Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

secret school 'report guide' found

• 22-05-2007 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭

I realise that this should be frowned on, but I actually found it funny :D

A secondary school has apologised after a confidential report book which called pupils names like "ding bat" and "wally" was found lying in a street.
    The booklet, produced by The Howard School for boys, in Rainham, Kent, carried a specific message on its front page - "Do not leave lying around".....

More here:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/kent/6675627.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

/wanders off to watch some Teachers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

You know who else didn't write factual and fair school reports?

Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

I bet none of them will loose there jobs over it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Oh noe, they call me a wally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

de5p0i1er wrote:
    I bet none of them will loose there jobs over it though.

Why should they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

that was abit stupid ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭DeBeere

Were they apologizing for leaving it lying in the street or for unimaginative slang...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

lets hope its for leaving it in the stret,i could think of much more imaginitave slang than that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Funny stuff. I wonder what my teachers would have written about me?

lol i can guess what they called me,i bet it wasnt teachers pet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

That is SICKENING! How could people write such offensive things about pupils? I'm deeply offended, there should be a warning. I'm going off to cry because of the pure shock of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

lol i can guess what they called me,i bet it wasnt teachers pet

My guess is arsehowal.

Oh yes my heart bleeds for the poor pupils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

One of the teachers in my secondary school got in quite a bit of trouble after a student caught a glimpse of her roll book... she'd written in tags like "the ginger one" "the fat one" "the spotty one" beside the names to help her remember who was who... Parents weren't impressed!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Sue for slanders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Sue for slanders.
    I don't think that can count for slander.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I don't think I was serious.
    It's not america, you can't sue for anything, like spillingcoffee on yourself or getting in a fight and falling in a store, and getting millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

That is SICKENING! How could people write such offensive things about pupils?

You've obviously never been in a school staff room over lunchtime then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

The kids probaby deserved it.

Also, 'dingbat'? Is this the 60's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

TBH teachers get a load of abuse from students anyway, and that's not private. I'm sure every single school in the country has at least one piece of school property grafitied with "Ms/Mr. so and so is a <enter insult here>", so of course teachers are going to slag their students behind closed doors and whatnot. We deserve it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

twanda wrote:
    I realise that this should be frowned on, but I actually found it funny :D

A secondary school has apologised after a confidential report book which called pupils names like "ding bat" and "wally" was found lying in a street.
    The booklet, produced by The Howard School for boys, in Rainham, Kent, carried a specific message on its front page - "Do not leave lying around".....

More here:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/kent/6675627.stm

Such a harsh use of words there. I was expecting more like cockmuncher, twatbadger, annoying little prick ect ect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭angelbaby

haha hilarious!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

angelbaby wrote:
    haha hilarious!!!!

they printed it up and all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Our teachers called us plonkers, ignorant pricks and spas to our face (at least three of them). One of them threw a duster at my mate and narrowly missed. And they were the ones we regarded and still regard as sound :) Will always remember in my junior cert year, there were three other lads called Shane in our business class, we were all a bit non compliant with homework, study and anything that didnt involve sitting down the back playing Bollix*. Teacher was a gas man, he threatened that "the Shane will hit the fan come exam time yis young bucks" (witty stuff :D)

*Bollix definition: maybe it was unique to our school, but the aim of the game of Bollix was for each person to shout Bollix slightly louder (the first person starts it as a whisper, the second, as a mutter, the third slightly louder until you reach shouting pitch) until it was heard and the offender punished, hours of entertainment guaranteed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

shane86 wrote:
    *Bollix definition: maybe it was unique to our school, but the aim of the game of Bollix was for each person to shout Bollix slightly louder (the first person starts it as a whisper, the second, as a mutter, the third slightly louder until you reach shouting pitch) until it was heard and the offender punished, hours of entertainment guaranteed :)

*misty eyed*

Good times - good times indeed :)