Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So... who's in it? **S03 EP 22-23 Spoilers**

• 25-05-2007 4:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭

Who's in the coffin?

I've been racking my brains as to who it might be, it's been said earlier but the 3 main contenders are in the poll above. If there is someone else that I haven't thought of, please do explain.

If you have read some Season 4 spoiler on another forum regarding who it ACTUALLY is, please spoiler tag. This thread is for pure speculation only.

My money is on Sawyer. He was a con and has nobody in the real world, in the finale Sawyer turned his back on Kate saying that he didn't want to go with her and she also said something to jack along the lines of "why do you care about sawyer, you know he wouldn't care about you"

Sawyer is the only person in lost, imo, who would have no friends on the island and in the real world.

Ben, I don't think he's left the island, and Mike would at least have Walt at the funeral plus I doubt Jack would stop the car on a bridge to cry about Mike.

Anybody got any other ideas?

Whos in the coffin? 40 votes

Mike
    0%
    Ben
    22%
    HelixLizardKingMr.Nice GuyfergmcdprospectBartronilicstanlystanly1man1bmwman 9 votes
    Sawyer
    52%
    KulganBounty HunterMisterAnarchyhallelujajordanKiithtabathaSad ProfessornovarockolerasNewaglishBrianb8802gustavoDMG 1972JelloDMBanditsarahplowdenclearsugarkjackdawrazorblunt 21 votes
    Someone else (explain)
    25%
    V9lukinyoucancallmealThe_HustlertolosencdemanFullOf..ITSandyVNZiabRL31mr0d 10 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Jack desperately wants to get back to the island. I think whoever died was Jack's last link to getting back to the island.

Either that or whoever died did so directly as a result of Jack's actions on the island.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Sawyer
    I'm going to say Ben for now but it could be anyone really. Michael is a strong possibility also (especially if Perrineau doesn't return), although I hope not. I'd rather it be someone more significant.

I love the idea of not knowing who's in the coffin though, really kick starts the whole flash-forward concept.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Sawyer
    this is what i wrote on this topic in the other thread.

---
    the 5 deaths are the 4 everyone has mentioned plus the mystery person in the coffin only jack went to see. prob ben, maybe nobody but Jack that left the island (Locke) believed he was actually a good guy, thats why jack wanted to go back cos before leaving he's convinced, when he gets some bloody answers.
    ---

plus i dont think it was Sawyer as i believe that sawyer is the "he" that Kate spoke to Jack about cos if shes going to end up with anyone that aint Jack odds are it would be Sawyer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Someone else (explain)
    i believe that sawyer is the "he" that Kate spoke to Jack about cos if shes going to end up with anyone that aint Jack odds are it would be Sawyer

what about the previous guy she was married to? why wouldn't she go back to him? She loved him right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 897 ✭✭✭oxygen_old

I actually thought it was obviously meant to be Locke. His actions at the end of the epi (and more to come I expect) completly isolated everyone on the Island. The only reason Jack grieved for him is because he understood what Locke was talking about not getting off the Island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

Not a hope in hell is it Ben. He won't have left the island no matter what. It's obviously someone neither Jack nor Kate particularly like and he's only using the funeral as an excuse to get some catch-up time with Kate. So, who do both of them hate?

My guess is that it isn't anyone on the island at all. Like, judging by yer bloke in the shop's reaction to seeing Jack - "he's a hero" - the survivors have gotten some considerable fame since getting off the island. There's no way that a survivor's wake would have no-one at it because the survivor would be too well known for this to be possible.

There seemed to be no indication that Jack was a survivor from the Island. Everyone only knew him as the guy who pulled yer one from the car. It seemed to me that the whole thing was covered up, indicating maybe the people rescuing them from the end of the episode were government.

oxygen wrote:
    There seemed to be no indication that Jack was a survivor from the Island. Everyone only knew him as the guy who pulled yer one from the car. It seemed to me that the whole thing was covered up, indicating maybe the people rescuing them from the end of the episode were government.
    Maybe not, but it was that scene which had me thinking that they were flash-forwards. It also seemed that Jack's complete fall from grace in the hospital with him giving the old "do you know who I am?" seemed to indicate that he was well-known due to him being a survivor.

true, and I suppose the writers wouldnt have wanted to indicate that is was a flash foward by saying "Its that guy from the misterous Island with the giant foot and stuff". Still tho that guy in the chemist made me wonder if that was all Jack was famous for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Im gonna guess that it .......wasn't Sawyer, as the reason stated above. He that kate referred to is prob Sawyer. Guessing Locke as it would make most sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

If i was a betting man, I'd put it on Locke. Reasons:

1. He said to Jack as Jack was ringing the ship, "You're not supposed to do this." Later, Jack says "We weren't supposed to leave." Coincidence?

