Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Im a loser... literally!

• 29-05-2007 11:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

So over the past two months or so Ive lost various forms of ID... passport, drivers license and college ID. Ive reported them n applied for new ones. Just wonderin why dont people hand them up if they find them?? Ive heard of people sellin them on the black market could this have happened to mine and if so what could they be used for?? has anything bad happened to anyone else who lost these kinda things?? Im applyin for a garda id because I only bring them out to get into clubs, Im 23 but obviously dont look it because I cant get in anywhere with out it. Well except Dorans but that speaks for itself...

Imvery curious to know if theres someone running around pretending to be me lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

They don't hand them in because they are stealing your identity as we speak! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

The oul passport is a fairly expensive one to lose. About €80 nowadays I think. Its not yours either, Bertie & Co. retain ownership of your passport all the time, you just have the use of it. Also (And this is quite possibly not true) I heard that is illegal to carry your passport around with you unless you intend travelling out of the country.

Some Tescos won't accept passport as a form of ID either. Only Garda age card. Madness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

Aldi would not accept a passport, drivers licence and college ID (all three from the same person) as ID for purchasing spirits last week they said they would only accept Garda ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

They should have invented 'the manbag'. We have to carry lots of shit too you know.

They have man bags ye know but bein a girl Id advise against them...not a good look... but thats another thread all together...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

neacy69 wrote:
    Aldi would not accept a passport, drivers licence and college ID (all three from the same person) as ID for purchasing spirits last week they said they would only accept Garda ID.

Unfortunately it is their right to insist on whatever type ID they deem acceptable.

OP - All ID is valuable to someone who doesn't have any. I'd report your lost passport and licence to the Guards immediately btw if you haven't already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

I'm Starlight07 and so is my wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

Archeron wrote:
    I'm Starlight07 and so is my wife.

That's pretty funny, because so is my dog!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

Do you have to be 18 to apply for the garda ID or can you apply just before so you have it when you're 18?

Have to be 18.

Its madness they'll only accept Garda ID, the amount of work you have to do to get a passport....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i had my bag nicked one night at a party and my passport was in it (obvisiouly a long time ago when i looked young) but they posted my passport back to me which was kinda nice of the dirty scumbag bast.ards

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

oohhh , i also lost the same passport in stansad airport. i was flying to london to meet my friend and then two days later we were flying out to Greece. The airport called me the next day to say they found it going around the baggage carosel - actually, it was a pretty lucky passport :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Isn't it mad how a passport can get you into another continent, but won't serve as ID for a friend of mine when he's looking to but cigarettes. He's 21 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I've lost a pair of shoes on a night out recently also, well, i lost one shoe so i kicked the other one into the Lee.
    How? Why?

You couldn't use a rubbish bin?

Meh... forget it...

/walks away.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

qz wrote:
    Isn't it mad how a passport can get you into another continent, but won't serve as ID for a friend of mine when he's looking to but cigarettes. He's 21 :rolleyes:

Just tell him to get an age card. It's much handier then dragging that passport around everywhere he goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭angelbaby

i lost my pasport 2yrs ago after a night out..couldnt find it anywhere n no one handed it into the guards or anytin so i basically gave up.then april fools day this year a guard rang me and asked me if i was out last night because they found my pasport that morning!!obviously the first thing that came into my head was that someone was playin a joke!!!so i was like 'yeah ha ha very funny..i lost that 2yrs ago'!!didnt believe him until he came out to the house with it!!!

so obviously some underage b*stard had been using my pasport for the last 2yrs to get into clubs and that!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Don't suppose there was any extra immigration stamps on the passport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

neacy69 wrote:
    Was told by the manager there when i complained about no being served with passport that it was some term in their alcohol license that they were only allowed to accept garda card, not sure how true this is though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭angelbaby

Rabies wrote:
    haha no there wernt thats the first thing i checked!!!i stupidly but luckily never cancelled it before so its saved me gettin a new one for me hols this year!!!:cool:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Cool_CM wrote:
    Was told by the manager there when i complained about no being served with passport that it was some term in their alcohol license that they were only allowed to accept garda card, not sure how true this is though

It could be just them misunderstanding the licensing laws or it could be bull to get rid of ye without causing to much of a scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

The new Garda Id is blinging with about 50 million holograms on it. Plus anyone that asks for it will be distracted by the shinynesswhich makes getting into clubs easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I always lose/misplace hats
    Thankfully never lost money/wallet/shades

Caliden wrote:
    The new Garda Id is blinging with about 50 million holograms on it. Plus anyone that asks for it will be distracted by the shinynesswhich makes getting into clubs easier.

