Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old buses

• 24-05-2007 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭

Remember any of these?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Sadly no, however it did remind me of my big red fun bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Don't remember the above but do remember...

irish.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Gauge wrote:

Oh I'm so jealous. I always wanted one of those.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Earliest ones I remember are these bad boys

DublinBombardierGMDD-1.jpg

I feel young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Ya wha? Nobody remembers them? I'm 28 and I remember the blue faux leather seats burning the back of my legs off on a hot summers day manys the time! I also remmember they had a cord you pulled to ring the bell, not a button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭uglyjohn

Gauge wrote:

YES!! YES!!

I'd forgotten about that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

murphaph wrote:
    I also remmember they had a cord you pulled to ring the bell, not a button.
    The cord was still in some up to the early 1990s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Ruu wrote:

irish.jpg

We used to have a bus like that for the National School run in the late 80's and early 90's. I think that they were phased out of use in the early 90's.

AFAIK, we were then given one of those red and white Bus Éireann buses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Same here as far as I can remember. The yellow ones were brutal as I've mentioned before, burn your arse in the summer as the sun would nearly melt the plastic on the seats and in winter you would nearly freeze to the metal bars. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

murphaph wrote:
    Remember any of these?
    Gabriel Conway who wrote that piece posts here on boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Their are loads of pictures of old Dublin Bus / CIE buses here:

http://www.preservedirishtransport.com/

I remember back when I was only a young lad back in the early-mid 90's getting on these buses (Van Hool McArdle):

Dvanho3.jpg

They had blue seats and you used to have to pull a cord to ring the bell. Ah they were the days. I also remember the ones that johnny_ultimate posted (Bombardier), they had the seats facing one another. Memory Lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

ah yes, i remember the big green ones... honestly, i never knew about the other ones up there... also the orange trains, still see a couple around the place now.

also, the bus, i remember was my first time seeing a black person... being the subtle, sensitive 3/4 year old i was...

"MAMMY! WHY IS THAT MAN'S SKIN BROWN?"

>_<

I think Dublin Bus should go back and paint all their buses green again. They looked far better than the pasty creamy crap they put on them now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Ruu wrote:

irish.jpg

Gosh we had one of them going to primary school and there used to be a seat beside the driver and we used to fight over who got to sit on it! Also i remeember red double decker buses in Cork City in the 1980's. Dont have a pic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭SimonMaher

Max_Damage wrote:
    Their are loads of pictures of old Dublin Bus / CIE buses here:

http://www.preservedirishtransport.com/

I remember back when I was only a young lad back in the early-mid 90's getting on these buses (Van Hool McArdle):

Dvanho3.jpg

They had blue seats and you used to have to pull a cord to ring the bell. Ah they were the days. I also remember the ones that johnny_ultimate posted (Bombardier), they had the seats facing one another. Memory Lane.

For our sins, myself and a number of other dubious individuals own one of the above buses. Its minus a roof (it ended its working life trimming trees) and its fairly bashed up, but when its fixed up I promise a boards.ie trip on it. Complete with melty blue seats :)

Simon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 ClarenceOveur

Ruu wrote:

irish.jpg

I remember when it rained you may as well have walked to school they leaked so much. Also remember being choked by fumes every time a green Dublin Bus went by.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

murphaph wrote:
    Ya wha? Nobody remembers them? I'm 28 and I remember the blue faux leather seats burning the back of my legs off on a hot summers day manys the time! I also remmember they had a cord you pulled to ring the bell, not a button.

Yep, remember them all except the one in the B&W pic. I also remember the open backed buses that you could hop on and off while the bus was still moving, although they disappeared when I was a kid. They had the same cream/navy paintwork as the ones on that page. God, I'm old. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

zaph wrote:
    ....I also remember the open backed buses that you could hop on and off while the bus was still moving...
    As the open back buses were pulling off, old men used to run up to the stop and hook their umbrella around the bar as if they were going to hold back the bus! :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I do remember the old open topped buses. They were called Routemasters and were used in London up until only very recently.

Thanks to this modern age of litigation and Health and Safety, such buses were no longer viable.

I remember happily and legally smoking on a No.3 to Larkhill back in 1986 when the upper deck was reserved for us smokers.

I also remember the conductors, and that windy-up ticket machine they had. I so wanted one as a kid.

