Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Token Irish guy at the top of Some Street in Ireland

• 08-06-2007 1:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭

Who else finds this guy embarrassing? Do all cities in Ireland have one?

The one in Dublin....you know him....at the top of Grafton St. at the Molloy Malone statue.

With his bodhrán and silly grin. The tourist's love him I guess but I cringe anytime I past him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

Did you just say the N word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

the man's a disgrace.

the american tourists lap his antics up.

tut-tut

by the by, i would have thought the molly malone statue is at the bottom of grafton st. each to their own i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

agamemnon wrote:

That's great...thanks a bunch.
    judas101 wrote:
    by the by, i would have thought the molly malone statue is at the bottom of grafton st. each to their own i suppose

You right....I should have said top.

I bet he's making a small fortune there too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭cmoney

judas101 wrote:

i agree :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

The_Edge wrote:

agamemnon said that because you should have posted it there .... not everyone has interest in Dublin City topics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

The_Edge wrote:

You're most welcome. Are you banned from it?

And I said that because I was being sarcastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Yep... he's very annoying...

That crappy little tape deck he has blaring out diddly eye music is awful noise pollution.

A couple of us were trying to shoot a short piece for a film competition there recently... we only needed about 10 minutes to get it done.. but the f*cker wouldn't leave us alone... saying we were driving off his business.

(I'd also call that end the bottom of Grafton Street)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭cmoney

ladies please.... put those handbags away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

OP, I'm from Dublin but I agree that this should be in the Dublin forum...a bit more clever wording could have kept it in AH though!

As for that guy at the Molly Malone statue, well I cringe when I see him and I think it's an embarrassment but the guy makes money from it and if that was the only way I could support myself I would. I'd rather that the tourists took this home as their memory of Ireland rather than the memory of some scumbag muggers relieving them of their expensive cameras tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

The_Edge wrote:
    And I said that because I was being sarcastic.

sarcastic maybe....but you are still in the wrong FORUM!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

if he annoys you, go and have a chat with Pat Ingoldsby, who often sells his books there. Now there's a man who'll restore your faith in humanity.

r3nu4l wrote:
    OP, I'm from Dublin but I agree that this should be in the Dublin forum...a bit more clever wording could have kept it in AH though!

Edited.

Anyway, I think I rob his patch bright and early tomorrow morning and dress up in a big leprechaun outfit. She how he like them apples/.

tbh wrote:
    if he annoys you, go and have a chat with Pat Ingoldsby, who often sells his books there. Now there's a man who'll restore your faith in humanity.

Haha...he's ok.

Ahhh yes, Pat's Chat.

Did you ever check out the guys toes? :eek:

OT:
    Are his books actually any use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

The_Edge wrote:
    Edited.

Now it's ready to be robbed by any radio station in the country :)

Just 'edit' the spelling of bodhrán now and it'll be sorted ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Can these sorts of fellas not be found in most Irish city and town? It surely can't just be a Dublin thing. Look at the tourist trap that is Dingle. There must be some there?

Oh, and isn't the Molly Malone statue on the North end of Grafton St.? That would make me think it'd be the top of the street then (although, I'd call it the bottom, too :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

The_Edge wrote:
    Haha...he's ok.

Ahhh yes, Pat's Chat.

Did you ever check out the guys toes? :eek:

OT:
    Are his books actually any use?

Probably not for everyone, I think they are fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

His books or his toes? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Pat Ingoldsby rules.

TK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Actually, years ago in Cork, near enough to Blarney castle I saw a guy dressed as a leprachaun playing the tin whistle. He had the brogues on and all :) That was funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

The_Edge wrote:
    Who else finds this guy embarrassing? Do all cities in Ireland have one?

The one in Dublin....you know him....at the top of Grafton St. at the Molloy Malone statue.

With his bowron and silly grin. The tourist's love him I guess but I cringe anytime I past him....

The funniest thing about that guy is he clearly doesnt have a clue about playing the thing. Still he looks the part & is more than willing to put a kid on his knee & pose for a picture with his flatcap on the kid, thats all the septic tanks want at the end of the day so fair play to him I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Adare, co Limerick. Leprechaun with accordion on main street outside tourist office. :o Embarrassing.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

I live in Dublin and I dont think I have ever seen this man what exactly does he do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭hermit

crybaby wrote:
    I live in Dublin and I dont think I have ever seen this man what exactly does he do?

Plays the bodhrán and fondles himself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

humanji wrote:
    Oh, and isn't the Molly Malone statue on the North end of Grafton St.? That would make me think it'd be the top of the street then (although, I'd call it the bottom, too :D )
    I think you start at the city centre (GPO) and work your way out... so that end of Grafton street being closer to the centre of the city is the bottom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭alantc

I'd say it's at the top of Grafton St., being at the North end and close to #1.

I detest the guy who writes the poem "When things are down.....". I walk over it if it's in front of me. He should go out and get a job. He's been writing it for years and the celtic tiger didn't appear yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

humanji wrote:

Good point, however the end of the street nearest the liffey is always 'lower' (or in this case "the bottom").

In the case of a street running parallel to the Liffey, the end of the street nearest the Liffey basin is the 'lower' end.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Aaahh begob & begorrah hold your wist,

sure don't the yanks love that sort of thing, seeing paddy in his arran sweater sweating the bolloxs off himself playing with his fiddle;) and gettin a few shillens, sure where's the harm in that??...i do it meself only i'm too busy sellin counterfeit DVDs of Darby O'Gill and the little people whilst dressed as a leprechaun outside the Shelbourne.

so there!! so you can stick that up your a**es you sniffy sophisticated celtic tiger types:p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

i think he's great. very friendly and full of the craic and banter. plus hes doin no harm. dont know what the issue is

We have those in Galway too, but the ones there are Romanian and have manikin irish dancers and recorded accordion music.