Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apprentice Rights, if any

• 28-05-2007 10:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭

My brother is a 3rd or 4th year apprentice Plumber and a few weeks ago he hurt himself in work and had to take the week off. He wasnt getting paid for it but demanded it from the boss and he relented paid him.
    The boss apparently had the hump over this.
    Flash Forward to today. My brother arrives 20 mins late for the job this morning and the boss gives me bro a weeks notice. My brother states he's never late, yer man just wants rid of him.
    • Is a weeks notice enough or should it be two
    • The fact that the boss is emigrating, is he sacking him at earliest convenience just so he doesn't have to give redundancy
    • Does my brother have to work the notice? Stupid question I agree, but he seems to think not.
    • Is this a lawful dismissal? It doesn't seem right to me

I know feck all about employment rights (probably why I get screwed over meself :) ) but this just seems wrong on many levels.

Can you even sack an apprentice? I thought you had to find him work somewhere else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Can't sack him for been late once.. .sounds like it should be a redundancy situation to me....

your rights are here :

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/employment/unemployment-and-redundancy/redundancy/redundancy/?searchterm=Apprentice%20Rights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Duff_Man

if he has worked more than 8 hours a week for over a year with the bloke he has rights! has to be given a written and verbal warning and has a right to know why he is being sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

he's meant to be getting a letter from the boss tomorrow.....
    I wonder what my brother can do or prove if yer man starts lying on the letter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Duff_Man

i dunno what he can do mate. apprentices get shat on alot man. i should be starting one soon enough and its gona take some getting use to. maybe that employer feels he can walk all over your bro cause he doesnt see him ass a problem. maybe ur bro should kick up or something....he cant give him a bad reference anyway! some leagal mumbo-jumbo i think!