They've tricked it up so much im sure some bouncers are gonna refuse it unless they know theres a new one about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

Cool_CM wrote:

That doesn't sound right to me. They do have to accept an age card as id. Maybe they are getting it mixed up and thinking that the only id they can accept is an age card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

themole wrote:
    That doesn't sound right to me. They do have to accept an age card as id. Maybe they are getting it mixed up and thinking that the only id they can accept is an age card.

Every venue/pub has a set of house rules by which they must be seen to abide by. These house rules include details such as dress code, closing hours and acceptable ID forms.

If a particular venue wish to only accept passports as a form of ID, they can then choose to do so. Now very few places will be that specific, but be aware that they can if they wish.

I worked on a door where only a drivers licence or passport would get you in the front door. I had many an argument with punters at the door over this situation, but they always lost in the end.

A pub/club is a private venue, and as such are allowed to admit whoever they want, whenever they want. The best option is to bring two forms of ID with you, if you do not wish to carry two forms of ID, then you do not have the right to get pissed off when refused entry from a venue. Failing that, you can ring ahead and see what ID is acceptable on the door.

Even when you carry two forms of ID you may be refused - and that is pot luck. My brother was refused from a pub in Maynooth even though he had a drivers licence and a Garda ID - the pub was only accepting student ID as it was a student night. It was his bad luck.

qz wrote:
    I'm 21 and I look 17, but being amused at them asking for ID and saying "I'm 21" is generally enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

i was going into a pub the other night with 3mates and 3girls that walked up to the door ahead of me got stopped and quized about there id and me, being impatiant, took mine out and nodded to the other bouncer who brushed me in passed the girls along with my mates without looking at any of our IDs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ctc_celtic

when i was 18 i worked in a bar in London, they were very strict on ID and i had to ask loads of people every night.
    but i was always far out in guessing girls ages. i'd ask them and they hand me ID and it would turn out there about 24yr or more.
    i'd be a bit embarrassed then, as i only looked about 16yr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

How do you loose this stuff, I mean seriously, I've drank so much that I've passed out on more than one occasion but still never lost anything EVER!

Its not like I'm constantly checking either, I've woken up the following day and panicked because I thought I lost id or whatever, but then I find it in a jacket pocket or something, it just boggles me how some people can loose so much stuff! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Rabies wrote:

I don't think I've seen an Irish passport get stamped coming into Ireland. Have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

azezil wrote:
    How do you loose this stuff, I mean seriously, I've drank so much that I've passed out on more than one occasion but still never lost anything EVER!

Its not like I'm constantly checking either, I've woken up the following day and panicked because I thought I lost id or whatever, but then I find it in a jacket pocket or something, it just boggles me how some people can loose so much stuff! :)

My friend had the best & worst luck all in one go. He would get so legless that he always ended up losing his wallet, jacket, phone, you name it. But either the very next day or following week he always got his stuff back, seriously amazing when you consider the places his stuff winds up!

Years ago at a teen disco my favourite jacket got nicked. Thinking I found it I picked up a jacket that not only wasn't mine but was the exact same, better fit, better condition, and had an unopened pack of chewing gum. Result!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I almost lost my wallet before but luckily as I was heading to get a cab a begger on the streets asked me for change. I went to put my hand in my pocket where I keep my wallet and coins only to realise I didn't have it!

Had to retrace my steps back to a girls house who I only met the night before and it was an apartment complex. I didnt know the house number so I hammered every button for each house until I got an answer and asked the stranged would they let me in. Got in, back to the house (front door was unlocked), got my wallet and left without waking anyone in the house.

Since then I've always checked I have everything before I leave a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Not too bad in the loser dept but have come home with the wrong phone and wallet picked off the bar by accident.