2. His name starts with J, like in the clipping, maybe he changed his surname. I think someone (out there in the interweb) was able to make out more of the clipping where the guy was found to have hung himself, could be Locke was even more depressed than Jack?

3. Would explain why Jack said he was neither a friend or family at the funeral parlour, because of teh long running antagonism between the two. Also, Locke wasn't shown to have any ties throughout his flashbacks after Helen left him (see "The Brig"'s first flashback when he's sitting on his own watching TV), which would explain why no one was at the viewing.

4. Would explain why Jack was so cut up about his death, as he realized Locke was right all along about staying on the island, but was unable to find him until he read about his death.

5. Would explain why Kate didn't want to go, and why Jack thought she might, seeing as there was a whole Jack/Kate/Locke adventure club during season 1, but obviously season 2 & 3 events turned Kate off Locke...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Maybe not, but it was that scene which had me thinking that they were flash-forwards. It also seemed that Jack's complete fall from grace in the hospital with him giving the old "do you know who I am?" seemed to indicate that he was well-known due to him being a survivor.

No, he should we well known to that doctor because he was one of the best spinal surgeons in the world, worked there for years and was the son of the former chief. Basically the Roy Keane of that hospital returning and getting a bollocking from Carrick.

I think it's Locke in the casket but I hope not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Ben
    His name starts with J, like in the clipping, maybe he changed his surname. I think someone (out there in the interweb) was able to make out more of the clipping where the guy was found to have hung himself, could be Locke was even more depressed than Jack?

"The body of John Lantham of New York was found shortly after 4 am in the 4300 block of Grand Avenue.

Ted Worden, a doorman at the Tower Lofts complex, heard loud noises coming from the victim’s loft.

Concerned for tenants’ safety, he entered the loft and found the body hanging from a beam in the living room.

According to Jaime Ortiz, a police spokesman, the incident was deemed a suicide after medical tests. Latham (sic) is survived by one teenaged son.

Memorial services will be held at the Hoffs-Drawlar Funeral Home tomorrow evening."

stinks of michael to me, easiest way to get rid of him in a remotely realistic fashion

id also imagine the reason none of the others went to the funeral is coz he killed ana and libby

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

michael wasn't that small though was he? that coffin was pretty tiny.

but yeah, I guess out of all the people on the island (and if it is 2007), the only person it could be is michael. I don't think it is though, it's either someone we haven't met yet or someone we haven't learned an awful lot about yet.

I really don't see how jack would get so beat up over michaels death, even if he wanted to get back to the island that bad.. how in the hell would michael be able to help him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Mordeth wrote:
    I really don't see how jack would get so beat up over michaels death, even if he wanted to get back to the island that bad.. how in the hell would michael be able to help him?

Maybe because Michael sailed home from the island and might know the way?

Naomi said that the plane was found and everyone was dead,

Which, if she is telling the truth, suggests that there was a cover up back on mainland,

I think that any of the survivors who got back (only jack and kate are definite) have been forced to lie about where they were etc.

Could also be why Jack has grown the ridiculous beard and wears the shades.

People who are asking "so is christian shephard still alive?" are reading way too much into what Jack said, referring to his dad as being "up there" or whatever didnt mean upstairs in the hospital. He meant heaven i'm sure.

And others who are saying "Ben would never leave the island it cant be him in the coffin" Are you forgetting that they have him as prisoner right now? And will probably force him to go meet the ship or chopper or whatever gets sent.