Boo hiss to progress, I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

http://www.preservedirishtransport.com/KC48.htm

I remember there was on of these on the 27 when I was going to school that had the worst brakes ever! I think they, and their double decker equivalents) had some air pressure issue though as it wasn't uncommon to see drivers revving the ****e out of them at bus stops before they'd start off. :p

The later/current RH/RA/RV class buses had the same problem. Who doesn't remember that really annoying and constant "ding-ding-ding" sound from the cab when it all went wrong :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

narco wrote:
    ah yes, i remember the big green ones... honestly, i never knew about the other ones up there... also the orange trains, still see a couple around the place now.

The Orange trains are still used a fair bit....most of the intercity routes bar Cork use them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Sawa

Gauge wrote:

Awh I had one of those aswell, one of the best presents ever I think I was about 5 or 6 when I got it. Still have one or two of the little characters floating about the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Mikosyko

I remember a friend of mine telling me that when he was in first year, a few of the lads managed to root up the floor of the bus just above the engine. The managed to locate the throttle cable and had a go at it!! The bus driver had a hard time keeping control! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I remember the following bus liveries:

Navy Blue & Cream
    Orange
    Green
    All the sh1te since then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Ruu wrote:

irish.jpg

GOD DAMN AND BLAST RUAIRI! !

If I was into retro vehicle restorations, that bus would be high on my list....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Mikosyko wrote:
    I remember a friend of mine telling me that when he was in first year, a few of the lads managed to root up the floor of the bus just above the engine. The managed to locate the throttle cable and had a go at it!! The bus driver had a hard time keeping control! :D

Brilliant :) I remember being fascinated by the Double Decker buses. I'd HAVE to sit up the front, and try to look down the periscope at the Driver and make faces while he drove. Most of the time I'd be making faces at my Uncle who drove our route at the time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

ned78 wrote:
    Brilliant :) I remember being fascinated by the Double Decker buses. I'd HAVE to sit up the front, and try to look down the periscope at the Driver and make faces while he drove.

muahahhahaa, that was great, me and my bro used to do that all the time :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

Personally I prefer the cream/navy double decker Atlanteans with the mid 60s bodywork and usually with a VZI black and silver numberplate. I used to call them the Guinness bus, probably cos I thought they were cream and black like the pint. I never like the bombardier buses. They were too narrow and just broke down.

G Luxel wrote:
    I never like the bombardier buses. They were too narrow and just broke down.

I grew up taking them in the 90's, and you're right, they did break down alot! Still though, I liked them. I remember they had those seats facing each other up near the front of the bus, and if you sat down in front of a tall person, your legs would be in your mouth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

The Bombardiers were developed by the same firm that built death trucks for the Nazis-the amount of fumes that leaked into the passenger cabin was just short of lethal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Kojak wrote:
    We used to have a bus like that for the National School run in the late 80's and early 90's. I think that they were phased out of use in the early 90's.

AFAIK, we were then given one of those red and white Bus Éireann buses.

yea, they were replaced with theese second hand death traps that thay bought. i dont even want to think what would have happened if one of those ones was in a crash
    irelandvolvokh6.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

You know you're getting old when you can remember the oldest buses.
    1950s R-class Leyland Titan OPDs were still in use when I was a child.
    Green, that's the colour buses should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I only remember there being green ones in Cork. Yep, they looked great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

I remember the green ones in Cork (not the double deckers) they had green chairs two facing two, like in the same way seats are on a train. we had one as our local bus around 1984/85 as far as my little mind remembers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Jaysus - great thread. I don't know how it escaped me until now.

ra37ho6.jpg

I used to get on one of these around 1979/1980. It used to run on the 54A route which was the bus the I got home from school. We used to let other buses go by just to get this type so we could jump out the open back. I remember the day my mate threw his schoolbag out and it burst all over the path - then he jumped off straight into the wire mesh surrounding a newly planted tree - when he picked himself up he noticed his cat at the kerbside which was very dead, presumably hit by a car. Not a good day for my mate.

Ah yes, the good old days...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Mortons have a Routemaster like that in London red. Note the stairs goes the 'wrong' way (the right way is safer).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

zaph wrote:
    I also remember the open backed buses that you could hop on and off while the bus was still moving, although they disappeared when I was a kid.

Same here. The 30 that used to go to Dollymount used to have those buses, but I was never on one. :(
    I also remember the conductors, and that windy-up ticket machine they had. I so wanted one as a kid.

Boo hiss to progress, I say.

Who didn't???!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

r3nu4l wrote:
    I remember the following bus liveries:

Navy Blue & Cream
    Orange
    Green

++

although not so much orange as a tired peach colour :)