Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 24, Day 6, Hour 23 & 24 (4am - 6am) [Spoilers]

• 22-05-2007 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭

Well everything comes to an end here.

Is Philip really dead this time?

Will the Chineese ever try get back their agent?

Has Jack let Audrey go?

What did we think of the last 2 hours of Day 6? 38 votes

5*
    0% 0 votes
    4*
    15% 6 votes
    3*
    26% 10 votes
    2*
    42% 16 votes
    1*
    15% 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Use the spoiler tag, ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Why?

The title indicates spoilers ahead. Yer own fault really.

[edit] Where's teh poll? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

No Poll? What's the point.

Why complain about spoilers when it is clearly marked in the thread title?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭TimTim

kaimera wrote:
    Where's teh poll? :p

whoops! Maybe some mod would be nice enough to add it in for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

BOLLOCKS!

Came here after a reported post telling me to add a poll.. didn't expect there to be spoilers in the very first post! :(

Well, feck it anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Whats goin on? It was gettin good again! seisse finale, same with Heroes, boo urns!

Chloe's up the duff, yay

Jack's implyin suicide with a silent clock :o

No more Bill at CTU :(

Milo's bro randomly disappeared???

No Tony back from the dead! :(

Teri got her mention

NO update of Palmer's condition! or charles logan's.... blagh!

when's Day 7? Even though i'll prob be washin me hair that day >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

Bit of a let-down really wasn't it? I was expecting somethig big to happen when Jack confronted Heller;
    "Are you here to kill me?"
    "Depends" :D
    I dunno what happened to Audrey, she was fine when we last saw her and now she's hooked up to all these machines looking like she's at death's door.
    I supppose it just wouldn't be 24's style to have her and Jack run happily into the sunset together.
    Powerful last scene between Jack and Heller, but I was expecting some big dramatic event at any second but it never came. In a way it's good that the series ended with a proper conclusion, as opposed to previous season's where Jack disappears/Jack is captured by the Chinese/Jack quits CTU etc.
    At least now season 7 can start from a clean slate without any storylines leading on from season 6.
    That whole deal with Chloe being pregnant, I honestly couldn't have cared less, a totally pointless sub-plot.
    As usual there were more holes than Swiss cheese in the rescue of Josh.
    Why did they have to wait on the oil rig for half an hour for the sub to arrive?
    It only gave CTU more time to find them.
    Pity about what happened to Doyle, it doesn't look like we'll be seeing him in Day 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Stupid Plot Holes:

1. Where were the F18s based? Chicago?
    2. Why did Chang give the chip back to Phillip after all the effort he went to get it?

And the mother of all stupid plot holes:

Suvarov: "We concur that the target has been eliminated."
    Daniels: "I trust you're satisfied that the component has been destroyed?"
    Suvarov: "I am.... (except for the fact that the satellite would have picked up a helicopter leaving the platform 2 seconds before it exploded, but I'll ignore that fact completely)"

Weak ending too. Lots of loose ends that'll probably never be tied up.

Lukin, I'd say Doyle will be back, with a cool eye patch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Ye, a bad end to a bad season. Especially compared to last season. Few other things...no mention of President Palmer's condition and the what of Logan. No mention at all since he got stabbed. What was the point of brining him into it at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Um, where did Mylo's brother disappear to?

At first I thought he had some sort of gas poison or something on him when Chloe hugged him and then started to get sick... then it turned out she was just pregnant... Ho hum..

Also are we supposed to think Jack's just topped himself?

Very much lacking in an ending and feeling a bit disappointed at there being shag all of a conclusion...

Ah well, wasn't expecting much anyway but got a semi-decent season out of it... Better than that Season 4 change-the-story-every-episode-****-a-thon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I'd pinned my hopes on the finale salvaging the season, but it wasn't to be.

Overall, pretty hit and miss. In the latter stages, much more 'miss' unfortunately. The scene with Jack and Bill going into the rig was good, but that's about all it had going for it. When I saw that there was still almost half an episode to go I was hoping for something good, but....that scene between Jack and Heller started off promising, but was the mother of all anti climaxes.