I'm still annoyed that they are stretching two series worth of episodes over three, leaves much too much of a wait between them

But anyway, roll on January!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I think that any of the survivors who got back (only jack and kate are definite) have been forced to lie about where they were etc.

maybe.. but jack did mention oceanic gave him a gold card or somesuch.. free flights for life. so that's one company at least who knows they are alive... are oceanic in on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Mordeth wrote:
    maybe.. but jack did mention oceanic gave him a gold card or somesuch.. free flights for life. so that's one company at least who knows they are alive... are oceanic in on it?

I think so,

The gold card could be part of some compensation package they got to keep quiet about it all,

If they told the truth then the Island would get found and swarmed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

i dunno... i wouldnt say oceanic are in on it. id say the fact that they have the gold card is a hint that they were rescued legitimately enough.
    kate looks very different, not a freckle in sight y'know? she could have claimed to be another one of the survivors possibly...
    originally i thought they found their way off the island themselves and are now "undercover" so to speak, because kate doesnt seem to be in jail. it's the gold card that's throwing me off, does that not seem to give too much away about how they got off the island? that its was either the government cover up theory or they found rescue? if they had found rescue than i cant imagine why jack would want to go back so bad, presumably jack would only go back to help fellow survivors, as is jacks nature... so government cover up it seems....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

I reckon it's Locke, according to the article the guy in the coffin committed suicide, and Locke, thinking he f*cked up, was about to take his own life when lying in the pit until Walt stopped him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

J......Juliette?

I mentioned it in the episode thread, given that the news of the death prompted Jack's attempted suicide, as well as Kate's seeming contempt for whoever was in the coffin ("Why would I go?"), I think it's plausible.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Sawyer
    I doubt it's Juliet, she was only gone 3 years, surely someone would have shown up. I think it has to be someone who either never had any friends/relatives in the real world (Ben) or was disgraced because of something they did on the island (Michael). I'm leaning very strongly towards the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 bmwman

Ben
    Jack said to get his father down to see if he is drunker, while in the hospital , of course it could be the drugs but did did anyone else think there could be something else to this? Like maybe it was a dream or his father was alive (again) or something completely weirder.....

Nephew wrote:
    I reckon it's Locke, according to the article the guy in the coffin committed suicide, and Locke, thinking he f*cked up, was about to take his own life when lying in the pit until Walt stopped him.
    I highly doubt Locke would've left the island at all.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Sawyer
    bmwman wrote:
    Jack said to get his father down to see if he is drunker, while in the hospital , of course it could be the drugs but did did anyone else think there could be something else to this? Like maybe it was a dream or his father was alive (again) or something completely weirder.....

unless your suggesting its christian sheppard in the coffin i think you have the wrong thread mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Someone else (explain)
    I would think it to be Sawyer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭marie_85

Judging by the neighbourhood the funeral parlour was in, my first reaction was that it was Michael, Waaalt or Rose. The text of the article that someone posted earlier would narrow that down to Michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Ben
    How could it be Locke in all seriousness? Do you not think the woman he had a relationship with would at least go? Or his work colleague? Or anybody from the island? Locke might not be Mr Popular but he's not Billy No Mates. :) I reckon Kate would go to Locke's funeral as well.

I think it's Michael or Ben as Kate's reaction was one of surprise at the suggestion she go to the funeral. I don't see Ben or Walt leaving the island either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭squire1

It seems fairly reasonable to me that the person in the coffin is a character that we have not yet seen or has not been reveled. Afterall, there are three seasons left and we do not yet know when Jack/Kate make it off the island.

It could be a character that has never been off the island before or has been there most of their lives which would explain why nobody goes to the funeral.

Anyway, the point is that with three seasons left to run there is so much scope for new characters that it is impossible to guess at this stage who it could be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Sawyer
    I'm fairly sure the idea of their return being a cover-up has a few holes in it, given that:

Jack returns to the hospital he used to work in and tells people who he is.

Jack tells the pharmacist who he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

At first when I saw Jack meeting Kate I thought it was Sawyer in the coffin. But then I presumed Sawyer was the "he'll be wondering where I am".

But after I watched it again, I got the impression it could be a child she was talking about. In which case it could be Sawyer in the coffin. And if she was pregnant, and he'd left her, that would explain her venom when Jack suggested she might have gone to the fuineral. Remember, when she said to Sawyer on the island that Juliette had been there to test her for pregnancy too, Sawyer just replied "you'd better not be pregnant". Doesn't really seem like the family man type to me.

