Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manor Village or College Fields?

• 27-05-2007 10:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭

Any preferences, and if so, why?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,259 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

manor village.

closer to the town, and from what i have heard from people living in college fields, manor village is nicer. I stayed in manor village for two years, it was nice enough

college fields is right beside the college, so it would only be a two minute walk in the mornings, but there is a free college bus from manor village which makes up for it. Manor village would be a much easier walk from the town on a night out. Also, there is a spar right beside it, and another shop right across the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭ec18

Riverwalk or the new place by tesco poleberry

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Id recommend staying well away from Manor Village. I can assure you that many people have approached me with regards to staying in Manor and have asked that I represent them here so they can express their views (under my account) through me which iv politely refused.

Some very serious Health & Safety issues raised, espicaly in regards to Fire Extinguishers not being checked in over 2 years and the pressure level. Older threads show some discussions as regards to abusive behaviour by Security Guards towards myself, but also in general towards others.

Its the closes to the town, does have a Spar (and "Dunphys" beside it) and has a great community but the apartments I saw are out-dated and shabby, suffer from dampness due to poor design and are pretty small. Broadband is reported to be dodgy and some sites (even college ones like WebCT) are apparently inaccesible.

Iv seen the new apartments on Railway Square (by tesco poleberry) and they are very nice. Rooms are spacious, very modern kitchen and lounge. Not to sure about broadband, but I believe bills wise it costs less (for everything). Think its mostly gas provided - sorry I cant remember the exact details.

Riverwalk is 50/50 - some people dont like it, some people do. Iv been there once, and the room seems spacious and same with sitting room

was waiting for you to post here...very restrained...thought you'd have much more of a rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Abusive behaviour from security guards??? Eloborate? I've checked out Poleberry and the prices were rather expensive. Riverwalk seems to be the best value so far, I think.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

nummnutts wrote:
    Abusive behaviour from security guards??? Eloborate? I've checked out Poleberry and the prices were rather expensive. Riverwalk seems to be the best value so far, I think.

Iv only had one experience with one guard (found the other lads fine) and he wasnt the nicest to me because of my comments on Boards about Manor Village (theres an older thread on it) and the security guards watching TV (which they were). Bit of a story to it, but its all outlined in the other thread.

Others have said stuff about them before, but I wont go into detail and leave them say it if they want.

Polberry was only slightly expensive then Manor.. did you ask for Student Accommodation? It offered much more of an advantage over Manor/Riverwalk!

i thought poleberry was about the same as manor village maybe a fiver in the difference....i could be wrong but the apartments there are much nicer some even have an outisde baclony type space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭strangepaddy

ok right ive done 4 years now in w.i.t.......been in every flat/house/dive at one stage or another drinkin! i can tell ya right now the best flats to stay in are railway square and i know coz ive been in em all year now. good price at 356 per month, great furniture etc and the only bill u get is esb. broadband is free and is fairly decent and its in a great location for goin out and college street! altho it wud take about 15mins to walk to main campus but the bus does stop right outside em

as for manor..........great for first years i think.....u get to know loads of people and so on but after that id say its a big no no!! shabby flats...strict guards and they are as rude as hell and i think the hav a time limit in guests!! (not totally sure if that still stands but it was def there in my first year)

riverwalk is again great for gettin to know people with 9 blocks but i found the flats furniture fairly crap.......absol hate the couches! location is iffy bit of a walk to but campuses and no bus goes that around that way to my knowledge. but they do hav plenty of parkin.

Manor charges for visitiors staying over. Its an "administration fee". You dont, if I recall correctly, get anything for paying. Just the "right" to have the person there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Does all this Manor hassle apply only to the 1st year building?

I stayed in Manor (Phase 2) a good few times and never had any problems, no "administration fee" or anything like that. Never came into contact with any security staff ever! But that was last year...?

Newaglish wrote:
    Does all this Manor hassle apply only to the 1st year building?

I stayed in Manor (Phase 2) a good few times and never had any problems, no "administration fee" or anything like that. Never came into contact with any security staff ever! But that was last year...?

Is Manor divided up into phases? I knew that the main building with reception was different to the one behind the Spar shop which requires a key code to enter. All "Manor Village" but different set of standards, or so it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭paul666

the appartment complex directly behind the spar is the key code craic, the older one u have to go thru reception with a security guard at it.
    all those buildings are only 5 years old

Yeah, the part with the security guards is basically for first years (or people who never stayed there before?), so I think that's why the staff are a bit... cranky!

The building with the code/card swipe entry thing is Phase 2 (a year or two newer), it's a bit nicer and you don't ever deal with any staff unless you need something.

Iv never been in there, and my mates are in second year (they were put in the first building). Whats it like in comparesment? Any of the usual fungus growing, dampness, plaster falling off the celling?

I do remember one bedroom in a friend's apartment having a hole in the ceiling with plaster falling down and it was pretty damp as a result.

The room wasn't let out until it was repaired.

It's a grand place really, I mean alot of students are basically filthy animals but when they're kept clean they're really very habitable! Although those couches are really cack for sleeping on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Olterior

well I live in college fields and I love the place . the apartments are close to col so i get to sleep in and spar inside the campus serves me shopping . ]

Now depending on what kind of person you are and what you want I would recomend getting Col fields if you want a place to run back at lunch, or if you are as messy as me and keep on forgeting to take your notes with ya , col fields is for you.

no one gives a **** about people staying over, my roomate brings his gf almost every day for sleep overs ,and he never had problems there . there are rules on parties, but no one cares ( exept for one douche bag neighbour who came up to my door at 5 PM to complain about me playing music too loud . ****er lives in suir house and I live in nore house ! how am i disturbing him ???!)

but if u want place close to town get manor or go to that place becide the train playground (they do student housing 2 ) they charge less than manor or col , and the places they have are sweet. my ex lives in one of them and I loved it .