Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bristo Airport Taxi to Glasto (Fri)

• 12-06-2007 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭

Hey,

My mate and I arrive on Friday morning in Bristol Airport. We're on the 6:30am flight from Dublin. Anyone wanna share a taxi for the laff?

Nice Wan,
    David...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

I may have someone whose interested in sharing one. I assume you 'll be going to the bath showgrounds to pickup your tickets straight from the airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

If anyone is on the 6.30am flight on Wednesday me and my mate are willing to share :) Obviously going to the bath showgrounds first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Yip, will be picking tickets up and some supplies and then over to site.

The bus goes from airport to city and then to site where you have to get that shuttle, arghhh, no thanks on that one. I checked it today and couldn't even get any availability so that's that........

Whyner Ill check with the person tonight and see what they want to do so.

youcancallme>al theres about twenty million (8) of us on that flight. As it is I think theres actually too many for one taxi so may be looking to team up with a few people to fill a second. Pm me your number and Ill do the same.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The joys of having somewhere to kip in Bristol for the Tuesday night so we can be stocked up with supplies, tickets already in hand, and then ready for the gate to open on the Wednesday morning. :D

Only problem so far is that my tickets have not yet arrived at the address in Bristol to be waiting for me. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

robinph wrote:
    The joys of having somewhere to kip in Bristol for the Tuesday night so we can be stocked up with supplies, tickets already in hand, and then ready for the gate to open on the Wednesday morning. :D

Only problem so far is that my tickets have not yet arrived at the address in Bristol to be waiting for me. :mad:

Good plan but I can't afford to take that much time off work :(

Hey Toast,

Yeah your mate can hop in with us, no problemo. We'll ask others if they look like they're heading that way but we'll deffo be getting a taxi to ticket pick-up point. Will then get shuttle to site.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭ScottishDanny

Going over on Friday Morning with the wife

From Dublin(DUB) to Bristol(BRS)
    Fri, 22Jun07 Flight FR504 Depart DUB at 06:30 and arrive BRS at 07:30 :D

Got tickets (hopefully) posted to me by then so does anyone want to share a taxi straight to the festival? Haven't been to a gig like this since Féile 94! ;)

Whyner I pmed you the details there. ScotttishDanny if you cant find someone to go straight to the festival it will probably be more economical to team up with whyner and my friend. Taxis are in the region of 60 quid sterling from Bristol to Glastonbury so youd want to get a big taxi and fill it up with people to make it as cheap as possible.

You could either get off at the ticket pickup and get the shuttle bus or get the taxi to bring you the rest of the way after dropping the rest of the people off at the ticket collection area. Its only 3 miles away from the festival anyway.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Got tickets (hopefully) posted to me by then so does anyone want to share a taxi straight to the festival?
    You know they are not posting them internationally don't you, or are you making use of another address to get then delivered to in the UK first?

A friend of mine in London (wherever that is ;) ) is posting them to me.

Thanks Toast, it sounds like most folk on that flight are over for the same thing so I think we'll be able to sort something out. Any recommendations for which campsite? I haven't been before.

Well the campsites will have been open since Wednesday morning so you probably wont have the pick of the fields. We went to the field beyond the cinema field last year on the Friday after getting uprooted by the storms. Should be some space there.

I have mates arriving there on Thursday afternoon, just hope they can keep me a space til then :)

Hiya ScottishDanny,

We're 3 people now so if you and your wife wanna jump in that's fine, Let me know.

We'll make you festivalfit en route, feile94 eh!

I did a bit of research. Taxi from airport to festival
    Fare to Glastonbury festival up to 4 passengers is £53. fare for 5 or 6 passengers is £66.25 with light luggage.

The taxis are Ford Galaxy people carriers, I think you'd get 4 folk per car (rucksacks will take up space). 4 people, round fare up to 60 quid, thats 15 notes each to get there in comfort. What d'you reckon?

My friend wont have any luggage beyond a day bag and shes pretty small so you should get 5 in easily enough (those cars are good for 7 passengers). Its the same price regardless (gets cheaper if you can get a 6th in though).

I think the cars are 6 passengers + driver. I reckon it will be cool, sure I'll probably meet you and others at the taxi rank going the same direction.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Great idea......hopefully not too pricey !!!

Weather is not looking good...........

Anyone else for shared taxi?

Lads/Lassies
    I reckon we sort it out when we're at the baggage carousel at Bristol airport. I imagine almost anyone on that flight is going in the same direction and we don't even know each others names anyway (well, my name isDanny ;) ), yep it also looks like its going to pish down the whole weekend but lets not let that spoil it eh?

It will be fairly obvious when you are at the airport who is going to the same place as you. Ask anyone carrying a pair of wellies if they want to share a taxi and you should all be sorted, I think the taxi office is just out the front door to the airport and under the covered walkway to the left and from there you shouldn't have any bother getting a lift. All of the airport taxis are the 6 or 7 seater minvan things so you'll be able to get a few people in each one plus all your luggage.

Just figured it was about time to start packing tonight seeing as I'm leaving straight from work tomorrow, I cannot find my passport anywhere though. :eek:

I only just managed to find my Ryanair code for the flight as well. It won't be a problem with using just my driving license instead for ID but it's a fecking pain I could do without.

Only 3 more sleeps! :) With the weather in mind I went to B&Q in Liffey Valley and picked up a couple of pairs of these for just 8.98 Euro each (Exact same but canary yellow!). They're made of good quality PVC, and they look rare but when the heavens open it ain't a fashion parade ;) a pair of decent wellies sets off the ensemble (hopefully wearing this will make the sun come out).

The green ones do not have the rain preventing powers, but it is now your responsibility to wear the canary yellow outfit all through the festival to ensure that it deos not rain at all. If it does rain we now know who to blame.

Edit: Too late, they have already decided it's officially a mudbath.

Well, you know what they say

"With Great Showers comes Great responsibility..." :rolleyes:

Apologies

ThreadKiller!
    Can't wait to get over there. I printed off the info I got from the airport taxi company, I'm hoping we can agree the price before we go as I wouldn't want it to be on the meter while stuck in a tailback! :eek:
    See yiz tomorrow

D : )