Sawyer
    Newaglish wrote:
    I'm fairly sure the idea of their return being a cover-up has a few holes in it, given that:

Jack returns to the hospital he used to work in and tells people who he is.

Jack tells the pharmacist who he is.

Well it doesn't mean they got new identities. Oceanic/Dharma/whoever just invented some story about them surviving the crash that didn't involve the island. And the survivors made a deal to never reveal what actually happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Someone else (explain)
    squire1 wrote:
    It seems fairly reasonable to me that the person in the coffin is a character that we have not yet seen or has not been reveled. Afterall, there are three seasons left and we do not yet know when Jack/Kate make it off the island.

It could be a character that has never been off the island before or has been there most of their lives which would explain why nobody goes to the funeral.

Anyway, the point is that with three seasons left to run there is so much scope for new characters that it is impossible to guess at this stage who it could be.

owww I like that theory. It would make sense now why they never showed the losties actually getting rescued. We are drawing the assumption that Jack managed to get home after talking to the guy on Naomi's phone. But this is only an assumption. I'm of the mind to go along with squire1 and believe that season 4 will start with them still on the island and the actual rescue will happen 2 seasons from now. Naomis pals will come to the island, kidnap claire and the baby and try to kill the other losties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Someone else (explain)
    bmwman wrote:

Yeah when i heard this i also thought about the possibility that his Father is not dead. The way the doc reacted when Jack said to get his father, he didn't seem confused by it, indicating that maybe Jacks father is alive.

Puzzling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Its all getting a bit too much for me. Can see it goin down the route that Ben was telling some truth, and that something bad happens if they attempt to leave island. I reckon Naomi and her mates could actually be the "bad guys" leaving the door open for another struggle to get off the island...

Its way to hard to judge who it is, though would they really show that clip and then introduce the dead person later on. Hard to say. Probably would!

If it is one of the people thats on the island, you'd havta say Naomi or Ben.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭tosh_thedude

Its either Juillet or his new found half sister, the Blonde Oz bird whos name I cant remember....AAhhhh... the one with the baby. Helps me, my heads gonna exploded!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭tosh_thedude

Claire!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Sawyer
    coffin was pretty small so id say Ben, Jack forced him to leave the island maybe giving his name as Locke seeing as Locke left when Jack answered the phone, hence the empty funeral house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 awaitingdrummer

OK GUYS!!
    I didnt read through any of the other replys yet, but i strongly have my money on it being <<<JULIET>>>

MY reasons for thinking this are
    1) Jack is the only one that went to the funeral (none of the islanders really accepted her)
    2) the episode purposefully avoided saying him/her when referring to the funeral or who it was for

I dont think Sawyer is a contender because Kate mentions that "He will be wondering where i am" surely that "he" is Sawyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

Someone else (explain)
    I thought it was Sawyer too but now I'm thinking it could be Locke.
    Jack was all depressed about something, I think that something is that he caused Locke's death.
    He wants to get back to the island because everything there happens in the past, it's in some kind of "time bubble", so if Jack gets back to the island he can do something differently which prevents the death of Locke.
    That's why he was saying to Kate "we have to go back".
    But he said "we" which means maybe Kate had a hand in his death too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Someone else (explain)
    I can't see why Jack would presume Kate would be at Juliette's funeral.

I instantly thought it was Sawyer as he would have no ties and I think that Kate and Saywer were only together due to the circumstances. The "he" that Kate mentioned could have been anyone, now that they're off the island she could be with any bloke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Think Kate's "He" could be a parole officer ?
    Think the person in the coffin is either Locke or Ben.
    Probably Ben as is the only one with no ties outside the island.

They must have betrayed or abandoned the losties on the Island, or possibly realised they shouldn't have left at all i.e. they altered their reality when they returned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

getting worse and worse, but i sitll watch it.

I'm convinced the writers don't have a clue where it's going and we will NEVER get an answer for what the island is, the numbers, the black smoke and jacob to name but a few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Spiritus Mundi#

sunzz wrote:
    getting worse and worse, but i sitll watch it.

