Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New bass on the way from Japan!

• 23-05-2007 2:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭

Ok well, its not brand new. Its slightly used although it doesnt show it. I ordered it from Ishibashi Music in Japan.

...and here it is

http://www.ishibashi.co.jp/u_box/image/3254566011.jpg

http://www.ishibashi.co.jp/u_box/image/3254566012.jpg

MIJ Aria Pro II SB-1000CB Re-issue
    apparently its made in the Aria Japan custom shop! :eek:

Its the Cliff Burton model :)

gonna cost me approx €750 inc. shipping & tax (thats if they charge me tax)
    remember kids, you always gotta take the tax into account! :)

I can't wait, it should be here in about 1 and a half weeks.
    Its my first not made in China bass.

me so happy! ^_^

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Ha, I was looking at that bass myself! We'll be expecting pictures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

:D haha got there first!

Ikebe-Gakki have new ones for sale for 120,000JPY.

Of course I'll be posting pictures, I gotta get me some bell bottoms! ;)

And a long mane of ginger hair \o/

:( I've got a shaved head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiice. Great bass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

schweeeeeeeeet bass man:D , nice purchase!

yay! it was shipped today :D

It takes about a week right??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

joe robot wrote:
    yay! it was shipped today :D

It takes about a week right??? :confused:

indeed, indeed!

my strat took longer to get from dublin to galway than to get from japan to ireland, in total..........8 days i think it was!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

indeed, indeed!

my strat took longer to get from dublin to galway than to get fromn japan to galway, in total..........8 days i think it was!
    Exactly, it'll have left Japan in no time at all. The guts of the waiting is while the guitar makes it's way through the Irish mail and customs systems. It should take around a week alright, a day or two longer if there's a customs hold-up (sometimes they get backlogged), and bear in mind nothing really happens here over the weekend.

Keep an eye on the tracking info and you'll see how it's progressing. The tracking number will start to work on the anpost website a short while after the package arrives in this country. It'll give you a more detailed idea of where the guitar is compared to the one Ishibashi suggest.

Thanks for the info. Yeah An Post are pretty slow, I bought an MP3 player from the Netherlands recently and it got here overnight and spent a day and a half in Portlaoise.

Hopefully it'll be quick! and they won't sting me on the tax. :)
    I can't wait....damn, I hate GAS!

Ok, so I was checking the tracking on the EMS website and it just stopped on Sunday with no updates. I checked An Post on Monday and it had arrived in Ireland.

Unfortunately I checked it again this morning and it was out for delivery in Nenagh, Co. Tipperary.......I live in Dublin! :mad:
    According to the customer service guy from An Post (nice guy) its an error with their system and my bass should be delivered around 2pm-ish today.
    I bloody hope so!! :mad:

Hopefully I'll have some GAS inducing photos up this evening. :p

Lots of photos and an explanation of the controls called for :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭Malice

You're right about it hardly looking used. It looks great in the pictures! Aria make pretty good basses. I played one a few years ago and it had a lovely soft tone that made my Squire Precision just sound nasty!
    I agree with Doctor J, an explanation of the controls will be required :)

You'll see on your tracking info whether it spent a day or so in customs.

If it did, you'll want to make sure you have the money to pay the an post guy.

You'll see on your tracking info whether it spent a day or so in customs.

If it did, you'll want to make sure you have the money to pay the an post guy.

it didn't thankfully. it arrived in Portlaoise yesterday and its in Dublin since early this morning or possibly late last night. :)
    but i have the money for them anyways. ;)

i just got another call from An Post. They don't know where my bass is!! :mad:

I think I'm gonna go cry now :(

Ah for **** sake :mad:

Hope it turns up soon man.

So An Post lost it between Portlaoise and Dublin? FFS.

joe robot wrote:
    i just got another call from An Post. They don't know where my bass is!! :mad:
    I have it here, getting friendly with the postman was the best thing i've ever done... :D

Ah no, that really sucks. If the system says it went out for delivery in tipperary, that's where it is. It's a barcode system, so it wouldn't say that location unless a delivery guy down there scanned it and put it in his van. Im sure it'll turn up.

Sorry to hear about that! How did a Tipperary address get on the package anyway? Was that a screw up on the part of An Post or EMS or some unrelated third party who just wanted your sense of expectation to build and build until you spontaneously combusted from the strain?

its a joke, basically when they were changing from the EMS tracking number to the An Post tracking number they F'd up! The package in Tipp is apparently a legitimate package. They just messed up the tracking number mine was assigned to. So my bass is out there with ANOTHER An Post tracking number but they don't know what it is!??!!?!

