Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scratchcards!

• 04-06-2007 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭

Im in a pretty jovial mood at the moment, just won my biggest ever sum on a scratchcard, the princely sum of €25 :D . Whats the most you've ever won on a scratchcard?

*Im aware scratchcards merely serve as an ingenious way for the govt. to recoup its social welfare payments from the working classes ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

2 euro, happens often. Then I just go in and buy another ticket and get nothing. Greed! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I won a car on a scratchcard when I was 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Ibid wrote:
    I won a car on a scratchcard when I was 13.

A car?! What did you do with it? Sold it I presume and spent it on a lifetime supply of Macaroon bars, club orange, annual subscription to Shoot and an Atari Jaguar?

Jesus that'd be mad to have that amount of money at that age, sure even then (how old is Ibid?) a new car (lets say fiesta) was worth at least £8000.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I won the Publisher's Clearning House once! They always have the faces of people winning millions of USD? Well, they sent me a check for one dollar and congratulated me. I framed it. Ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I won the Publisher's Clearning House once! They always have the faces of people winning millions of USD? Well, they sent me a check for one dollar and congratulated me. I framed it. Ha!

Bet they got your pic, and stuck Won the Grand Totral of $1.000,000!!! under it?:)

I once won £2 from a card. Took it into the shop, bought 2 more tickets with the winner, won one with a £2 prize. Repeated it a total of 10 times and ended up with £0.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I was given 2 scratch cards for me birthday a good few years ago, and won £20 from each :o So that was £40 from the two, which was nice :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I once won £2 from a card. Took it into the shop, bought 2 more tickets with the, one with a £2 prize. Repeated it a total of 10 times and ended up with £0.:(
    I don't gamble. In the long run, the House always wins, or they would be out of business. Same for the government with scratchcards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Sawa

I work in a shop and scratchcards will be the death of me. Once you scratch one, yer fooked and end up spending 20euro on them. The most I won in 25 euro. My gran once one £10,000 she gave me £100 and I bought a disc man. :D

It's bad though I even know which ones have the best odds for winning and have on many an occasion, gone through 8 cards, just saying to myself, this next one HAS to be the winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I think my dad won about £500 years ago when my gran gave him a scratchcard for his birthday. He gave most of the winnings back to her though lol

Thats about it apart from the usual free card or €2 which is usually used to buy another card when means you win nothin'. I remember years ago I won €2 three times in a row and then went bust :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

cson wrote:
    A car?! What did you do with it?
    I sold it to my sister. It didn't matter that she bought the ticket.
    Sold it I presume and spent it on a lifetime supply of Macaroon bars, club orange, annual subscription to Shoot and an Atari Jaguar?
    Match was way better than Shoot. She gave me a nice few quid, I bought a new guitar, each of the siblings got a few quid (about £200 I think, x5), and we all went on a weekend away. A nice, shared Ibid family victory.
    Jesus that'd be mad to have that amount of money at that age, sure even then (how old is Ibid?) a new car (lets say fiesta) was worth at least £8000.
    I'm 20. It was a Suzuki Alto GL, yeah worth about £8000 now that you mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I often won €75 on them when I worked in a shop I got addicted to buying them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Amateurs!

What you should do with scratchcards to get any enjoyment is this.
    Buy one scratchcard a week. Make it a routine, for me it's Monday lunchtime.

Then scratch one panel a day-this way the scratchcard lasts close to a week.
    So if you reveal 10,000 on Monday and 10,000 on Tuesday, you can spend the rest of the week dreaming how you will spend it. Of course, you probably won't win anything :(

Now that's how you play scratchcards, the rest of ye have no imagination ;)

micmclo wrote:
    Amateurs!

What you should do with scratchcards to get any enjoyment is this.
    Buy one scratchcard a week. Make it a routine, for me it's Monday lunchtime.

Then scratch one panel a day-this way the scratchcard lasts close to a week.
    So if you reveal 10,000 on Monday and 10,000 on Tuesday, you can spend the rest of the week dreaming how you will spend it. Of course, you probably won't win anything :(

Now that's how you play scratchcards, the rest of ye have no imagination ;)

I think good sir, it is time for you to as they say "get a life". In all honesty what you've just described there far outreaches the boundaries of sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭patrickc

i won £50 pounds once but that was in the day when they actually gave away money on them, now it's a fiver at most..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

£25 was the most I ever won I think. Not scratched one in year though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Xylem

cson wrote:
    In all honesty what you've just described there far outreaches the boundaries of sad.
    Ehh no... I think he just described sarcasm.

My biggest win was 25 euro, and yes I'm aware I was paying the stupid tax.

Xylem wrote:
    Ehh no... I think he just described sarcasm.

Im no off topicer and wouldn't like to derail my own thread, but "describe sarcasm"? I would imagine micmclo's post was an example of sarcasm.

Anyway anyone ever get so ahem lucky as to appear on Winning Streak thanks to a scratch card? Or do you have to be called Biddy/Paddy/John Joe/Mary to get a spot on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 jac83

i won 500 euro on a 1 euro all cash before it was great,my dad hates anyone buyin the 1 euro ones as he believes they are a waste of money so he was a bit stunned when i won mine!i dont usually buy scratchcards but i had 2 fifty cents in my pocket and decided to splash out !was glad i did in the end!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Glitteronsnow

my friend works for the national lottery and he used to have to do tests by scratching the cards, he says he probably used to scratch a thousand a week and the highest he ever won was 50 squid. I have not bought one since.

However the parents won a grand on one back when times were hard. Got my first holiday out of that scratch card!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

Won a tenner once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I've won a few 25ers. The local killjoy who stopped us playing football on the street years ago went on winning streak and won the absolute minimum possible....Oh how we laughed.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I usually just get a free one if I win at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Usuallty €4 on the € all cash gold. Got £25 once dont bother with scratch cards or the lotto that much tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

Most I won was IR£250, & IR£200 the following week back in 1998ish. That was a fair bit of money to me back then. My uncle won IR£1000 a few years before that.

Recently won €50 which is very rare. Nearly had a heart attack a while ago thinking I won €3333 on thes 333's tickets. I thought if you got the symbol plus two amounts you won the amount & for around 7 seconds I thought I had won but was soon :(

I think they should have less crap wins i.e. Free scratchcard, €2 etc. & less wins but bigger & the minimum you can win should be €10. But they won't do that because they know most people who "win" €2 or €4 will get one or two more scratchcards instead of the money just in case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭onechewy

About ten years ago my cousin gave myself and my three sisters a scratchcard each - she gave them to us in a strip so it was given to me to dish out. I stripped the first one off and was about to take it for myself, but a little voice in my head said 'mind your manners..!' so I gave it to the nearest sister and dished the rest of them out. I took that last one and won nothing, but that first one I had given out had £50 on it... so my sister went on the lash and I sulked in the corner.. stupid voices in head :(

I did win £25 a year or two later though which kind of made up for it..