points from play the last day but his freetaking was awful. Meath need him to play a more influencial role in general play - bit like GG the last day. If Farrell & supersub Ward can take care of frees and the hothead GG can try and maintain some discipline, then they should come out on top. 14 a side by the end of proceedings ?

Place your bets !

yes sheridans freetaking cost meath dearly in the last game, missed atleast 3 or 4 frees that should have been over, as has been said before if meath keep the score tight, especially after the first 15 min of the second half then then they have a great chance, dont let dublin get a goal and if gerathy stays on the pitch then meath have a great chance, if its really hot on sunday then i think dublins fitness will probably show through so an overcast but dry day would suit meath better i think, dublins cockyness will only play into meath hands and if the game is tight midway during the second half the pressure should get to dublin but we'll have to wait and see, would be great to see the dubs dumped out of leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

typical small group of bitter dubs turning every thread into a geraghty bashing. Get over it....... this is a thread to discuss the meath lineup for sunday....

I think you'll find that it was Geraghty doing the bashing, and not for the first time either. Anyway, we can talk about the Meath lineup if you like. The first question about any Meath lineup, going back for decades, is: Which of them will be sent off on Sunday?

One thing always messes up Meath's tactics: Having 15 men on the field. They are not used to it. Geraghty did his best for the cause and tried to get himself sent off the last day, but it didn't work and that left Meath in disarray. Only for Dublin messing up and missing some simple scores, Meath would have lost.

Meath are renowned for great comebacks. Why is that? They let other teams get away from them in the early stages, as they still have 15 men on the field, and they don't know what to do in that situation. Once a man or two gets sent off though, then they are into the numbers that they are used to playing with and they begin to come back. How often have we seen Meath come back after having had men sent off? So getting someone sent off is part of their tactical plan. The more filthy players they have on the pitch, the better the chance of their plan working.

So down through the years, Meath managements have always tried to find the dirtiest players they can - and by God they've got some too - and then have those players indulge in as dirty a play as possible, to ensure that one or more would be sent off. It's all for the good of the team of course, because as long as they still have 15 men on the pitch, they're completely lost.

But, maybe, someday, they'll get a management team in that will train them how to play with 15 players on the pitch, and then they'll get some better quality players who play football not filth - a few of which have managed to get onto their teams down through the years - and leave all the dirty play and players behind them. In the meantime though, we must return to the question of who is going to be sent off on Sunday? There are definitely a few filthy players in that lineup, so it is hard to say.:rolleyes:

flukey, whats your problem, a few meath fan just want to talk about the team they support and people wonder why dublin fans have a bad name, why dont you worry about your own team or get a sex life

rooster im sorry my spelling was bad

TomMc wrote:
    Hopefully it will be dry and Meath so have the edge. The Dubs were on top the last day when it was wet and the football was more hussle and bustle and a bit scrappy. When the conditions improved and the pitch dried out somewhat, Meath's footballing skills came to the fore. Rain came down early in the second half and once again the Dubs gained control. When it stopped back came the Royals. If Meath can avoid a slow start and avoid having to play catch up, then they could do the business.

Interesting analysis!

However, just because it stopped raining at times, it never stopped being a game played in poor conditions on a wet day. I am very surprised that anyone would say those type of conditions would suit Dublin more than Meath.

Even ignoring Geraghty, Meath were more physical than Dublin the last day. They played tougher, made the harder hits. The likes of Kenny and Moyles in particular were really getting stuck-in, but generally they were, all over the pitch (and nothing wrong with that - other than GGs antics!) Dublin need to step up to the plate in this regard, without crossing the line and getting into disciplinary trouble.

Meath's general playing philosophy is to catch it and kick it long. Whereas Dublin is pass and move. I know the Dubs would far prefer a dry warm day.

Aran5, in 2005 the game had started and Crawford was pulling Whelan's jersey back by the scruff when Whelan swung out in retaliation. Not excusing it, just having a go at your memory! And to say it was never talked about, when people are still going on about it two years later - maybe Lemlin can explain whether thats irony or a paradox or something else!

I seem to recall poor Kenny been subjected to a half-nelson of sorts, so rough play is the case on the Dubs side as well.

