Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What school subject do you regret not paying attention more to?

• 29-05-2007 9:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭

There are times now where I wish I had paid more attention to a certain subject in school, or had kept it up past the Junior Cert. For me, those subjects were Science and Business Studies.

I was really good at Business Studies, the book keeping part in particular, but I dropped it after the Junior. Partly, because in the choices we were given, it clashed with a subject I like, and probably because my friends weren't choosing it. Now, accountancy is a field I wouldn't have minded getting in to.

I was fairly average-to-bad at science which is why I dropped it. But now being more learned, I would have liked to have kept at it, purely for knowledge purposes rather than anything practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

Irish - would love to be able speak our native language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Art for me, I was great at the drawing but cack at the art history. I used to regret not getting better points in the LC overall but then I realised there so many ways to get into things ya like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Economics...I'm studying it in college at the mo and it would have been so much easier now if i had bothered to pay any attention to it in school!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

French. I was really good at it at first and then I just lost interest with it. Now, my boyfriend is french and spend alot of time there and I am learning all over again. I can understand it but I just cant speak it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Irish and French.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Would like to have tried harder at German but couldn't really see the point at the time from an academic perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

irish and maths for sure.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

baztard wrote:
    Irish - would love to be able speak our native language.

Same as although probably I still be sh!t at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

Duggy747 wrote:
    Art for me, I was great at the drawing but cack at the art history. QUOTE]

Me too! I may have actually gotten my first choice if I'd paid more attention on that part of the course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Technical Drawing for me. I never apid attention to it in secondary school, and paid for it when I went studying engineering in third level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 aria-bella

Irish defo

But had a wagon of teacher so thought by deliberately doing nothing and winding her up i was very wise ..

It wasnt until i was repeating de leaving i realised it was'nt de brightest plan :(

Am in classes now though :) never too late and all that !

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Latin and Classics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Irish also, regrets eh, but then I found it wasnt the best taught subject....

I said....she said.....he said.....we said......they said....WE ALL said! Bloody hell, I was learning that from 1st class until 6th year!! Probably should have paid more attention anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

The languages. Irish and German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I said....she said.....he said.....we said......they said....WE ALL said! Bloody hell, I was learning that from 1st class until 6th year!!
    :D *crackin up laughin here*...after nearly a decade of learnin irish how r we all so crap at it...the mó cineelach (cant remember how to spell it) was the worst! But still wish i knew how to speak it better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭GaryOR

Irish, gan amhras...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

Jesus lads, ye should have a look at the LC forum, there are two fairly huge threads on changing the compulsory status of Irish. Which kinda goes against the feeling here.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I said....she said.....he said.....we said......they said....WE ALL said! Bloody hell, I was learning that from 1st class until 6th year!! Probably should have paid more attention anyway!

The homework we got for Irish was laughable just some simple fill in the blanks for all of primary school. I suppose that's the Irish education system for ya :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Math, I should have pushed myself to do the honours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

maths, would have made college much easier.
    And irish just so I could speak it and show people my dedication to this country of ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

cson wrote:
    Jesus lads, ye should have a look at the LC forum, there are two fairly huge threads on changing the compulsory status of Irish. Which kinda goes against the feeling here.
    I'm not surprised, I hated Irish in school too, I had a great Irish history teacher for 5th/6th that sparked an interest in all things Irish but by then it was too late, barely passed foundation Irish.

I was asked why I wasn't out at the weekend (he was shocked I wasn't on the lash before my tests :D ) I replied "Ta me sick"

The whole system just isn't geared towards modern kids. Maybe the system never worked, it needs to be overhawled along with most of the Irish government but it's not going to happen we'll just keep swiming up stream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Beekay

Do you really do that in sixth year? I went to an all irish primary and secondary school and we stooped doing that stuff around 5th class,maybe even sooner!
    Shows the difference in education between the english and irish schools

Beekay wrote:
    Shows the difference in education between the english and irish schools

My nieces and nephews are all in an Irish school and can speak better Irish then I ever could. It's a shame I never went to one :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

French :(