Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Election Poster graffiti

• 24-05-2007 9:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

The lads in the office were talkin about the elections and so on today in the office and the conversation moved on to the election posters and how they get vandilised (which is amusing).

Has anyone seen any good poster art for the elections? There was a great play on the slogan for Mary Harney's one..

"Dont throw it all away.... Ill eat it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Haven't seen anything particularly amusing, there was a semi-decent one at the LUAS stop in Ranelagh of McDowell with a Hitler moustache and a swastica. Most of the defacing I've seen though has been of McDowell or Enda Kenny with hitler moustaches...or the odd one with a spliff drawn in a candidates mouth. Obviously defaced by highly intelligent, hilarious people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭keltoms

yeah seen the one on the panel for dick roche, someone replaced 'dick' with 'cock'. another person rubbed out 'roc' and added ad after he:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Vandalising election posters is a waste of time.

The best thing to do is to take them down and put them up again about 28 days from now. :D

Zebra3 wrote:
    Vandalising election posters is a waste of time.

The best thing to do is to take them down and put them up again about 28 days from now. :D
    Why?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

rb_ie wrote:
    Why?

cos they get fined if they are down within 28 days. which is a bit strange it only took them two hours to cover the country in the first place, they must be harder to get down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BattlingCheese

Party would be charged with littering. There are strict rules on taking down all posters after a certain date after polling.

I realise that, but I hardly see why its the "best thing to do".

"Har har we cost someone money". Would you feel the same if someone through a brick through your window or scratched up your car?Hilarious pranks altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Party would be charged with littering. There are strict rules on taking down all posters after a certain date after polling.

Yup, someone put up a poster for the '97 election for some candidate who no longer exists in Cork South Central. No one noticed it for ages. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

While walking the mean streets of Cork on saturday night we noticed this bloke who was walking up the south link road with his dog systematically tearing down all the PD posters. We were stood on the overpass and had a great vantage point while this guy went about his activities. This guy had come prepared as he took to decorating a huge john minnihan (PD) poster on the central reservation with a big black marker. We couldn't quite make out what he wrote on the poster but when he was done he stood back to look at his work. He clearly wasn't pleased with his efforts though, he just knocked over the poster and started stamping on it madly.

I don't know if he knew he was being watched by us but I don't think he particularly cared as there were a lot of cars going by.

I think I can safely say that that was one saturday night where he didn't get laid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 ClarenceOveur

One somewhat amusing one at the lights just after Baggot St bridge. Tis of Ruairi Quinn except R and ai are crossed out and a Y put in front along with various hammers and sickles. Made me chuckle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

Anyone want to buy my vote?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Queen

Someone gave Bertie a hitler tash, and drew on the Hitler hairstyle. Very funny... Apart from that, nothing great. People drawing a moustache on a female candidate is the height of it really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a bertie poster outside mount temple school in dublin has 'coming soon to a tribunal near you' on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lost_soul

My favorite :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,232 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,847 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Mellor wrote:
    this was posted in the art forum

dublinmay23rd07connollysy9.jpg

Removed the ".th" at the end for ya so it's the full size link in the link quoted above;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Haven't seen too many defaced ones around where I live but a few years ago, some of my housemates decided it would be a good idea on their drunken journey back from the local, to cut down some election posters, bring them home and cut the eyes out, replacing them with bits of screwed up toilet paper. Bloody scary looking. I had nightmares about Eamon Gilmore for weeks after that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Hypnotoad

I've seen a few fake election posters up around Tallaght lately.Havne't got any pictures though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

i read a reference to one in a paper a couple of weeks ago, of a conservative, very serious looking candidate with the words 'i am erotic' on it. i dont know hwy, but i laughed mo thóin off at that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭nikolaitr

Anyone seen those clown nose stickers that read "don't vote this clown in, we want a real alternative"

They are stuck on a load of election posters...they sound like they were done by some Leftist party, surely they can be traced and fined no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I saw a poster where someone had drawn a very realistic and detailed willy on Bertie Ahern's face. I'm not sure why exactly... but I found it highly amusing. I think it was the work that had gone in to it.... :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

A simple "GAY" written on Bertie's forhead cracked me up.Simplicity is key!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

A bit OT but ....

Many years ago on the northside there was some graffiti on a bridge saying "Free Nikki Kelly !" an IRA / Shinner prisoner, to whit some wag came along and under the above slogan wrote "With every box of cornflakes !"

Still brings a smile to my face :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Degsy wrote:
    A simple "GAY" written on Bertie's forhead cracked me up.Simplicity is key!

