Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whole Way Round Bikers all set?

• 09-06-2007 11:20am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Less than a week to go. Anyone up for introducing ourselves in real life on the day cos i dont know any of ye fellow bikers to see!

im leaving my job on thursday and my session is that night. i then get a letter to say we're meeting in mondello at 9am on the friday!! :eek: at least last year they gave us till 11am to get to finglas!!!

getting revved up for this now, looking forward to it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭smoc

At least i live beside mondello :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

I am so excited:D Though not quite as much as my daughter.

See you all there.

MrP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Chunkylover

cant wait, went for a practice spin on saturday with all the gear about 250k, nearly killed myself with the heat (and I forgot my keys for the place I was going to)

If anyone wants to meet up before, Id say Ill be hitting the redcow at about 8, just dont want to be queing up for breakfast

I will meet you at the Red Cow. Actually, I see on you sig you are in Wicklow. I live in Cornelscourt so you will be passing quite close to me. Do you fancy meeting in Carrickmines if you are using the M50 or Cornelscourt is you are on the N11?

MrP

Ill be heading in on the M11 and M50 so carrickmines sounds fine, tbh Im not sure what the traffic is gonna be like,let me know a time and Ill meet ya there, just before the turn off should be handy enough

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

i wont be able to make the 8am rendezvous but keep an eye out for a silver deauville (03 ke reg) on the day! :)

Ill be heading in on the M11 and M50 so carrickmines sounds fine, tbh Im not sure what the traffic is gonna be like,let me know a time and Ill meet ya there, just before the turn off should be handy enough
    What time do you think? I don't know how long it takes to get to Mondello.

Is there a list of stuff we need to bring? The paperwork got sent to Dublin but I am in the UK and the gf hasn't got round to scanning and sending it to me. I have no idea where we are going or where we are staying or what, if anything we need to bring.

MrP

no nothing to bring as far as I know, 1st stop is cork, then tralee, then galway and then home, on a saturday morning it takes about 40/50 minutes to get to mondello, at the moment the start of the m7 is up and there is a 60k limit on the 1st few k, I was thinking of giving myself a good 1 1/2 hours to get there, better early than late, so id say carrickmines at about 7:45/8 should give us more than enough time, its all fairly well signposted and Id say there may be a few bikes heading that way aswell

Ok, cool. Where exactly do you want to meet?

MrP

I was thinking either the hardshoulder before the turn off for carrickmines (depending if the gardai come along as ask whats going on) or you know where the new shops (not dunnes) are or in ballyogan business park, if you know where that is, really makes no difference

OK. I will wait on the hardshoulder. If I get moved on I will wait on the entrance road to where smyths, currys etc are.

MrP

ill see ya there around 7:45/8, and if im not there by 8 ill have already headed up to smyths, im on a white 98 transalp with back box and the tank bag is just about as tall as me so I cant be missed

Cool. See you there.

I am on a 1200GS Adventure with top box, panniers and will have a little one behind me.

MrP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭digweed

When do ye think that ye'll be in Galway?

D.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

sunday afternoon, over night in flannerys hotel

smoc wrote:
    At least i live beside mondello :D

how will we spot u?

I hate to come accross as a bit of a saddo, but I am so fcuking excited!

MrP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

ME too. hope the weather behaves itself...

does anyone know what route we'll be taking back from galway, was thinking it would be cheating if we just headed straight back

I still actually dont even know where we are going, let alone what the routes are.

MrP

its a great route.

Day 1: Dublin to Cork via wicklow, wexford, waterford (stop for lunch) onto Cork.
    Day 2: Cork to Tralee via Ring of Kerry
    Day 3: Tralee to Galway via Cliffs of Moher (great twisty roads!)
    Day 4: Galway to Crumlin hospital

Am excited now too. There was a great buzz last year and Im sure it will be the same again this year! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Dr Pepper

I've been looking forward to this since I found out about it in January. Unfortunately, the missus rang me today to say she thinks she has shingles!! :( So looks like I might be going on my tod.. Wouldn't mind meeting up with some of you guys on Friday (although the Carrickmines rendezvous doesn't suit me). I have a few bike descriptions from this thread so I'll keep an eye out for the boards contingent in Mondello!

Cheers and good luck on the weekend..
    Brian

PS - I'm on a 03 D Silver Bandit, naked (not me, the bike!!), black backbox, tank back and if herself goes, silver panniers (soft)

hey if carrickmines doesnt suit, we'll be heading up probably taking the ballymount turn off, depending what the traffic is like and then on the n7 but id say there will be god knows how many bikes on that route on friday

Worse comes to worse we'll all be at mondello! :)

im leaving dublin at 8am

Thanks, but I'm going from Dunboyne across the back roads.. so I'll see ye there ;)

Just so you'll all know me, here's a pic of my bike - it's a 96 Virago 750...

cmxv750uo7.jpg

you shouldnt be able to miss me im on this (please god let the link work)

Heres me at last year's WWR.

Here's mine.. Heavy load that day!! Missus is sick this time unfortunately so no gf, panniers or tents. You'll probably spot the gammy black wind shield on the front.

its amazing the space you save when you dont have to take the girlfriend

and looks like the weather might just break for tomorrow anyway, and cork is set to be nice on saturday

All im worried about at the moment is that free breakfast

Excellent trip guys. We should hopefully post up some pics soon. Currently getting smashed in Galway.....

MrP

MrPudding wrote:
    Excellent trip guys. We should hopefully post up some pics soon. Currently getting smashed in Galway.....

MrP

^ your round chief! ;)

Just in the door from the run now - fantastic weekend, looking forward to next year already! Here's a few pics from the weekend...

55663504xv3.jpg

55765835ce6.jpg

27406655fc0.jpg

88526722pq9.jpg

Great trip lads. One of the best weekends of my life! It's gonna take me about a week to recover

Lovely to meet you all (except faceman.. hehe, didn't see you there)
    Brian