Jack's suggestive glance down to the rocks in the water, the silent clock....surely that spells suicide, but he obviously doesn't.

Eh...maybe I'll give it more of a postmortem later, I'm tired. 3/5 for now....

lukin wrote:
    Pity about what happened to Doyle, it doesn't look like we'll be seeing him in Day 7.
    If we do, he wont be seein us :p

BTW, Anyone else notice the 4.15am sunlight comin through the presidential windows??????

Lets hope they learn from their mistakes and bring us a nice oldschool Day 7 in January 2008 :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

And what was all that "Josh, get up to the helicopter NOW!", and "You're getting off easy" stuff on the oil platform about?
    What was wrong with the perfectly good speedboat RIGHT THERE beside them, surely it would have been much simpler/faster to roll injured Evil Dad into it then jump in with Josh and pin it at full throttle in the general direction of 'away'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

An awful end to an awful season, lets never speak of it again. :eek:

unreggd wrote:
    BTW, Anyone else notice the 4.15am sunlight comin through the presidential windows??????

Don't forget, 4.15am on 24 is Pacific Time. Washington is 3 hours ahead so the sunlight would have been accurate.

Pretty poor finale. Disappointed by it. Was the speedboat out of petrol or something or was there a reason why Jack couldn't take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

Hmm I thought it was really good actually.

Gave us all the fireworks we could ask for and it ended with some really very powerful scenes at the end between Jack and Heller. It was like a new side to Jack, he was as intense as ever but for once he was out for himself. Really felt like a solid development of his character.

Everything at the oil rig previously was great too, very tense, even if it was exactly the same 'can Jack rescue the hostage before the missiles hit' plot device as they've used before, it works really well and it felt like everything was high stakes plus there was plenty of nice action to go with it.

Also liked everything at the Whitehouse, the Vice President showing a more human side and Tom Lennox once again pulling all the right strings.

Basically there was a nice sense of closure on everything and I thought it was a really great ending to what had been a fairly poor season.

If I had to pick weak points I think they could have used Doyle better. I was hoping to see him face off with Jack, or failing that fight alongside Jack to get Josh back because they'd really built Doyle into a great character, but it looks like he's out of action now which is a pity.

Other than that and minor some plot holes (particularly with Morris confirming Jack's Dad had definitely got into their system with no explanation as to how or why) I thought it was a great ending to the Season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭whosedaddy?

Mixed emotions on the final.

They continued with the human factor which was good.
    I really loved Bill getting involved again - what a coincidence that he can fly helicopters..

Yeah the speedboat as rescue option was too obvious.. they could have made it drift away when Philip got shot.. Or maybe he took took to escape... if the satellite can't pick up the helicopter leaving.

What was that with Milo's brother - almost a Ally McBealian halluzination type of apprearance.

Didn't like that they didn't bother with some news on Wayne or Logan at the end.

Can't wait for Day 7 when Cloe's + Morris' ubergeek scriptkiddy baby will be involved in CTU....

Overall a consistant final for a weak season.... roll on Day 7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Rovi wrote:
    And what was all that "Josh, get up to the helicopter NOW!", and "You're getting off easy" stuff on the oil platform about?
    What was wrong with the perfectly good speedboat RIGHT THERE beside them, surely it would have been much simpler/faster to roll injured Evil Dad into it then jump in with Josh and pin it at full throttle in the general direction of 'away'?
    And Jack didn't take the component from him either. I thought that after Jack left him that he'd use the boat to get out to the submarine and escape that way. I still think it's something they *could* use in a future series to bring him back, but I doubt it and hope not. We did see Philip lying on the rig about 5 seconds before the missiles hit so he shouldn't have gotten away, but reality and 24 rarely mix well.

End sequence with Heller and Audrey was very crap, looked promising, but it was another let down. Milo's brother pulling a vanishing act was also weird, I guess that was a bit of a red herring to make us think he'd done something to Chloe (revenge maybe?) but I knew as soon as she looked ill that she was pregnant. So that'll be her gone next year too then along with Bill and Karen, Wayne Palmer presumably and Doyle too.