A dry pitch suits Meath's more direct football. It is less of a lottery/russian roulette when moving the ball forward more quickly. It's much easier to anticipate, control and hold up the ball, link up with team mates; run, turn, kick/shoot on dry turf. Anything which contributes to a scrappy game like the rain, really suits the Dubs. They tend to come on top in the 50:50's and breaking balls, where athletism, stamina and endeavour is rewarded more so than technique or skill.

Joe Sheridan (with his lazy style or as Martin Carney would say "economy of effort") also performs much better in the dry. Otherwise the damp seems to weight him down and freeze his limbs, big time.:rolleyes:

On his day though, he is deadly. It might just be his time on Sunday.

MARK UP LADS, GET TIGHT ON YOUR MAN & UP THE ROYAL !!!

TomMc wrote:
    I seem to recall poor Kenny been subjected to a half-nelson of sorts, so rough play is the case on the Dubs side as well.
    Saw nothing of the sort - but hopefully the Dubs will duly compensate next Sunday.
    A dry pitch suits Meath's more direct football. It is less of a lottery/russian roulette when moving the ball forward more quickly. It's much easier to anticipate, control and hold up the ball, link up with team mates; run, turn, kick/shoot on dry turf. Anything which contributes to a scrappy game like the rain, really suits the Dubs. They tend to come on top in the 50:50's and breaking balls, where athletism, stamina and endeavour is rewarded more so than technique or skill.
    Free-flowing games are where the Dubs tend to perform best. Not scrappy games like last time - its a long time since the Dubs played as bad as that and werent punished by the opposition - probably the All Ireland final of 95! I am certainly with you in hoping for a dry day - I'm not sure Colm Coyle is.
    Joe Sheridan (with his lazy style or as Martin Carney would say "economy of effort") also performs much better in the dry. Otherwise the damp seems to weight him down and freeze his limbs, big time.:rolleyes:

On his day though, he is deadly. It might just be his time on Sunday.
    Sheridan has always played absolute shíte against the Dubs. Plenty of calls from Meath fans to drop him, given Farrell will be back and Ward's brilliant cameo last time. However, like you I expect him to come good as he has undoubted talent.

Listen people,this thread is going off topic,we are supposed to talk about the Meath lineup :rolleyes: but I can't help but offer my two cents on the previous posts.

I think its ridiculous this wet weather vs dry weather crap.Are Meath fans that ignorant?You have one person saying that if its a scorching hot sunny day,Dublin will be more fit and run away with the match then another Meath supporter says if its raining,Dublin have the advantage as it doesn't suit Meaths style of play.Cue Lemlin to ridicule even if it is a Meath opinion.

What an analysis.The weather forecast says that it will be mainly a dry sunny day with temperatures reaching the high teens to low twenties.If you Meath guys were top experts who knew everything and Gerald Fleming was reading this,you'd bet your last euro he'd be down in Ladbrokes or Paddy Power betting on the weather and the result of the game and collecting this annuity that evening.The aforementioned forecast suggests Dublin are guaranteed to win.:rolleyes:

Has anybody even come to realise that both teams train in both dry and wet weather?From my understanding of the game,both teams played as best they could throughout the whole match and nobody had the complete advantage.Funnily enough,I didn't see much slipping in the match either.Meath fans,this argument about weather conditions is in a sense writing off your own team.

If you lose on Sunday,don't come back here complaining about the weather conditions please.The winner of the match will win by skill,good teamwork,good ballwork,physicality,athleticism,fitness and even luck.

UP THE DUBS.

Blackbelt, we are not saying it (the weather) is critical, you seem hung up on it .... good football, hard graft and most importantly taking your chances, win football matches. Either team would win (in any conditions) if they play to their potential and the other underperforms. It is just in this case, both the two teams have been so evenly matched down the years, that little things can tip the scales in one or others favour. (Only a fool would suggest that say for example a hard and bumpy pitch would not seriously hinder the quality of a soccer match, nor favour one style of play like the long ball as opposed to another teams pass & move style). Likewise in Gaelic football, weather conditions be it rain or strong wind suits some teams style of play more than others and so is a factor. But it is just one of many variables. In games like this that little bit of luck can ultimately be the difference. Nobody wins anything in a team sport without a little bit of luck along the way. You tend to make it by hard work and honesty of effort. Dublin got the breaks the last day with their goal and a few soft frees, GG by not having been sent off, but on balance the Dubs got the critical breaks - on the scoreboard and that is where it counts most of all in the end. Hopefully Meath will get their share this time round, and we can have some banter on Monday morning next.

