Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bargain degree - would you be bothered?

• 05-06-2007 3:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭

you can now get a degree from lidl.
    http://www.lidl-degree.ie/

id rather stay degree-less tbh.
    good luck to anyone who does it :D

nearly as bad as that fecking "would you lkike a career with that?" mcdonalds crap.
    no thanks, ill keep my self respeck ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭BigTommyBomb

Self-respect? Whats wrong with working in a shop or in the fast food industry? You think none of them have self-respect.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Do you want it all?

:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

looks pretty good actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure, it's seems to be a good opportunity.
    Depends on the rep of Dublin Business School.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

subway wrote:

nearly as bad as that fecking "would you lkike a career with that?" mcdonalds crap.

Good job you werent around in the 80's (or much of the 90's for that matter). Seriously, people these days have a big shock coming if/when the next major economic downturn comes around. Any job that can be go is a good one in those circumstances. Not that this isnt a good job now, but poeple can afford to turn their noses up at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I worked in LIDL for a year and a half and it was an absolute torture house. The only thing that job missed was a whip cracking off your back. Working with the people IN the shop was grand as they were all sound but it was what the actual company expected off you that was ridiculous! I'd be working 6am to 6pm with a half hour break (Thats all you allowed for lunch, and it's the only break you can get) Money was pretty good though, your soul disappears but you forget about that when you see the customers turn into rabid dogs killing each other to get their hands on some crappy offer at 8am. Like the Matrix, you have see it to believe it. People can be lunatics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭peepsbates

subway wrote:

Bit harsh there with the self respect comment dont ya think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭subway

ffs, just a little bit of fun.
    lighten up.

if you cant have a little chuckle at the idea of a degree from lidl, well, good luck to you.

fair play too all who work there, as duggy above says, its not exactly the most rewarding job in the world, and its not all about money.
    but if your unemployed go for it, or something, youll appreciate it when the 2080s hit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Actually it isn't a degree from Lidl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭subway

no, i realise that.
    good day to the lot of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

That job did solely put me through college by paying the €800 registration fees (don't get the grant, bah!) and whatnot. €11 an hour ain't bad and since you'd work on the weekends (I only worked Sat 6 to 6, earned meself €130-ish that day) Took a leave of absence due to work experience but I'm, *groan*, going back to work there in September. Meh, it'll be for one more year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I am enjoying your company,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Nermal

biko wrote:
    Sure, it's seems to be a good opportunity.
    Depends on the rep of Dublin Business School.

Their degrees are accredited by the university of outer mongolia or something, and not actually real. They cater for the rich and thick, and er, lidl employees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

That's a fairly funny link OP. Thanks, I needed that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Whats wrong with working in a shop or in the fast food industry?

The fact that you're learning very little in terms of valuable skills.
    The fact that any idiot could do the same job.
    The fact that your career expansion opportunities are extremely limited.
    The fact that you're doing mindless work for crappy pay.

Pick one of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

Sweet jesus anyone can get a degree nowadays. What happened to the educated elite.. I wonder is there a degree for binmen? Advanced studies in refuse identification collection and Disposal.. you go in for a week and practise putting a black bag into a truck and at the end of it you get your degree, a breakfast roll and The Star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,281 ✭✭✭regi

Nermal wrote:
    Their degrees are accredited by the university of outer mongolia or something, and not actually real. They cater for the rich and thick, and er, lidl employees.

That's rubbish. The DBS has some seriously good stuff going on there.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamburger_University

* University is on an 80 acre (320,000 m²) campus.
    * 22 full-time international resident professors teach students from more than 119 countries.
    * The state-of-the-art facility includes 17 teaching rooms, a 300 seat auditorium and 5 special team rooms for interactive education.
    * University translators can provide simultaneous translation of more than 27 different languages.
    * employees receive about 32 hours of training in their first month
    * More than 5,800 students attend University each year.

Class sizes today are over 200 students per class on average.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

regi wrote:
    That's rubbish. The DBS has some seriously good stuff going on there.

Please..... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac