Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Earwax

• 31-05-2007 4:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭FranchisePlayer

I know this isn't a health forum but I ahve gone to the doctor a good few times and he often prescribes me ear oils to get rid of the earwax I have but I can't use them because they have peanut oil in them and I'm allergic to that and ear canal could close (not a good thought) well Is there any alternative Ear oil I could use to get rid of this silly problem
    Oh forgot to mention that I tried getting my ears syringed but the stupid fckuing nurse perforated my ear drum:mad:

I know this isn't a health forum but I ahve gone to the doctor a good few times and he often prescribes me ear oils to get rid of the earwax I have but I can't use them because they have peanut oil in them and I'm allergic to that and ear canal could close (not a good thought) well Is there any alternative Ear oil I could use to get rid of this silly problem
    Oh forgot to mention that I tried getting my ears syringed but the stupid fckuing nurse perforated my ear drum:mad:

Did you not tell him you're allergic to the oils?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

What about slightly heated Olive Oil ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

she perforated your earn drum - jaysus that's impressive, worthy of a wage increase indeed :D :eek: :D

Apparently there's ear candling, which you might google

but according to
    http://www.quackwatch.org/01QuackeryRelatedTopics/candling.html

it is a scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

hopi candles; there's your answer. i think you can get it done professionally, but you can also buy them in health food shops about the place. check out http://www.lynnehancher.co.uk/aaahop.htm i know about them cause my sister used them. hope that helps! :D

Edit: i see the above post may worry you. how about just asking a professional about them if you are worried. they are trained in the art. also, there are plenty of alternative remedies that are often igored due to false belief... but everyone can have their own opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭FranchisePlayer

bluewolf wrote:
    Did you not tell him you're allergic to the oils?
    I did but he is an idiot this is same doctor who misdiagonised my Ulcerative colitis and the other doctor put back my brothers diagnosis of his cancer by six months and basically killed him.
    It is a long story:(

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

There's some spray you can use now. I've seen ads on the tv for it a few times, can't remember what it's called but I'm sure the local chemist will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭rockbeer

Hopi ear candles are completely fradulent. If you doubt me read this, and if you value what's left of your hearing don't go near it.

I was struck by the user comment near the end of the article chump referenced, from the person who nearly lost her hearing after an ear candle dripped molten wax into her ear. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭I-like-eggs,mmm

..... but the stupid fckuing nurse perforated my ear drum:mad:

How dare you.... you should have known this was one of the risks of getting your ears syringed... so you're the stupid fcuking patient actually :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Yea, any of those eear candle yokes=completely bogus.

Any form of olive oil will do the trick just as well as the pharmaceutical stuff, just heat it slightly or else it will be very uncomfortable when it reaches your middle ear.

How dare you.... you should have known this was one of the risks of getting your ears syringed... so you're the stupid fcuking patient actually :p
    Not really seeing as she never explained the risks and also I thought she would be a trained nurse oh sorry I am excepting to much this is Irish Health care after all:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

I used to have similar issues.

I'll never do the syringe again. Warm olive oil work a treat though. Also, I found swimming regularly keeps them clear (not advised with any sort of ear infection).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

spray called audispray does the job for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Are you sure she actually perferated your eardrum and not that your eardrum was already perferated? Cos I got my ears syringed when I was a child and it later emerged that they were perferated (so it's not a good idea to syringe them). I wasn't aware that perferation is a risk associated with actually syringing the ears. I didn't think there was enough force in the syringe to actually do that (even though the eardrum is so sensitive) -- it would seem a bit silly to use that technique when you can get most of the wax out by other methods (eg. a small hook thing) that don't run the risk of perferation (save if your doctor is has a shakey hand.....).

Cheers

ps. get a new GP if he's giving you stuff that you're allergic to, and misdiagnosing you. You don't have to stick with the same one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i get mine syringed once a year now and every time im told that there is a risk of perforation

out of curiosity how much does a perforated ear drum hurt?????

also the gp does mine wouldnt feel comfortable with a nurse doing it even tho it is such a simple thing

i used audi clean to try and free it up but dont think it was strong enough so the doc gave me something else...illtry and find the bottle and see if theres peanut oil in it

also apparently there is a machine some gps use that "vibrates" the wax out but i cant imagine how it works but maybe it dosnt run the risk of perforation"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 NZdubstar

every few years one of my ears gets completely blocked, so I used to go to the Eye and Ear hospital, until one of the doctors started bitching at me for coming with a blocked ear so often. Well excuse me for being completely deaf in one ear Miss Doctor... They have this hoover thing there that sucks the stuff out. So in the end I bought my own ear syringe, and now I use that. Have to be careful with it but saves going to the doctor.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I did but he is an idiot this is same doctor who misdiagonised my Ulcerative colitis and the other doctor put back my brothers diagnosis of his cancer by six months and basically killed him.
    It is a long story:(

Franchise
    Go find yourself a new doctor and explain to him your situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭flo8s967qjh0nd

spray called audispray does the job for me

Where can I find this audispray stuff?
    Have tried a number of chemists to no avail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jebusmusic

I went into Boots to get it a few weeks back. They didnt have it, but they have their own brand version, which seems good, costs about 7 euro.

I 'overproduce' earwax, but haven't been syringed in about a year! The last time the female gp was really rough, ****ing my ear with her syringe basically.

I'm kind of paranoid about the perforated eardrum risk, as I 'need my ears to work', literally! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Working your jaw tilting your head in a very hot or steamy environment seems to work. (very hot as in sauna temperature not hurt-yourself temperature)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Iompair

A nurse shouldn't be manually syringing your ear, it s the doctors job.

If it was a nurse then she should be using a machine that pulses the water in at a lower pressure then the syringe can achieve. It takes longer but doesn't require a doctor to do it. I've had it done several times in the past and have had no problems.

Iompair wrote:
    A nurse shouldn't be manually syringing your ear, it s the doctors job.

If it was a nurse then she should be using a machine that pulses the water in at a lower pressure then the syringe can achieve. It takes longer but doesn't require a doctor to do it. I've had it done several times in the past and have had no problems.
    Yep that was the thing she used thanks lads Hopefully my parents wil let mel try some audispray.Who knows maybe I could secretly have supersonic hearing:D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mcgrailg

I got the audiospray stuff in the chemist, cost about €14 but its well worth, clears the right out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I tried Ear Candles before and they worked fine for me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You don't want to be over - cleaning your ears though, ear wax serves an important purpose.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I use the Boots own brand variety too- twice or three times a week (a bit more than they recommend, but hell, it works.....)
    Its very reasonably priced- about 6 Euro for a small can that lasts for over a month.