I'm convinced the writers don't have a clue where it's going and we will NEVER get an answer for what the island is, the numbers, the black smoke and jacob to name but a few

Damon Lindelof/Carlton Cuse (even JJ Abrams) have repeatedly said they have always known every big step in the Lost story. I.e. When a writer sits down to write a book they're gonna have a central idea and know the big events along the way, then the rest of the book is filling around them.

If you're suggesting they're completely clueless as to where it's going eventually, you're barking up the wrong tree! ABC would be completely insane to grant a show 3 more years without complete faith in the writers ability to go somewhere with the show. Any shambolic mind-f*** ending to the show will retrospectively RUIN the whole experience of following the show from Day 1.

On a side note, there may never be a satisfactory answer to the numbers question. It's the only area i've heard non-committal answers to when it will be resolved. Ive said many a time i dont watch it obsessed with answers but im sure if they leave huge gaping loose ends by the end of the show, there will be riots!

I've watched the last couple mins a good few times now - great acting from both of them - each time i watch it i get a new vibe on the funeral thing and who the "he" she's referring to.

Before i go into it, a lot of people are focussing hugely on the newspaper cutting. I think people should bear in mind that we werent supposed to see what's written on that cutting so whatever is actually on it may not represent much. We shall wait n see.

Her reaction when she sees the newspaper cutting is sadness/shock. She's taken aback. Who does that rule out? nobody.

Then "why would I go to the funeral". indignant. as if it was silly for Jack to expect her to go. In the 3 seasons to date, i fail to see why Kate would react in that manner for Michael. Ok he killed Ana Lucia n Libby in trying to save Walt, would that warrant that reaction? i dont buy it. Further, why would Jack expect her to go to the funeral or be so desperate to tell her about it?The only (and lame) thing i can think of to support the Michael theory is that the writers know he may not rejoin the show and wanted an end-story for his character on the basis he may not return.

Equally i don't think she would react that way about Locke based on what we have seen so far. It wouldnt be in the writers interest to make up this funeral about a future character either, so we're narrowing our search to existing characters.

Having shared so much on-island time with Sawyer so far it's inconceivable that Kate wouldnt know of his death and not go to the funeral. Plus the writers have said that there is "plenty" more to tell in the Kate-Sawyer story, no way i can envisage it going that pear-shaped where she wouldnt even go to the funeral.

Ben might fit. Possibly. If the newspaper cutting is anywhere believable, the part this falls down is the 'teenage son' bit. There is a lot remaining to be told of Annie though, it wouldnt take a huge leap of faith to suppose she is alive, well and they had a son together. Still a jump though.

Basically i cant pin it down, gotta wait!

As for the "he's gonna be wondering where i am". Initially thought Sawyer instinctively. Still a strong favourite to be him. However having watched it repeatedly, she says "i have to go"... then raises her eyebrows as if to say 'you know im not meant to be here'. Could be just Sawyer not wanting her to meet up with Jack but.....

Sawyer doesnt strike me as the type to be possessive about Kate. Has anyone thought of the possibility, small perhaps, that the "he" is someone like Ben or Charles Widmore? i.e. whatever their route off island she is still slightly under duress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

I think it's Locke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

i think it's someone we have not met yet.. between the time of the funeral and the "present" on the island a LOT is going to happen and we will probably meet more powerful and influential figures than even locke or ben.

that's why at the moment im going along with the idea Dead parrot expressed on another thread and that this might be the person in the coffin.. i remember the name being mentioned in some interview or maybe in relation to the lost experience but i cant remember exactly.. anyway, i think this might make a lot of sense

From Dead Parrot
    "There are screencaps of the newspaper clipping, and people have said that the "J___ _____tham" could have been the name Jeremy Bentham, which may or may not be an alias. A quick look on Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeremy_Bentham and you'll see that he was the designer of the Panopticon, the concept of which was a prison which allowed prisoners to be watched without the knowledge that they were being watched. A quick look on the right hand side of the page, at his influences, and you'll see a very familiar name. "

i think it's someone we have not met yet..

Strongly disagree. No way IMO the writers will make a key scene in a showpiece Finale be about an unknown character. It's most def someone we know of on-island, otherwise they've no right to put so much emphasis on the funeral as a key part of the Finale.

I stand to be corrected but having seen every episode more than once and listened to every podcast/trawled thru tons of interviews, nothing ive read or seen makes me believe the writers would attempt that sort of thing.