Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ciaran O'Leary wins Event 3, No-Limit Hold'em - Day 3, $1,500

• 05-06-2007 08:39AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Anyone know anything about Ciaran?

C.

Ciarin O'Leary is the winner of the largest non-Main Event poker tournament in WSOP history! O'Leary takes home $727,012 for his finish, while runner-up Paul Evans earns $450,150. Congratulations to both finalists!

Event 3, No-Limit Hold'em - Day 3
    Buy-In $1,500
    Entrants 2,998
    Total Prize Money $4,092,270 Date Jun 1, 2007
    Final Day Jun 3, 2007

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I was wondering about him yesterday alright. I looked the name up on the Hendon Mob DB and the only Ciaran O'Leary there has a US flag beside his name, but the WSOP reports from the final table says he was a native Irishman. Be somewhat interesting to know if he is Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

http://www.cardplayer.com/poker-news/article/8982

Sounds like he's from Ireland alright but has been living over in the States for a while. Great to see one of our own take down a bracelet, particularly so early on into the WSOP. Here's hoping another 'Wild Goose' takes down an event next month :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Shuffles

sounds like a corkman on the wsop website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

A munster accent by the sounds of it. kerry, cork or clare id say.
    Says here though thats he's from Seattle WA.
    http://www.cardplayer.com/poker-news/article/8982

If you can't place the accent then it's definitely not Cork, Kerry, Tipp or Waterford. Most likely Clare or Liomerick but I can't listen to the interview at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Jam-Fly

The guy interviewing him in the YouTube video, has he left CardPlayer? He used be their tournament reporter

NickyOD wrote:
    If you can't place the accent then it's definitely not Cork, Kerry, Tipp or Waterford. Most likely Clare or Liomerick but I can't listen to the interview at the moment.

Well I'm from Cork but not having lived there for a long time I don't have the immediately obvious cork accent either. I'm not 100% positive but I'm 95-99% sure he is from Cork. Not just by his accent but by his expressions like 'Thanks a million' Even better again then. Go on the rebels :D

Edit: Just listened to him again, still pretty sure he is from Cork, but wouldn't totally rule out Waterford. As Impotser says the american effect makes it a bit tricky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Jam-Fly

When I heard it first, Cork was the first thing to come to mind. I guess it could also possibly be Clare or Kerry.
    But you'd know he's Irish from the things he says. "he's hummin' and hawing", "take care" and as lucky said "thanks a million" are all sayings youd hear frequently in Ireland but would rarely hear the yanks say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

Around the 3.30 to go mark he sounds exactly like Roy Keane imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Shuffles

you beat me to the keano comment. the voice is keano to a T. it kills me to say it as a man in the kingdom but he is a rebel alright, has to be.

suppose you have to say fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Sirtoyou

as a cork native myself id go as far as saying its a city accent northside
    also the name ciaran o leary is pure cork boy
    up the rebels
    SIR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

WOW somebody from Cork actually won something N1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Sirtoyou

nicnicnic wrote:
    WOW somebody from Cork actually won something N1
    WOW nice coming from the barren deise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

great news, fair play to him, he handles himself very well in the interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭therealzuppy

All credit tooooo Event No. 3 No Limit Holdem but the main event's what it's all about like...

Roy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Member of the Macau he is anyhow

http://macausportingclub.com/id-4312/area-4_59.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Hindsight

Info from a friend in Seattle. Ciaran O'Leary has been there about a year having been in San Francisco before that. He is from Carrigaline Co. Cork originally.

Hindsight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Hajck Hillstrom

Hindsight wrote:
    Anyone know anything about Ciaran?

Well, gents, the conclusion that Ciaran O'Leary is from Cork is spot on!

He moved to San Francisco about 9 years ago, and now resides in Seattle with his darlin' wife, Dana, and two fine strapping lads, Aidan(5) and Liam(2).
    He is a general contractor by trade, but that might change with this impressive win in the WSOP.

Brace yourself, as Big C will respresent his homeland well. His sons have duel citizenship in Ireland & The United States, and his ties to the homeland are strong with his Mother still residing there.

I have a sneaking suspicion that it won't be long before when the names are bantered about the great Irish poker players, the name Ciaran O'Leary will replace Noel Furlong at the top of the list.

Carry on, Carry on,

Hajck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Well, gents, the conclusion that Ciaran O'Leary is from Cork is spot on!

He moved to San Francisco about 9 years ago, and now resides in Seattle with his darlin' wife, Dana, and two fine strapping lads, Aidan(5) and Liam(2).
    He is a general contractor by trade, but that might change with this impressive win in the WSOP.

Brace yourself, as Big C will respresent his homeland well. His sons have duel citizenship in Ireland & The United States, and his ties to the homeland are strong with his Mother still residing there.

I have a sneaking suspicion that it won't be long before when the names are bantered about the great Irish poker players, the name Ciaran O'Leary will replace Noel Furlong at the top of the list.

Carry on, Carry on,

Hajck

Misses O' Leary ? Noel who ?l

I was in Cork yesterday and the day before and maybe I missed it but disappointingly saw nothing in The Examiner about this guy and his win. It's a pretty big story imo and deserves some media attention in Ireland, has the story got any at all does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 callyno3

luckylucky wrote:
    I was in Cork yesterday and the day before and maybe I missed it but disappointingly saw nothing in The Examiner about this guy and his win. It's a pretty big story imo and deserves some media attention in Ireland, has the story got any at all does anyone know?

It was in the echo on tues . nice win for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

Fair f*cks to the guy.

I'd still own him though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭busted flush

well done its good to see the luck of the irish triumphing in far of lands :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

well done its good to see the luck of the irish triumphing in far of lands :o

Big C, O'bama (as per RTE yesterday) - we OWN that country!