I got them to confirm that it wasn't in Tipperary anyways. I'm hoping it'll turn up in the depot near me today or tomorrow. The guy said he's waiting on an email reply from the depot. I told him it was a bass so he could get an idea of the size. He said yeah, it'd be easy enough to spot that. Fair dues to the guy, he's phoned me back twice today to follow up on it and he's gonna call back tomorrow morning.

If its lost....there WILL be war! :mad:

Joe Robot >The Terminator :cool:

This brings back so many unhappy memories. Hope it's sorted quickly man, been through this and it's a poxy, poxy feeling.

I see. Well, that's a strange one. I'm not sure how the two tracking numbers tie back together, but will the original EMS number show the package as delivered when the tipperary package gets delivered?

Anyways, fingers crossed it turns up. It's all insured, but that's no consolation when you want the bass and not the money..:(

Feck! I just checked the EMS site and its showing up as being delivered.....to NENAGH!!! :mad:

At least they have the address it's been delivered to and should be out to pick it up tomorrow. It's not like it has vanished off the face of the earth. This is just a hiccup, a pain in the ass yes, but it should work out ok.

Edit -> have a read of this, it wasn't funny at the time but now I can almost not frown when I read it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=129386

You should be grand :)

joe robot wrote:
    Feck! I just checked the EMS site and its showing up as being delivered.....to NENAGH!!! :mad:
    Yeah, that's what i was wondering in my post above.

It was thinking it would have made an insurance claim a bit more difficult if it shows as 'delivered'. But AnPost know what the craic is, so you'll be grand if it comes to that. Which it won't, hopefully.

EDIT-
    At least they have the address it's been delivered to and should be out to pick it up tomorrow
    No, I think it was the other parcel that got delivered to nenagh, the one with Joes barcode. Joebots one has the wrong label, but the right address on it, so it won't have actually been delivered anywhere else. I think.

Also, thinking about it, i think it's quite possible the package will just turn up anyway. THey cant track it, but it's got your address on it, so....it should be grand. I wouldnt be surprised if it really is in customs, and it will turn up tomorrow without any warning.

No, I think it was the other parcel that got delivered to nenagh, the one with Joes barcode. Joebots one has the wrong label, but the right address on it, so it won't have actually been delivered anywhere else. I think.

Yeah thats right, as far as I know.

Also, thinking about it, i think it's quite possible the package will just turn up anyway. THey cant track it, but it's got your address on it, so....it should be grand. I wouldnt be surprised if it really is in customs, and it will turn up tomorrow without any warning.
    I hope so

:(

Doctor J wrote:
    At least they have the address it's been delivered to and should be out to pick it up tomorrow. It's not like it has vanished off the face of the earth. This is just a hiccup, a pain in the ass yes, but it should work out ok.

Edit -> have a read of this, it wasn't funny at the time but now I can almost not frown when I read it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=129386

You should be grand :)

Actually I read that before J. Thats the one thing I was worried about. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

You still sending the poo on a regular basis J? ;)

Ok, I've got another update....and its a good one!

THEY FOUND IT! :):):)

It was in my local depot with the tracking number of a package from the USA but my correct address. The driver is going to deliver it this morning, but he won't be able to give it in as I left my bro short €20 on the money for the import duty & tax. So I'm gonna collect it this afternoon. I'll leave work early to get it! :D

Oh yeah, the customs money came to €160.20! :eek:

Expect pictures (and explanation of the controls) this evening!

*jumps for joy* ^_^

Good stuff, glad to hear it. :)

That's great news. Fingers crossed nothing else happens! Can't wait to see the pics.

IT'S HERE!!!

Damn, I'm like a fat kid in a candy store. :D

Packed EXTREMELY well. it wasn't in a hardcase but in a nice new ritter gigbag but packaged in a doublewalled cardboard box with several inches of bubblewrap between the walls and the gigbag. It got here in once piece anyways.
    I recommend Ishibashi Music for any GAS you may have in the future. They are unbelievable. Friendly, Prompt reply's and great pictures.

Now....down to the business...

Here's the bass...