Should have been called 18 this year and not 24, it ended with getting the nukes back and killing off all the terrorists. This last tacked on bit with the Chinese and Philip was just a sub-plot, and not a very good one at that. I'm torn between giving this a 1 and a 2 rating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Jack Bauer999

thought the final two episodes were pretty much consistent with the rest of the
    season....... in that they were ABSOLUTE RUBBISH.

There was no excitement what so ever, it pretty bad when you can predict everytime what's going to happen 10 secs before it does.

The same as Srubs and all the rest, its time to pack 24 in i think.

I disagree. Maybe you should not watch them. That way it works for everybody.

its time to pack 24 in i think.
    Dont pack it in, make it better

like the Tomb Raider games

First 2 were amazing, the rest crapola, so they fired Core design after AOD, and Legend is amazin

cant wait for the anniversary edit

Other PH: We never found out what happened in Denver!!!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Kel Varnsen

I disliked this season and the finale immensely, even the gunfight was pretty poor, but I though the last ten minutes were great(Kiefer knocked his monologue outta the park). Also happy that they left it without adding some ridiculous hook that would force their hand next season, before plotting it out first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

tvnutz wrote:
    Few other things...no mention of President Palmer's condition and the what of Logan. No mention at all since he got stabbed. What was the point of brining him into it at all?

Just to use up a few eps when they were stuck. That's been a big problem with the season for me. Characters being introduced out of nowhere and then disappearing just as quickly with their storylines being left hanging in thin air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭TheStrandRoads

My favourite episode of the season was 17. When Jack managed to kill the bomb-plot terrorists. It felt like a proper finale. And when they threw in the Chinese connection at the end, I thought "Sweet!".

...but then it quickly showed Audrey being detained, and I was like "Ughh....ffs, I don't care anymore".

Pity it took a turn for the worst from then on...

John.

Apparently they had to change the plot mid season very abruptly, the ultimate plot was meant to be the nukes, but they got more than the usual amount of complaints from Angry muslims, so cut away from that abruptly, and went down the Cheng road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

unreggd wrote:
    Apparently they had to change the plot mid season very abruptly, the ultimate plot was meant to be the nukes, but they got more than the usual amount of complaints from Angry muslims, so cut away from that abruptly, and went down the Cheng road
    I'd have to question this. Presumably there wouldn't have been complaints (maybe a few who read a synopsis of the general outline) until the season aired, at which stage the whole season would have been shot?

yeah, thats why I said apparently, i heard it but theres no way they could re-do like 6 hours in time for screening

ill check the sources again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭LordBlonde

"We need to be absolutely certain that the component is destroyed in the airstrike. If a helicopter takes of just before the bomb hits dont pay any attention to it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

unreggd wrote:
    yeah, thats why I said apparently, i heard it but theres no way they could re-do like 6 hours in time for screening

ill check the sources again....

This isn't the FBI, why not just link us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭$Leon$

at which stage the whole season would have been shot?

They only film about 4 or 5 weeks ahead of US air time.
    There is a documentary on either day 2 or 3 box set where Elisha is getting her make-up done for shooting and they are watching the latest episode air.
    It is possible that they changed direction but I can't imagine it would be easily done.
    Anyway the muslims weren't the real baddies it was Russians/Chinese

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Not as bad as I heard it was gonna be but not great by any means.

Poor finale when compared to 'Lost' which I watched before it.

Too many plot holes all season, chars being used just to advance the plot and then being kicked to the curb..

For a season that started off soo promising; the first 4 hours gave the impression of an excellent season but my god did it bore the tits off me after episode 17 onwards :(

3* finale, 3* season just for ep04 and ep17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

TmB wrote:
    Stupid Plot Holes:

1. Where were the F18s based? Chicago?
    2. Why did Chang give the chip back to Phillip after all the effort he went to get it?
    Nevada probably. Seemed a reasonable response time.

