Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photoshop Contest - Round 2!

• 07-06-2007 4:15pm
    Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Okay I think those who missed Round 1 are eager to get going on Round 2.

Maybe we can shorten the whole process a bit too. Let me know what ye all would like as regards submission dates and voting times. This is just for fun so there's no need to be strict about it.

Now the new theme!

I was thinking about the recent silliness over the London 2012 Olympics Logo.
    BBC news got badly caught out :D
    So I was thinking what if Ireland were to host the Olympics. Surely we could put together a better logo at least. Tho more than likely we would be hosting such an event in the distant future. Just making a logo would be boring...

So fire up your preferred image manipulation software and produce an image showing an Ireland of the future where we are hosting the Olympic Games and the Irish Olympic logo is being displayed somewhere on the futuristic Irish cityscape of your choice.

Good Luck!

EDIT: take your time, we've a few days for this!

EDIT2:
    6th wrote:
    I'd say all entries in by tuesday 2pm, vote open on tuesday and closed on thursday at midnight. New theme on friday and then off again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I'd say all entries in by tuesday 2pm, vote open on tuesday and closed on thursday at midnight. New theme on friday and then off again.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Sounds fair to me. Anyone have any problems with that?

Right so, lets get the ball rolling.
    round2copyex2.jpg
    There's lots of small details added to this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

2024ly7.jpg

Brilliant. We both have a Delorean!
    Nice work on the water.

DublinOlympics.jpg

Jazuz, the standard is high for this one. I can already see tutorial threads dissecting some of yer work...

Only 1 day left people .... we need more than 3!?

Donkey, Ruu, DT Jesus, I'm looking your direction!

Yea, what the fudge lads!?! Guess I win on the basis of my devilishly good looks. So good that I can only communicate to people behind a computer or else they will die of an explosive orgasm............true story!

^ backs away slowly...

*sigh* I guess the deadline will have to be pushed forward if we don't get anything by tomorrow, eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

A late entry, my cutting needs a bit of work. That was fun though. :) Don't they all look lovely with their botox injections.

718746283844849756270558_DUBLIN2032.jpg

Made me giggle, anyway if bertie is still alive in 2032 then it proves he's a cyborg!

Good stuff Ruu, I think 5 or 6 entries should be enough for tomorrow. We just need one or two more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭armchairninja

pscontest1tl9.jpg
    Not the best effort i know, but thought id throw in something to make up the numbers

thanks for that armchairninja, I like the displacement mapping on the logo.
    has a millennium clock feel to it. The Dublin Harp logo is very clever also. Is that one you did yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭armchairninja

id be tempted to say yes, but no, i had the idea of using a harp as a "D" and then went searching for a suitable harp pic, but then i found that, i just had to trim it a bit and remove some stuff from it and it was grand, just had to add the text

couldnt really get into a midset about what to do for this one though:confused: , so its a bit of a mish mash of ideas im afraid, the original idea was that the ha'penny bridge would be a hurdle of some sort, but i couldn't find quite the right image of a jumper so it didnt turn out as i had envisioned:(

Dodgy topic so?
    I thought this might be a different type of theme to the usual cut and paste stuff, which is fun, not not terribly technical.

Bit too specific, maybe a word or phrase in future to allow be to take their own meaning?

Point taken, live and learn!

Voting time so!
    Goes to start the thread...