Saw 'Bribery Bertie' scrawled across our glorious leaders mug, on the way to the polling station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

A bit OT but ....

Many years ago on the northside there was some graffiti on a bridge saying "Free Nikki Kelly !" an IRA / Shinner prisoner, to whit some wag came along and under the above slogan wrote "With every box of cornflakes !"

Nicky Kelly, now a Labour Party candidate for Wicklow.

He was an IRSP prisioner, convicted of the Sallins train robbery, conviction quashed, and given a Presidential Pardon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Maccattack

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Dun laoire wrote:

brilliant, way to go wicklow people but i have seen from the last results he seems to be in :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Cecilia Keaveney

- Sticker under here chin said "Blow Jobs €5" i lol'd :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

Dun laoire wrote:

I cant see it!! Imageshack pls!

Speaking of blowjobs, did anyone hear of that danish politician offering out 10,000 blowjobs in place for votes? No word of a lie! It was in the metro early this week or late last week, cant remember!

She was kinda hot too from what i remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

red_ice wrote:
    I cant see it!! Imageshack pls!

Speaking of blowjobs, did anyone hear of that danish politician offering out 10,000 blowjobs in place for votes? No word of a lie! It was in the metro early this week or late last week, cant remember!

She was kinda hot too from what i remember

And also a publicity stunt. Everyone who signed up will be getting a letter/visit to their wives/girlfriends to let them know what their better half has been up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Maccattack

I saw a Pat Rabbite one with white bunny teeth and a voice balloon saying "S'up Homies"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dr. Seuss

red_ice wrote:
    There was a great play on the slogan for Mary Harney's one..

"Dont throw it all away.... Ill eat it"

hahahaha - that's the funniest thing I've heard or read all week!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Ever seen Mary H with a handlebar mustache?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Someone wrote beside Mary Upton's name: 'Wants It'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Driving through Roscommon yesterday... A poster of Bertie.. 'Nothing rare there' I thought, until I realised...

It was an FG poster, with Enda Kenny's body, with a cut-out of Bertie's head, glued over! Absolutily brilliant, skinny body with a fat Bertie-head with 'FineGael' underneath, bit p1ssed off that I didnt stop and get a picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

Only one I've seen so far, apart from Hitler moustaches, was in my english class, for some reason there was a small leaflet for Joanna Tuffy stuck on a notice board, and someone had just written "Tuffy ye cùnt" on it in big black permanent marker. I absolutely cracked my hole laughing, cos you just know whoever wrote it had no idea who Joanna Tuffy is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The Vote Damo poster near the RDS was classic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

A bit OT but ....

http://www.google.ie/search?num=30&hl=en&safe=off&q=+site%3Aoverheardindublin.com+free+nicky+kelly&btnG=Search&meta=

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I saw a poster where someone stuck a (real) babys dummy through Liam Twomeys mouth. Made me giggle. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Saw one with Fianna Fáilure written on it.
    And underneath that for their slogan 'The Republican Party' With the 'Re' and the 'lican' part crossed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

This was in the General Election 2007 forum:
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/79447/40966.JPG

And attatched was down in Clontarf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

This isn't so much graffiti but I thought that it was good......heard a huy on the radio who got all his friends together when he started forming plans to build his own house.Between this election and the previous one, himself and his friends went around the country and got together 10000+ election posters which he then used to insulate his new house.Worked a treat apparently!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Did anyone get a picture of the Vote Damo poster near the RDS? It was absolutely priceless! I wanted to steal it but someone got there before me >:-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Saw a McDowell poster with "666" written just above his forehead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

i was at a house party a few weeks ago and the hostess had a big poster with the 3 pd candidates for galway west, The were at that stage "progressive emo rats" and they had been given eyeliner and big fringes, etc.

There also was one with michael D higgins, but they glued a paper crown onto his head and in marker wrote "vote michael d higgins FOR KING"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robnubis

Saw a really good one of Dr. Bill Tormey in Dublin North West...

His poster is of him with a tree line and field in the background...

Someone took a red pen and drew fire all over the trees and smoke coming from them. They also 'enhanced' Bills face to look quite evil (angry eyeborws, vampire fangs etc.) with a speech bubble saying "mwah ha ha ha"

i lol'd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Yellow Snow

One of Mary Harney in Clondalkin had a little speech bubble coming from her saying "I Like Cake". Simple but made me crack up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

My road in Deansgrange has 'no bank account?' and 'U're so fired!' on all Bertie's posters :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Best thread ever!.. I am sitting at my desk cracking up and getting some very strange looks!