Agree with the other plotholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Average finale - the idea of Jack topping himself was a bit ridiculous, especially as we all know now that there will be a Day 7, and a Day 8 AFAIK.

I thought that Chloe being up the duff was pointless - it will only mean that we will have to see herself and Morris arguing and grumbling next year. :rolleyes:

Also I thought that America was supposed to be the world's greatest military power, yet they have to take 30 minutes to fly 2 jets to a location 6 miles off the coast. Jesus, they'd swim it just as fast...

I thought that Daniels went very mentally soft in these last 2 hours. Up to then, he was being a stubborn jackass, but all of a sudden he just folds and reverts to a moral person. He wasn't like that when he wanted to nuke Fayed's country.

Overall, the season like this final was only average. Hopefully Day 7 will be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Phew, thank God that's over. Now, in the words of Homer Simpson, let's never speak of season 6 again! :D Except for maybe the last 20 minutes or so. ;):D

I think it says it all about this season that, over the course of 24 hours, probably the last 20 minutes or so, as I said, were the best of the whole season. And what can you say about Kiefer Sutherland's monologue at Heller? Man, did he nail it! Anyone who says Kiefer can't act needs to be made sit down and watch those last scenes and then try and say he can't act. As the Yanks say, he knocked it right out of the ballpark! :D Dare I even be so bold as to say, perhaps the best acting we've seen from Kiefer in all six seasons? ;)

By the way, as annoying as she is and all, was I the only one nearly screaming at the telly, "Wake up, Audrey! For God's sake, WAKE UP and tell him you love him too!"? ;):D

The whole "I'm at a crossroads" thing from Jack and the ending, Bill and Karen been forced into early retirement, Chloe & Morris looking like they might be off to become parents, did anyone else almost get the feeling like things were being wrapped up in such a way that the characters we know best are being retired from the show so that next year it's just going to be Jack and a whole new beginning for the franchise, this kind of "reboot" the producers have been talking about? Hopefully it's true because they need to get Jack away from CTU altogether and maybe put him into a more personal scenario for next year, I think. Anyway, here's hoping!

Roll on January 2008! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

It was funny to hear Doyle say DAMMMIT jack style.

Other than that it was a very poor finale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

I got the feeling they were wrapping things up, to start afresh next year.

The VP and Lennox were very watchable and Cheng's line "My country will not abandon me" was good too - he is an enjoyable villain. I enjoyed the climax with Heller, especially given all the backstory. The highlight of the finale was Kiefer's acting in the final scenes - he owns the show at times.

Did he kill himself? Of course not! But it was a better ending than sending Jack off to outer Mongolia on the run from government ops only to return to save the day (yet again) in an even more contrived plotline next year.

I thought they were building Daniels up for great things, but he seems to have gone the way of Chase now. He didn't really do that much in the final two episodes either. I was half expecting a Daniels v Bauer moment.

There were a few plot holes alright e.g. the speedboat, the satellite coverage but hey it is 24.

I'm glad the writers made sure Jack's terrorist Dad was dead. An awful awful awful character.

Day Seven is wide open. Let's hope they can return the show to former glories. Just leave Jack's family out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

Yeah, Jack's family seemed a bit pointless! But it was satisfactory ending to a messy season, roll on S7!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

SofaKing wrote:
    Nevada probably. Seemed a reasonable response time.

More likely San Diego. They probably could have flown commercially in half the time.

I actually enjoyed everything up to the last 10 minutes or so. I've long since accepted that 24 plots have more holes in them than a large block of Swiss cheese, so I just let them go. However, it was predictable as hell what was wrong with Chloe and it added nothing to the episode, and apart from Jack does anyone really give a crap about Audrey? At least it looks like she won't be around for the next series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

I was debating whether the final 2 episodes were good, bad or indifferent. I think the latter really. It was an appropriate ending to a very disappointing season. The dead horse was well and truly flogged with the rehashed storylines and the unimportant sub-plots. I await Season 7 with much trepidation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

poor ending to a poor season which was evident from the first episode. Time to quit while slightly ahead methinks