Tommc, dont agree that dublin got all the breaks.
    your keeper was far and away your best player and on another day he would have conceded prob 3. (ironically it was his mistake for brogans goal).

you had a sub who came on and shot 5 outta 5 frees. thatll never happen again.

as weve discussed already geraghty shouldv been sent off but also moyles was lucky to get only 1 yellow card. some of his challenges in 1st half were well ott like alot of meath players.

another ref would have booked at least 4 of yez in that 1st half.

as regards the weather-what sort of s hite are yez talking saying that dubs would prefer rain. id say colm coyle was having orgasms when it was lashing down last sun wk. perfect weather for thugs.....

blackbelt wrote:
    If you lose on Sunday,don't come back here complaining about the weather conditions please.

UP THE DUBS.

sounds like an excuse the dubs would use :D;)

my point about the weather is that dublin would probably be a fitter team and a hotter day would let them have a slight, only slight mind you advantage.

if meath lose on sunday it will be because they were beaten by a better team, am fully aware of that and have never used any excuse when meath lose, the last day but teams provided a great battle and a great advertisement for how gealic football should be playd and whoever wins on sunday will fully deserve it

aran5 wrote:
    flukey, whats your problem, a few meath fan just want to talk about the team they support and people wonder why dublin fans have a bad name

If you read my post properly you will see that it did concentrate on Meath. Dublin was mentioned once, and at that it was about how they messed up on their last outing. Now I know some people like to use all sorts of ridiculous things as an excuse to give Dublin fans a bad name, but talking about Meath in a thread about Meath can hardly be one of them.

dgrif88 wrote:
    perfect weather for thugs.....

is this the basis of all dubs arguments, get a grip, its a contact sport and always has been, its never been a clean tidy professional sport and apart from gerathy you've no argument that any of the other meath players were playing illegally, when its an intense game you have to give it your all and go in hard, its dublins problem if they cant step up it!

back on topic...

maybe if sheridan played but someone else took over the role of free taker, i'd be a good bit happier, i'm not sure about farrel either am a bit wary of whether he can do it against the dubs, he can do it against lesser teams so it'll be interesting to see how he gets on against a decent defense. i'd be happier using gerathy as a sub too but i think we'll need him on from the start

Flukey wrote:
    Now I know some people like to use all sorts of ridiculous things as an excuse to give Dublin fans a bad name, but talking about Meath in a thread about Meath can hardly be one of them.

waffling on about nonsense does though, to counter your pointless argument, meath were coming back against wexford when we got a player sent off and it then went to pieces and wexford hammered us fair and square

I think the speculation about the weather is a bit OTT in my opinion.Its part and parcel of the game and I didn't see either Dublin or Meath take this as an advantage.So as a general overview,if it was pouring out of the Heavens,it would not be a distinct advantage to one team before the ball was even thrown in.The fact is that the rain before made the game be played in less favourable conditions.I don't think Coyle was rubbing his hands in excitement and delight when he got up that morning and saw the weather and neither was Pillar or the players.

Both teams train in sun and rain,blistering heat or baltic cold weather.They are all used to it.I just see two Meath posters stating which weather conditions would "suit" Dublin or Meath and by the looks of things,Dublin would have an advantage.In a sense it is writing off the Meath team.Try to realise that I'm being objective for Meath in this post.Saying Dublin have the advantage in this situation or that situation is not a feasible argument in my opinion.There is no clear advantage for one team or another due to weather conditions before the game has started.If Dublin players were slipping and sliding and the Meath players were not,then Meath would have brought the conditions to their favour and made the most of it or vice-versa.

Its a toss up if it rains but with the sun beating down on the 30 players there can be no excuse.Cian Ward can't make the excuse that he missed a crucial free kick because it was "too hot" and neither can the Meath fans or Dublin fans for that matter if it happened to them.These guys are trained and conditioned to deal with the elements as best they can.There is no clear,distinct advantage here lads.