SB1000CBBODY-1.jpg

SB1000CB-1.jpg

SB1000CBHEAD-1.jpg

This thing plays awesome. Its like it almost plays itself. :D
    The neck feels great even though its gloss finished, its soooo smooth. Overall at first glance the bass looks brand new (its not far off it). There is a slight bit of wear on the back of the top horn. it looks like it may have been caused by the back of studs or spikes that were on a strap? nothing to horrific.

Here's the cool part, I checked the serial number (I'm not posting a picture) and its the first instrument of this year out of the custom shop! :eek:

As far as the controls go, you have your regular volume (nearest to the pickups), tone (behind the volume), there's also a flick switch to disengage the extra tone circuit. The extra tone circuit is the rotary 6 position pot. OMFG! you can get some awesome sounds. pos1 is the standard sound, 2 and 3 boost the mids. 4 seems to boost the lower mids, 5 goes lower from what I can tell. 6 is awesome. its just balls to the wall! it gives it a nice deep thump with extra bite. Its my favourite setting. The electronics are powered by 2 9V batteries which have their own separate compartments at the back (no screws req.)

I forgot to take a picture of the back but the heel, or lack of is awesome. I can't believe I've played a bolt on with a blocky heel for so long.

An post were great, the delivery driver came to my house trying to deliver 3 times today, he finally got me on the third time (on his way home). Great guy. The guy in their customer care dept was great too. He gave me contsant updates and apparently wouldnt stop ringing the delivery driver. :D
    The driver said there was practicly a manhunt going on in Dublin for the bass!! :eek:

Ha, glad to hear it all worked out in the end. Kudos to An Post too. Looks like a gorgeous bass. If only there was a 5 string version on Ishi :p

Beautiful bass, congratulations. That is a world class bass. Aria were pretty popular back in the 80s when I started playing, in fact my first two basses were Arias and they're a hugely underestimated brand. A mate of mine had one of the higher end models, neck through like yours, really a superbly constructed instrument, a work of art.

May you have many happy years rockin out on that ****er and if you ever think of selling it... you send me a PM yeah? ;):p

Doctor J wrote:
    Beautiful bass, congratulations. That is a world class bass. Aria were pretty popular back in the 80s when I started playing, in fact my first two basses were Arias and they're a hugely underestimated brand. A mate of mine had one of the higher end models, neck through like yours, really a superbly constructed instrument, a work of art.

May you have many happy years rockin out on that ****er and if you ever think of selling it... you send me a PM yeah? ;):p

haha thanks!

I'm never gonna sell this one. Its amazing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

She's gorgeous - congrats dude! Happy ending after all...:)

feylya wrote:
    So An Post lost it between Portlaoise and Dublin? FFS.

Brilliant. :p:p:p
    Doctor J wrote:
    Aria were pretty popular back in the 80s when I started yadda yadda yadda
    - I knew this was an intro to "send me a PM", you sick GASsing bastard. :p

Ancient1 wrote:
    - I knew this was an intro to "send me a PM", you sick GASsing bastard. :p

Sure isn't that all he thinks about! :D

Just saw the pics. It really is a lovely looking guitar. I'm glad everything worked out in the end. Best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

Lovely bass. Glad all went well in the end.

Congrats ! :)

Rigsby wrote:
    Lovely bass. Glad all went well in the end.

Congrats ! :)

thanks!

Have you gotten your markbass yet? I haven't ordered mine yet, I was gonna but I saw this one instead. I should be ordering it at the end of next month. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

joe robot wrote:
    thanks!

Have you gotten your markbass yet? I haven't ordered mine yet, I was gonna but I saw this one instead. I should be ordering it at the end of next month. :)

No. Hope to have it within the next fortnight. Will let you know.

You'll have a real pro sound with that bass and your new amp. :cool: Are you going for a 2x10 or a 1x12 ?

cool, yeah its gonna be sweet. I'm gonna go for the 2x10. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Sweet bass, I'm glad it all worked out for you!

It is putting me off buying a guitar online though..

Do you mind if I ask how much it was in YEN and how much the total cost was for you (in Euro) to see how much extra it turned out to be in customs and duty etc.? It's just co I'm planning to buy a guitar off ishibashi once I get the money so I wanna see if I've been working out the total cost correctly.

There's a calculator here which should let you know how much it will be in total, very handy. The shipping from Ishibashi is usually €100-120.

Killaqueen, you have a pm :)