Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The BIG One Tomorrow!!!

• 07-06-2007 6:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭

Right take two just thought i'd let you know that i'm doing my driving test tomorrow, just so ya know (depending on the outcome) i'll be posting threads in the nature of ''E200 Or 960'',

AND I'M CACKING IT!!!!!

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Sure, you'll be grand. Your insurance will still go down, you'll still get older, you'll still be able to drive on the motorways and you'll still be able to drive on your own.

All is not lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Nothing changes, if i fail or pass, i'll only be able to get insured on bigger cars (to hell with you Mr 1.4!!) i need a luxobarge carrying my arse around!!

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Best of luck VB;) ;)

I'm sure you'll grand,remember to have a crispy €50 note handy just in case.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

hope it goes well for you.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Volvoboy wrote:
    Nothing changes, if i fail or pass, i'll only be able to get insured on bigger cars (to hell with you Mr 1.4!!) i need a luxobarge carrying my arse around!!

-VB-

Know that feeling, bought a 2litre turbo a week after getting my full licence :D

Best of luck VB;) ;)

I'm also going to wear a short skirt:eek:

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Best of luck with it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

what everyone else said! Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Rhodney

Best of luck VB;) ;)

actually im new in ireland...just got my prov license last week, and driving now for 2 days....what does this e50 note means???

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

G'luck!
    Volvoboy wrote:
    I'm also going to wear a short skirt:eek:

Ya prepared to offer favours of a certain kind too? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Volvoboy wrote:
    i'll only be able to get insured on bigger cars (to hell with you Mr 1.4!!) i need a luxobarge carrying my arse around!!

If you do manage to please let me know where you do and how much you pay, I passed my test a few weeks ago and my insurance went down but still no quotes on anything over 1.6 petrol, 1.9 diesel or anything close to 130bhp! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

Rhodney wrote:
    actually im new in ireland...just got my prov license last week, and driving now for 2 days....what does this e50 note means???

thanks

Its to bribe the tester. They are only messing.. Bold boys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

what does this e50 note means???
    Pmsl., should have been a "€" instead of a "e".,;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Rhodney

vtec wrote:
    Pmsl., should have been a "€" instead of a "e".,;)

ye thanks...sorry "€" is not working on my keyboard:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Good Luck Volvoboy and try keep out of those bus lanes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

Rhodney wrote:

thanks

You are not to be driving on your own. You need a full licence driver in the car at all times when your driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Trampas wrote:
    You are not to be driving on your own. You need a full licence driver in the car at all times when your driving

Coz everyone obeys that rule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Trampas wrote:

[shout]Hey! How's the view from up there?[/shout] :D

Off-topic: why does this quote immediately reminds me of that "All your bases are belong to us" sentence :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Best of luck Volvoboy

fletch wrote:
    Good Luck Volvoboy and try keep out of those bus lanes :)

LOL! thanks lads @ 11:50 the **** will hit the fan, let ya know later on tonite.

-VB-

Well i passed!!! and i'm extatic, got 7 Grade 2 faults, and 9 is a fail, well a pass is a pass anyway, currentley looking for a 95-03 E200, Elegance or Avangarde, auto or manual!!:D :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Volvoboy wrote:
    Well i passed!!! and i'm extatic, got 7 Grade 2 faults, and 9 is a fail, well a pass is a pass anyway, currentley looking for a 95-03 E200, Elegance or Avangarde, auto or manual!!:D :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

-VB-

:D Fair play....9 mistakes to fail....twas harder in my day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Well done VB.;)

That must've been some skirt ya had on.:D :D:D

Enjoy looking for the big stuff now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Congratulations :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Well done! How much you got to spend on your new motor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

7 fails and you passed! :eek: Me runs and hides (the keys!) :D

Well done and buy an auto for petes sake, you'll wish you had, a Merc manual was never meant to be. Harder to sell as well.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

well done vb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

Well done, it was third time lucky for me :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Well done Volvoboy, and first time out too, like meself :D

If we'd more people like you on the roads, not only would they be a safer place, but they would carry more interesting traffic than is the case at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Well done VB :)

Think hard about that E200 though would be my advice. I had (an automatic) one for 2 days while my Passat was being serviced, and aside from drinking petrol, I found it really slow and heavy to get going from a standing start (especially compared to mine).

Plus the steering really annoyed me - so light at low speeds that you wonder if it's even connected to the wheels, and progressively heavier at higher speeds that it becomes a bit of a chore to drive.

It IS comfy though, and it does look the part - or at least so all the girls told me in work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Woot! Well done VB! One question though, aren't you a little on the young side for a Merc? I wouldn't drive a Merc until I was 70! ;) Seriously though, excellent job, and we all knew you could do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Well done.

Thanks lads, yea i'm amusing myself at the prospect of the merc, but was thinking along the lines of

Newish (Boring) 00- 2L car, avensis 626

Retro 80's sports coupe http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=Car&carID=693288&message=You%20searched%20for%3A%20Toyota%20MR2%2C%20Year%3A%201986%2E%20Your%20search%20returned%20one%20vehicle%2C%20which%20is%20shown%20below%2E&CFID=10919898&CFTOKEN=62238075 just for the reg alone!

Or the merc ''Nice'' C180 or E200, lad up the road from my dad has a E200 96 in a auto grey leather 17 multispoke, timing chain done and head replaced, looking for 4.5k, dunno yet still early days, see what happens.

Thanks again, i'm in the club now, now longer a scumbag provsional driver (i kid i kid):D :D:D:D:D:D:D

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

well done vb,

watch out for english w210 mercs- they rotted like 80's fiats but don't let that put you off- the irish ones are aok apparently