Blackbelt, I only mentioned the weather as a casual observation from the last day, but some have read too much into it and made it into the prime topic of conversation. I have been to all Meath games this year, home and away, league and championship and I know what suits them best.;) This thread is about Meath, and we are looking on the positives and what would bring the best out of them, not Dublin. As an aside though, Draffodx mentioned that an extremely hot day like we have had in recent times would favour the Dubs added stamina & fitness, which is fair comment.

Back on topic, Meath were not lucky to draw, because as you say their goalie played really well making several great saves and was Meath's man of the match. That is what he is there to do - to save goals just like GG or Joe Sheridan is there to score them. One is every bit as important as the other. A goal saved is as valuable as a goal scored. What is recognised as a footballing skill for an outfield player is no less of a skill just because it is a goalkeeper (not a statue).

Anyway, talk is cheap and most only sing when they are winning - we will let the players get on with it and with balanced refereing, may the best team win.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Smarmore

draffodx wrote:
    i'd be happier using gerathy as a sub too but i think we'll need him on from the start

To be honest I can't understand why some people are happier to see Geraghty come on as a sub. Dublin could have had the job finished by the end of the first half last time out if it wasn't for Geraghty. When Dublin raced into that lead early on I honestly thought Meath were going to get slaughtered. They were being over-zealous in the tackles and tried to bully Dublin in the early stages which failed miserably. Then they got the heads down and started playing long balls in to Geraghty. He single-handedly turned the game on its head. As a Louth man I've always despised Geraghty for a number of reasons but when he plays like that he's a class act. Should be the first man on the team sheet in my opinion. If he doesn't start I expect Dublin to be too far gone by the time he's brought on. He was effective throughout the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

kaimera wrote:
    Can we keep this to the Meath lineup perhaps?

Maybe one thread can be kept on topic for a change.

Can't wait for the game to be over...
    Shamrock Rovers? :D Only messin. Anyway, i dont see any reason why Meath should change anything. Whether people will agree or not with me that on paper Dublin are superior (not by much these days mind) at the moment but Meath did more than live with Dublin and as i pointed out had all the momentum had there been extra time and probably would have won it. The Geraghty thing, he`s available and should obviously start IMO. No doubts he gave Dublin trouble (legally also ;) ) on the last day and will obviously be a threat again.

draffodx wrote:
    sounds like an excuse the dubs would use :D;)
    Its an excuse everyone uses and id say players nervous about a game celebrate when they open their curtains to see poruing rain in the morning of the game. :) A good weight off the shoulders as they now know where to pass the blame if things go bad :D

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Its an excuse everyone uses and id say players nervous about a game celebrate when they open their curtains to see poruing rain in the morning of the game. :) A good weight off the shoulders as they now know where to pass the blame if things go bad :D

I couldnt disagree with you more, in my opinion, bad weather makes players a lot MORE nervous. The taught of letting the ball go, falling over etc is not what any player looks forward to. So to suggest a player is happy when he sees bad weather in the morning is wrong......

I was joking.

fair enough, anyone know when meath are annoucing the team....? i heard a rumour that seamus kenny picked up an injury last week and they are holding off naming the team in the hope he will recover....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

Team to be announced tonight (Thusday).

Forecast:
    Both Saturday and Sunday will be bright days with sunny spells and light variable breezes. While some areas will remain dry, scattered showers will develop on both days with isolated heavy ones possible - especially during Sunday. Afternoon temperatures will get up to the high teens or even the low twenties.

That the most TV3 type weather i've ever heard!! Where did you get that!
    Bright and cloudy, dry spell and scattered showers! Breezy with calm spells!
    Talk about sitting firmly on the fence!!

official meath team for sunday:

Meath (SF v Dublin): B Murphy; E Harrington, D Fay, N McKeigue; S Kenny, A Moyles, C King; M Ward, N Crawford; G Geraghty, K Reilly, P Byrne; S Bray, J Sheridan, B Farrell.

Same team i predicted in my original post...... im fairly happy with it - using ward as an impact sub is the correct move. If the management bring on ward with about 15-20 mins left and replace crawford at the same time i think we have a great chance - its gonna be very close and im going to stick 5 on another draw....

Well, my earlier analysis proved correct. Meath finished with 15 men... and lost!